Claim Interpretation
Heat exchange part is not considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f) as sufficient structure is provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 recites “the refrigerant supply vessel holds… refrigerant… at a predetermined pressure corresponding to a temperature range in which heat exchange is performed in the corresponding heat exchanger” which is considered new matter and not supported in the specification. The specification recites that the supply vessel is “may fill a single refrigerant made of any one of methane, argon, nitrogen, neon, hydrogen, and helium, or a mixed refrigerant made of mixed materials including at least two materials of methane, argon, nitrogen, neon, hydrogen, and helium at a predetermined ratio and pressure so as to fill the heat pipe with the refrigerant suitable for a predetermined temperature range in which heat exchange is performed in the heat exchanger” but this is not the same as the supply vessel holds the refrigerant as that pressure and as such the limitation is considered new matter.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation of “such that gaseous hydrogen being supplied from the gaseous-hydrogen storage vessel is progressively cooled and liquefied while flowing through the hydrogen pipe and is discharged”” in lines 8-10 renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” For the purpose of examination, this limitation interpreted that “such that” is treated as “configured to” language.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation of “such that refrigerant vaporized at a lower portion of the heat pipe rises through the internal space, is condensed at the upper portion by cooling form the cold head, and returns toward the lower portion along an inner surface of the heat pipe by gravity” in lines 16-18 renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” For the purpose of examination, this limitation interpreted that “such that” is treated as “configured to” language.
Regarding Claim 1 the recitation of “through which the hydrogen flow” in lines 23 renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpreted to be “configured to” language.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation of “such that the hydrogen exchanges heat with the refrigerant in the heat pipe through the outer circumferential surface of the heat pipe” in lines 24-25 renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” For the purpose of examination, this limitation interpreted that “such that” is treated as “configured to” language.
Claim 5 recites “the refrigerant supply vessel holds… refrigerant… at a predetermined pressure corresponding to a temperature range in which heat exchange is performed in the corresponding heat exchanger” which is considered indefinite as unclear what the relationship with the pressure and the temperature is and what is actually required for the pressure to be present because as long as the tank is able to supply the heat pipe and the heat pipe is able to operate it would be at a pressure that would correspond to the temperature range. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that as long as the tank is able to provide the fluid to the heat pipe for the heat pipe to operate the limitation is met.
Regarding Claim 7 the recitation of “through which the hydrogen flow” in lines 4-5 renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpreted to be “configured to” language.
Regarding Claim 11, the recitation of “such that the hydrogen discharged from the first heat exchanger flows into the second heat exchanger” in lines 4-5 renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” For the purpose of examination, this limitation interpreted that “such that” is treated as “configured to” language.
Claims 2-4, 6, 12-14 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 10-11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN115325774), hereinafter referred to as Li and further in view of Mathias et al. (US Patent No. 7000427), hereinafter referred to as Baik (US PG Pub 20160231049), hereinafter referred to as Baik.
With respect to claim 1, Li (Figure 1) a hydrogen liquefaction device (paragraph 1), comprising a hydrogen pipe for connecting a gaseous hydrogen storage vessel to a liquid hydrogen storage container (the hydrogen starts at high-pressure cylinder 1, paragraph 32 and is ultimately stored in liquid hydrogen storage tank 16, paragraph 35, which as seen in the figure is achieved by a hydrogen pipe which starts at the top of 1 and passes through each heat exchanger and along the pathway before being discharged into 16) and a plurality of heat exchanges arranged along the hydrogen pipe such that the gaseous hydrogen supplied from the gaseous-hydrogen storage vessel is progressively cooled and liquefied while flowing through the pipe and is discharged into the liquid-hydrogen storage container as liquid hydrogen (heat exchange tube 11 is the first one followed by one of the heat exchange tubes 14 of the liquefaction cold head is a second of a plurality of heat exchangers, paragraph 36 which results in the hydrogen passing along through the pipe being cooled and then liquefied and stored in the vessel, paragraphs 49-53),
wherein each of the plurality of heat exchangers comprises a cryocooler including a cold head ((the cooling refrigerator 8 with the cold head 10 and the liquefaction refrigerator 9 with the cold head 13, are cryocoolers and would be recognized as such by one having ordinary skill in the art)
a heat pipe (the heat exchange tubes can be heat pipes, paragraph 36)
and a heat exchanger part in thermal contact with the with the heat exchanger therein such that hydrogen exchanges heat with the heat pipe (the hydrogen is cooled as it passes through the heat exchange tubes, paragraphs 33 and 35).
