DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (NPL – Enhanced Sensitivity of Electrochemical Sensors for Ammonia-Nitrogen via In-Situ PtNi Nanoleaves on Carbon Cloth).
Considering claim 1, Wang discloses a chemoresistive film comprising a plurality of metal nanostructures (PtNi alloy nanoleaves, Abstract), the plurality of metal nanostructures having a selective affinity to at least one volatile gas species (ammonia), wherein the chemoresistive film exhibits a change in electrical resistance when the at least one volatile gas species is present in an environment of the chemoresistive film at a first concentration (Pages 9-10, 3.3 Determination of Ammonia, change in current with change in concentration), wherein the first concentration is no more than about 1000 ppm (Table 2; Detection Range = .5-500 μM ~ 9.02ppb-9.02ppm for NH4).
Considering claim 2, Wang discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise one or more of platinum, nickel, copper, palladium, silver, and gold (Abstract, Platinum and Nickel).
Considering claim 3, Wang discloses that the at least one volatile gas species comprises acetone, isoprene, methanol, nitric oxide, ammonia, ethanol, formaldehyde, carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, hydrogen, methane, propane, or a combination thereof (Abstract, Ammonia).
Considering claim 4, Wang discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise platinum and nickel, and wherein the at least one volatile gas species comprises formaldehyde, ammonia, or a combination thereof (Abstract, PtNi alloy nanoleaves used to detect ammonia).
Considering claim 9, Wang discloses that the first concentration is no more than about 500 ppm (Table 2; Detection Range = .5-500 μM ~ 9.02ppb-9.02ppm, for NH4).
Considering claim 10, Wang discloses that the first concentration is no more than about 20 ppb (Table 2; Detection Range = .5-500 μM ~ 9.02ppb-9.02ppm, for NH4).
Considering claim 11, Wang discloses a sensor comprising:
- one or more chemoresistive films comprising a first chemoresistive film connected to a first lead and a second lead sufficient to complete a circuit, wherein the sensor is configured to measure electrical resistance across the chemoresistive film (Page 3, 3-electrode DPV technique, 2.2 Apparatus and Equipment requires two leads and the film), wherein the first chemoresistive film comprises a plurality of metal nanostructures (PtNi alloy nanoleaves, Abstract), the plurality of metal nanostructures having a selective affinity to at least one volatile gas species (ammonia), wherein the chemoresistive film exhibits a change in electrical resistance when the at least one volatile gas species is present in an environment of the chemoresistive film at a first concentration (Pages 9-10, 3.3 Determination of Ammonia, change in current with change in concentration).
Considering claim 12, Wang discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise one or more of platinum, nickel, copper, palladium, silver, and gold (Abstract, Platinum and Nickel).
Considering claim 13, Wang discloses that the at least one volatile gas species comprises acetone, isoprene, methanol, nitric oxide, ammonia, ethanol, formaldehyde, carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, hydrogen, methane, propane, or a combination thereof (Abstract, Ammonia).
Considering claim 14, Wang discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise platinum and nickel, and wherein the at least one volatile gas species comprises formaldehyde, ammonia, or a combination thereof (Abstract, PtNi alloy nanoleaves used to detect ammonia).
Considering claim 19, Wang discloses that the first concentration is no more than about 1000 ppm (Table 2; Detection Range = .5-500 μM ~ 9.02ppb-9.02ppm for NH4).
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-13, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Motayed et al. (US 2017/0038326 A1).
Considering claim 1, Motayed discloses a chemoresistive film comprising a plurality of metal nanostructures ([0015]; [0018], Claim 1), the plurality of metal nanostructures having a selective affinity to at least one volatile gas species ([0019], Claim 11), wherein the chemoresistive film exhibits a change in electrical resistance when the at least one volatile gas species ([0019], Claim 2) is present in an environment of the chemoresistive film at a first concentration ([0016]), wherein the first concentration is no more than about 1000 ppm ([0020]; Claim 23).
Considering claim 2, Motayed discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise one or more of platinum, nickel, copper, palladium, silver, and gold ([0018]; Claim 7).
