DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 04/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has not met initial burden of establishing distinctness invention and serious burden for examination all groups together. This is not found persuasive because the examiner has stated that the combination of group I does not require the particular of the subcombination group II. In addition, the subcombination has clearly separated utility, such as utility absent of a helmet mount assembly. Further, the examiner has demonstrated a “serious burden” by showing a separate classification for the two groups; in order to for the Applicant to present a cogent argument relative to there being no showing of a “serious burden”, he must demonstrate that the Examiner’s separate classification is in error.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2024 was filed and considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first/second/third plurality of power contacts in electrical communication with the flexible circuit board and disposed at first/second/third angular position(s) on the housing must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s submitted prior art, Bowen et al., US 6,288,386, in view of Spencer, US 2006/0165400 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Bowen et al. disclose a monocular assembly (figs 1-3) comprising:
. a housing 50 having an interior (fig 2)
. an objective lens assembly 42
. an eyepiece assembly 30
. an image intensifier tube 20,
. a power contact circuit board flex assembly 25/28 disposed within the housing (fig. 3)
. the power contact circuit board flex assembly comprising a flexible circuit board (FCB) 25, wherein the FCB extends around the image intensifier tube within the interior of the housing (fig 3)
Bowen et al., however, do not disclose first/second/third plurality of power contacts in electrical communication with the FCB and disposed at first/second/third angular position on the housing, respectively, wherein each of the first, second, and third plurality of power contacts in electrical communication with the image intensifier tube. Spencer discloses a mounting device for use with an optical system (figs. 1-4) including first/second/third plurality of power contacts in electrical communication with an FCB and disposed at first/second/third angular positions on a housing (e.g., first/second/fifth pairs of the five electrical contact pins 28 are in electrical communication with a flexible printed circuit board 30 via a contact holder 35 of the inner tube 31 and are disposed at a first angular position on the surface, [0016-0018]), and third solo power contact (contact pin 28) of the of power contacts in electrical communication with the FCB 30 and wherein the FCB extends around the inner tube 31 within the interior of the housing (figs. 2-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the optical art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ first/second/third power contacts at first/second/third angular position over the Bowen et al. housing, as shown by Spencer to protect an FCB and an electrical contacting purposes.
Re claims 2, Bowen et al. further disclose a lower power contact (figs 5A-5B) and the modification to Bowen et al. would result the lower power contact covers with at a plurality of openings through which the third plurality of power contacts extend (Spencer, figs 2-4, [0016]-[0018]).
Re claim 13, Bowen et al. also disclose a lower circuit board 76 secured to the housing 50 (figs 5A-5B) and the modification to Bowen et al. would result the low circuit board 30 secured to the housing at the third angular position, contact pin 28, and the lower circuit board having the third plurality of power contacts thereon (Spencer, figs 2-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DUNG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871