DETAILED ACTION
The election is noted. Claim 5 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. US9478804.
Park teaches, especially in col. 16-19 and the examples, forming a material having Mn, Ni and Co in various permutations (or all with Fe), then mix with Na compound and calcined. The atmosphere may be ‘oxygen’ and is separately listed from air, so it is taken to refer to pure O2. Choosing it is obvious to create the desired structure.
For claim 2, fig. 1B shows a sphere. Given the amount of Na taught in col. 17-18 and the mixing, it appears that the present level of coating is achieved.
For claim 3, the ‘precipitator’ salt is taught in col. 16 lines 33-60. Salts of the metals are also taught.
For claim 4, Fe is taught with the other 3 metals. From the amount of Na (above), the ratio (coefficient a) to total metals (x+y+z) is achieved. From the formula, the sum of all the metals is between 1 and 0.83. a is less than or equal to 1. Thus, the amount of Na (above) defacto overlaps the claimed formula range, rendering it obvious.
In example 3, a=0.67, x=0, (y-q)=0.5, (z-r)=0.5, (p+q+r)=0, as there is no extra metal beyond Na, Mn, Ni and Co (thus p, q, r individually are each zero because no coefficient can be less than zero). Thus, y=0.5 and z=0.5 and thus (x+y+z)=1 as demanded.
Claims 1, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castro et al. 20220298024 taken with Park.
Castro teaches, especially in paras 50-59, making a Ni/Mn/Cr oxide, adding Na and calcining to make a P2 structure. This differs in not using the claimed oxygen level.
Park, above, teaches oxygen as an alternative to air and thus is pure oxygen. Using it in the process of Castro is obvious to create the desired P2 structure.
For claim 4, table 1 teaches Na0.7(Mn0.65Ni0.35)O2 (p+q+r=0) as well as Na0.7(Mn0.6Ni0.3Cr0.1)O2; p+q+r=0.1. As there is no cobalt, (z-r) is zero. Since there are no restrictions per se on the relevant variables other than their sum, numbers may be chosen to arrive at the formula (under the logic that there can never be a negative amount of a metal).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-7 of copending Application No. 18/597386 (reference application) taken with Park.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common, nearly identical, subject matter. Claim 6 of the copending case is the initial formation step and the present claims include the ion exchange (‘comprising’). Park (above) teaches the oxygen level (pure O2) to achieve the desired structures. Using it in ‘386 is thus obvious to create the P2 structure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of copending Application No. 18/326483 (reference application) taken with Park.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common, nearly identical, subject matter. Park (above) teaches the oxygen level (pure O2) to achieve the desired structures. Using it in ‘483 is thus obvious to create the P2 structure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of copending Application No. 18/325514 (reference application) taken with Park.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim common, nearly identical, subject matter. Park (above) teaches the oxygen level (pure O2) to achieve the desired structures. Using it in ‘514 is thus obvious to create the P2 structure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
State of the art
Kim 20200251724 is noted.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736