DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 04/14/ 2026.
3. Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-20 are pending
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS filed 04/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 7, 10-13, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francois et al (US 10,284,794 B1) in view of Chellapandi et al (US 20250100569 A1) which claims the benefit of and priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/540,866, titled “Federated Learning for Controls and Monitoring of Functions in Vehicular Settings,” filed Sep. 27, 2023.
The current invention is directed to systems and methods for generating overlays of 3D models in 2D content items. Similarly Francois et al (us 10,284,794 b1) is directed to three-dimensional stabilized 360-degree composite image capture.
As per clam 1, Francois discloses a method (flowcharts of Figs. 7-13, and 30-31) comprising:
receiving, at a user interface of a computing device, during display of a two-dimensional (2D) content item, a user interaction associated with a first object displayed in the 2D content item ( In some embodiments, the composite image may be presented within an interface (such as a graphical user interface) through which the composite image may be interactive. For example, a user may use a touch screen interface (e.g. display interface 212 and input interface 210) to rotate the composite image in one direction or another direction, causing the interface to present images of the composite image in a smooth manner. column 11, lines 40-47) and
in response to determining that the first object is displayed in a threshold number of consecutive frames of the 2D content item (FIG. 14 depicts an interface 1400 including an image of a vehicle 1402 between visual alignment aids, in accordance with certain embodiments of the present disclosure. The interface 1404 may include a count of the number of frames or images captured to complete the 360-degree composite image and alignment aids to assist the user in maintaining a consistent orientation as the user traverses the path about the object. column 28, lines 43-51);
identifying the first object (vehicle 1402) and at least one attribute (see direction and orientation of the vehicle) of the first object (see captured image shown at different orientations (attributes) in Figs. 14-21);
providing for display an overlay of the 3D model of the second object at the computing device during display of the 2D content item (for example, FIG. 15 illustrates the interface of FIG. 14 including an indicator showing a change in the orientation of the computing device, that is, Fig. 15 illustrates an overlay of the 3D model of the second object (i.e., the vehicle 1402 is shown in different orientation) during display of the 2D content item (see background image ) as shown in Fig. 14-21).
Furthermore, although Francois further discloses retrieving a three-dimensional (3D) model of a second object based on the at least one attribute of the first object (at shown in Fig. 15, the vehicle (e.g., second vehicle) is now shown with different attributes, orientation and direction than the first vehicle (e.g., vehicle of Fig. 14), column 29, lines 40-54). But Francois does not seem to differentiate the second object (i.e. the second vehicle ) from the first object (i.e., the first vehicle), that is, Francois fail to teach the second object is different from the first object.
Chellapandi, on the other hand, discloses that [0004] The first computing device can update the first plurality of parameters of the first ML in accordance with the second plurality of parameters received from each respective vehicle of the plurality of vehicles. The first computing device can transmit, to at least one vehicle of the plurality of vehicles, the updated first plurality of parameters to update the second plurality of parameters of the second ML on the at least one vehicle. [0005] the first computing device can transmit, to the at least one vehicle of the plurality of vehicles, an identifier corresponding the vehicle function and the updated first plurality of parameters of the first ML model to update the second ML model on the at least one vehicle. [0011] At least one aspect of the present disclosure relates to a method of performing federated learning across vehicles. The method can include: maintaining, by a first computing system, a first machine learning (ML) model comprising a first plurality of parameters for determining values associated with a vehicle function of at least one of a plurality of vehicles; receiving, by the first computing system and from each respective vehicle of the plurality of vehicles, a second plurality of parameters generated by a second ML model used by a second computing system on each respective vehicle; updating, by the first computing system, the first plurality of parameters of the first ML model in accordance with the second plurality of parameters received from each respective vehicle of the plurality of vehicles; and transmitting, by the first computing system and to at least one vehicle of the plurality of vehicles, the updated first plurality of parameters to cause a second computing system on the at least one vehicle to update the second plurality of parameters of the second ML model on the at least one vehicle. [0060] FIG. 5 depicts a block diagram of a process 500 of training local models in the system for performing decentralized federated learning across vehicles. The process 500 can include or correspond to operations in the system 100 to exchange local model parameters between the vehicles 110A and 110B. Also see [0057]).
Before effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Chellapandi with Francois so that Chellapandi enables operations in his system to exchange local model parameters between the vehicles 110A and 110B (i.e., different vehicles).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Francois with Chellapandi to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 2, Francois in view of Chellapandi further discloses that the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to the providing for display the overlay of the 3D model of the second object at the computing device, receiving a second user interaction at the overlay of the 3D model of the second object (see for example FIG. 15, the user interacts with the displayed interactive element/icon to change the direction/orientation of the vehicle. In the illustrated embodiment, of Fig. 15, the interface 1500 provides visual feedback indicating a change with regard to the viewing angle. Column 29, lines 40-54); and
in response to the receiving the second user interaction, modifying at least one of an orientation or a size of the overlay of the 3D model (FIG. 17 depicts an embodiment 1700 of the interface of FIG. 14 including an image of a vehicle taken at approximately 58 degrees of rotation during the 360-degree composite image capture process, in accordance with certain embodiments of the present disclosure. The interface 1700 includes a circular indicator showing a number of degrees that the user has moved about the object ,column 29, lines 55-64).
