DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Limitation “injecting second compound … at a second target depth between 10 -17 mm” is not in the specification. Specification paragraph [0274] discloses “the composition is injected in a volume of 0.03 ml to 0.05 ml per injection point into the thigh at a depth of 5 mm, 8 mm or 10 mm”; however, the composition is not polidocanol, but hydroxyapatite (see [0273]). Further maximum depth disclose is 10 mm and not between 10 to 17 mm. Limitation “simultaneously focusing the second HIFU energy at a first depth 1.5 mm, at a second depth between 3.0-4.5mm, and a third depth between 10-17mm below a skin surface” is not in the specification. The specification discloses “treat simultaneously at multiple depths below a skin surface (e.g., 1.5 mm, 3.0 mm, 4.5 mm, or other depths)” (see [0197). It does not disclose the three specific depth level in any single embodiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (US 2009/0171266 (provided in the IDS)), in view of Perry et al. (US 2015/0064165 (provided in the IDS)), further in view of Dobak, III (US 2016/0310444 (provided in the IDS)), Franklin et al. (US 2017/0000949) and Slayton et al. (US 2008/0221491).
Addressing claims 1, 10 and 14, Harris discloses method comprising:
applying high intensity focused ultrasound (HIFU) to a tissue region below a skin surface (see [0031-0032]);
injecting a first compound into the tissue region (see [0041-0042]),
administering a second treatment (see Figs. 1A-F);
focus a second HIFU at a depth of 1.5 mm below the skin surface (see Figs. 1A-F and [0031-0032]; Harris discloses lysing adipose and adipose is several mm below the skin surface therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that HIFU focus depth is in the range of 1.5mm and higher).
administering to a subject in need thereof an effective amount of HIFU energy (see [0031-0032]);
administering a second treatment comprising a second HIFU energy (see Figs. 1A-F);
the second treatment comprising: focusing the second HIFU energy at a depth 1.5 mm below a skin surface (see Figs. 1A-F and [0031-0032]; Harris discloses lysing adipose and adipose is several mm below the skin surface therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that HIFU focus depth is in the range of 1.5mm and higher).
applying ultrasound to a tissue region below a skin surface (see [0031-0032]);
injecting a first compound into the tissue region treated by the ultrasound (see [0041-0042]);
administering a second treatment, comprising: focusing the second HIFU energy at a depth 1.5 mm below a skin surface (see Figs. 1A-F and [0031-0032]; Harris discloses lysing adipose and adipose is several mm below the skin surface therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that HIFU focus depth is in the range of 1.5mm and higher).
Harris does not disclose wherein the first compound comprises a dermal filler, wherein the dermal filler comprises calcium hydroxyapatite and inject at a depth of 3-4.5 mm. In the same field of endeavor, Perry discloses the first compound comprises a dermal filler, wherein the dermal filler comprises calcium hydroxyapatite (see [0019-0020], [0040], [0051], [0053] and [0061]; calcium hydroxyapatite is injected subdermally into the dermis; inject into the dermis would roughly inject at a depth of 3-4.5 mm). Inject at any depth is a physician choice that depend on treat type. Franklin explicitly discloses inject dermal filler at a depth of 3-4.5 mm (see [0024]; inject dermal filler at a depth of 3-4.5 mm is roughly into the dermis layer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harris to use a dermal filler, wherein the dermal filler comprises calcium hydroxyapatite and inject at a depth of 3-4.5 mm as taught by Perry and Franklin because the presence of the composition/filler in the target region effectively maintains the disruption of the septae, maintains separation between tissue planes after septae have been disrupted, and/or reduces or discourages regrowth or reconnection of septae (see Perry [0020] and [0059]; Franklin and Perry discloses suitable choice can be 500 micrometer to 6 cm (see Franklin [0024])).
Harris does not disclose injecting a second compound into the tissue region at a depth of 10-17 mm; wherein the second compound comprises a fat-reducing compound, wherein the fat-reducing compound comprises polidocanol. In the same field of endeavor, Dobak, III discloses injecting a second compound into the tissue region at a depth of 10-17 mm; wherein the second compound comprises a fat-reducing compound, wherein the fat-reducing compound comprises polidocanol (see [0007], [0034] and [0111]; polidocanol is administer in multiple treatments into subcutaneous fat below the skin surface; the specification does not disclose inject polidocanol at depth of 10-17mm; the specification only discloses inject polidocanol into subcutaneous fat below the skin surface and Dobak III discloses this limitation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harris to inject a second compound into the tissue region at a depth of 10-17 mm; wherein the second compound comprises a fat-reducing compound, wherein the fat-reducing compound comprises polidocanol as taught by Dobak, III because this help reduction of fat cells or tissue in a greater amount (see [0111]).
Harris does not disclose simultaneously focusing the second HIFU energy at a first depth 1.5 mm, at a second depth between 3.0-4.5mm, and a third depth between 10-17mm below a skin surface (examiner interpret as simultaneously treat at multiple/plurality depths). Slayton discloses simultaneously focusing the second HIFU energy at a first depth 1.5 mm, at a second depth between 3.0-4.5mm, and a third depth between 10-17mm below a skin surface (see Fig. 1A, 3C, [0042], [0050] and [0056]; can have multiple treatment at region 12 which has different depths; as see in Fig. 1A, 16 are ultrasound beams and each beam treat at different depths). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harris to simultaneously treat at multiple depths as taught by Slayton because this allows for simultaneously treats all the tissue at the region of interest (see [0056]).