Considering claim 3, Motayed discloses that the at least one volatile gas species comprises acetone, isoprene, methanol, nitric oxide, ammonia, ethanol, formaldehyde, carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, hydrogen, methane, propane, or a combination thereof ([0019]; Claim 11, Claim 15).
Considering claim 5, Motayed discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise platinum and palladium ([0018], combination or mixture thereof), and wherein the at least one volatile gas species comprises nitric oxide ([0246], NOx, Claim 11).
Considering claim 6, Motayed discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise platinum and copper ([0018], combination or mixture thereof), and wherein the at least one volatile gas species comprises isoprene, nitric oxide, methanol, or a combination thereof ([0019], methanol, Claim 15, [0246], NOx, Claim 11).
Considering claim 7, Motayed discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise platinum and silver ([0018], combination or mixture thereof), and wherein the at least one volatile gas species comprises acetone ([0019], acetone, Claim 15).
Considering claim 9, Motayed discloses that the first concentration is no more than about 500 ppm ([0020]; Claim 23).
Considering claim 10, Wang discloses that the first concentration is no more than about 20 ppb ([0020]; Claim 23).
Considering claim 11, Motayed discloses a sensor comprising:
- one or more chemoresistive films comprising a first chemoresistive film connected to a first lead and a second lead sufficient to complete a circuit (Figure 9; sense current in and out; Figure 13, [0146]), wherein the sensor is configured to measure electrical resistance across the chemoresistive film ([0016]; [0023]), wherein the first chemoresistive film comprises a plurality of metal nanostructures ([0015]; [0018], Claim 1), the plurality of metal nanostructures having a selective affinity to at least one volatile gas species ([0019], Claim 11), wherein the chemoresistive film exhibits a change in electrical resistance when the at least one volatile gas species ([0019], Claim 2) is present in an environment of the chemoresistive film at a first concentration ([0016]).
Considering claim 12, Motayed discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise one or more of platinum, nickel, copper, palladium, silver, and gold ([0018]; Claim 7).
Considering claim 13, Motayed discloses that the at least one volatile gas species comprises acetone, isoprene, methanol, nitric oxide, ammonia, ethanol, formaldehyde, carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, hydrogen, methane, propane, or a combination thereof ([0019]; Claim 11, Claim 15).
Considering claim 15, Motayed discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise platinum and palladium ([0018], combination or mixture thereof), and wherein the at least one volatile gas species comprises nitric oxide ([0246], NOx, Claim 11).
Considering claim 16, Motayed discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise platinum and copper ([0018], combination or mixture thereof), and wherein the at least one volatile gas species comprises isoprene, nitric oxide, methanol, or a combination thereof ([0019], methanol, Claim 15, [0246], NOx, Claim 11).
Considering claim 17, Motayed discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise platinum and silver ([0018], combination or mixture thereof), and wherein the at least one volatile gas species comprises acetone ([0019], acetone, Claim 15).
Considering claim 19, Motayed discloses that the first concentration is no more than about 1000 ppm ([0020]; Claim 23).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhong et al. (US 2012/0156099 A1).
Considering claim 20, Zhong discloses a method of making a chemoresistive film comprising: providing a solution comprising a plurality of metal nanostructures ([0148]) and a solvent ([0149]; [0151]); applying the solution onto a support ([0152-153]); and drying the solvent ([0152-153]).
Claims 1-3, 8-13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kapilov et al. (US 2024/0272108 A1).
Considering claim 1, Kapilov discloses a chemoresistive film comprising a plurality of metal nanostructures ([0003]; [0047]), the plurality of metal nanostructures having a selective affinity to at least one volatile gas species ([0029]; [0042]), wherein the chemoresistive film exhibits a change in electrical resistance when the at least one volatile gas species is present in an environment of the chemoresistive film at a first concentration ([0003]), wherein the first concentration is no more than about 1000 ppm ([0027]).
Considering claim 2, Kapilov discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise one or more of platinum, nickel, copper, palladium, silver, and gold ([0047]).