As per claim 3, Francois in view of Chellapandi further discloses that the method of claim 2, further comprising: in response to the receiving the second user interaction, providing for display data of the second object at the user interface of the computing device (For example, the system may be configured to provide an interface including the three-dimensional model and including one or more user-selectable elements (checkboxes, pulldown menus, and so on). A user may interact with the one or more user-selectable elements to alter particular characteristics of the 360-degree composite images. In a particular example, the user may adjust a paint color of a vehicle or introduce other modification (such as adding a spoiler to a car), which changes can be updated in real time. Column 35, lines 3-34).
As per claim 7, Francois in view of Chellapandi further discloses that the method of claim 1, further comprising: retrieving a 3D model of a third object based on at least one attribute of the second object (as shown in Figs. 15 and 16, the vehicle of Fig. 16 (third object) has one similar attribute (e.g., vehicle facing direction, vehicle color, etc. ) with the vehicle of Fig. 15).
providing for display an overlay of the 3D model of the third object at the computing device during display of the 2D content item ( vehicle 1402 of Fig. 16 is shown displayed over captured image or background image )
generating for display a prompt at the user interface of the computing device (the method 1200 may include prompting the user to select the element in a different second image, at 1212 (The method 1200 may then return to 1206 to receive a second user input. Column 26, lines 56-59);
receiving a second user interaction at the overlay of the 3D model of the second object via the 3D model of the third object, wherein the second user interaction is responsive to the prompt (In some embodiments, if the selected element cannot be resolved from the received inputs, the interface may prompt the user to re-select the element within the 360 composite image. Alternatively, the mesh may be used to reliably associate a single user input selection with a 3D element corresponding to the user's selection. Other embodiments are also possible. Column 27, lines 28-34); and
in response to the receiving the second user interaction:
terminating display of the prompt at the user interface of the computing device (FIG. 27 depicts the interface 2700 accessible by the user to label the three-dimensional tag, in accordance with certain embodiments of the present disclosure. The interface 2700 can be used to add text, images, video, or any combination thereof for association with the three-dimensional point. In this example, the interface 2700 includes a text input 2704 and a keypad 2702 accessible by a user to label the three-dimensional tag. Once the user selects the “Done” button, the tag labeling operation may be complete. Subsequently, the user may double-tap (double-click) on the newly-created three-dimensional tag to see the images stabilized around the three-dimensional point associated with the three-dimensional tag. Column 32, lines 24-36); and
displaying a portion of the 2D content item at the computing device based on the second user interaction (as shown in Fig. 27, as the result of the user prompt (“tire”) the display of Fig. 28, highlight one of the tire of the car over the portion of the background image ) .
As per claim 10, Francois in view of Chellapandi further discloses that the method of claim 1, wherein the providing for display the overlay of the 3D model of the second object comprises: in response to identifying coordinates of the first object in at least one frame of the consecutive frames of the 2D content item, providing for display the overlay of the 3D model at coordinates proximate to the identified coordinates of the first object (Fig. 5 is a block diagram 500 of a sequence of frames including selected feature points that may be used to adjust frames to provide composite image capture, in accordance with certain embodiments of the present disclosure. The diagram 500 includes a set of three consecutive image frames: Frame A 502, frame B 504, and frame C 506. Each of the depicted frames includes a corresponding feature point: feature point 508, 510, and 512, respectively. The feature point 508, 510, and 512 in each frame may correspond to the same point or feature on a subject. Between the times when the three depicted frames were captured, the x-y coordinates of the feature points changed because the position and/or orientation of the camera device changed. With respect to a pixel location, the feature point 508 may be located at an x-y pixel position (9, 13); the feature point 510 may be located at an x-y pixel position (5, 11); and the feature point 512 may be located at an x-y pixel position (3, 12)).
As per system claims 11-13, 17, and 20, these claims are also rejected under similar citations given to the method claims 1-3, 7, and 10, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francois in view of Chellapandi and Sanchez (US 20230394530 A1).
As per claim 4, and 14, Francois in view of Chellapandi falls short to disclose the data of the second object is advertising data.
Sanchez relates generally to the field of virtual reality interactive advertisement, specifically, real time personalization for interactive advertisements for a user within a virtual environment where advertisement is being served.
