DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
The present application is being examined under the AIA (America Invents Act) First Inventor to File.
This Office Action is Final.
This action is responsive to the following communication: the response filed on 12-08-2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10-02-2025, 01-14-2026 and 02-10-2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 8-12, 14, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No 2014/0176043 (hereinafter “Fujiyama”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2011/0164134 (hereinafter “Jezierski”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0380977 (hereinafter “Sentosa”) and even further view of U.S. Publication No. 2013/0223538 (hereinafter, “Wang”).
As per claims 1, 11, Fujiyama discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by an energy accumulator, a plurality of signals that energize the energy accumulator; (power generated from solar cell for charging battery or capacitor; Fig’s 12-13)
based on an accumulated energy in the energy accumulator satisfying a threshold value, activating a [control circuit]; (inter alia: determine whether power generated by the solar cell 101 is equal to or greater than the driving power for the charging control circuit 102. A UVLO (Under Voltage Lock Out) circuit 104 for monitoring an output voltage of a solar cell to determine whether the voltage has risen to a prescribed voltage is employed as a representative activation determining circuit. The conventional charging control unit 100 is constituted with such a charging control circuit 102 and a UVLO circuit 104; ¶ [006]
activating, based on the command, a power consumption device. (controlling signal that is responsible for at least “to control the activation of the charging control circuit”; ¶ [0014] )
Fujiyama does not distinctly disclose the following:
processing, by the decoder, one or more signals;
determining, by the decoder, that at least one signal, of the plurality of signals, comprises a command; and
However, Jezierski explicitly discloses the following:
receiving, by an energy accumulator, a plurality of signals that energize the energy accumulator; (The battery 100 can be a rechargeable battery that has a solar powered charger 102; ¶ [0017]
based on an accumulated energy in the energy accumulator satisfying a threshold value (requiring a first voltage or “preset time”), activating a decoder; (Power from the battery 100 can be applied “to activate the receiver decoder circuit 122”. Fig. 2 )
processing, by the decoder, one or more signals; (When activated the receiver decoder circuit checks for the presence of activation signal S1; ¶ [0017])
determining, by the decoder, that at least one signal, of the plurality of signals, comprises a command; and (If the activation signal S1 is present then the receiver decoder circuit 122 sends a trigger signal S3 that activates the second timer 112 that in turn closes switch 130 to apply camera power 132 to remote camera system 30 which includes camera 34 and video transmitter circuit 140.; ¶ [0017])
activating, based on the command, a power consumption device. (If the activation signal S1 is present then the receiver decoder circuit 122 sends a trigger signal S3 that activates the second timer 112 that in turn closes switch 130 to apply camera power 132 to remote camera system 30 which includes camera 34 and video transmitter circuit 140.; ¶ [0017])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fujiyama and Jezierski because both references are in the same field of endeavor. Jezierski’s teaching of activating a decoder would enhance Fujiyama's system by selective providing power to power consumption devices, thus improving power conservation to a system.
Jezierski as modified does not explicitly disclose where the expression “satisfying a threshold value” is more narrowly interpreted as threshold time value.
However, Sentosa discloses that. In particular, Sentosa discloses the following:
receiving, by an energy accumulator, a plurality of signals that energize the energy accumulator; (solar cell powered by solar; ¶[0068], fig. 1)
based on an accumulated energy in the energy accumulator satisfying a threshold value. ( once the charge time exceeds the predetermined charge time threshold; ¶ [0050])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fujiyama as modified and Sentosa because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Sentosa’s teaching of introducing a timing threshold would enhance Fujiyama's as modified system by preventing power drawn, thus enhancing unnecessary power consumption.
As per claims 2, 12, Fujiyama as modified discloses a method wherein the plurality of signals cause the decoder to be activated periodically. (Jezierski: signal from switch 120 for activating decoder circuit 122; Fig 2/ timer 110 periodically activates the receiver circuit 122; Fig 4)
Fujiyama as modified does not distinctly disclose determining, that at least a portion of signals comprises a command.
However, Wang explicitly discloses, determining, by a decoder,(parser; Fig 6 or ¶ [0121] that at least a portion of signals comprises a command. (data packet signal comprised of data packet header portion and payload data portion, where the parser is configured to “parse payload data 750 to extract the user input commands”. ¶s [0121]-[0125])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fujiyama as modified and Wang because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Wang’s teaching of parsing data packet signal for command would enhance Fujiyama's as modified system by offering a communication protocol that has superior efficiency, reliability and flexibility, thus enhancing data communications.
