DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendments filed August 27, 2026 have been entered.
Claims 1 and 4 have been amended.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
The 35 U.S.C. §102 rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 6-7 and 9-15 are withdrawn as necessitated by the amendment to independent claim 1.
Claims 1-2 and 4-15 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 over Rios (US Patent No. 10,269,266) in view of O’Rourke (US Publication No.2023/0120618).
Claim 3 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 over Rios in view of O’Rourke and further in view of Marcoz.
The 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection of claim 4 is withdrawn after amendment of indefinite claim language.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on page 5, line 21 – page 6, line 27 of the remarks filed August 27, 2026, regarding claim 1, that Rios does not disclose “at least one power supply operatively connected to the at least one tracking element, the at least one power supply being housed in a connection module provided on the proximal end of the plunger rod,” and that Rios instead locates power source 1090 on flange 1034 of syringe body 1030, separate from plunger rod 1010 and resistance strip 1015.
However, Examiner respectfully disagrees that this distinction patentably distinguishes claim 1. Rios is no longer applied as an anticipating reference to amended claim 1. Rios remains the primary reference because it discloses the claimed plunger rod, longitudinal tracking element (resistance strip 1015), external conductive contacts 1037, power supply 1090 operatively connected into that sensing circuit, and current/position sensing (SDPA 1080). The newly recited location of the power supply, in a connection module on the proximal end of the plunger rod, is taught by O’Rourke. O’Rourke teaches a reusable smart plunger whose proximal head 221 is a module on the proximal end of plunger rod 220 and houses battery 252 together with the processor, sensors, and communications circuitry. Combining Rios’ strip-and-contact sensing circuit with O’Rourke’s proximal-head power module would have been obvious, as set forth in the rejection below. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 stands.
Applicant argues on page 7, lines 1-3 of the remarks filed August 027, 2026, regarding claims 2-15, that those claims depend from amended claim 1 and are patentable for the same reasons asserted for claim 1.
However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 2-15 fall with claim 1. The additional limitations are taught by Rios, O’Rourke, and (claim 3) Marcoz as mapped below.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 depends from claim 1 and recites “the housing” in line 2 and “the proximal end of the housing” in lines 2-3. There is no antecedent basis for these limitations in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rios (US Patent No. 10,269,266), hereinafter, Rios, in view of O’Rourke (US Publication No.2023/0120618), hereinafter, O’Rourke.
Regarding claim 1, Rios discloses a plunger device (plunger 1010 including plunger head 1012, and plunger shaft portion 1014 in figs. 10) for a drug delivery device (injection system 10 including injection syringe 1000 in figs. 10), comprising:
a plunger rod (plunger shaft portion 1014 in figs. 10) having a proximal end (thumb portion 1012 in fig. 1A) and a distal end configured to be attached to a stopper (distal end of plunger shaft portion 1014 is configured to be attached to piston in fig. 10);
at least one tracking element (resistance strip 1015 in fig. 10) operatively connected to an outer surface of the plunger rod (resistance strip 1015 connected to outer surface of plunger shaft 1014 in fig. 10), the at least one tracking element extending along a longitudinal axis of the plunger rod (resistance strip 1015 in fig. 10 extends along longitudinal axis of plunger shaft 1014 in fig. 10; col 18, lines 3-6);
at least one power supply (battery 1090 in fig. 10) operatively connected to the at least one tracking element (battery 1090 powers the Syringe Dose and Position Apparatus (SDPA) 1080 in fig. 10, which is electronically coupled to the spring-loaded contacts 1037 that engage resistance strip 1015 to complete the sensing circuit in fig. 10; col. 11, lines 32-34; col. 18, lines 11-20 and lines 56-60); and
at least one current sensing device (SDPA 1080 in fig. 10 monitors resistance readings between contacts 1037; col. 18, lines 56-60) operatively connected to the at least one power supply (battery 1090 in fig. 10 is operatively connected to printed circuit board 182 in fig. 3A via SDPA 1080 in fig. 10; col. 10, lines 59-60) and configured to detect an electrical contact established between the at least one tracking element (resistance strip 1015 in fig. 10) and a conductive element external to the plunger rod (spring-loaded contacts 1037 mounted on flange 1034 located external to plunger shaft portion 1014 in fig. 10; col. 18, lines 13-18).
Rios fails, however, to disclose that the at least one power supply being housed in a connection module provided on the proximal end of the plunger.
