DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 13 May 2026 and the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 14 May 2026.
This office action is made Final.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 11, 13, 18, and 21-23 have been amended
Claims 6 and 16 have been cancelled.
Claims 24-27 have been added.
All rejections from the previous office action have been withdrawn as necessitated by the amendment.
Claims 1-5, 7-15, 17-27 are pending. Claims 1, 11, and 21 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/14/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
As per dependent claim 22, Claim 22 just repeats the similar limitation/subject matter “the icon is connected to the routable circuit or line in the first routing diagram.” already being claimed in independent claim 1. Therefore, Claim 22 does not further limit the subject matter as originally disclosed in Claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-15, 18, 20-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al (US 6606731 B1 thereafter "Baum") in view of Merg et al (US20180095638) in view of Fuji et al (US 5831618 A thereafter "Fuji") in further view of Kumagai (US 20070204254 A1).
As per independent claim 1, Baum disclose(s) a method comprising:
displaying, on a display, a first routing diagram including a first hotspot and showing a first portion of a routable circuit or line disposed within a vehicle, wherein: the first routing diagram is a member of a first set of routing diagrams and includes metadata; the first set of routing diagrams, a second set of routing diagrams, and the metadata are contained in data storage, the second routing diagram is a member of the second set of routing diagrams, (A plurality of routing diagrams may be received as vector files [See Col 4, Ln 2-29]. The routing diagrams may be part of a set(s) of diagrams (first set of routing diagrams) since they may relate to similar lines, components, systems, etc. The schematic diagrams may relate to an airplane (vehicle) [See Col 15, Ln 41-50]. Fig. 23-25 show routing diagrams with components of the airplane [See Col 15, Ln 2-25]. All component data (first/second set of routing diagrams), and XML data (metadata) storing hotspot information is stored collectively within a single file which is stored in memory. In other words, the XML data is combined with the graphics data that make up the objects within the first/second set of routing diagrams to form a single CGM4 file which is accessed by the IG viewer for the user to interact with. Thus, the CGM4 file includes the diagram(s) including the associated metadata [See Col 9, Ln 37- Col 10, ln 7])
the first hotspot includes an icon corresponding to a break point in the routable circuit or line in the first routing diagram and indicating that the routable circuit or line continues on a second routing diagram; the icon is connected to the routable circuit or line in the first routing diagram ( Baum discloses the user may select an off-sheet reference/hotspot (form of an icon) that is displayed in order to display another wiring diagram/document [See Col 15, Ln 26-30, and Col 16, Ln 5-10]. Such off-sheet reference/hotspot may be a wire number or connector number (form of an icon) that is also within another wiring diagram/document [See Col 15, Ln 26-30]. FIG 23 discloses icon identifier 9010-20 associated with a wire from port A of D95125P that has a break point. Selecting icon identifier 9010-20 will cause another wiring diagram/document to be displayed Figs 23-25 also show that components may be connected to wires and connector numbers [See Col 9, Ln 65-Col 10, Ln 19 and Col 13, Ln 53-61]])
the metadata comprises: a selected hotspot identifier corresponding to the hotspot; a destination routing diagram identifier corresponding to the second routing diagram, and a routable component identifier or a terminal identifier to indicate the second portion of the routable circuit or line is to be highlighted in a selection of the first hotspot …the second routing diagram depicts a second portion of the routable circuit or line disposed within the vehicle, and that continues from the break point in the routable circuit or line in the first routing diagram; determining, by a processor and in response to the processor determining selection of the first hotspot occurs while the first routing diagram is being displayed, the destination routing diagram identifier, and the routable component identifier or the terminal identifier, each from the metadata and each related to the selected hotspot identifier (Hotspot data with all objects and connections are stored as XML data together as a single CGM4 file in memory [See Col 13, Ln 62-Col 14, Ln 12, and Col 15, Ln 1-12]. The user may select an off-sheet reference/hotspot that is displayed in order to display another wiring diagram/document (second routing diagram) [See Col 15, Ln 