DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant is advised that the copy of the Chinese Office Action and Search Report for Chinese Application No. 202211454950.2, dated March 25, 2026 and the copy of the Extended European Search Report for European Application No. 25224947.9, dated March 20, 2026 were not listed in the form SB08 of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 22 June, 2026. Their mention in the transmittal letter filed with that form did not comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1), which requires the following: (1) a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office; (2) U.S. patents and U.S. patent application publications listed in a section separately from citations of other documents; (3) the application number of the application in which the information disclosure statement is being submitted on each page of the list; (4) a column that provides a blank space next to each document to be considered, for the examiner’s initials; and (5) a heading that clearly indicates that the list is an information disclosure statement. Because the documents were not listed in such a format, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17, 19-23, 25-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (US PGPub 2017/0209011, "Robinson") in view of Muir et al. (US 10499779, "Muir").
14. Robinson teaches a handheld cleaner (2) comprising:
a suction part (30) having a longitudinal axis (see Robinson fig. 2);
a main body (combination of 4 and 6) including:
a body (6) comprising a cyclone part (18) configured to separate dust from air suctioned through the suction part (Robinson [0035]) and a dust container (22) disposed at a lower side of the cyclone part (Robinson fig. 2) to store the dust separated by the cyclone part (Robinson [0036]); and a body cover (32) configured to open and close a lower side of the body (see Robinson fig. 3 and [0063]-[0064]);
a handle (16) coupled to the main body (see Robinson fig. 2) and including a battery (15, see Robinson fig. 3 and [0033]);
a filter (40) disposed in the body and configured to filter the dust from air that passes through the filter (see Robinson fig. 3 [0038] and [0059]); and
a cleaning member (42 configured to scrape debris from the space between an outer perimeter of the filter and an inner perimeter of the body into the bin, see Robinson [0059]).
Robinson further teaches the presence of a pressable member (release catch 102) disposed outside the main body and configured to move the cleaning member (pulling release catch 102 allows the movement of bin 22 and associated wiper frame 42 relative to the cyclone assembly including screen 40, see Robinson figs. 6a-6b and [0059]); and
a connection bar connecting the cleaning member to the pressable member (first rail 60 is involved in the connection between 102 and cleaning member 42, see Robinson figs. 3-4 and 6a-6b); and
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, the cleaning member is positioned higher than the battery (at first position, cleaning member 42 is located higher than battery 15, see Robinson fig. 3).
However, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation “a cleaning member movable in a space between an outer perimeter of the filter and an inner perimeter of the body” requires that the frame be movable in the space relative to each of the filter and the body, which Robinson does not teach. Robinson also does not teach that the pressable member is located at a first position when the pressable member is not manipulated, and the pressable member is configured to move to a second position by manipulation of the pressable member,
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, at least a portion of the pressable member is disposed higher than the cleaning member and lower than an upper end of the handle in an orientation of the cleaning member in which a center axis of a cyclonic flow of the cyclone part is arranged along a vertical direction.
However, Muir teaches the concept of providing a vacuum cleaner (102) with a dust compression and cleaning mechanism including a cleaning member (414) movable in a space between an outer perimeter of a filter (312) and an inner perimeter of a body (210, see Muir 7:65-8:18);
a pressable member (handle 406) disposed outside a vacuum cleaner main body (see Muir figs. 3-4b) and configured to move the cleaning member (see Muir figs. 4a-4b); and
a connection bar (416) connecting the cleaning member to the pressable member (linkage 416 connects handle 406 to frame 414, see Muir fig. 4a and 7:53-60),
wherein the pressable member is located at a first position when the pressable member is not manipulated, and the pressable member is configured to move to a second position by manipulation of the pressable member (Muir figs. 4a-4b),
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, at least a portion of the pressable member is disposed higher than the cleaning member (in a first position, 406 is higher than 414, see Muir fig. 4a).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to integrate the teachings of Muir regarding a dust compression mechanism into the cleaner of Li such that it included a cleaning member movable in a space between an outer perimeter of the filter and an inner perimeter of the body; a pressable member disposed outside the main body and configured to move the annular frame; and a connection bar connecting the cleaning member to the pressable member, wherein the pressable member is located at a first position when the pressable member is not manipulated, and the pressable member is configured to move to a second position by manipulation of the pressable member, as doing so would allow for regular cleaning of internal surfaces during use, thereby improving efficiency of the cleaner (Muir 8:37-55).