Li does not teach the heat pipe extending in a vertical direction and having an upper portion in thermal contact with the cold head, the heat pipe having an internal space without a separate inner pipe and containing a refrigerant such that the refrigerant vaporized at a lower portion of the heat pipe rise through the internal space, is condensed at an upper portion by cooling from the cold head, and returns toward the lower portion along an inner surface of the heat pipe by gravity, where the heat exchange part surrounds and in thermal contact with an outer circumferential surface of the heat pipe, such that hydrogen exchanges heat with the refrigerant in the heat pipe through the outer circumferential surface of the heat pipe.
Baik teaches that to liquefy hydrogen using a cryocooler (30) that a heat pipe (40) is used which has an inner tube (44) and an outer tube (43) where in the inner tube at the bottom hydrogen is evaporated and at the top hydrogen is condensed and in the outer region hydrogen flows through a tube where it is cooled (paragraphs 22-24). Though not called cold head, any portion of the cryocooler providing cooling to the heat pipe would be a cold head as that is the portion of a cryocooler which provides cooling.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Baik to have the heat pipes and cold head configuration of Li be configured such that a heat pipe with hydrogen that extends from the cold head with an outer tube formed as the heat exchange part around the heat pipe with a solid refrigerant through which the pipe which carries hydrogen flows since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby configuring the heat pipe to extend in this way with the outer tube with the channel wrapping around (annularly) to exchange heat would result in what would be common knowledge in the art of providing a high amount of heat exchange area between the heat pipe and the hydrogen by having the extend in this way around the heat pipe. The heat exchange in this configuration would be through the circumferential outer surface of the heat pipe which the outer tube is in thermal contact with It should be noted, that although Baik refers to the entire device including both the inner and outer tubes as the heat pipe, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the heat pipe component itself would only be the inner tube which has the refrigerant which is evaporating and condensing, and the outer tube would form a heat exchanger separate from the heat pipe.
Li as modified does not teach the heat exchange part being filled with a porous material to define one or more microchannels through which the hydrogen flows in the heat exchange.
Mathias teaches that a fluid product being liquefied in a heat exchanger can be flowed through microchannels of that heat exchanger (abstract) and that microchannels have a higher heat transfer unit volume in a heat exchanger compared to other heat exchangers (Column 2, lines 53-55) and that include microstructures to increase the heat transfer area including porous layers which can provide a number of advantages to enhance the mass and heat transfer process (Column 23, lines 43-48, 67 – Column 24, line 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed for the heat exchange unit (pathway through which the hydrogen passes when it exchanges heat with the heat transfer unit) is formed as a microchannel with porous layers heat based on the teaching of Mathias in Li since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that its common knowledge in the art that using a microchannel as the heat exchanger would provide a compact and efficient method with increased heat transfer performance of providing the heat exchange flow path for the hydrogen that is exchanging heat with the heat transfer unit compared to using non-microchannels.
With respect to claim 2, Li as modified teaches wherein the exchange part has an annular cross-section and extends along the outer-circumferential surface of the heat pipe (this is the configuration of the outer pipe which forms the heat exchange pipe as modified).
With respect to claim 7, Li as modified teahces wherein the heat exchanger part is filled with the porous material so as to form the one or more microchannels through which the hydrogen flows (the microchannel flow path is in the heat exchanger part and has the porous material and as such can be said to fill it at least in part).
With respect to claim 10, Li as modified teaches wherein the plurality of heat exchangers comprises a first heat exchanger configured to cool the hydrogen to a first cooling temperature (8/10);
a second heat exchanger positioned downstream of the first heat exchanger with respect to a flow direction of the hydrogen and configured to cool the hydrogen to a second cooling temperature lower than the first cooling temperature (there are two heat exchangers, the one formed by 8 and 10 and the one formed by 9 and 13, where cooling is first in 8 and 10 and then in 9 and 13 at a colder temperature, paragraphs 35 and 36, 9/13 can be considered at a rear of 8/10 as heat exchange in 9/13 is after heat exchange in 8/10).
With respect to claim 11, Li as modified teaches wherein the hydrogen pipe comprises a connecting pipe configured connecting a bottom of the first heat exchanger to a top portion of the second heat exchanger such that hydrogen discharged from the first heat exchanger flows into to the second heat exchanger (as seen in the figure, the pipe extends from the bottom of the combination of 8/1011 and the top of 9/13/14).
With respect to claim 14, Li as modified does not teach wherein the cold head of each cryocooler is disposed in a vacuum container.
