DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are rejected in the Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of US Provisional application 63/526,069 filed 07/11/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
There is insufficient antecedent basis in the following claim(s) for the limitation(s) enumerated below:
Claim 1, lacks antecedent basis for "the broadcast TWT response element".
The above cited rejections are merely exemplary.
The Applicant(s) are respectfully requested to correct all similar errors.
Claims not specifically mentioned are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asterjadhi et al. (US20170311258A1) hereinafter Asterjadhi.
Regarding claims 1, 13. Asterjadhi teaches a method comprising:
generating, by a target wake time (TWT) scheduling device (¶0029 and Fig. 18 see functional block diagram of an example wireless communication device that performs TWT scheduling), a broadcast TWT element (¶0008 see The apparatus may be configured to broadcast a message), the broadcast TWT response element comprising a control field including a responder passive mode (PM) mode sub-field (¶0008 see The apparatus may be configured to broadcast a message that includes the TWT schedule to a number of wireless devices…¶0177 see control field may have multiple subfields, such as a NDP paging indicator subfield (e.g., 1 bit), a broadcast subfield (e.g., 1 bit), a responder PM (passive mode) mode subfield (e.g., 1 bit), and/or a reserved subfield (e.g., 5 bits)); and
transmitting, by the TWT scheduling device, the broadcast TWT element to one or more TWT scheduled devices within a basic service set (BSS) of the TWT scheduling device (Fig 3. and ¶0074 see FIG. 3 includes an exemplary diagram 300 of a wireless network implementing solicit TWT scheduling and an exemplary timing flow diagram 350 for TWT operation. The diagram illustrates an AP 302 broadcasting or transmitting within a BSS 304 ¶0093 see the apparatus may transmit a TWT information message to the second wireless device. The TWT information message may indicate a suspension of an implicit TWT schedule or a resumption of the implicit TWT schedule after the implicit TWT schedule has been suspended. For example, referring to FIG. 3, if the TWT agreement between the STA 306 and the AP 302 is an implied TWT schedule).
Regarding claims 2, 14. Asterjadhi further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the broadcast TWT element comprises broadcasting, by the TWT scheduling device, the broadcast TWT element for receipt by each of the one or more TWT scheduled devices within the BSS of the TWT scheduling device (Asterjadhi ¶0074 see FIG. 3 includes an exemplary diagram 300 of a wireless network implementing solicit TWT scheduling and an exemplary timing flow diagram 350 for TWT operation. The diagram illustrates an AP 302 broadcasting or transmitting within a BSS 304. STAs 306, 308, 310 are within the BSS 304 and are served by the AP 302. ¶0136 see the TWT responder may transmit a TACK/STACK/BAT or TWT information frames to signal the next TWT. These frames may contain the value of the next TWT and the TWT flow identifier that identifies the TWT flow to which the next TWT corresponds to in the case of a solicit TWT agreement).
Regarding claim 3. Asterjadhi further teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the broadcast TWT element is for a type 3 negotiation for a TWT schedule (Asterjadhi ¶0164-165 see FIG. 12 is an exemplary diagram of a request type field 1200 within a TWT element for broadcast TWT. Referring to FIG. 12, the request type field may contain a TWT flow identifier subfield, which may have various values as indicated in FIG. 12…..when the TWT flow ID is set to 3, quality of service constrained frames (e.g., short frames with payloads less than 256 or 128 bytes of a particular AC/type, etc.) may be exchanged [quality messages can be sent via the scheduling device]).
Regarding claims 4, 15. Asterjadhi further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the TWT scheduling device, a TWT request from a TWT scheduled device (Asterjadhi ¶0059 see a TWT responder, who receives a TWT request from a TWT requester and whose value of the TWT wake interval is equal to the TWT requester's listen interval, may respond to the TWT request with either an accept TWT or a reject TWT in the TWT command field.),
wherein transmitting the broadcast TWT element comprises: transmitting, by the TWT scheduling device, the broadcast TWT element in a TWT response frame to the TWT scheduled device responsive to the TWT request (Asterjadhi ¶0062 see the TWT responder may transmit a TWT information frame (e.g., an action frame or action no ack frame) that contains similar TWT information. The frames may include a partial time stamp (containing a partial value of the TSF timer of the TWT responder) and a next TWT that indicates when the next TWT is scheduled (e.g., the next TWT is scheduled in 2 or 5 seconds from the start of the TWT of the current TWT service period) ¶0104 see The first message 614 may include a broadcast indicator/subfield), which may be a bit that is included in the control field or some other field within the TWT element).
Regarding claim 5. Asterjadhi further teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the broadcast TWT element is for a type 2 negotiation for a TWT schedule (Asterjadhi ¶0164-165 see FIG. 12 is an exemplary diagram of a request type field 1200 within a TWT element for broadcast TWT. Referring to FIG. 12, the request type field may contain a TWT flow identifier subfield, which may have various values as indicated in FIG. 12…..when the TWT flow ID is set to 2, then only frames that contain feedback and/or management information may be exchanged (e.g., PS-Poll, CQI, buffer status, sounding information, action, pre-association frames, etc.). In this aspect, the trigger frame may contain at least one RU (or resource unit) for random access. In an aspect, QoS frames may also be exchanged when the TWT flow ID is set to 1 or 2.).
Regarding claims 6, 16. Asterjadhi further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the TWT scheduling device, that each of the one or more TWT scheduled devices supports a broadcast TWT operation (Asterjadhi ¶0008 see The apparatus may be configured to broadcast a message that includes the TWT schedule to a number of wireless devices. The message may include a broadcast indicator that indicates the TWT schedule is a broadcast TWT schedule [determination is made based on indicator]),
wherein the TWT scheduling device sets a value for the responder PM mode sub-field responsive to determining that each of the one or more TWT scheduled devices support the broadcast TWT operation (Asterjadhi ¶0008 see The message may include a broadcast indicator that indicates the TWT schedule is a broadcast).