Furthermore, due to the different geometry of the cleaners of Robinson and Muir, one of ordinary skill would implement the pressable member of Muir on Robinson as modified such that, when the pressable member was located at the first position, at least the portion of the pressable member would be disposed lower than an upper end of the handle because otherwise the pressable member would excessively protrude from the device, leading to an increased risk of damage from catching on objects it passes by.
15. Robinson as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 14, wherein the handle comprises:
a grip portion (16) configured to be gripped by a user; and
a battery housing disposed at a lower side of the grip portion and configured to receive the battery (lower portion 14 of handle 16 is configured to receive battery 15, see Robinson [0033]), and wherein the cleaning member includes a coupling part to which the connection bar is coupled (Muir teaches that cleaning member 414 is coupled to elongate linkage 416, so there must necessarily be some sort of coupling part on the cleaning member).
16. Robinson as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 15, but does not explicitly teach that, when the pressable member is located at the first position, the coupling part includes a portion disposed lower than an upper end of the grip portion.
However, it has been held that where the sole difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the particular placement of an element, the particular placement of that element is—absent some indication that changing the position of the element would have modified the operation of the device—an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Applicant's disclosure offers no evidence that the location of the coupling part relative to the upper end of the grip portion has any particular significance to the operation of the claimed invention. Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to further modify the cleaner of Robinson as modified such that, when the pressable member is located at the first position, the coupling part includes a portion disposed lower than an upper end of the grip portion, as doing so would be a matter of obvious design choice.
17. Robinson as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 15, wherein, when the pressable member is located at the second position, the coupling part includes a portion disposed higher than a lower end of the grip portion and an upper end of the battery housing, or wherein, when the pressable member is located at the second position, the coupling part includes a portion disposed closer to the lower end of the grip portion than an upper end of the grip portion (Muir teaches that the second position should be near a bottom end of a cleaning portion, which would place the coupling part on the combined device nearer to a lower end of the grip portion than an upper end of the grip portion, see Muir figs. 4a-4b and Robinson fig. 3).
19. Robinson as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 15, wherein the handle further comprises a connection portion (66) connecting the grip portion and the battery housing (66 extends between main body 4 and battery housing 14, see Robinson fig. 4).
Although Robinson as modified teaches that the connection bar is configured to move vertically (bar 416 moves vertically, see Muir figs. 4a-4b), Robinson as modified does not explicitly teach that the connection bar includes a portion disposed between the connection portion and the body.
However, it has been held that “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” MPEP § 2144.01, citing In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).
One of ordinary skill would understand that the connection bar should be positioned in a place near the junction of dust cup and handle, so a user could actuate the pressable member with one hand and provide an opposing force on the handle with their other hand while minimizing the angular moment resulting from horizontal separation of the places where those forces were applied.
One of ordinary skill combining the teachings of Muir and Robinson would locate the pressing assembly on one edge of the connection portion, which is close to the handle but sufficiently distant that the pressing assembly has a full range of motion without interfering with existing structures. This would result in a configuration wherein the connection bar includes a portion disposed between an outer perimeter of the body and the connection portion.
20. Robinson as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 19, but does not specifically teach that the connection portion includes a slot extending in a direction parallel to the center axis of the cyclonic flow of the cyclone part, and wherein the pressable member includes a first portion disposed outside the slot.
However, Muir teaches that the connection bar (416) may be housed in a slot (combination of internal conduit 410 and slot 502, see Muir 7:26-42) with the handle positioned adjacent the dust cup with the pressable member (406) including a portion disposed outside the slot (see Muir 7:53-64 and figs. 4a-4b). it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to, when combining the teachings of Muir with Robinson, to include some sort of mechanism that limited the motion of the connection bar to a vertical direction such as the conduit of Muir, such as a guide body disposed between the body of the main body and the connection portion, the guide body being configured to guide a movement of the connection bar, as doing so would prevent the connection bar from making unrestrained lateral movements and possible breaking off from the annular ring or pressable member.