Examiner takes official notice that it would be obvious for the overall container (16 that is the storage container) of Li to have been within a vacuum container (which would result in the cold heads would also be in the vacuum container whereby providing the components within the vacuum container would provide insulation from the outside of the container reducing the heat intrusion into the container. Applicant has not timely traversed this official notice and as such it is considered admitted prior art.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li/Mathias/Baik and further in view of Chandratilleke et al. (US Patent No. 6173761), hereinafter referred to as Chandratilleke and further in view of Cho (US PG Pub 20230395343).
With respect to claim 4, Li as modified does not teach wherein each of the plurality of heat exchangers comprise a refrigerant supply vessel fluid connected to the internal space of the heat pipe by a connecting tube and configured to supply at least one refrigerant.
Cho teaches that a tank (700) can be in fluid communication with a transfer pipe to supply a working fluid to the heat pipe until the pressure inside the heat pipe reaches operating conditions where the heat pipe is able to communicate with the tank to prevent an excessive increase in internal pressure (paragraph 46).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have provided a tank which is connected via pipe with the fluid being used in the heat pipe as modified of Li based on the teaching of Cho that is able to supply fluid to the heat pipe since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing the tank would provide a suitable way of providing the necessary refrigerant into the heat pipe that would be common knowledge in the art and allow the heat pipe the ability to communicate with the tank to prevent an excessive increase in internal pressure (paragraph 46 of Cho). The storage tank would thus be a refrigerant supply vessel able to supply refrigerant to the heat pipe.
Li does not teach the refrigerant in the heat pipe or neon or helium.
Chandratilleke teaches that a heat pipe which uses hydrogen as a refrigerant can also used helium or neon (Column 12, lines 19-20).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed to have instead of providing hydrogen in the heat pipe of Li to have based on the teaching of Chandratilleke provided helium or neon as the refrigerant since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby as they are all cryogenic refrigerants choosing between them would be prima facie obvious to provide what would be common knowledge in the art of a known cryogenic refrigerant.
With respect to claim 5, Li as modified teaches wherein the refrigerant supply vessel holds a single refrigerant selected from neon or helium at a predetermined pressure corresponding to a temperature range in which the heat exchange is performed in the corresponding heat exchanger (the refrigerant supply storage tank as modified would hold the refrigerant that is helium or neon).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li/Mathias/Baik and further in view of Chandratilleke.
With respect to claim 6, Li as modified does note ach wherein the heat pipe of each of the plurality of heat exchangers is prefilled with neon or helium at a predetermined pressure corresponding to a temperature range in which heat exchange is permed.
Chandratilleke teaches that a heat pipe which uses hydrogen as a refrigerant can also use helium or neon (Column 12, lines 19-20).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed to have instead of providing hydrogen in the heat pipe of Li to have based on the teaching of Chandratilleke provided helium or neon as the refrigerant since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby as they are all cryogenic refrigerants choosing between them would be prima facie obvious to provide what would be common knowledge in the art of a known cryogenic refrigerant. As heat pipe is sealed, it is at a predetermined pressure which can be said to correspond to the temperature range as whatever pressure it is at would result in that being the pressure for heat exchange.
Li does not teach when filling the heat pipe is its prefilled and sealed from the outside.
Baik teaches that the working fluid inner tube of the heat pipe can be filled with gaseous hydrogen as the working and is hermetically filled (paragraph 28).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Baik provided the heat pipe of Li as modified hermetically filled with hydrogen as the working fluid since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing the heat pipe as hermetically filled (which would understood to be that the heat pipe was filled and sealed) would provide what would be common knowledge in the art of a suitable refrigerant for the temperature ranges needed without the need to refill the refrigerant as the refrigerant is not able to leave the heat pipe.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li/Mathias/Baik and further in view of Minta (US PG Pub 20090217701), hereinafter referred to as Minta.
With respect to claim 12, Li as modified does not teach wherein the connecting pipe includes a Joule-Thomson valve configured to expand the hydrogen that passing through the connecting pipe and thereby decrease a temperature of the hydrogen.
Li teaches the use of a pressure reduce valve (2, paragraph 35) but it is upstream of heat exchange.