26-30, and Col 16, Ln 5-10]. Such off-sheet reference/hotspot may be a wire number or connector number ("selected hotspot identifier corresponding to the first user-selectable control "/"routable component identifier or a terminal identifier …of the routable circuit or line shown in the second routing diagram") [See Col 15, Ln 26-30]. All hotspots are highlighted via color by the system, and the user may select particular wires to highlight connected segments [See Col 9, Ln 37-49, and Col 15, Ln 13-25]. The user may click a wire (path of the particular line) and highlight its path, as well as all remotely connected wires in the wire net which a skilled artisan would understand includes wires on separate diagram sheets [See Col 10, Ln 65-Col 11, Ln 4; Col 11, Ln 39-62; and Col 15, Ln 13-25]. Selection of wire number or connector number (identifier of the particular circuit or line) may cause a lookup within a database for the link(s) to the another wiring diagram/document (destination routing diagram identifier of the second routing diagram) [See Col 19, Ln 12-19]] and selection of a wire net causing highlighting may be performed by the same click input [See Col 11, Ln 39-62, and Col 15, Ln 26-30]]. In order for the another wiring diagram/document to be located, retrieved, and displayed as intended in response to the selection of the an off-sheet reference/hotspot, one of a skilled artisan would have realized Baum must had determine the selected hotspot identifier corresponding to the first user-selectable control "/"routable component identifier or a terminal identifier and destination routing diagram identifier of the second routing diagram in response to the selecting of the hotspot and during the process of locating, retrieving, and displaying the another wiring diagram/document.
retrieving, by the processor based on a request including the destination routing diagram identifier, the second routing diagram from the data storage in response to the selection of the first hotspot while the first routing diagram is displayed on the display, [The user may select an off-sheet reference/hotspot that is displayed in order to display another wiring diagram/document [See Col 15, Ln 26-30, and Col 16, Ln 5-10]. Such off-sheet reference/hotspot may be a wire number or connector number within another wiring diagram/document [See Col 15, Ln 26-30]; Selection of wire number or connector number (identifier of the particular circuit or line) causes a lookup within a database for the link(s) to the another wiring diagram/document (destination routing diagram identifier of the second routing diagram) [See Col 19, Ln 12-19]]; Hotspot data with all objects and connections are stored as XML data together as a single CGM4 file in memory [See Col 13, Ln 62-Col 14, Ln 12, and Col 15, Ln 1-12]] One of a skilled artisan would have realized that In order for the another wiring diagram/document to be located, retrieved, and displayed as intended, the destination routing diagram identifier of the second routing diagram must have been determined during the process of locating, retrieving, and displaying the another wiring diagram/document
displaying, on the display… the second routing diagram with the second portion of the routable circuit or line highlighted, in response to selection of the first hotspot and based on the processor using a jump instruction that includes the routable component identifier or the terminal identifier determined from the metadata. [The user may select an off-sheet reference/hotspot that is displayed in order to display another wiring diagram/document [See Col 15, Ln 26-30, and Col 16, Ln 5-10]. Such off-sheet reference/hotspot may be a wire number or connector number ("selected hotspot identifier corresponding to the first user-selectable control "/"routable component identifier or a terminal identifier …of the routable circuit or line shown in the second routing diagram") [See Col 15, Ln 26-30]. All hotspots are highlighted via color by the system, and the user may select particular wires to highlight connected segments [See Col 9, Ln 37-49, and Col 15, Ln 13-25]] Selection of wire number or connector number (identifier of the particular circuit or line) causes a lookup within a database for the link(s) to the another wiring diagram/document (destination routing diagram identifier of the second routing diagram) [See Col 19, Ln 12-19]]. In order for the another wiring diagram/document to be located, retrieved, and displayed as intended in response to the selection of the an off-sheet reference/hotspot, one of a skilled artisan would have realized Baum must had determine the selected hotspot identifier corresponding to the first user-selectable control "/"routable component identifier or a terminal identifier in response to the selecting of the hotspot and during the process of locating, retrieving, and displaying the another wiring diagram/document.