O’Rourke teaches a power supply (O’Rourke: battery 252 in fig. 2C; para [0092]) being housed in a connection module (O’Rourke: proximal head 221 in fig. 2C; para [0092]) provided on the proximal end of the plunger (O’Rourke: battery 252 provided on proximal end of plunger rod 220 in fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plunger device of Rios to provide a power source to be housed in a connection module on the proximal end of the plunger rod, as taught by O’Rourke, in order to protect the cell from being dislodged or damaged and to avoid a flange-mounted pack that can interfere with the user’s grip. The modification is a predictable rearrangement of a known component to a known location in the same art (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)), with a reasonable expectation of success because O’Rourke already powers onboard-plunger electronics from a cell in that location.
Regarding claim 2, modified Rios discloses the plunger device of claim 1, wherein the plunger rod is configured to be used with a manual syringe (plunger 1010 has a thumb portion 1012 in fig. 10 for manual injection).
Regarding claim 4, modified Rios discloses the plunger device of claim 1, wherein the proximal end of the housing is displaceable when a distally-directed force is applied by the user during drug delivery (plunger 1010 including thumb portion 1012 is configured to move relative to syringe body 1030 during drug delivery; col. 9, lines 44-46 and lines 49-55).
Regarding claim 5, modified Rios discloses the plunger device of claim 1 comprising at least one tracking element (resistance strip 1015 in fig. 10) positioned on the outer surface of the plunger rod (resistance strip 1015 on the outer surface of plunger shaft portion 1014 cooperates with two external contacts 1037 in fig. 10 that are located diametrically opposite each other; col. 18, lines 13-18).
Rios does not, however, specify the plunger device comprising two tracking elements positioned opposite one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tracking element of Rios to comprise two tracking elements positioned on the outer surface of the plunger rod opposite one another, as suggested by the two diametrically opposed contacts 1037 already disclosed in Rios (fig. 10). Such a modification would provide redundant electrical contact paths, improve signal reliability, and ensure consistent circuit completion as the plunger advances. This is a simple and predictable design choice with no patentable result. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B) (Duplication of parts).
Regarding claim 6, modified Rios discloses the plunger device of claim 1, wherein the at least one tracking element is a conductive strip (resistance strip 1015 in fig. 10).
Regarding claim 7, modified Rios discloses the plunger device of claim 1, wherein the at least one power supply comprises a battery (battery 1090 in fig. 10).
Regarding claim 8, Rios discloses the plunger device of claim 1, but fails to disclose, in the embodiment illustrated in fig. 10, the plunger device further comprising a force sensor configured to identify a pressure applied to the proximal end of the plunger rod.
Rios discloses, in an alternate embodiment, the plunger device further comprising a force sensor (force/pressure sensor 192; col. 10, lines 1-5) configured to identify a pressure applied to the proximal end of the plunger rod (force/pressure sensor 192; col. 10, lines 5-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plunger device of Rios to contain a force sensor configured to identify a pressure applied to the proximal end of the plunger rod, as described in an earlier embodiment of Rios in fig. 3A.
Regarding claim 9, modified Rios discloses the plunger device of claim 1, wherein the at least one tracking element (resistance strip 1015 in fig. 10) extends from the proximal end of the plunger rod to the distal end of the plunger rod (resistance strip 1015 extends along longitudinal axis of plunger shaft portion 1014 to the distal end of plunger 1010; col 18, lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 10, modified Rios discloses the plunger device of claim 1, further comprising a communication interface (SDPA 1080 including wireless transmitter 193 and receiver 200 generally described in col. 11, lines 25-31; the SDPA is configured to transmit injection data to a remote device) for issuing a signal when the electrical contact has been established between the at least one tracking element (resistance strip 1015 in fig. 10) and the conductive element external to the plunger rod (spring-loaded contacts 1037 located external to plunger shaft portion 1014 in fig. 10; injection data is collected via sensor on plunger shaft portion 1014 and sent to receiver 200 via transmitter 193; col. 11, lines 25-31).
Regarding claim 11, modified Rios discloses a drug delivery device (injection system 10 including injection syringe 1000 in figs. 10) comprising: a proximal end (proximal end of injection syringe 1000);
a distal end (distal end of injection syringe 1000); and
a barrel (syringe body 1030 in fig. 10) therebetween defining an interior configured to receive a medicament (syringe body 1030 has a needle 1050 for containing injection material or medication in figs. 10; col. 9, lines 47-51), and the plunger device of claim 1 received at least partially within the interior (syringe 1000 has plunger 1010 and is configured to move within the interior of syringe body 1030; col. 9, lines 44-47).