Regarding claim 7. Asterjadhi further teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the TWT scheduling device comprises an access point (Asterjadhi ¶0008 see disclosure provides an apparatus (e.g., a station or an access point). The apparatus may be configured to determine a TWT schedule), and
wherein the one or more TWT scheduled devices comprise one or more station devices (Asterjadhi ¶0009 see disclosure provides an apparatus (e.g., a station or an access point). The apparatus may be configured to receive from a second wireless device a message that includes a TWT schedule).
Regarding claims 8, 19. Asterjadhi further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
switching, by the TWT scheduling device, to a sleep state outside of a service period of a TWT schedule for the BSS, according to a value of the responder PM mode sub-field (Asterjadhi ¶0049 see implement a target wake time (TWT) scheduling protocol in which devices (e.g., STAs or APs) may be scheduled to sleep and wake up at specific times to perform UL/DL exchanges and trigger frames may be scheduled for transmission at predetermined or negotiated times. When a STA or an AP is not scheduled to be awake to receive trigger frames, for example, the STA or the AP can be in sleep mode (or power save mode) to conserve power).
Regarding claims 9, 18. The already combined references teach the method of claim 8, wherein the TWT scheduling device switches to the sleep state outside of the service period of any of a plurality of TWT schedules for the BSS, the plurality of TWT schedules comprising one or more of a broadcast TWT schedule, a restricted TWT schedule, or an individual TWT schedule (Asterjadhi ¶0049 see a target wake time (TWT) scheduling protocol in which devices (e.g., STAs or APs) may be scheduled to sleep and wake up at specific times to perform UL/DL exchanges and trigger frames may be scheduled for transmission at predetermined or negotiated times. When a STA or an AP is not scheduled to be awake to receive trigger frames, for example, the STA or the AP can be in sleep mode (or power save mode) to conserve power).
Regarding claims 10, 17. Asterjadhi further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
switching, by the TWT scheduling device, from a first channel corresponding to the BSS, to a second channel, outside of a service period of a TWT schedule for the BSS on the first channel, according to a value of the responder PM mode sub-field (Asterjadhi ¶0071 see the TWT channel field may contain a bitmap (or other information) indicating which channel or channels the TWT requester wants to use as temporary primary channels or as channels to be used for DL and/or UL MU transmissions (MU OFDMA or MIMO) during the TWT service period that corresponds to the scheduled TWT. When transmitted by a TWT responder, the TWT channel field may contain a bitmap (or other information) indicating which channels the TWT requester is allowed to use as temporary channel or channels or as channels to be used for DL and/or UL MU transmissions (MU OFDMA or MIMO) during the TWT service period … ¶0177 see control field may have multiple subfields, such as a NDP paging indicator subfield (e.g., 1 bit), a broadcast subfield (e.g., 1 bit), a responder PM (passive mode) mode subfield (e.g., 1 bit), and/or a reserved subfield (e.g., 5 bits). The broadcast bit may be used to indicate whether the TWT element 1605 is a broadcast TWT, in which target wake times may not be negotiated between an AP and a STA, or whether the TWT element 1605 is a solicited TWT, in which target wake times may be negotiated between an AP and a STA or between a STA and another STA. For example, when the broadcast bit is set to 1, then the TWT element 1605 may be a broadcast TWT, and when the broadcast bit is set to 0, then the TWT element 1605 may be a solicited TWT).
Regarding claims 11, 20. Asterjadhi further teaches the method of claim 10,
wherein the TWT scheduling device switches to the second channel outside of the service period of any of a plurality of TWT schedules for the BSS on the first channel, the plurality of TWT schedules comprising one or more of a broadcast TWT schedule, a restricted TWT schedule, or an individual TWT schedule (Asterjadhi ¶0071 see the TWT channel field may contain a bitmap (or other information) indicating which channel or channels the TWT requester wants to use as temporary primary channels or as channels to be used for DL and/or UL MU transmissions (MU OFDMA or MIMO) during the TWT service period that corresponds to the scheduled TWT. When transmitted by a TWT responder, the TWT channel field may contain a bitmap (or other information) indicating which channels the TWT requester is allowed to use as temporary channel or channels or as channels to be used for DL and/or UL MU transmissions (MU OFDMA or MIMO) during the TWT service period ¶0192 see The TWT information message may indicate a suspension of the implicit TWT schedule or a resumption of the implicit TWT schedule after the implicit TWT schedule has been suspended. In another aspect, the first message may include a TWT channel indicator that indicates a channel and a channel width that the TWT component 1724 may use for communicating with the second wireless device during the TWT service period. In another aspect, the first message may include an OFDMA bitmap that indicates one or more OFDMA channels and channel widths to be used for communicating with the second wireless device.).
Regarding claim 12. Asterjadhi further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
setting, by the TWT scheduling device, a value for a TWT required subfield in a high efficiency (HE) operation parameters element, according to a value of the responder PM mode sub-field of the broadcast TWT response element (Asterjadhi ¶0063 see an indication in any frame transmitted by the TWT requester to the TWT responder may provide such indication. As an example, a subfield in the MAC header (e.g., within the high efficiency (HE) variant of the high throughput (HT) Control field [control field contains the PM mode sub-field]) of a frame transmitted to the TWT responder may indicate a suspension of the TWT agreement(s) if set to 1 and may indicate a resumption of the TWT agreement(s) if set to 0, or vice versa).
Conclusion
References are cited not only for their quoted language but for all that they teach.
/ATTA KHAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449