Considering claim 3, Kapilov discloses that the at least one volatile gas species comprises acetone, isoprene, methanol, nitric oxide, ammonia, ethanol, formaldehyde, carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, hydrogen, methane, propane, or a combination thereof ([0095-97]).
Considering claim 8, Kapilov discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise branched nanoparticles ([0003-4]; [0007]; [0071-75]).
Considering claim 9, Kapilov discloses that the first concentration is no more than about 500 ppm ([0096]).
Considering claim 10, Kapilov discloses that the first concentration is no more than about 20 ppb ([0096]).
Considering claim 11, Kapilov discloses a sensor comprising:
- one or more chemoresistive films comprising a first chemoresistive film connected to a first lead 120 and a second lead 110 sufficient to complete a circuit ([0043]), wherein the sensor is configured to measure electrical resistance across the chemoresistive film ([0043]), wherein the first chemoresistive film comprises a plurality of metal nanostructures ([0003]; [0047]), the plurality of metal nanostructures having a selective affinity to at least one volatile gas species ([0029]; [0042]), wherein the chemoresistive film exhibits a change in electrical resistance when the at least one volatile gas species is present in an environment of the chemoresistive film at a first concentration ([0003]).
Considering claim 12, Kapilov discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise one or more of platinum, nickel, copper, palladium, silver, and gold ([0047]).
Considering claim 13, Kapilov discloses that the at least one volatile gas species comprises acetone, isoprene, methanol, nitric oxide, ammonia, ethanol, formaldehyde, carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, hydrogen, methane, propane, or a combination thereof ([0095-97]).
Considering claim 18, Kapilov discloses that the plurality of metal nanostructures comprise branched nanoparticles ([0003-4]; [0007]; [0071-75]).
Considering claim 19, Kapilov discloses that the first concentration is no more than about 1000 ppm ([0027]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bai et al. (NPL - Enhanced gas sensing performance based on the PtCu octahedral alloy nanocrystals decorated SnO2 nanoclusters) discloses a gas sensor using Pt-Cu nanocrystals on semiconductor metal oxides to detect ketones, including acetone. Bai manufactures at least one sensor by dispersing the nanocrystals in a solvent, applying the solvent to a substrate and drying the substrate.
Chen et al. (US 2022/0324882 A1) discloses a chemiresistive sensor having electrodes on a substrate, the substrate having thereon a chemiresistive film using nanoparticles of Gold, Silver, Copper, Platinum, Palladium, Nickel or combinations thereof, which have been functionalized or branched, to more selectively detect ammonia in the ppb-ppm range. The functionalized nanoparticles are suspended in a solvent, applied to a substrate and allowed to dry. The sensor has electrodes on opposing ends of the film that complete a circuit.
Najar (US 2020/0096473 A1) discloses a semiconductor having Pt, Pd, Au, Cu, Ag, Pt—Pd or Pt—Ag nanoparticles attached to its surface, whereby NO gas is detected based on a change in resistance of the sensor.
Beale et al. (US 2024/0399345 A1) discloses the use of Pt, PtCu, PtNi, Pd, PtPd and/or PdCu as NO, nitric oxide, catalysts in an NOx reduction apparatus. It is shown then, that these materials would be suitable for catalytic oxidation chemiresistors, whereby resistance is modified based on the level of oxidation in the presence of a target gas.
Swager et al. (US 2021/0341405 A1) discloses chemiresistor that uses oxidation catalysts such as Pt, Cu, Ag, Au, Pd and combinations thereof, in nanoparticle form, on a semiconductor whereby electrical property changes are monitored to determine the presence of a targeted analyte.
Snow et al. (WO 03/098202 A1) discloses a chemiresistor having metal core nanoparticle made of two or more of silver, gold, platinum and palladium, encapsulated by a ligand shell and supported on an insulating substrate, whereby electrodes monitor the resistance change to detect the presence of chemical species.
Drmosh et al. (US 2023/0304954 A1) disclose a gas sensor having a chemiresistive layer of silver-platinum alloy for detecting the presence of ketones, specifically acetone.
/JONATHAN M DUNLAP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 March 13, 2026