21. Robinson as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 20, wherein the pressable member includes a second portion disposed inside the slot (handle 406 includes a portion disposed in slot 502, see Muir 7:26-42 and figs. 5a-5b), wherein a horizontal width of the first portion of the pressable member disposed outside the slot is greater than a horizontal width of the second portion of the pressable member disposed inside the slot (outer portion of handle is wider than portion in slot 502, see Muir figs. 5a-5b).
22. Robinson as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 20, wherein the main body further includes a suction motor (13) configured to generate a suction force, and wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, the coupling part includes a portion disposed lower than the suction motor (cleaning member 42 is lower than motor 13, see Robinson fig. 3; a coupling part connected to the cleaning member would likewise include a portion disposed lower than the motor).
23. Robinson as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 22, wherein, when the pressable member is located at the second position, the pressable member includes a portion disposed lower than the suction motor (Muir teaches a pressable member 406 that includes a portion in line with cleaning ring 414, Muir figs. 4a-4b; incorporating similar structure into the cleaner of Robinson would result in the pressable member of Robinson as modified including a portion that would be disposed lower than the suction motor when in the second position).
25. Robinson as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 14, wherein the main body further includes a suction motor (13) configured to generate a suction force,
wherein the cleaning member includes a coupling part to which the connection bar is coupled (Muir teaches that cleaning member 414 is coupled to elongate linkage 416, so there must necessarily be some sort of coupling part on the cleaning member), and
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, the coupling part includes a portion disposed lower than the suction motor (cleaning member 42 is lower than motor 13, see Robinson fig. 3; a coupling part connected to the cleaning member would likewise include a portion disposed lower than the motor).
26. Robinson as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 25, wherein, when the pressable member is located at the second position, the pressable member includes a portion disposed lower than the suction motor (Muir teaches a pressable member 406 that includes a portion in line with cleaning ring 414, Muir figs. 4a-4b; incorporating similar structure into the cleaner of Robinson would result in the pressable member of Robinson as modified including a portion that would be disposed lower than the suction motor when in the second position).
28. Robinson as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 14, wherein the cleaning member includes a coupling part to which the connection bar is coupled (Muir teaches that cleaning member 414 is coupled to elongate linkage 416, so there must necessarily be some sort of coupling part on the cleaning member),
wherein the filter includes a mesh portion having a plurality of holes (40 is perforated, Robinson [0038]), and
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the second position, the coupling part includes a portion disposed lower than the mesh portion (Muir teaches that in the second position, the cleaning portion should be around a bottom of a circular central filtering element, see Muir fig. 4b; Robinson teaches that the bottom of the central circular portion including mesh 40 is an end wall 55, see Robinson fig. 3 and [0041], which is lower than a bottom of the mesh portion and is where the cleaning member and at least a portion of the coupling part would be disposed at the second position)..
Claims 29-31 and 34-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 11229336, "Li") in view of Muir.
29. Li teaches a handheld cleaner (T) comprising:
a suction part (T2):
a main body (T1) including:
a body (1) comprising a cyclone part (311) configured to separate dust from air suctioned through the suction part and a dust container (11) disposed at a lower side of the cyclone part to store the dust separated by the cyclone part; and a body cover (12) configured to open and close a lower side of the body (dust separated by primary cyclone 311 settles in the cup defined by 11 and cover 12, see Li fig. 4); and
a filter (perforations 3111 in wall of 311) disposed in the body and configured to filter the dust from air that passes through the filter (perforations 3111 in wall of 311 are capable of acting as a filter, see Li figs. 4 and 10);
an additional cyclone part (312) to separate dust from air that has passed through the filter (secondary cyclone receives air from 3111 and filters air, see Li fig. 4 and 16:42-17:4),
wherein the additional cyclone part includes a dust outlet (air filtered by second cyclones drops downward) and an air outlet (air from secondary cyclones passes through filter 313 before exiting upward to the motor 211, see Li fig. 4 and 16:42-17:4);
a handle (T3) coupled to the main body and including a battery (501, see Li fig. 22 and 31:27-43).