Regarding claim 12, modified Rios discloses the drug delivery device of claim 11, further comprising a backstop operatively connected to a finger flange provided on the proximal end of the drug delivery device (flange 1034 is located on the proximal end of injection syringe 1000 in fig. 10; col. 10, lines 37-47), the backstop comprising the conductive element (spring-loaded contacts 1037 located external to plunger shaft portion 1014 in fig. 10) external to the plunger rod (flange 1034 is external to plunger shaft portion 1014 in fig. 10; col. 10, lines 37-47).
Regarding claim 13, modified Rios discloses the drug delivery device of claim 11, further comprising a ring (inner annular portion of flange 1034 is ring-shaped in fig. 10) operatively connected to the drug delivery device (injection system 10 including injection syringe 1000 in figs. 10) and configured to receive the plunger rod, the ring comprising the conductive element external to the plunger rod (spring-loaded contacts 1037 located external to plunger shaft portion 1014 in fig. 10; inner annular portion of flange 1034 encircles the plunger path and has a central opening through which the plunger shaft 1014 translates).
Regarding claim 14, modified Rios discloses a method of monitoring an injection procedure of a drug delivery device, comprising: providing a drug delivery device as recited in claim 11 (injection system 10 with injection syringe 1000 in figs. 10);
receiving, with the at least one current sensor device (SDPA 1080 in fig. 10 monitors resistance readings between contacts 1037; col 18, lines 56-60), a first signal indicating that the electrical contact between the at least one tracking element (resistance strip 1015 in fig. 10) and the conductive element external to the plunger rod has been established (when plunger shaft 1014 advances, resistance strip 1015 first touches spring-loaded contacts 1037, completes electrical circuit, and SDPA processors initiate closure; col 18. Lines 51-67);
transmitting, with at least one communication interface, the first signal to a remote device (controller receives signal from SDPA; col. 21, lines 37-39);
receiving, with the at least current sensing device (SDPA 1080 in fig. 10 monitors resistance readings between contacts 1037; col 18, lines 56-60), a second signal indicating a resistance of an electrical circuit (resistance of electrical circuit – SDPA processors continuously monitor readings between contact 1037; col. 19, lines 1-6) established between the at least one tracking element (resistance strip 1015 in fig. 10) and the conductive element to the plunger rod (spring-loaded contacts 1037 located external to plunger shaft portion 1014 in fig. 10); and
transmitting, with the at least one communication interface, the second signal to the remote device (controller receives signal from SDPA; col. 21, lines 37-39).
Regarding claim 15, modified Rios discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the at least one current sensing device (SDPA 1080 in fig. 10 monitors resistance readings between contacts 1037; col 18, line 51 – col. 19, line 6) is configured to receive signals of the resistance of the electrical circuit during the entire injection procedure (controller receives signal from SDPA; col. 21, lines 37-50).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rios in view of O’Rourke, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marcoz.
Regarding claim 3, modified Rios discloses the plunger device of claim 1, wherein the proximal end of the plunger rod (thumb portion 1012 of plunger shaft portion 1014 in figs. 10) that comprises a proximal end configured to be contacted by a user’s thumb during drug delivery (plunger 1010 has a thumb portion 1012 in fig. 10 for manual injection).
Modified Rios does not, however, disclose that the proximal end of the plunger rod comprises a housing comprising a proximal end and a distal end attached to the proximal end of the plunger rod, and a sidewall therebetween defining an interior.
Marcoz teaches that the proximal end of the plunger rod comprises a housing (Marcoz: cap of plunger head 15 houses the communications circuit unit; page 13, lines 7-8) comprising a proximal end and a distal end attached to the proximal end of the plunger rod, and a sidewall therebetween defining an interior (Marcoz: plunger body 9 has a plunger head 15 located at the proximal extremity 16 of said plunger body 9 in figs. 1-3; page 15, lines 23-26; peripheral annular wall 19 is located on plate 18 and extends proximally forming well 20 and encloses an interior space in figs. 1-3; page 15, line 27 – page 16, line 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proximal end of the plunger rod of modified Rios to comprise a housing with proximal and distal ends as well as side walls to define an interior, as taught by Marcoz, in order to house internal electronics and communication components while providing ergonomic thumb placement for a user during drug delivery.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARIAH K WHITROCK/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783