Furthermore, Baum appears to discloses the first hotspot covers an area within the first routing diagram (FIG 25; icon identifier 9010-20) In addition
FIG 25 and Col 9, Ln 41-43 disclose icon identifier 9010-20 is the first hotspot. However, the cited art fails to specifically discloses the first hotspot covers an area within the first routing diagram and the first hotspot includes an icon such that the icon is within the first hotspot as intended per Applicant’s invention. However,
Merg discloses a hotspot includes a graphic symbol (314), covering an area of the circuit diagram which takes up more pixels in the DUI than the image of the MAP sensor 310 itself (FIG, 0071, 0113) Merg et al discloses the map sensor icon is within the graphic symbol. The symbol can be a symbol representing a circuit. FIG 4 + 0111 shows the hotspot, that includes the graphic symbol, connected to a wiring harness. In addition, the graphic symbol/hotspot can be interacted with. 0074 also discloses that the hotspot acts like a link when clicked to perform actional actions. Thus, Merg discloses the first hotspot covers an area within the first routing diagram and the first hotspot includes an icon such that the icon is within the first hotspot as intended per Applicant’s invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have modified GUI elements and functionality of Baum with the GUI elements and hyperlink functionality of Merg since it would have provided the benefit of an easy, fast, and logical traversal in forward and return directions through hierarchically-ordered, computer- or processor-generated collection of graphics. (0012)
Thus, in conjunction with Baum, the combination of the cited art teaches the a first routing diagram that includes a first hotspot and showing a first portion of a routable circuit or line disposed within a vehicle, wherein: the first hotspot covers an area within the first routing diagram; the hotspot includes an icon corresponding to a break point in the routable circuit or line in the first routing diagram and indicating that the routable circuit or line continues on a second routing diagram; the icon is within the first hotspot and is connected to the routable circuit or line in the first routing diagram
Furthermore, the cited art do(es) not disclose "the metadata comprising a destination routing set identifier corresponding to the second set of routing diagrams”, “determining the destination routing set identifier” and “retrieving, by the processor based on a request including the destination routing set identifier and destination routing diagram identifier, the second routing diagram. However, Fuji discloses " a destination routing set identifier corresponding to the second set of routing diagrams” .Fuji discloses that when the user selects the symbol CR 66, the system retrieves the submap for the symbol [See Col 4, Ln 21-36]. The retrieved submap is displayed with the route (path) between symbols, as shown in Fig 5 [See Col 4, Ln 32-35]. As shown in Fig 2, the selected CR 66 (Computer room) is associated with data (first metadata) such as a submap ID "M4" [See Col 3, Ln 4-7]. Map "M4" includes symbol names of network items within the CR 66 (Computer room) [See Col 1, Ln 59-66, and Col 4, Ln 21-36]. Fig 2 shows that the Map "M4" is a map (second routing diagram) is within the set of maps "M2" (second set of routing diagrams) [See Col 3, Ln 4-7] wherein M4 is viewed as the destination routing diagram identifier and M2 is the destination routing set identifier. Thus, one of a skilled artisan would have realized that during the request for submap “M4”, the obtaining of submap “M4” and the displaying of “M4”, that the request would have included both identifiers and that the “destination routing set identifier” was identified during these steps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baum's wiring diagram system to incorporate the teachings of Fuji’s network user interface. Motivation to do so would be reduce the burden of users making a search through hierarchically layered network maps, as taught by Fuji [See Col 1, Ln 35-39].
