DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are currently pending. Claims 1-12 are currently under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 09/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/02/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of zinc neodecanoate in the reply filed on 09/02/2026 is acknowledged.
No claims are withdrawn as a result of a species election.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to EP23159327.8, filed 03/01/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s Informational Disclosure Statement, filed on 10/10/2024 and 08/25/2025 has been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copy of the 1449 submitted herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 contains the limitation “comprising fragrance” wherein the limitation should be “comprising a fragrance” for better readability. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 contains the abbreviation RTP and VTP which are not defined in the claims. It would be remedial to the full term in the claims, e.g. restricted tail piece (RTP) and Vapour phase tap (VPT) as defined in the instant specification (page 11, lines 1-5). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0369575 in view of US 6,581,807.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of a cosmetic aerosol product comprising a pressurized container holding a base composition and a propellant which is a mixture, wherein the pressurized containing comprising a pressure release valve, a reservoir containing all of the base compristion and all of the propellant and a dip tube arranged for the transport of the base composition from the reservoir to the pressure release value, wherein the base compristion comprises ethanol and a non-volatile, ethanol-soluble cosmetic active and the weight ratio of the based composition to the propellant is from 30:70 to 90:10 is met by the ‘575 publication teaches deodorizing composition comprising at least one zinc carboxylate salt in an anhydrous solvent (abstract). The active is taught to be the elected zinc neodecanoate [0027] at 4% [0052]. The solvent is taught to be ethanol [0057]. The product is in the form of an aerosol [0074]. The propellant is taught to include ethane, butane and combinations thereof and is present from 20-70% by weight of the composition [0085]. The deodorizing composition in aerosol format is filled into canisters capable of withstanding pressure generated by the composition wherein the canister is fitted with a dip tube, valve and spray nozzle through which the formation is dispensed [0098]. Exemplified compositions include 39% base composition and 60% propellant (Example 2).
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of comprising a fragrance at a level of from 1 to 50% by weight of the base composition is met by the ‘575 publication teaching fragrance is present [0058] from 0.05-10wt% the total compositions [0080] wherein the base compristion is taught to be exemplified as 39% of the total composition, leading to 0.02 to 3.9% fragrance in the base composition. The fragrance level is taught as optimizable as it is present in an effective amount to provide the desired scent impression [0079].
Regarding claim 4, the limitation of the weight ratio of the base composition to the propellant is from 50:50 to 90:10 is met by the ‘575 publication teaching the propellant being present at 20-70% weight of the deodorizing compristion [0085], thus making the ratio of base composition to propellant 80:20 to 30:70, overlapping with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 6, the limitation of wherein the liquified gas is selected from C3-C4 hydrocarbons is met by the ‘575 publication teaching the propellant including butane [0085].
Regarding claim 8-11, the limitation of wherein the cosmetic active is the elected zinc neodeconate is met by the ‘575 publication teaching the active is taught to be the elected zinc neodecanoate [0027] at 4% [0052].
The ’575 publication does not specifically teach a propellant which is a mixture of a compressed gas and a liquified gas as a weight ratio of from 0.1:99 to 10:90 (claim 1) wherein the compressed gas is nitrogen (claim 5).
The ‘807 patent is directed to an aerosol product able to surely spray constant amount of an aerosol composition having an aerosol container having a liquid storage part in a passage from the interior of the container body to a nozzle of an aerosol valve system (abstract). The aerosol container comprises a container body charged with an aerosol composition, an aerosol valve system attached to an opening of the container rbody to open/close between the interior and the exterior of the container body and spraying part with a nozzle and further a liquid storage part (column 2, lines 25-37). The composition comprises alcohols such as ethanol (column 5, lines 5-10). The composition contains perspirant inhibitors and deodorant (column 5, lines 20-30). The invention comprises a liquified gas and a compressed gas combination wherein the compressed gas dissolved in the concentrate an the liquidized gas in the liquid storage part vaporizes to active aerosol composition wherein the liquid storage part is activated more strongly and sprayed further surely (column 6, lines 1-20). The liquefied gas propellant has a vapor pressure of 0.1 to 0.6 MPa and can be butane. The compressed gas can be carbon dioxide or nitrogen (column 6, lines 50-70). The liquefied gas is taught to be 30-99% by weight and the compressed gas is taught to be 0.1 to 10% by weight. When the amount of the compressed gas is more than 10% by weight, the pressure of the product is excessively increased to a dangerous degree (column 7, lines 10-30), thus teaching an overlapping ratio claimed and a reason to optimize the amount, to obtain the desired pressure of the product. The butane gas mixture is taught to have a vapor pressure of 0.3 MPa at 25 degrees C (column 7, lines 55-6)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use the combination of liquified and compressed gas in the composition taught by the ‘575 publication because the ‘575 publication teaches a combination of propellants may be used including carbon dioxide and butane and the ‘807 patent teaches specific combinations of liquefied and gas propellants which include carbon dioxide/nitrogen and butane, thus it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use known combinations or propellants as taught by the ‘807 patent in the composition taught by the ‘575 publication. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to use the combination of propellants as taught by the ‘807 patent because the ‘807 patent teaches the combination of propellants results in the liquid storage part vaporizes to active aerosol composition wherein the liquid storage part is activated more strongly and sprayed further surely. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the propellants of the ‘807 patent in the composition of the ‘575 publication as the ‘575 publication and the ‘807 patent are both directed to deodorant aerosol composition comprising propellants, wherein the propellants are taught to be overlapping ingredients, such as carbon dioxide and butane.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0369575 in view of US 6,581,807 as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-12 above, and further in view of US 2008/0017671.