Minta teaches that during heat exchange for liquefying a gas (feed gas 10) the gas is pressurized and cooled (56-58) before being expanded (35) and cooled again (59) for a final stage of cooling (paragraph 40). Minta also teaches that it is known that expanders for expanding cooled gas in a liquefaction system include Joule Thompson valves (paragraph 39).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed for the expansion of the gas of Li to have not been at the beginning of the system (where valve 2 is) but to have been on the connecting pipe between the two stages of heat exchange by a JT valve (a pressure reducing valve) based on the teaching of Minta since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby maintaining the stream at pressure during some of the heat exchange and then expanding would provide what would be common knowledge in the art of increasing the heat transfer with the hydrogen gas as well as be able to take advantage of the expansion after cooling for further cooling before the final liquefaction.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li/Mathias/Baik and further in view of Dong et al. (Experimental investigation and optimization of small-scale helium liquefaction with multi-cryocoolers), hereinafter referred to as Dong.
With respect to claim 13, Li as modified teaches wherein the plurality of heat exchanger include n heat exchangers sequentially arranged in the flow direction of the hydrogen, n being an integer greater than or equal to 3, and wherein, for each I from 2 to n, an i-th heat exchanger is positioned downstream of a (i-1)-th heat exchanger and is configured to cool the hydrogen to an i-th cooling temperature lower than an i-1th) cooling temperature. Li only teaches two heat exchangers sequentially.
Dong teaches (Figure 1a/b) teaches that when multiple cryocoolers for liquefaction are used (A-E) they can be arranged either with a parallel flow path (1a) or a serial flow-path (1b) where as seen in the figure the fluid passes sequentially through the cryocoolers heat exchangers before being passing through the last two heat exchanger of the last cryocoolers in series where they are condensed (Figure 1 description, bottom of page 11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art the time the invention was filed to have instead of after passing through the first heat exchanger (10/11) of Li to have instead of passing through each of the other heat exchangers (13/14) in parallel to have based on Dong passed through them in series with the last two heat exchangers in parallel since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby as they are both known ways of providing liquefaction with a plurality of heat cryocoolers choosing between the two different methods would be prima facie obvious. Thus as all of the heat exchangers (13/14) are in series, n would be 4 with respect to a serial flow path and the limitation as claimed would be met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant arguments, pages 6-7, paragraph 2 are in regards to what the claims recite as well as what Li and Mathias teach but remarks specifically to the rejection do not beings until paragraph 3 of page 7 and will be addressed as such.
Applicant argues “in Biak, process hydrogen does not flow directly through the dual-tube region between the inner tube and the outer tube but instead flows through a coiled pre-cooling tube separately disposed within the dual-tube region and spaced apart from the inner tube and outer tube” whereas continuing page 8 “claim 1 recites that the heat exchange part surrounds and is in thermal contact with the outer circumferential surface of the heat pipe, and one or more microchannels through which the process hydrogen flows are formed by the porous material filling the heat exchange part or by a perforated thin plate or protruding disk include in the heat exchange part” and thus heat exchange is done “without passing through a separate coiled pre-cooling tube, and exchanges heat with the refrigerant inside the heat pipe” and thus “even if the outer tube or dual-tube region of Biak could be properly mapped to the heat exchange part of the amended claim 1, Biak does not disclose, teach or suggest a structure in which a porous material, perforate thin plate, or protruding disk is disposed in the heat exchange part for form process-hydrogen microchannels” and “the pre-cooing tube is an independent conduit separately disposed within the dual-tube region and spaced apart form the inner tube and the outer tube in order to exchange heat with the solid nitrogen filling the dual-tube region, and therefore, differs in both structure and heat-transfer relationship from the microchannels formed in the heat exchange part itself”. This is not persuasive.
The pre-cooling tube as modified by Mathias is formed as microchannels with porous structure within. The nitrogen itself acts as an intermediary to heat exchange. Thus part of the heat exchange part of which the pre-cooling tube modified to include or be micro-channels thus resulting in part of the heat exchanger part being filled with porous material which meets the limitation as claimed. The nitrogen itself receives cooling energy from the heat pipe and is phase changed to solid nitrogen, which in turns provides cooling to the hydrogen (paragraphs 34-35 of Biak) which means that while the cooling inside the tube is provided from the nitrogen, this cooling originates from the heat pipe thus meeting the limitation as claimed with the dual tube region which as modified has micro-channels acting as the claimed heat exchange part. Nothing in the claims prevent or require a structure that has anything other than heat exchange between the heat pipe and the heat exchange part and ultimately to the hydrogen within the heat exchange part.
Applicants’ remaining arguments are only drawn to how the remaining prior art does not render the alleged definicies of Li, Baik and Mathias obvious and as such are considered moot as the rejection in view of Li, Biak and Mathias is provided above in view of the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN M KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763