Thus, in conjunction with Baum et al, the combination of the cited art teaches the metadata comprising: a selected hotspot identifier corresponding to the first hotspot, a destination routing set identifier corresponding to a second set of routing diagrams, a destination routing diagram identifier corresponding to the second routing diagram, and a routable component identifier or a terminal identifier to indicate a second portion of the routable circuit or line is to be highlighted in response to a selection of the first hotspot… determining, by a processor and in response to the processor determining selection of the first hotspot occurs while the first routing diagram is being displayed, the destination routing set identifier, the destination routing diagram identifier, and the routable component identifier or the terminal identifier, each from the metadata and each related to the selected hotspot identifier; retrieving, by the processor based on a request including the destination routing set identifier and the destination routing diagram identifier, the second routing diagram from the data storage in response to the selection of the first hotspot while the first routing diagram is displayed on the display;
Furthermore, the cited art fails to specifically "displaying, on the display in place of the first routing diagram, … the second routing diagram…"
However, Kumagai discloses "displaying, on the display in place of the first routing diagram, … the second routing diagram…" Kumagai discloses a system wherein a user may select a component pin, signal connector, or cross reference to perform a jump to connected elements in a schematic sheet [See ¶-121-125]. The new sheet may replace the previous view by displaying a full view of the sheet [See ¶-56-57].
Thus, in conjunction with Baum and Merg et al and Fuji, the combination of the cited art teaches display and in place of the first routing diagram, the second routing diagram with the second portion of the routable circuit or line highlighted, in response to selection of the first hotspot and based on the processor using a jump instruction that includes the routable component identifier or the terminal identifier determined from the metadata.
As per dependent claim 2, Claim 2 recites similar limitations as in Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, Baum, Kumagai disclose(s) the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of routing diagrams includes multiple routing diagrams, wherein the second set of routing diagrams includes multiple routing diagrams different than the multiple routing diagrams of the first set of routing diagrams, and ... [Baum, A plurality of routing diagrams (first/second vector graphics files) may be received as vector files [See Col 4, Ln 2-29]. The routing diagrams may be part of a set(s) of diagrams (first/second set of routing diagrams) since they may relate to similar lines, components, systems. A skilled artisan would understand that the another wiring diagram/document may be a different system/subsystem ("different than the multiple routing diagrams of the first set of routing diagrams")] However, Baum do(es) not disclose "wherein the multiple routing diagrams of the first set of routing diagrams are arranged according to a first sequence of multiple routing diagrams and the second set of routing diagrams are arranged according to a second sequence of multiple routing diagrams. " However, based on the rejection of claim 1 and the rationale, including the motivation, incorporated, Fuji discloses "wherein the multiple routing diagrams of the first set of routing diagrams are arranged according to a first sequence of multiple routing diagrams and the second set of routing diagrams are arranged according to a second sequence of multiple routing diagrams. " Fuji discloses that Fig 2 shows that the Map "M4" (second routing diagram) is within the set of maps "M2" (second set of routing diagrams) [See Col 3, Ln 4-7]. Fig 2 shows that the set of maps of M0 (multiple different routing diagrams) are different and arranged in a sequence different from the set of maps of M2.