Li does not teach the presence of a cleaning member movable in a space between an outer perimeter of the filter and an inner perimeter of the body;
a pressable member disposed outside the main body, the pressable member being configured to move the cleaning member and a connection bar connecting the cleaning member to the pressable member,
wherein the pressable member is located at a first position when the pressable member is not manipulated, and the pressable member is configured to move to a second position by manipulation of the pressable member,
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, at least a portion of the pressable member is disposed higher than the cleaning member and lower than an upper end of the handle in an orientation of the cleaning member in which a center axis of a cyclonic flow of the cyclone part is arranged along a vertical direction,
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, the connection bar includes a portion disposed higher than the air outlet.
However, Muir teaches the concept of providing a vacuum cleaner (102) with a dust compression and cleaning mechanism including a cleaning member (414) movable in a space between an outer perimeter of a filter (312) and an inner perimeter of a body (210, see Muir 7:65-8:18);
a pressable member (handle 406) disposed outside a vacuum cleaner main body (see Muir figs. 3-4b) and configured to move the cleaning member (see Muir figs. 4a-4b); and
a connection bar (416) connecting the cleaning member to the pressable member (linkage 416 connects handle 406 to frame 414, see Muir fig. 4a and 7:53-60),
wherein the pressable member is located at a first position when the pressable member is not manipulated, and the pressable member is configured to move to a second position by manipulation of the pressable member (Muir figs. 4a-4b),
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, at least a portion of the pressable member is disposed higher than the cleaning member (in a first position, 406 is higher than 414, see Muir fig. 4a)
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, the connection bar includes a portion disposed higher than the air outlet (in a first position, upper end of 416 is located higher than an air outlet from a central filter, see Muir figs. 3 and 4a).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to integrate the teachings of Muir regarding a dust compression mechanism into the cleaner of Li such that it included a cleaning member movable in a space between an outer perimeter of the filter and an inner perimeter of the body; a pressable member disposed outside the main body and configured to move the annular frame; and a connection bar connecting the cleaning member to the pressable member, wherein the pressable member is located at a first position when the pressable member is not manipulated, and the pressable member is configured to move to a second position by manipulation of the pressable member, wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, the connection bar includes a portion disposed higher than the air outlet, as doing so would allow for regular cleaning of internal surfaces during use, thereby improving efficiency of the cleaner (Muir 8:37-55).
Furthermore, due to the different geometry of the cleaners of Li and Muir, one of ordinary skill would implement the pressable member of Muir on Li as modified such that, when the pressable member was located at the first position, at least the portion of the pressable member would be disposed lower than an upper end of the handle because otherwise the pressable member would excessively protrude from the device, leading to an increased risk of damage from catching on objects it passes by.
30. Li as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 29, wherein, when the pressable member is located at the second position, the connection bar includes a portion disposed lower than the air outlet and disposed higher than the dust outlet (in a second position, bar 416 includes a portion above a dust outlet 322 and lower than the air outlet at the top of the central filter, see Muir fig. 4b).
31. Li as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 29, wherein, when the pressable member is located at the second position, the pressable member includes a portion disposed higher than the dust outlet (in a second position, handle 406 includes a portion located above dust outlet 322, see Muir fig. 4b).
37. Li as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 29, wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, at least a portion of the pressable member overlaps the handle in an extension direction of a lengthwise-direction axis of the suction part (a pressable member would overlap a portion of handle T3 wrapping around rear portion of main body T1, see Li fig. 1).
38. Li as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 29, wherein, when the pressable member is located at the second position, the pressable member includes a portion disposed lower than an upper end of the suction part (to achieve a range of motion fully clearing the mesh portion 3111 on wall of 311, the pressable member would need to move far enough downward that at least a part of it was disposed lower than an upper end of suction part T2, see Li fig. 22).
34. Li teaches a handheld cleaner (T) comprising:
a suction part (T2):
a main body (T1) including:
a body (1) comprising a cyclone part (311) configured to separate dust from air suctioned through the suction part and a dust container (11) disposed at a lower side of the cyclone part to store the dust separated by the cyclone part; and
a body cover (12) configured to open and close a lower side of the body (dust separated by primary cyclone 311 settles in the cup defined by 11 and cover 12, see Li fig. 4); and
a handle (T3) coupled to the main body and including a battery (501, see Li fig. 22 and 31:27-43);
a filter (perforations 3111 in wall of 311) disposed in the body and configured to filter the dust from air that passes through the filter (perforations 3111 in wall of 311 are capable of acting as a filter, see Li figs. 4 and 10); and
wherein the suction part (T2) is positioned higher than the battery (5, see Li fig. 22).