Sanchez as illustrated in Fig. 8 discloses a functional block diagram of a 2D/3D Interactive Advertisement as Experience component 800 where the computing device is configured to generate a selected Ad 870 based on receiving a user Id 810 and number of other parameters, where the user ID 810 may be a unique identification number associated with the user. [0059] a User Ads Database 827, where the User Past Ad Interactions 826 may be in communication with the User Ads Database 827 and the User Ads Database 827 may be configured to store all user ad interactions history for all users and all available ads. User Past Ad Interactions 826 may be information of previous ads, for example, a user had selected “Red” when prompted for the color of a specific model car interactive advertisement. With all the above info, the disclosed embodiments provide a method for a new advertisement to assume the user likes sport cars and prefers the color red.
Before effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ 2D/3D interactive advertisements of Sanchez with Francois and Chellapandi so that a user/potential buyer of a vehicle would be interested to view/read the ad before purchasing a vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Francois in view of Chellapandi and Sanchez to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4 and 14.
7. Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francois in view of Chellapandi and Southin et al (US 12,394,193 B2).
As per claim 8, Francois in view of Chellapandi further discloses that the method of claim 1, wherein the computing device is an extended reality (XR) device (Francois, the system may provide a form of augmented reality through which a user can optionally visualize any additional vehicle part option as it would look from every image in the 360-degree composite image, column 35, lines 31-34. In some embodiments, in the case of a stereoscopic virtual reality or augmented reality headset, the display provided for each eye may be indexed to a different view (based on yaw angle) from the 360-degree image capture, such that the vehicle appears three-dimensional to the user, column 36, lines 15-19);
Francois in view of Chellapandi falls short to teach analyzing at least one frame of the consecutive frames of the 2D content item; and outpainting the at least one frame using generative artificial intelligence (AI).
Southin generally relates to the field of computing platforms, artificial intelligence, computer vision, and image processing. In particular, Southin discloses systems and methods of processing images to segment an object into its constituent parts.
Southi further describes, in some embodiments, the system may analyze the captured images to determine the appropriate cage. In some embodiments where the appropriate cage cannot be determined, the system may then select a cage that is similar to the captured object or it may generate a new cage (e.g., based on the captured images and/or other cages in its data storage), column 20, lines 58-column 21, line 6). Collectively, front cage 502, side cage 602, and rear cage 702 may make up a complete Scalable Vector Cage of, for example, a vehicle (i.e., each cage 502, 602, 702 is a cage for a view of the object, collectively making up the full cage for that object). column 28, lines 43-52). In this exemplary process 400, the user 10 captures an image of the object (here a vehicle) (402). The image is then processed using advanced machine learning algorithms to extract imagery based vehicle information (406). In some embodiments, process 400 can process the image using various semantic segmentation algorithms that use Deep Neural Networks to process images in a pixel format. In some embodiments, process 400 can use prompt based segmentation approaches and Generative AI methods for image processing. Column 26, lines 5-14).
Since both Francois in view of Chellapandi and Southin are directed to viewing and manipulating 3D images of a vehicle, before effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ the generative AI of Southin with the system of Francois in view of Chellapandi so that time and cost efficiency, new creativity and innovations and engagement in the creative process and manipulation of the vehicle in 3D models would be efficiently improved.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Francois in view of Chellapandi and Southin to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
As per claim 9, Francois in view of Chellapandi and Southin further discloses that the method of claim 8, further comprising:
analyzing an environment proximate to the XR device (Francois, in some embodiments, in the case of a stereoscopic virtual reality or augmented reality headset, the display provided for each eye may be indexed to a different view (based on yaw angle) from the 360-degree image capture, such that the vehicle appears three-dimensional to the user. In some embodiments, this effect may be best perceived when the vehicle is being viewed as a miniature composite image, such that the separation between the user's left and right eyes lead them to index into separate stabilized images from the capture. Alternatively, a large number of images may be captured to enhance the stereoscopic effect at higher magnifications. column 36, lines 15-26);
projecting the outpainted frame at the environment proximate to the XR device (Francois, In some embodiments, a the 3D-stabilized 360-degree composite image can be viewed in both virtual reality and augmented reality by mapping the same 3D information used for stabilization (3D center of mass and gravity vector) to a physical position in the augmented or virtual space, such that physically rotating the viewer's position around that center indexes into a succession of appropriate images that replicate the viewing experience when walking around the physical vehicle. Column 35, lines 67-column 36, lines 7); and
receiving a second user interaction at the outpainted frame, wherein at least one object of the outpainted frame is interactive (Francois, FIG. 22 depicts an alternative view of the interface 2200 including image alignment aids 2208, in accordance with certain embodiments of the present disclosure. Col 30, lines 63-65. Note: in Fig. 22, vehicle is shown in an outpainted frame).
As per system claims 18-19, the system claims are also rejected under similar citations given to the method claims 8-9, respectively.
Conclusion
/TADESSE HAILU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174