DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2023-031327, filed on March 1, 2023.
Claim Interpretation
The specification of the instant application recites “a phosphoric acid compound is a compound containing P and O.” In light of this, the phosphoric acid compound of claim 1 is interpreted to include any compound containing both phosphorous and oxygen.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,941,513 in view of Onizuka (U.S. Patent Publication No. (2015/0207173).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,941,513 teaches all of instant Claims 1-3, except for the recitation that the coating layer comprises C (Claim 1) and the recitation that the coating layer comprises a C-F bond (Claim 3).
To solve the same problem of providing a positive electrode material for a nonaqueous secondary battery, wherein the positive electrode material comprises a coating, Onizuka teaches that the positive electrode material of his own invention may suitably include polyvinylidene fluoride as a binder ([0054]). Therefore, absent of a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to have modified the positive electrode active material of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,941,513 to include a polyvinylidene fluoride binder, as in Onizuka, because Onizuka teaches that this is a suitable and conventional binder for such a material.
Modifying the positive electrode material of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,941,513 to include a polyvinylidene fluoride binder, as in Onizuka, teaches the limitations of instant Claim 1, wherein the elements constituting the coating layer comprise C and F.
Modifying the positive electrode material of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,941,513 to include a polyvinylidene fluoride binder, as in Onizuka, teaches the limitations of instant Claim 3, wherein the coating layer comprises a C-F bond.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onizuka (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0207173).
Regarding claim 1, Onizuka teaches an active material composite comprising an active material particle and a coating layer, wherein the coating layer covers at least a portion of a surface of the active material particle ([0067]-[0071] teaches the formation of a film on the surface of the positive electrode active material during the first charging step), the coating layer comprises a phosphoric acid compound ([0067]-[0071] teaches the surface film as being derived from a fluorophosphate compound), and elements constituting the coating layer comprise C and F ([0054] describes the use of polyvinylidene fluoride as a binder in the positive electrode, which coats the active material).
Regarding claim 2, Onizuka teaches the phosphoric acid compound comprises one or both of Li and B ([0067] teaches the preferred usage of lithium difluorophosphate for the fluorophosphate).
Regarding claim 3, Onizuka teaches the coating layer comprises a C-F bond ([0054] describes the use of polyvinylidene fluoride as a binder in the positive electrode, containing C-F bonds).
Regarding claim 4, Onizuka teaches the coating layer comprises NaF ([0040] teaches the inclusion of a sodium ingredient as an incidental impurity, [0067] along with the fluorine of the fluorophosphate).
Regarding claim 5, Onizuka teaches a secondary battery comprising: a positive electrode active material layer, an electrolyte layer and a negative electrode active material layer, wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises the active material composite according to claim 1 ([0010] teaches a secondary battery with a positive electrode active material layer, a negative electrode active material layer, and an electrolyte layer).
Applicant has provided evidence in this file showing that the claimed invention and the subject matter disclosed in the prior art reference were owned by, or subject to an obligation of assignment to, the same entity as Toyota Jidosha Kabushiki Kaisha not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or the subject matter disclosed in the prior art reference was developed and the claimed invention was made by, or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement in effect not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention. However, although reference Onizuka has been excepted as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), it is still applicable as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) that cannot be excepted under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C).
Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) to overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 20240113335) teaches a phosphoric acid-based additive for a secondary battery.
Kim (CN 105895879) teaches an electrode active material with a fluorine and carbon containing coating.
/B.G.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/SADIE WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721