As per dependent claim 3, Baum disclose(s) the method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying, on the display, a graphical user interface and the second routing diagram within the graphical user interface, wherein the second routing diagram is a member of the first set of routing diagrams, wherein the graphical user interface includes a second user-selectable control selectable to select a different routing diagram, and wherein displaying the first routing diagram occurs in response to a selection of the second user-selectable control while the second routing diagram is displayed. [Baum, A plurality of routing diagrams may be received as vector files [See Col 4, Ln 2-29]. The routing diagrams may be part of a set(s) of diagrams (first set of routing diagrams) since they may relate to similar lines, components, systems, e.g. electrical components (first set of routing diagrams). The user may select an off-sheet reference/hotspot that is displayed in order to display another wiring diagram/document (second routing diagram) [See Col 15, Ln 26-30, and Col 16, Ln 5-10]. A skilled artisan would understand that the displayed another wiring diagram/document would similarly contain an off-sheet reference/hotspot to the first wiring diagram/document. Such off-sheet reference/hotspot may be a wire number or connector number (second user-selectable control) [See Col 15, Ln 26-30]. Selection of wire number or connector number may cause a lookup within a database for the link(s) to the another wiring diagram/document (first routing diagram) [See Col 19, Ln 12-19]. Examiner notes that the reference to "a second routing diagram" appears to denote a different routing diagram than that indicated in the independent claim, in view of the "member of the first set of routing diagrams" appearing to be in conflict with the independent claim]
As per dependent claim 4, Baum disclose(s) the method of claim 1, wherein the jump instruction is contained in the data storage. [Baum, Hotspot data with all objects and connections are stored as XML data in memory [See Col 13, Ln 62-Col 14, Ln 12, and Col 15, Ln 1-12]]
As per dependent claim 5, Baum disclose(s) the method of claim 4, wherein the jump instruction includes the metadata corresponding to the hotspot. [Baum, The user may select an off-sheet reference/hotspot that is displayed in order to display another wiring diagram/document (second routing diagram) [See Col 15, Ln 26-30, and Col 16, Ln 5-10]. Such off-sheet reference/hotspot may be a wire number or connector number [See Col 15, Ln 26-30]. Hotspot data (first user-selectable control) with all objects and connections are stored as XML data in memory [See Col 13, Ln 62-Col 14, Ln 12, and Col 15, Ln 1-12]]
As per dependent claim 8, Claim 8 recites similar limitations as in Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Furthermore, Baum disclose(s) the method of claim 1, further comprising: reading, by the processor, a markup language file to determine the metadata corresponding to the hotspot, wherein the markup language file includes:…the selected hotspot identifier corresponding to the first hotspot, the destination routing diagram identifier corresponding to the second routing diagram and the routable component identifier or the terminal identifier. (Hotspot data with all objects and connections are stored as XML data in memory [See Col 13, Ln 62-Col 14, Ln 12, and Col 15, Ln 1-12]. The user may select an off-sheet reference/hotspot that is displayed in order to display another wiring diagram/document (second routing diagram) [See Col 15, Ln 26-30, and Col 16, Ln 5-10]. Such off-sheet reference/hotspot may be a wire number or connector number ("selected hotspot identifier corresponding to the first user-selectable control "/"routable component identifier or a terminal identifier …of the routable circuit or line shown in the second routing diagram") [See Col 15, Ln 26-30]. All hotspots are highlighted via color by the system, and the user may select particular wires to highlight connected segments [See Col 9, Ln 37-49, and Col 15, Ln 13-25]. The user may click a wire (path of the particular line) and highlight its path, as well as all remotely connected wires in the wire net which a skilled artisan would understand includes wires on separate diagram sheets [See Col 10, Ln 65-Col 11, Ln 4; Col 11, Ln 39-62; and Col 15, Ln 13-25]. Selection of wire number or connector number (identifier of the particular circuit or line) may cause a lookup within a database for the link(s) to the another wiring diagram/document (destination routing diagram identifier of the second routing diagram) [See Col 19, Ln 12-19]] and selection of a wire net causing highlighting may be performed by the same click input [See Col 11, Ln 39-62, and Col 15, Ln 26-30]]
However, Baum do(es) not disclose "an identifier of the second set of routing diagrams” ”. However, based on the rejection of claim 1 and the rationale, including the motivation, incorporated Fuji discloses "an identifier of the second set of routing diagrams, Fuji discloses that when the user selects the symbol CR 66, the system retrieves the submap for the symbol [See Col 4, Ln 21-36]. The retrieved submap is displayed with the route (path) between symbols, as shown in Fig 5 [See Col 4, Ln 32-35]. As shown in Fig 2, the selected CR 66 (Computer room) is associated with data (first metadata) such as a submap ID "M4" [See Col 3, Ln 4-7]. Map "M4" includes symbol names of network items within the CR 66 (Computer room) [See Col 1, Ln 59-66, and Col 4, Ln 21-36]. Fig 2 shows that the Map "M4" is a map (second routing diagram) is within the set of maps "M2" (second set of routing diagrams) [See Col 3, Ln 4-7].
