DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 19MAY2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because its too short. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PARK (KR 20220083902).
Regarding claim 1, PARK teaches a method of fabricating thin-film composite membrane with interlayer structure and its applications (title) including a composite filtration membrane comprising a sulfonated polyethersulfone (SPES; par. [0014]) and MXenes (par. [0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAN et. al. 2017 “Preparation of a new 2D MXene/PES composite membrane with excellent hydrophilicity and high flux” in view of QIAO et. al. 2022 “An adsorptive sulfonated polyethersulfone/ functionalized graphene ultrafiltration membrane for hardness removal”.
Regarding claim 1, HAN teaches preparation of a new 2D MXene/PES composite membrane with excellent hydrophilicity and high flux (title) including a composite filtration membrane (title, abstract) comprising polyethersulfone (PES) and MXenes (abstract).
HAN does not teach a sulfonated polyethersulfone (SPES). However, QIAO teaches an adsorptive sulfonated polyethersulfone/ functionalized graphene ultrafiltration membrane for hardness removal” (title), where a polyethersulfone membrane is sulfonated (SPES), which allows the membrane to form hydrogen bonds and improve the uniformity of a membrane modified with 2D materials (abstract; see also P4/left C).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the membrane of HAN to be SPES in order to improve the uniformity of 2D MXene in the membrane. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of membrane separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claims 2-3, HAN teaches the MXenes follow the formula: Mn+1XnTx, where M is e.g. Ti; X is e.g. C; Tx is e.g. OH; and n is e.g. 2, which is Ti3C2Tx (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, HAN teaches the MXenes include titanium (abstract) and
a weight percentage of e.g. 0.25 (M4; TABLE 1), which anticipates the claimed range of from about 0.2 wt.% to about 20 wt.%.
Regarding claim 5, both HAN and QIAO teach the composite filtration membrane is an ultrafiltration membrane (abstract) and therefore HAN’s modified membrane is expected to have a pore size of e.g. 25-33 nm (QIAO TABLE 1), which anticipates the claimed range of about 1 nm to about 100 nm.
Cited Art
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
ALANSARI et. al. “MXene-Enhanced Electromembrane Systems for Advanced Water Applications: A Review”.
Telephonic Inquiries
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1777
/Liam Royce/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773