Li does not teach the presence of a cleaning member movable in a space between an outer perimeter of the filter and an inner perimeter of the body;
a pressable member disposed outside the main body, the pressable member being configured to move the cleaning member; and
a connection bar connecting the cleaning member to the pressable member,
wherein the pressable member is located at a first position when the pressable member is not manipulated, and the pressable member is configured to move to a second position by manipulation of the pressable member,
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, at least a portion of the pressable member is disposed higher than the cleaning member and lower than an upper end of the handle in an orientation of the cleaning member in which a center axis of a cyclonic flow of the cyclone part is arranged along a vertical direction,
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, a lower end of the pressable member is positioned higher than a lower end of the suction part, and
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the second position, the pressable member includes a portion disposed lower than an upper end of the suction part.
However, Muir teaches the concept of providing a vacuum cleaner (102) with a dust compression and cleaning mechanism including a cleaning member (414) movable in a space between an outer perimeter of a filter (312) and an inner perimeter of a body (210, see Muir 7:65-8:18);
a pressable member (handle 406) disposed outside a vacuum cleaner main body (see Muir figs. 3-4b) and configured to move the cleaning member (see Muir figs. 4a-4b); and
a connection bar (416) connecting the cleaning member to the pressable member (linkage 416 connects handle 406 to frame 414, see Muir fig. 4a and 7:53-60),
wherein the pressable member is located at a first position at an upper edge of the filter when the pressable member is not manipulated, and the pressable member is configured to move to a second position by manipulation of the pressable member (Muir figs. 4a-4b),
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, at least a portion of the pressable member is disposed higher than the cleaning member and lower than an upper end of the handle in an orientation of the cleaning member in which a center axis of a cyclonic flow of the cyclone part is arranged along a vertical direction (in a first position, 406 includes a portion higher than 414 and lower than a top part of itself, see Muir fig. 4a)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to integrate the teachings of Muir regarding a dust compression mechanism into the cleaner of Li such that it included a cleaning member movable in a space between an outer perimeter of the filter and an inner perimeter of the body; a pressable member disposed outside the main body, the pressable member being configured to move the cleaning member; and a connection bar connecting the cleaning member to the pressable member, wherein the pressable member is located at a first position when the pressable member is not manipulated, and the pressable member is configured to move to a second position by manipulation of the pressable member, and wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, at least a portion of the pressable member is disposed higher than the cleaning member and lower than an upper end of the handle in an orientation of the cleaning member in which a center axis of a cyclonic flow of the cyclone part is arranged along a vertical direction, as doing so would allow for regular cleaning of internal surfaces during use, thereby improving efficiency of the cleaner (Muir 8:37-55).
Furthermore, due to the different geometry of the cleaners of Li and Muir, one of ordinary skill would implement the pressable member of Muir in Li as modified such that, when the pressable member was located at the first position, a lower end of the pressable member is positioned higher than a lower end of the suction part, and when the pressable member is located at the second position, the pressable member includes a portion disposed lower than an upper end of the suction part because the pressable member needs to be able to achieve sufficient range of motion that it completely scrapes the outside of the filter (portion of cyclone 311 including holes 3111), but does not protrude from the device in an upward or downward direction in either position, as such protrusion would lead to an increased risk of damage from catching on objects it passes by. Consequently, a pressable member would be expected to be placed as close to the top of the main body as possible in the first position and with the annular member extending as low in the dust cup as possible in the second position, which would, due to the relative lengths and positions of the filter and pressable member result in the pressable member ultimately being positioned lower than an upper end of suction part T2 when in the second position (see Li fig. 22).
Claims 35 and 36 depend from claim 14. Regarding claim 14, Li teaches a handheld cleaner (T) comprising:
a suction part (T2):
a main body (T1) including:
a body (1) comprising a cyclone part (311) configured to separate dust from air suctioned through the suction part and a dust container (11) disposed at a lower side of the cyclone part to store the dust separated by the cyclone part; and
a body cover (12) configured to open and close a lower side of the body (dust separated by primary cyclone 311 settles in the cup defined by 11 and cover 12, see Li fig. 4); and
a handle (T3) coupled to the main body and including a battery (501, see Li fig. 22 and 31:27-43); and
a filter (perforations 3111 in wall of 311) disposed in the body and configured to filter the dust from air that passes through the filter (perforations 3111 in wall of 311 are capable of acting as a filter, see Li figs. 4 and 10).