As per claims 4, 14, Fujiyama as modified discloses a method further comprising: using the accumulated energy to provide a bootstrap power to the decoder. ( Fujiyama: when driving power for the charging control circuit 3 can be sufficiently met; ¶ [0117] ) & (Jezierski: battery power to power decoder circuit 122)
As per claims 6, 16, Fujiyama as modified discloses a method wherein the determining that the at least a portion of the signals (Wang: ¶s [0121]-[0125] ) comprises the command comprises: detecting that the command comprises a digital video recorder recording instruction. (Jezierski: S1 signal for allowing the camera to be activated that is “capable of recording a video” ¶ [0026])
As per claims 8, 18, Fujiyama as modified discloses a method wherein the activating the decoder is further based on determining that the plurality of signals have energized the energy accumulator for a threshold duration of time. ( Sentosa: once the charge time exceeds the predetermined charge time threshold; ¶ [0050])
As per claims 9, 19, Fujiyama as modified discloses a method wherein activating the decoder comprises:actuating a switch to enable the decoder to draw power from a local power supply. (Sentosa: switch 119 to enable power to be drawn from any of the system in circuits 116; Fig 1) & (Jezierski: switch 120 to enable power to decoder 122 from battery; Fig 2)
As per claims 10, 20, Fujiyama as modified discloses a method further comprising: receiving, by the energy accumulator, an additional signal comprising a command to turn off the power consumption device.( signal S4 to turn camera 34 off; Fig 2)
Claim(s) 5, 7, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No 2014/0176043 (hereinafter “Fujiyama”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2011/0164134 (hereinafter “Jezierski”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0380977 (hereinafter “Sentosa”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2013/0223538 (hereinafter, “Wang”). further view of U.S. Publication No. 2011/0015795 (hereinafter “Boyer”).
As per claims 5, 15, Fujiyama as modified discloses a method wherein the determining that the at least the portion of the signals (Wang: ¶s [0121]-[0125] ) comprises the command comprises: (see rejection of claim 1 and 11)
Fujiyama as modified does not distinctly disclose a method wherein
detecting that the command comprises an identifier of the power consumption device.
However, Boyer explicitly discloses a method wherein the determining that the at least one signal comprises the command comprises: detecting that the command comprises an identifier of the power consumption device.(enable power to the appliances based on the identifier; ¶ [0031])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fujiyama as modified and Boyer because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Boyer’s teaching of controlling the power state of appliances based on identifier would enhance Fujiyama's as modified system by enabling remote power conservation and safety.
As per claims 7, 17, Fujiyama as modified does not distinctly disclose a method wherein the activating the power consumption device comprises: enabling power to the power consumption device after matching an identifier in the command with an identifier of the power consumption device. (Boyer: enable power to the appliances based on the identifier; ¶ [0031])
Claim(s) 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No 2014/0176043 (hereinafter “Fujiyama”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2011/0164134 (hereinafter “Jezierski”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2015/0380977 (hereinafter “Sentosa”) and even further view of U.S. Publication No. 2013/0223538 (hereinafter, “Wang”) and further view of U.S. Publication No. 2013/0113302 (hereinafter, “Jeong”).
As per claims 3, 13, Fujiyama as modified explicitly disclose a method wherein the plurality of signals comprise laser light. (Fujiyama: Fig. 2 illustrates solar rays in contact with the solar panel. Because solar rays are comprised with non-ionized radiation, that feature is the same as the claimed laser light)
Fujiyama as modified does not distinctly teach disclose wherein the plurality of signals comprise laser light is interpreted as an infrared light.
However, Jeong explicitly discloses a method wherein the plurality of signals comprise laser light. (¶ [0028])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Fujiyama as modified and Jeong because all references are in the same field of endeavor. Jeong’s teaching of laser light signals would enhance Fujiyama's as modified system by enabling to efficiently and remotely control other devices, thus enhancing control communications.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12-08-2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUREL PRIFTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175
Aurel Prifti
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2175
Tel. (571) 270-1743
Fax (571) 270-2743
aurel.prifti@uspto.gov