As per dependent claim 10, Baum disclose(s) the method of claim 1, wherein the first routing diagram includes one of the following: a first electrical wiring diagram, a first optical communication line diagram, a first hydraulic line diagram, a first pneumatic line diagram, or a first vacuum line diagram, wherein if the first routing diagram includes the first electrical wiring diagram, then the second routing diagram includes a second electrical wiring diagram, the first portion of the routable circuit or line represents a first portion of an electrical circuit disposed within the vehicle, and the second portion of the routable circuit or line represents a second portion of the electrical circuit, .... [Baum, Fig. 23-25 show electrical routing diagrams with components of the airplane [See Col 15, Ln 2-25]. The user may select an off-sheet reference/hotspot that is displayed in order to display another wiring diagram/document [See Col 15, Ln 26-30, and Col 16, Ln 5-10]. Such off-sheet reference/hotspot may be a wire number or connector number [See Col 15, Ln 26-30]]
As per dependent claim(s) 11, 13-15, 20, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method analogous to the system with a processor performing the method of claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10 respectively, and is/are thus rejected under similar rationale. Baum discloses the system method is implemented on a computer [See Abstract]. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would understand that the method is performed using a memory storing instructions performed on a processor.
As per dependent claim(s) 12, 18, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method analogous to the system with a processor performing the method of claim(s) 2, 8 respectively, and is/are thus rejected under similar rationale.
As per dependent claim(s) 21, the claim(s) is/are directed to a processor performing instructions stored in a memory analogous to the method of claim(s) 1 respectively, and is/are thus rejected under similar rationale. Baum discloses the system method is implemented on a computer [See Abstract]. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would understand that the method is performed using a memory storing instructions performed on a processor.
As per dependent claim 22, Claim 22 recites similar limitations as in Claim 1 and is reject under similar rationale.
As per dependent claim 23, Baum discloses wherein the first hotspot includes a textual description of the second routing diagram.(Baum discloses the user may select an off-sheet reference/hotspot (form of an icon) that is displayed in order to display another wiring diagram/document [See Col 15, Ln 26-30, and Col 16, Ln 5-10]. Such off-sheet reference/hotspot may be a wire number or connector number (form of an textual description that part of the icon) that is also within another wiring diagram/document [See Col 15, Ln 26-30]. Therefore, the wire number or connector number is a textual description of the another wiring diagram/document. )
As per dependent claim 24, Baum fails to teach the metadata further comprises a departure routing set identifier corresponding to the first set of routing diagrams, and a departure routing diagram identifier corresponding to the first routing diagram. However, based on the rejection of Claim 1 and the rationale, along with the motivation, incorporated, Kumagai discloses a circuit diagram broken up into multiple sheets wherein a sheet is divided along the x-axis and y-axis into a plurality of blocks and the coordinates show the blocks on the sheet. In other words, Kumagai discloses one or more sheets where in each sheet comprises multiple sets of component routing diagrams wherein each block of the sheet corresponds to a component routing diagram in a which a user can jump to. Furthermore, each sheet and block have their own respective identifiers for use in the jumping instruction. FIG 3B, C and 0055 discloses that an instruction includes a sheet identifier (identifier to a first sets of component routing diagrams) and a block identifier (identifier corresponding to a component routing diagram). Therefore, Kumagai discloses at least a first sheet identifier and a block identifier. Thus, Kumagai discloses a departure routing set identifier corresponding to the first set of routing diagrams. Kumagai also discloses a departure routing diagram identifier corresponding to the first routing diagram.