Addressing claims 2, 9, 11, 15-18 and 20, Harris discloses:
Addressing claim 2, reapplying HIFU after the dermal filler is injected to harden the dermal filler (see [0008] and [0056]; Harris discloses repeat HIFU treatment or any other treatment; Perry explicitly discloses the compound is a dermal filler; Harris in view of Perry perform repeat treatment would result in a harden dermal filler).
Addressing claim 9, focusing the HIFU at fat tissue, wherein two or more simultaneous focused ultrasound treatments heat up portions of the fat tissue (see [0004] and [0034]).
Addressing claim 11, wherein the HIFU is administered concurrently, sequentially or separately with at least one of the group consisting of: a dermal filler and a fat-reducing compound (see [0004], [0032], [0041-0042]; adiponectin is a fat reducing compound; adiponenctin is injected at any time therefore it has to be either concurrently, sequentially or separately).
Addressing claim 15, comprising applying a cavitation-prone agent to the tissue region treated by the ultrasound (see [0009] and [0034]).
Addressing claim 16, further comprising applying an additional energy source to the tissue region treated by the ultrasound (see [0011-0013] and [0050]).
Addressing claim 17, wherein the additional energy source comprises one or more of the group consisting of: visible light, laser, radio-frequency, microwave, electromagnetic, cryogenic, electron beam, and magnetic energy (see [0011-0013] and [0050]).
Addressing claim 18, wherein said ultrasound comprises high intensity focused ultrasound (HIFU) (see [0032]).
Addressing claim 20, wherein the aesthetic ultrasound effect comprises at least one of the group consisting of: a cellulite treatment, reducing wrinkles, sagging and/or laxity of the skin, reducing fat, body sculpting, and facial sculpting (see [0045]).
Addressing claim 5, Dobak, III discloses:
Addressing claim 5, wherein the polidocanol is provided in a final concentration of 0.5% w/v (see [0021] and [0068]).
Addressing claims 6-8, 12-13 and 19, Perry discloses:
Addressing claim 6, reapplying HIFU after the dermal filler is injected, thereby modifying a viscosity of the dermal filler by the application of HIFU, and shaping the dermal filler in to a designed structure by the application of HIFU (see [0008] and [0056]; Harris discloses repeat HIFU treatment or any other treatment; Perry explicitly disclose the compound is a dermal filler; Harris in view of Perry perform repeat treatment would result modifying a viscosity of the dermal filler by the application of HIFU, and shaping the dermal filler in to a designed structure by the application of HIFU).
Addressing claim 7, dissecting at least one septa in the dermal layer with a septae dissection technology (see [0019-0020] and [0030]).
Addressing claim 8, administering the dermal filler by local injection into a dermal tissue, a subcutaneous fat tissue, or both the dermal tissue and the subcutaneous fat tissue (see [0053]).
Addressing claim 12, wherein the dermal filler comprises calcium (hydroxy)phosphate particles (see [0040] and [0049]).
Addressing claim 13, wherein the fat-reducing compound and the calcium hydroxyapatite are administered concurrently, sequentially or separately (see [0040] and [0049]).
wherein the calcium (hydroxy)phosphate particles are selected from the group consisting of: monocalcium phosphate (MCP), dicalcium phosphate (DCP), calcium dihydrogen phosphate (CDP), tricalcium phosphate (TCZ) including its α-, α'- and B-polymorphs, octacalcium phosphate (OCP), biphasic tricalcium phosphate (BCP), and hydroxyapatite (see [0040]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (US 2009/0171266), in view of Perry et al. (US 2015/0064165), further in view of Dobak, III (US 2016/0310444), Franklin et al. (US 2017/0000949), Slayton et al. (US 2008/0221491) and Esenaliev (US 2007/0078290).
Addressing claim 3, Harris also does not disclose ultrasound frequency of 10 Mhz. In the same field of endeavor, Esenaliev discloses ultrasound frequency of 10 Mhz (see [0061], [0063-0064] and [0070]; Esenaliev also explicitly discloses ultrasound treatment focus depth in the range of 1.5 mm and higher; Esenaliev also discloses ultrasound treatment at different depths (see [0070])). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harris to have ultrasound frequency of 10 Mhz as taught by Esenaliev because these are effective standard treatment range for ultrasound treatment that provide good result and avoid injure patient.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (US 2009/0171266), in view of Perry et al. (US 2015/0064165), further in view of Dobak, III (US 2016/0310444), Franklin et al. (US 2017/0000949), Slayton et al. (US 2008/0221491) and Kasioptas et al. (US 2018/0177912).
Addressing claim 4, Harris also does not disclose wherein the calcium hydroxyapatite is provided in a final concentration of 25-31 % w/w. Kasioptas discloses calcium hydroxyapatite concentration of 25-31 % w/w (see [0021] and [0068]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Harris to have calcium hydroxyapatite is provided in a final concentration of 25-31 % w/w as taught by Kasioptas because this concentration amount would effective in harden calcium phosphate (hydroxyapatite) (see Kasioptas’s paragraph [0052]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2009/0110736 (see [0010], [0074] and [0080]; injecting calcium hydroxyapatite for each treatment and perform treatment and second treatment three to four months after the first repeat treatment) and US 2001/0031740 (see [0057], [0062], [0124-0125], [0128], [0131], [0157] and [0179]; ultrasound improve transfection efficiency; ultrasound energy increase the efficiency of cellular uptake of compound (calcium hydroxyapatite)).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIEN N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3797