Claim Objections
Claim 8, line 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the identifier of recites new, but should be - -Currently Amended - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9-10, line 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the identifier of recites new, but should be - -Previously Presented - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8, line 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “has cover” should be - -has a cover - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8, line 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: “form a the water-sealing state” should be - - has a cover on a side of the multiple nozzles - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al (US 20190240681 as referenced in the OA dated 1/16/2026) in view of Wang et al (US 20070235568 as referenced in OA dated 10/24/2025).
Annotated Figure 8 of Cheng
Annotated Figure 1 of Wang
Regarding claim 8, Cheng discloses a sprinkler assembly (Figure 7,) with a multi-stage water control (Figure 7 with the assembly of 20 and 22), the sprinkler assembly system comprising:
a water spray pipe (Figure 7; 10, 30, 40, 50) having multiple nozzles (Figure 7; 31) in spaced relation and extending in a direction (The longitudinal direction of the water spray pipe) of said water spray pipe;
a plurality of segmented water supply chambers (The structure forming Figure 8; 13’ which includes Annotated Figure 8; labeled water supply chamber) in spaced relation and extending along the direction of said water spray pipe, each segmented water supply chamber of said plurality of segmented water supply chambers having a water supply port (Figure 13; 131’) communicating respectively with multiple adjacent nozzles (The adjacent Figure 3; 31 fed from a respective segmented water supply chamber), each segmented water supply chamber of said plurality of segmented water supply chambers forming a respective guide track (Annotated Figure 8; labeled track which is the leftmost or rightmost horizontal section of Annotated Figure 8; labeled water supply chamber) extending orthogonally (The track is orthogonal to the longitudinal direction of the water spray pipe), wherein said water spray pipe has a cover (Figure 7; 40, 50) on a side (The side that accommodates 31) with the multiple nozzles; and
a plurality of segmented switch controls (Figure 7; 20) individually mounted on the respective guide track of each segmented water supply chamber, each segmented switch control of said plurality of segmented switch controls having a button (Figure 7; 22) and a water seal (Figure 8; 26)and a water-flowing section (Figure 8; 24), each segmented switch control of said plurality of segmented switch controls having an open position (Figure 8) and a closed position (Figure 9), the open position forming a water spraying state (The water spraying state formed by the open position) with the water-flowing section aligned with the water supply port, the closed position having a water sealing state (The water sealing state formed by the closed position) in which the water seal aligned with the water supply port, wherein the cover corresponds to a position of the button (The cover corresponds to a position of the button), wherein the water supply port of each segmented water supply chamber of said plurality of segmental water supply chambers has a cross-sectional area (The cross-sectional area of the topmost portion of Figure 8; 131’) of a flow passage (The flow passage formed by Figure 8; 131’) that is greater than a total cross-sectional area (The total cross-sectional area of Figure 8;31) of the nozzle communicating therewith (The combined cross-sectional area of both Figure 8; 31 is less than the cross sectional area of the topmost portion of Figure 8; 131’), wherein the water seal forms a protruding peripheral edge aligned with a edge (The topmost peripheral edge of Figure 9; 26 that seals 131’. 26 is in the form of a “T”, the top horizontal portion protrudes from the bottom vertical portion) of the water supply port so as to form the water-sealing state.
Cheng does not disclose a base having an inlet adapted to introduce a water flow;
an oscillation controller disposed at the inlet so as to generate oscillations by using the water flow;
a water spray pipe connected at one end to said oscillation controller and driven by said oscillation controller,
the cover having segmented indicator markings, the segmented indicator markings adapted to indicate a spray area of the nozzle controlled by the button.
However, Wang teaches a base (Figure 1; 11) having an inlet (The inlet for water on Figure 1; 20 which attaches to the water supply, Paragraph 0016. Annotated Figure 1; labeled inlet which goes to 12) for introducing a water flow (The water flow from the inlet);
an oscillation controller (Figure 1; 12, Paragraph 0016) disposed at the inlet so as to generate oscillations by using the water flow (Functional Language, Paragraph 0016);
a water spray pipe (Figure 1; 20) connected at one end (The end of Figure 1; 20 connected to the oscillation controller) to said oscillation controller and driven by said oscillation controller;
a cover (Annotated Figure 1; labeled cover) having segmented indicator markings (Annotated Figure 1; labeled indicator), the segmented indicator markings adapted to indicate a spray area of a nozzle (Figure 3; 221) controlled by a button (Figure 3; 32, 35. Functional Language, the indicators indicate spray areas of the nozzle controlled by each button).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Cheng to include a base having an inlet adapted to introduce a water flow; an oscillation controller disposed at the inlet so as to generate oscillations by using the water flow; a water spray pipe connected at one end to said oscillation controller and driven by said oscillation controller and wherein the cover having segmented indicator markings, the segmented indicator markings adapted to indicate a spray area of the nozzle controlled by the button as taught by and suggested by Wang in order to mount at least the water spray pipe and to oscillate the sprinkler at different angles (Paragraph 0016, the modification adds a base and oscillation controller) and because it has been held that applying a known technique, in this case Wang’s use of indicators to indicate whether the nozzles are on or off according to the steps described immediately above, to a known device, in this case, Cheng’s sprinkler assembly, ready for improvement to yield predictable results, in this case indicating whether the nozzles are on or off, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. 398 (2007), 82 USPQ2d at 1396; MPEP 2143(D) (The modification adds on and off indicators for the buttons).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng in view of Wang teaches the invention as claimed.
Cheng further discloses wherein the button and the segmented switch control are positioned by a cooperating notch and hook (Annotated Figure 8; hook and notch).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng in view of Wang teaches the invention as claimed.
Cheng further discloses wherein the button has a double-headed configuration (The double sided configuration of the button) with respect to the segmented switch control, the button having a first end button (The button pushed that results in Figure 8) and a second end button (The button pushed that results in Figure 9) positioned in spaced relation to each other such that the open position is selected when a user (The user that pushes the button) presses the first end button, the closed position is selected when the user presses the second end button.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Cheng does not disclose the water supply port of each segmented water supply chamber of said plurality of segmental water supply chambers has a cross- sectional area of a flow passage that is greater than a total cross-sectional area of the nozzle communicating therewith. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in Figure 8 of Cheng, the diameter of the top of 131’ is larger than twice the diameter of 31, so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the water supply port has a cross- sectional area greater than a total cross-sectional area of the nozzle communicating.
Applicant asserts that Cheng does not disclose the water seal forms a protruding peripheral edge aligned with a periphery of the water supply port so as to form the water-sealing state. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Figure 8; 26 of Cheng is in the shape of a T, so that the top horizontal portion protrudes from the vertical portion. The top edge of the 26 forms seals 131’.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741