DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a “wavelength shifting fiber” with no supporting structure. Examiner is left to guess as to the structure that allows for the function of shifting wavelengths. It is unclear if the optical attenuation length itself shifts the wavelengths or what structure shifts the wavelength. Claims 2-12 are rejected on the basis of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0118485 to Akari et al.
Akari discloses a wavelength shifting fiber comprising:
A plastic core (11); and
A coating (12) surrounding the plastic core, wherein the wavelength shifting fiber has an optical attenuation of about 500cm (paragraph 82 discloses an example of 416cm).
As to claims 5 and 10, the cladding has an outer diameter of 1mm and is therefore larger than the claimed 3um.
As to claim 6, the core material claimed is disclosed in paragraph 48.
As to claim 7, the cladding material claimed is disclosed in paragraph 50.
As to claim 8, organic materials may be used for the cladding (paragraph 51).
As to claim 9, fluorescent dopants are disclosed in paragraph 52.
Claims 13-20 are method claims that recite general drawing and manufacturing steps for the above structure. Since the structure is disclosed, such manufacturing steps would also be anticipated. Examiner notes that should this not be the case, a future restriction requirement may be proper.
Akari fails to disclose the optical attenuation length of at least 500cm. It is noted that the claims recite no specific structure, nor the degree of importance of this length. The prior art’s disclose of 416cm is “close” to the claimed 500cm and adjusting for the additional length would appear to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Similarly, claims 2-4 recite additional lengths. This value is a result effective variable and Akari discloses the need for the length to be greater than 300cm without setting any upper level boundaries. Certainly Akari allows for this possibility and selection of a length for the intended use would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akari as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 6,577,802 to Chien.
Akari discloses the invention as claimed except for the use of antioxidants in the fiber core. It is noted that this material appears to be used in Applicant’s invention to aid in the manufacturing of the fiber.
Chien discloses the use of hydroxytoluene as a polymerization inhibitor to stabilize the fiber material (column 9, line 53).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use an antioxidant such as taught by Chien in Akari to stabilize the core during manufacturing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12,270,956 to Fujita et al.
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874