DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/17/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanamori et al. (US 10,819,048) hereafter Kanamori.
Regarding claim 19 Kanamori, discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) connector module 10, comprising: a header housing 40 installed on an LED module P1, P2, the header housing 40 having a tab terminal 60 protruding from a coupling surface bottom surface of P1, see fig. 2); and a plug housing 20 removably attached to the header housing 40, the plug housing 20 having a receptacle terminal 25, a tab terminal coupling portion 26, and a housing-side coupling guide 62, the receptacle terminal 25 has a coupling guide 55, the tab terminal 60 is inserted in the tab terminal coupling portion 26 in contact with the receptacle terminal 25, the housing-side coupling guide 62 contacts the coupling guide 55 and guides the receptacle terminal 25 to a coupling location 26, 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori et al. (US 10,819,048) hereafter Kanamori in view of Miller et al. (US 11,031,734) hereafter Miller.
Regarding claim 1, Kanamori, discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) connector module 10, comprising: a header housing 40 installed on an LED module P1, P2, the header housing 40 having a tab terminal 60 (upon assembling P1, P2 into 40 protruding from a coupling surface (bottom surface of P1, see fig. 2); and a plug housing 20 removably attached to the header housing 40, the plug housing 20 having a receptacle terminal 25 and a tab terminal coupling portion 26, the tab terminal 60 is inserted in the tab terminal coupling portion 26 in contact with the receptacle terminal 25.
Kanamori, does not discloses the tab terminal coupling portion extends through a portion of a material of the plug housing.
Miller disc loses the tab terminal coupling portion 48a, 50a extends through a portion of a base section 66 (see figs. 6-12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the tab terminal coupling portion extends through a portion of a material of the plug housing as taught by Miller in order to better and consistant electrical and mechanical connection there in between and have better mechanical stability of the terminal.
Regarding claim 2, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses the header housing 40 has a guide flange 42, 43 protruding at an outer side of the tab terminal 60 in a direction in which the header housing is coupled to the plug housing.
Regarding claim 3, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses the plug housing 20 has a guide groove (interior space of 20) into which the guide flange 42, 43 is inserted.
Regarding claim 4, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses the guide flange 42, 43 is formed along a circumference of the coupling surface.
Regarding claim 5, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses the guide flange extends on a same plane as a side surface of the header housing.
Regarding claim 6, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses the header housing 40 is embedded in the LED module 10 (upon assembling).
Regarding claim 7, Kanamori (as modified by Miller),discloses the plug housing 20 has a mounting portion (interior cavity of 22) on a side surface, the receptacle terminal 25 is inserted in the mounting portion (interior cavity of 22).
Regarding claim 8, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses the plug housing 20 has a tab terminal coupling portion 26, 27 on a bottom surface of the plug housing 20, the tab terminal 60 passes through the tab terminal coupling portion 26, 27.
Regarding claim 9, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses the receptacle terminal 25 has a contact slot 26, 27 through which the tab terminal 60 passes.
Regarding claim 10, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses the receptacle terminal 25 is attached to the plug housing 20 with the contact slot corresponding to the tab terminal coupling portion.
Regarding claim 11, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses the receptacle terminal 25 has a coupling guide GP (see annotated fig., front portion of clamping piece 27) at a leading end in a direction on which the receptacle terminal is inserted into the plug housing, the coupling guide guides insertion of the receptacle terminal 25.
Regarding claim 13, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses the plug housing 20 has a stopper 23 protruding outward from an outer side surface of the plug housing 20.
Regarding claim 14, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses the stopper 20 limits a moving distance in a direction in which the plug housing 20 is coupled to the header housing 40 (in an initial stage of assembly).
Regarding claim 15, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses the stopper 23 is one of a plurality of stoppers 23 formed discontinuously along an outer circumference of the plug housing 20.
Regarding claim 16, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses all the claim ed limitations except for the stopper is formed at a corner portion of an outer circumference of the plug housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the stopper is formed at a corner portion of an outer circumference of the plug housing, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 17, Kanamori (as modified by Miller),discloses the plug housing 20 has a locking portion 23 protruding outward from the outer side surface of the plug housing 23 (it is to be noted that there are 8 locking claws around the outer surface of housing 20, either some of them or all of them can be considered as stopper at the initial stage), the locking portion couples the plug housing 40 with the LED module.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori and Miller as applied to claim 14, further in view of Kang (8,622,579).
Regarding claim 18, Kanamori (as modified by Miller), discloses all the claimed limitation except for An electronic device uses the LED connector module of claim 1.
Kang discloses an illumination system uses a light emitting apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the LED connector module of Kanamori as a light emitting apparatus of Kang, in order to have ease of assembly and work as removable and replaceable assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, prior art of record does not disclose or teaches, the plug housing has a housing-side coupling guide that contacts the coupling guide in the mounting portion, the housing-side coupling guide forms an inclined surface guiding the receptacle terminal to a coupling location.
Regarding claim 12, prior art of record does not disclose or teaches, the housing-side coupling guide forms an inclined surface guiding the receptacle terminal to the coupling location as required in combination with other limitations of this claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/17/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831