As mentioned in the above 103 rejection, all the limitations of claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-12 are taught by the combination of the ‘575 publication and the ‘807 patent.
The combination of references does not specifically teach the pressure in the container, prior to the first use, is from 85 to 125 psig (0.59-0.86 MPa) at 25 degrees C (claim 3).
The ‘671 publication teaches the use of compressed gas propellants in aerosol compositions. The aerosol composition may comprise antiperspirant [0042]. The pressure within the container used to deliver the composition is not to exceed 100 psig at 54 degrees c. A container having 90 psig at 21 degrees C is describe wherein the pressure is that of the container prior to first use [0075]. Over 52 weeks, with no use, the pressure dropped by 11 psig [0075].
Although the reference is silent regarding the pressure of the container being 85 to 125 psig at 25 degree C, it would have been obvious to modulate the pressure of the aerosol composition of the ‘575 publication and the ‘807 patent such that the contents could reliably be dispersed with such that the exiting of the composition was not over pressurized and is sufficiently pressured to be capable of dispensing with the entire contents of the container. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use pressurized values that are capable of being stored in the container as taught by the ‘671 publication for the compressed propellant compositions as taught by the ‘575 publication.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0369575 in view of US 6,581,807 as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-12 above, and further in view of US 2018/0311119.
As mentioned in the above 103 rejection, all the limitations of claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-12 are taught by the combination of the ‘575 publication and the ‘807 patent.
The combination of references does not specifically teach wherein the pressure release valve comprises an RTP of from 0.5-1.0mm and a VTP of from 0.30 to 0.50 mm (claim 7).
The ‘119 publication teaches an aerosol antiperspirant product (title) having good sustainability comprising an anhydrous composition comprising an aerosol dispenser comprising a container body, an aerosol valve and a valve actuator, comprising an antiperspirant active and the aerosol valve of the aerosol dispenser having a vapor phase tap to restrictive tailpiece ratio of from 0.6:1 to 1.2:1 (abstract). An essential feature of the invention is that the aerosol valve comprises a vapor phase tap to enable propellant from the headspace above the antiperspirant composition to enter a valve chamber and enhance spray formation and quality. The aerosol valve comprises a restricted tailpiece (RTP) to connect a dip tube going into the antiperspirant composition with the main valve housing and may be an integral part of the valve housing. The maximum diameter of the VPT is preferably less than 0.75 mm and more preferably less than 0.65 mm. The maximum diameter of the RTP is preferably less 0.8 mm and more preferably less than 0.7 mm ([0096]-[0098]). Propellants are taught to include butane [0085] wherein the compristion is a deodorant [0082].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use the RTP and VTP taught by the ‘119 publication for the aerosol container taught by the ‘575 publication because the ‘575 publication and the ‘119 publication are both directed to aerosol compositions which are deodorants wherein the container include a reservoir and dip tube to dispsen the composition. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to use the RTP and VTP taught by the ‘119 publication for the container taught by the ‘575 publication because the ‘119 publication teaches the RTP and VTP to be essential components of the container where the container of the ‘119 publication is taught to enable propellant from the headspace above the antiperspirant composition to enter a valve chamber and enhance spray formation and quality, thus motivating one of ordinary skill in the art to use the RTP and VTP of the ‘119 publication for the container in the ‘575 publication.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/LYNDSEY M BECKHARDT/ Examiner, Art Unit 1613