Li does not teach the presence of a cleaning member movable in a space between an outer perimeter of the filter and an inner perimeter of the body;
a pressable member disposed outside the main body, the pressable member being configured to move the cleaning member; and
a connection bar connecting the cleaning member to the pressable member,
wherein the pressable member is located at a first position when the pressable member is not manipulated, and the pressable member is configured to move to a second position by manipulation of the pressable member,
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, at least a portion of the pressable member is disposed higher than the cleaning member and lower than an upper end of the handle in an orientation of the cleaning member in which a center axis of a cyclonic flow of the cyclone part is arranged along a vertical direction, and
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, the cleaning member is positioned higher than the battery.
However, Muir teaches the concept of providing a vacuum cleaner (102) with a dust compression and cleaning mechanism including a cleaning member (414) movable in a space between an outer perimeter of a filter (312) and an inner perimeter of a body (210, see Muir 7:65-8:18);
a pressable member (handle 406) disposed outside a vacuum cleaner main body (see Muir figs. 3-4b) and configured to move the cleaning member (see Muir figs. 4a-4b); and
a connection bar (416) connecting the cleaning member to the pressable member (linkage 416 connects handle 406 to frame 414, see Muir fig. 4a and 7:53-60),
wherein the pressable member is located at a first position at an upper edge of the filter when the pressable member is not manipulated, and the pressable member is configured to move to a second position by manipulation of the pressable member (Muir figs. 4a-4b),
wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, at least a portion of the pressable member is disposed higher than the cleaning member and lower than an upper end of the handle in an orientation of the cleaning member in which a center axis of a cyclonic flow of the cyclone part is arranged along a vertical direction (in a first position, 406 includes a portion higher than 414 and lower than a top part of itself, see Muir fig. 4a)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to integrate the teachings of Muir regarding a dust compression mechanism into the cleaner of Li such that it included a cleaning member movable in a space between an outer perimeter of the filter and an inner perimeter of the body; a pressable member disposed outside the main body, the pressable member being configured to move the cleaning member; and a connection bar connecting the cleaning member to the pressable member, wherein the pressable member is located at a first position when the pressable member is not manipulated, and the pressable member is configured to move to a second position by manipulation of the pressable member, as doing so would allow for regular cleaning of internal surfaces during use, thereby improving efficiency of the cleaner (Muir 8:37-55).
Furthermore, due to the different geometry of the cleaners of Li and Muir, one of ordinary skill would implement the pressable member of Muir in Li as modified such that when the pressable member is located at the first position, at least a portion of the pressable member is disposed higher than the cleaning member and lower than an upper end of the handle in an orientation of the cleaning member in which a center axis of a cyclonic flow of the cyclone part is arranged along a vertical direction, and when the pressable member is located at the first position, the cleaning member is positioned higher than the battery, (the handle of T3 of Li connects to a top of the main body and has a battery 5 at a bottom thereof, the cleaning member of Muir would involve a pressable member disposed near the top of the main body in a first position and including a portion extending lower than a top of the handle, and a cleaning member positioned above a top portion of the mesh filter structure of 311, see Li figs. 4 and 22)
35. Li as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 14, wherein, when the pressable member is located at the first position, at least a portion of the pressable member overlaps the handle in an extension direction of a lengthwise-direction axis of the suction part (a pressable member would overlap a portion of handle T3 wrapping around rear portion of main body T1, see Li fig. 1).
36. Li as modified teaches the handheld cleaner of claim 14, wherein, when the pressable member is located at the second position, the pressable member includes a portion disposed lower than an upper end of the suction part (to achieve a range of motion fully clearing the mesh portion 3111 on wall of 311, the pressable member would need to move far enough downward that at least a part of it was disposed lower than an upper end of suction part T2, see Li fig. 22).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 July, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that the cited combinations would not have taught the claimed invention, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
For these reasons, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.R.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723