DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/28/2024.The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 02/28/2024, claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Chadha (US 20240249965 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Chadha discloses
A substrate fixing device (100, see fig.1) comprising:
a base plate (104, see fig.1);
a heating portion (combo 108 and 122, see fig.1) provided on the base plate (104, see fig.1);
a metal layer (combo 110 and 138, see fig.1, wherein the layer 110 is formed of metal, see para.0021 ) provided on the heating portion (combo 108 and 122, see fig.1); and an electrostatic chuck (106, see fig.1) provided on the metal layer (combo 110 and 138), wherein the metal layer (combo 110 and 138) is made of the same material as the base plate (104, see fig.1 and para.0015: “The temperature control base 104 is formed of a metal such as aluminum” and para. 0021: “The upper bonding layer 110 and the lower bonding layer 128 may be formed of metal bond material such as aluminum”. Therefore, the layer 110 of the combo 110 and 138 is made of the same metal (such as aluminum) as the layer 104)
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chadha
Regarding claim 2, Chadha further discloses
the heating portion (combo 108 and 122, see fig.1) includes an insulating layer (108, see fig.1 and para.0028: “bottom ceramic disc 108 … formed of ceramic material, such as … zirconia”. See Zirconia's Thermal and Electrical Insulation Properties, “Zirconia ceramic is a versatile material with excellent thermal and electrical insulation properties”) and a heating element (122) provided in the insulating layer (108, see fig.1), except wherein a thickness of the metal layer is 5 times or more a thickness of the heating element.
However, the courts have held that where general condition of claim is disposed in the prior art (see fig.1), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 IIa)
In this case, Chadha teaches a certain thickness of the metal layer (fig. 1) compared to the thickness of the heating element, and having a specific thickness of the metal layer is not inventive according to the courts. Varying the thickness of the metal layer is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. In this case varying the thickness of the metal layer to be 5 times or more a thickness of the heating element, in order to provide better heat dissipation, higher voltage handling, and greater mechanical/thermal durability, is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Regarding claim 3, Chadha discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the thickness of the metal layer is 10 times or more the thickness of the heating element.
However, the courts have held that where general condition of claim is disposed in the prior art (see fig.1), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 IIa)
In this case, Chadha teaches a certain thickness of the metal layer (fig. 1) compared to the thickness of the heating element, and having a specific thickness of the metal layer is not inventive according to the courts. Varying the thickness of the metal layer is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. In this case varying the thickness of the metal layer to be 10 times or more the thickness of the heating element, in order to provide better heat dissipation, higher voltage handling, and greater mechanical/thermal durability, is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Regarding claim 4, Chadha discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the thickness of the metal layer is 100 μm or more and 1000 μm or less.
However, the courts have held that where general condition of claim is disposed in the prior art (see item 110), it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05 IIa)
In this case, Chadha teaches a certain thickness of the metal layer (fig. 1), and having a specific thickness of the metal layer is not inventive according to the courts. Varying the thickness of the metal layer is recognized as a result-effective variable which is result of a routine experimentation. In this case varying the thickness of the metal layer to be “100 μm or more and 1000 μm or less”, in order to provide better heat dissipation, higher voltage handling, and greater mechanical/thermal durability, is recognized in the art to be a result effective variable.
Regarding claim 5, Chadha further discloses the metal layer (combo 110 and 138) is provided directly on an entire surface (106a) of the insulating layer (106) on an electrostatic chuck side (See fig.1).
Regarding claim 6, Chadha further discloses a through hole (132 see fig.1) penetrating from the base plate (104) to the electrostatic chuck (106, see fig.1 and para.0023) is formed, and wherein the metal layer (110, see fig.1) has an opening at a position corresponding to the through hole (132, see fig.1).
Regarding claim 7, Chadha further discloses a side surface (side surface of 138) of the metal layer (combo 110 and 138) is exposed to an outside (See fig.1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US20160343600A1 discloses an electrostatic puck assembly includes an upper puck plate, a lower puck plate and a backing plate.
/TIFFANY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761