DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 4/8/26.
In the response Applicant amended claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9-10, 12-13, 15-16, 19.
Currently, claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-12, 14-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schleicher (2018/0078862) in view of Cottrell (2012/0134651).
Re Claim 1,
Schleicher discloses a method, comprising:
wherein the video game includes a plurality of playable events that are predefined, based on an arc order consistent with a story arc of the video game (Fig 4-5, ¶¶0042-0043; the video game platform may record the video game session, producing a raw recording of a series of events, i.e., an arc order, further, the recording may be divided into highlight events that are playable as a highlight reel);
selecting one or more playable events from the plurality of playable events to architect a mini story arc for the highlight reel (Fig 4, ¶0042; the video game platform selects different highlights from the series of events and creates a highlight reel that the player is interested in showing, i.e., architecting a mini story arc);
selecting a plurality of clips based on a plurality of user generated content associated with playing the one or more playable events, wherein the plurality of clips correspond to the one or more playable events (¶¶0024, 0027-0028, 0046, 0049; a video of the game highlights can be generated, either at the request of one or more users, under control of one or more users. That is, user generated tags are considered as user generated content that are used to selecting videos for the highlight); and
generating the highlight reel based on the plurality of clips that follows the mini story arc (Fig 4, 15, ¶¶0041-0044, 0047, 0060; the gaming platform generates the highlight reel based on the player selected highlights, wherein the highlight reel is streamed to the video game audience device set).
Schleicher does not explicitly disclose receiving a request for a highlight reel of a video game, wherein the request includes a story class for the highlight reel.
However, Cottrell teaches receiving a request for a highlight reel of a video game, wherein the request includes a story class for the highlight reel (¶¶0024, 0049; a user may request a video be prepared that shows all of that user's tagged events from all games played by that user, i.e., a story class of the player history). Cottrell further teaches such a configuration provides a meaningful and entertaining narrative highlight reel (¶0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cottrell into the game system of Schleicher in order to provide a meaningful and entertaining narrative highlight reel.
Re Claims 2, 11, 17,
Schleicher discloses the plurality of playable events is identified and tagged during development of the video game (Fig 3-6, ¶¶0041-0044).
Re Claim 3,
Schleicher discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on collecting a plurality of game plays of the video game being played by a plurality of players; extracting a plurality of features from the plurality of game plays, wherein the plurality of features is related to one or more events occurring in the plurality of game plays; and inputting the plurality of features into a deep learning engine that is configured to identify and output the plurality of playable events. However, Cottrell teaches collecting a plurality of game plays of the video game being played by a plurality of players; extracting a plurality of features from the plurality of game plays, wherein the plurality of features is related to one or more events occurring in the plurality of game plays; and inputting the plurality of features into a deep learning engine that is configured to identify and output the plurality of playable events (Fig 5, ¶¶0019, 0044-0047, 0053-0054). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 4, 12, 18,
Schleicher discloses providing as input the plurality of playable events, the arc order, and as architecting the mini story arc with the one or more playable events (¶¶0023, 0041-0044, 0064). However, Cottrell teaches the story class for the highlight reel into a deep learning engine implementing generative artificial intelligence and using generative artificial intelligence (¶¶0008, 0019, 0024, 0049). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 7, 14, 20,
Schleicher discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the story class defines a complexity and duration of the highlight reel. However, Cottrell teaches the story class defines a complexity and duration of the highlight reel (¶¶0024, 0044-0047, 0049). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claim 8,
Schleicher discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the story class defines a limited period of the story arc for the mini story arc (¶¶0024, 0044-0047, 0049). See claim 1 for motivation.
Re Claims 9, 15,
Schleicher discloses the plurality of playable events that are predefined include at least one of the following: a key event that is required within the story arc; and a critical event that is descriptive of the mini story arc; and an ordinary event that links a first event and a second event of the plurality of playable events that are predefined (Fig 4, 15, ¶¶0041-0044, 0047).
Re Claims 10, 16,
Claims describe a computer system and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium performed by the method of claim 1. See claim 1 for rejection and motivation.
Claim(s) 5-6, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schleicher (2018/0078862) in view of Cottrell (2012/0134651), further in view of Sundareson (2020/0406140).
Re Claims 5, 13, 19,
Schleicher as modified by Cottrell teaches generating video highlights using machine heuristics, based upon based upon user preferences applied to the video generation process using machine automation (see Cottrell, ¶¶0027-0028, 0046, 0049, 0053) but does not explicitly disclose a deep learning engine using generative artificial intelligence. However, Sundareson teaches presenting a highlight reel using a machine learning model (¶¶0023, 0084). Sundareson further teaches such a configuration reduces time and computing resources for sharing gameplay (¶0003). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Sundareson into the highlight reel of Schleicher as modified by Cottrell in order to reduces time and computing resources for generating the highlight.
Re Claim 6,
Schleicher discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the plurality of user generated content is recorded and stored by a proprietary gaming service, that provides gaming access to the video game, or by a third party source. However, Cottrell teaches the plurality of user generated content is recorded and stored by a proprietary gaming service, that provides gaming access to the video game, or by a third party source (Fig 1, ¶¶0022, 0027, 0030, 0053). See claim 1 for motivation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 4/8/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715