DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the embodiment with a proximal and distal tube in combination with a corrugated section (see claim 13) must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0177138 to Brown et al in view of US 2010/0249691 to Van Der Mooren et al.
In the specification and figures, Brown teaches the apparatus substantially as claimed by Applicant. With regard to claims 1, 4, Brown teaches an ocular implant comprising a scleral plate 100, an extensible tube 112, wherein the distal end of the extensible tube is placed in the anterior chamber of the eye and has a terminal open end with an anchor to prevent extrusion (see FIG 2, ¶0018, 0025, 0052). Brown is silent as to how the tube is attached to the plate. However, US 2010/0249691 to Van Der Mooren discloses an ocular implant with a scleral plate 40 and a tube 46, wherein the outflow end 50 of the tube is placed in a groove between inner face 44 and outer ridge 54 in order to secure the tube to the plate with a reduced height at the site of attachment 56 (see FIGS 1-4, ¶0056, 0058, 0066). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a groove as disclosed by Van Der Mooren to secure an extensible drainage tube to a scleral plate as disclosed by Brown, in order to provide a reduced height at the attachment site, as taught by Van Der Mooren.
With regard to claims 2 and 5, Brown teaches that a section of the tube is corrugated (see FIGS 8A, 8b).
With regard to claim 3, Brown does not teach the length of the tube. However, However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
With regard to claims 6 and 7, Brown discloses that the anchor element may comprise a cone or rounded cone, which may resemble a hook shape or a circular flange (see ¶0050).
With regard to claim 8, Brown does not disclose two lumens. However, Van Der Mooren discloses an ocular implant as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, wherein the tube comprises two smaller lumens instead of one large lumen in order to transmit the same volume of fluid while reducing the height of the implant (see Van Der Moore FIS 6-8, ¶0109). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use two smaller lumens as disclosed by Van Der Moore in the ocular implant disclosed by Moore, in order to reduce the vertical height of the implant, as taught by Van Der Moore.
With regard to claims 9, 10, 12 (see rejections of claim 1 above), Brown discloses an embodiment wherein the adjustable length tube comprises two tubes 512, 514 in telescopic relation to one another, wherein inner tube 512 locks in relationship to outer tube 514 to prevent leakage (see Brown FIGS 5-6, ¶0055).
With regard to claim 11, Brown does not teach the length of the tube. However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
With regard to claim 13, Brown does not disclose an embodiment with telescoping tubes and corrugation. However, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing upon looking at each embodiment of the Brown reference, could reasonably combine the embodiments to arrive at Applicant’s claimed invention.
With regard to claims 14 and 15, see rejections of claims 6 and 7, above.
With regard to claim 16, Brown and Van Der Moore reasonably teach the claimed method of providing the claimed device, attaching a plate to a sclera, and feeding a drainage tube into an anterior chamber (see rejection of claim 1 above, Brown ¶0048).
With regard to claim 17, Brown teaches telescopic tubes (see rejection of claim 9), but does not teach their dimensions. However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
With regard to claims 18 and 19, Brown does not disclose temporary occlusives to restrict flow. However, Van Der Mooren discloses that it was known in the art at the time of Van Der Moore’s invention, in 2010, to use temporary sutures to restrict flow upon implantation which may later biodegrade (see Van Der Moore ¶0012). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add a temporary occlusion as disclosed by Van Der Mooren to a lumen of an ocular outflow device, such as the one suggested by the cited art in order to restrict flow, as taught by Ven Der Moore.
With regard to claim 20, see rejections of claims 6 and 7, above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 8,771,220 Nissan et al
Glaucoma shunt with groove
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 12 February 2026