As per dependent claim(s) 25-27, Claims 25-27 recites similar limitations as in Claims 2 or 23 and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al in further view of Merg et al in further view of Fuji in view of Kumagai in view of Hamatani et al (US 20060161410 A1 thereafter "Hamatani").
As per dependent claim 7, Baum, Kumagai do(es) not disclose "further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a communication from a server, wherein the communication includes information that can be used in or as the jump instruction. " On the other hand, Hamatani discloses "further comprising: receiving, by the processor, a communication from a server, wherein the communication includes information that can be used in or as the jump instruction. " Hamatani discloses a system wherein a client 110 may request and receive electrical circuit diagrams from a server for referencing [See ¶-30, 31, 63].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baum's wiring diagram system, Kumagai's full view to incorporate the teachings of Hamatani's circuit referencing. Motivation to do so would be because it would be applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The known technique of Hamatani's circuit referencing would have predictably resulted in reducing the resources required by the client device, and allowing a plurality of clients to reference a central server.
As per dependent claim(s) 17, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method analogous to the system with a processor performing the method of claim(s) 7 respectively, and is/are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 9, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baum et al in further view of Merg et al in further view of Fuji in view of Kumagai in view of Takao et al (US 20200057429 A1 thereafter "Takao").
As per dependent claim 9, Baum disclose(s) the method of claim 1, further comprising: ... determining a component identifier corresponding to a component within the particular vehicle, and determining a second user-selectable control selectable to cause displaying the first routing diagram on the display, wherein the routable circuit or line within the vehicle is connected to the component within the particular vehicle. [Baum, The user may select an off-sheet reference/hotspot that is displayed in order to display another wiring diagram/document (second routing diagram) [See Col 15, Ln 26-30, and Col 16, Ln 5-10]. A skilled artisan would understand that the displayed another wiring diagram/document would similarly contain an off-sheet reference/hotspot to the first wiring diagram/document. Such off-sheet reference/hotspot may be a wire number or connector number (second user-selectable control) [See Col 15, Ln 26-30]. Selection of wire number or connector number may cause a lookup within a database for the link(s) to the another wiring diagram/document (first routing diagram) [See Col 19, Ln 12-19]. Fig. 23-25 show routing diagrams with components of the airplane [See Col 15, Ln 2-25]. Figs 23-25 also show that components may be connected to wires and connector numbers [See Col 9, Ln 65-Col 10, Ln 19 and Col 13, Ln 53-61]] However, the cited art do(es) not disclose "determining a vehicle identifier corresponding to a particular vehicle, " On the other hand, Takao discloses "determining a vehicle identifier corresponding to a particular vehicle, " Takao discloses a system wherein a worker may search for a vehicle model (“vehicle identifier corresponding to a group of vehicles”) to find an electronic manual and a component view (first set of routing diagrams) [See ¶-69]. The user may select a high order category and corresponding view with the component of interest [See ¶-71-73]. Since the electronic manual corresponds to a vehicle model, a skilled artisan would understand that the component views (first/second routing diagram) and individual components would be present in a plurality of vehicles of the same model (“separate instances of a circuit or line”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baum's wiring diagram system, Kumagai's full view to incorporate the teachings of Takao’s vehicle manual. Motivation to do so would be to improve work speed, and understand vehicle maintenance in a short time, as taught by Takao [See ¶-8-9].
