DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 7/11/24 and 3/17/25, have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copy of form PTO/SB/08a).
Specification
3. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (US 2014/0314385 A1) in view of Burkett et al. (US-10295771-B2).
With respect to claim 1, Miller et al. (figures 2-3) disclose an apparatus comprising at least one input (30) on a front of a module (7) for a panel (figures 2-3); two or more output (40, 50) on the front of the module (7) of the panel; and a slack storage cassette (modular container 7) configured to secure optical fibers (3a-3d, 4a-4d and 5a-5d) between the at least one input (30) and the two or more output (40, 50).
Miller et al. do not explicitly disclose one input optical connector on a front of a module for a panel and two or more output optical connectors on the front of the module of the panel.
However, Burkett et al. (figure 7) teach an optical device including one input optical connector (16) on a front of a module (14) for a panel and two or more output optical connectors (18) on the front of the module (14) of the panel (figure 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Miller et al. to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Burkett) for the purpose of allowing for increased customization (column 5, line 36).
With respect to claim 12, Miller et al. (figures 2-3) disclose an optical fiber management device for telecommunications networks, comprising: at least one input (30) on a front of a module (7) for a panel (figures 2-3); two or more output (40, 50) on the front of the module (7) of the panel; and a slack storage cassette (modular container 7) configured to secure optical fibers (3a-3d, 4a-4d and 5a-5d) between the at least one input (30) and the two or more output (40, 50).
Miller et al. do not explicitly disclose a panel; a plurality of modules, where in each module comprises at least one input optical connector on a front of a module for a panel and two or more output optical connectors on the front of the module of the panel.
However, Burkett et al. (figures 3 and 7) teach an optical device including a panel (28); a plurality of modules (14), where in each module comprises at least one input optical connector (16) on a front of a module (14) for a panel and two or more output optical connectors (18) on the front of the module (14) of the panel (figure 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Miller et al. to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Burkett) for the purpose of allowing for increased customization (column 5, line 36).
Figure 2 of Miller
Figure 7 of Burkett
With respect to claims 2-3 and 19, Miller et al. (figures 2-3) substantially disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention except the input optical connector and each of the output optical connectors is a female connector configured to receive a male connector with an optical fiber and the optical connectors are standardized connectors selected from the group consisting of standard connectors (SC), Lucent connectors (LC), and Multi-fiber Termination Push-on connectors (MTP).
However, Burkett et al. teach an optical device including the input optical connector and each of the output optical connectors is a female connector configured to receive a male connector with an optical fiber (column 8, lines 1-5) and the optical connectors are standardized connectors selected from the group consisting of standard connectors (SC), Lucent connectors (LC), and Multi-fiber Termination Push-on connectors (MTP) (column 7, lines 45-50). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Miller et al. to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Burkett) for the purpose of allowing for increased customization (column 5, line 36).
With respect to claims 4 and 13, Miller et al. (figures 2-3) disclose the apparatus, further comprising: an input splice sleeve between at least one input optical connector (11) and a splitter (10); and two or more output splice sleeves between the splitter and the two or more output optical connectors (12a-12d).
With respect to claims 5-6 and 14-15, Miller et al. (figures 2-3) disclose the apparatus, wherein the splitter (10) is configured to divide an incoming optical signal into multiple output signals (11) and the splitter is a passive optical device that does not require power to operate (figure 3).
With respect to claims 7-9 and 16-18, Miller et al. (figures 2-3) disclose the apparatus, wherein at least one input splice sleeve between at least one input optical connector and an optical tap ([0015]); and at least one output splice sleeve between the optical tap ([0015]) and at least one output optical connector (12a), wherein the optical tap is configured to split off a portion of the optical signal ([0008]) and wherein the slack storage cassette (7) includes a curved internal surface to reduce bending or twisting of the optical fibers (30, 40, 50).
With respect to claims 10 and 20, Miller et al. (figures 2-3) disclose the apparatus, further comprising a housing (7) that encloses the input (30), the output (40, 50), and the slack storage cassette (7).
With respect to claims 11 and 20, Miller et al. (figures 2-3) substantially disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention except the module is configured to fit into a standardized telecommunications panel with a lU height, and having an aspect ratio on the front face where height divided by the width is greater than 1.1.
However, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F. 2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Miller to form the module is configured to fit into a standardized telecommunications panel with a lU height, and having an aspect ratio on the front face where height divided by the width is greater than 1.1 as claimed, because the dimensions can be varied depending upon the device in a particular application.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Barnes et al. (US-20120051707-A1) disclose optical connections. Reagan et al. (US-20100124392-A1) disclose a FDH.
/JENNIFER DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874