As per dependent claim(s) 19, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method analogous to the system with a processor performing the method of claim(s) 9 respectively, and is/are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 23-29, in regards to the 103 rejection of the independent claims, Applicant argues that the cited art, Baum, Kumagai, and Fuji (and Stannard) does every limitation of amended claim 1. In particular, Applicant argues that the cited art, Baum, Kumagai, and Fuji (and Stannard), does not teach the overall amended subject matter “the first hotspot covers an area within the first routing diagram, the first hotspot includes an icon corresponding to a break point in the routable circuit or line in the first routing diagram and indicating that the routable circuit or line continues on a second routing diagram, and the icon is within the first hotspot and is connected to the routable circuit or line in the first routing diagram…the metadata of the first routing diagram wherein the metadata comprises each of the following: a selected hotspot identifier corresponding to the first hotspot, a destination routing set identifier corresponding to the second set of routing diagrams, a destination routing diagram identifier corresponding to the second routing diagram, and a routable component identifier or a terminal identifier to indicate the second portion of the routable circuit or line is to be highlighted in response to a selection of the first hotspot, determining, by a processor and in response to the processor determining selection of the first hotspot occurs while the first routing diagram is being displayed, the destination routing set identifier, the destination routing diagram identifier, and the routable component identifier or the terminal identifier, each from the metadata and each related to the selected hotspot identifier; displaying, on the display and in place of the first routing diagram, the second routing diagram with the second portion of the routable circuit or line highlighted, in response to selection of the first hotspot and based on the processor using a jump instruction that includes the routable component identifier or the terminal identifier determined from the metadata".. However, the Examiner disagrees.
The Examiner respectfully states that Stannard is no longer used to teaches any limitations of the independent claims and arguments pertaining to Stannard are now considered moot.
Furthermore, after consideration of Applicants arguments of the independent claims 1, 11, and 21, the Examiner respectfully states the amendments to the independent claims change the scope of the claimed invention overall which results in a new ground(s) of rejection that includes the same references: Baum, Kumagai, and Fuji. Thus, the Examiner respectfully states Applicant’s remarks are not persuasive overcome Baum, Kumagai, and Fuji and respectfully direct the Applicant to the rejection explained above for the reasons why the following limitation(s) remain rejected under the references: Baum, Kumagai, and Fuji: the first hotspot includes an icon corresponding to a break point in the routable circuit or line in the first routing diagram and indicating that the routable circuit or line continues on a second routing diagram, …the metadata of the first routing diagram wherein the metadata comprises each of the following: a selected hotspot identifier corresponding to the first hotspot, a destination routing set identifier corresponding to the second set of routing diagrams, a destination routing diagram identifier corresponding to the second routing diagram, and a routable component identifier or a terminal identifier to indicate the second portion of the routable circuit or line is to be highlighted in response to a selection of the first hotspot, determining, by a processor and in response to the processor determining selection of the first hotspot occurs while the first routing diagram is being displayed, the destination routing set identifier, the destination routing diagram identifier, and the routable component identifier or the terminal identifier, each from the metadata and each related to the selected hotspot identifier; displaying, on the display and in place of the first routing diagram, the second routing diagram with the second portion of the routable circuit or line highlighted, in response to selection of the first hotspot and based on the processor using a jump instruction that includes the routable component identifier or the terminal identifier determined from the metadata
Arguments in regards of the new limitations of Claims 1, 11, and 21, brought forth in the amendments and not addressed by Baum, Kumagai, and Fuji, are now in view of the new ground(s) of rejection of 35 USC 103 using the new reference(s) Merg.
All other arguments on pages 28-32 that were not addressed by the Examiner, are referring to the dependent claims which are in reference or depend to the topics above, thus the rationale above can be used to respond to the similar arguments and/or Examiner's explanation used in the rejection of those claims as described in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If the Applicant chooses to amend the claims in future filings, the Examiner kindly states any new limitation(s) added to the claims must be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art in order to meet the written description requirement of 35 USC 112, first paragraph. To help expedite prosecution, promote compact prosecution and prevent a possible 112(a)/first paragraph rejection, the Examiner respectfully requests for each new limitation added to the claims in a future filing by the Applicant that the Applicant would cite the location within the specification showing support for that new limitation within the remarks. In addition, MPEP 2163.04(I)(B) states that a prima facie under 112(a)/first paragraph may be established if a claim has been added or amended, the support for the added limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where added the limitation is supported.
/ADAM M QUELER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2172
/ADAM M QUELER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2172
/D.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2172