Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 7, the claim cites the limitations “wherein the interior sidewall that surrounds the cavity fully surrounds the chamber without a break in the interior sidewall.” This is unclear, as “the cavity” lacks antecedent basis in the claims. It is unclear as to what “the cavity” would be in, as it could be the cavity of the base, stem or the coupling member. For the purposes of examination, this will be treated as the cavity being the interior of the base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 11793618 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses A toothbrush head for an electric toothbrush, the toothbrush head comprising:
a bristle tray (103) comprising a plurality of bristles (See Col 5 Line 6-10 “wherein an upper part of the brush body 100 is provide with a bristle section 103 on which bristles are provided,”);
a base (bottom of 100, below the pin 200 where 300 is inserted see figure 2) having an opening (105) for receiving a drive shaft (801) of an electric toothbrush;
a stem (100) that connects the bristle tray to the base and that has an opening (Pin hole 101, Col 5 Line 8-17 “wherein an upper part of the brush body 100 is provide with a bristle section 103 on which bristles are provided, a lower part of the brush body 100 is provided with a receiving cavity 105, the receiving cavity 105 forms a mounting opening 109 on a bottom of the brush body 100, the inserting block 300 is inserted into the receiving cavity 105 through the mounting opening, an outer sidewall of the inserting block 300 abuts against an inner sidewall of the receiving cavity 105;”);
a coupling member (300), wherein the coupling member:
comprises an interior sidewall (32) that surrounds a chamber (34) for receiving the drive shaft (See Col 5 Line 19-24 “the machine core channel 34 forms an insertion opening 39 on the bottom of the inserting block 300, the vibrating machine core 801 is inserted into the machine core channel 34 through the insertion opening 39 and abuts against an inner sidewall of the machine core channel 34.”), includes a receptacle (313) positioned to align with the opening of the stem (See Fig. 4 and 5 showing the pin (200) extending through pinhole 101 and 313), and
does not include or rely on a spring to contact the drive shaft or the stem (Huang does not include any spring element, instead using an elastic arm 315); and
a pin (200) positioned within the opening of the stem (101) and the receptacle of the coupling (313) member (See Col 6 Lien 44-47 “a pin hole 313 which is transversely arranged is provided in the securing section 311, the pin hole 313 is laterally aligned with the mounting hole 101, the pin 200 is inserted and fixed in the pin hole 313.”).
Regarding Claim 2 Huang discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the coupling member comprises:
a relatively narrower section (31) positioned to align with the stem (100); and
a relatively wider (32) section positioned to align with the base (See Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Huang discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses wherein an interior sidewall (interior of 34) of the relatively narrower section (31) comprises an irregular surface (arm 315) that is positioned to contact the drive shaft when inserted into the toothbrush head (See Col 6 Line 16-20 “when the vibrating machine core 801 is inserted into the machine core channel 34, the vibrating machine core 801 abuts against the inner sidewall of the machine core channel 34, and the resilient arm 315 abuts against the vibrating machine core 801.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Huang discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses further comprising the electric toothbrush (800), and wherein the drive shaft (801) comprises an irregular surface (802 and 602) that is positioned to contact an interior sidewall of the relatively narrower section when the drive shaft is inserted into the toothbrush head (See Col 7 Line 36-51
“a transverse groove 802 which is transversely arranged is formed on the vibrating machine core 801, and the inner abutment surface 316 is convexly provided with a transverse rib 602 which is transversely arranged, the transverse rib 602 is embedded in the transverse groove 802.
By embedding the transverse rib 602 in the transversal groove of the vibrating machine core 801, a contact connection between the vibrating machine core 801 and the inner abutment surfaces 316 of the resilient aims 315 is made more robust, and a better transmission of vibrations between the vibrating machine core 801 and the resilient arms 315 is possible, and disengagement and misalignment between the vibrating machine core 801 and the inner abutment surface 316 of the resilient arms 315 are avoided during the transmission of vibrations.”.).
Regarding Claim 5, Huang discloses all the limitations of claim 2, and in addition discloses further comprising the electric toothbrush, and wherein:
the drive shaft (801) comprises a first gear (recesses 802) that is positioned to contact an interior sidewall of the relatively narrower section when the drive shaft is inserted into the toothbrush head (See Col 7 Lines 36-41 “a transverse groove 802 which is transversely arranged is formed on the vibrating machine core 801, and the inner abutment surface 316 is convexly provided with a transverse rib 602 which is transversely arranged, the transverse rib 602 is embedded in the transverse groove 802.”);
the interior sidewall of the relatively narrower section comprises a second gear (602) comprising teeth (protrusions 602) that extend toward the drive shaft (See Col 7 Line 42-51 “By embedding the transverse rib 602 in the transversal groove of the vibrating machine core 801, a contact connection between the vibrating machine core 801 and the inner abutment surfaces 316 of the resilient aims 315 is made more robust, and a better transmission of vibrations between the vibrating machine core 801 and the resilient arms 315 is possible, and disengagement and misalignment between the vibrating machine core 801 and the inner abutment surface 316 of the resilient arms 315 are avoided during the transmission of vibrations.”); and
the teeth of the second gear are positioned to align with gaps between teeth of the first gear (See Citation of Col 7 Line 36-51 cited above).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses further comprising the electric toothbrush, and wherein:
the drive shaft (801) comprises a gear (Recess 802) that is positioned to contact an interior sidewall (316 of 315) of the relatively narrower section when the drive shaft is inserted into the toothbrush head (See Col 7 Lines 36-41 “a transverse groove 802 which is transversely arranged is formed on the vibrating machine core 801, and the inner abutment surface 316 is convexly provided with a transverse rib 602 which is transversely arranged, the transverse rib 602 is embedded in the transverse groove 802.”);
the interior sidewall of the relatively narrower section comprises a ledge (602) that extends toward the drive shaft (See Col 7 Lines 36-41 “a transverse groove 802 which is transversely arranged is formed on the vibrating machine core 801, and the inner abutment surface 316 is convexly provided with a transverse rib 602 which is transversely arranged, the transverse rib 602 is embedded in the transverse groove 802.”); and
the ledge is positioned to align with the gear (See Col 7 Lines 36-41 cited above).
Regarding Claim 7, Huang discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the interior sidewall that surrounds the cavity fully surrounds the chamber without a break in the interior sidewall (See Figs 1 and 2, where the body of the base is contiguous).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 11793618 B1) in view of Tang (US 11730580 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses: A toothbrush head for an electric toothbrush, the toothbrush head comprising:
a bristle tray (103) comprising a plurality of bristles (See Col 5 Line 6-10 “wherein an upper part of the brush body 100 is provide with a bristle section 103 on which bristles are provided,”);
a base (bottom of 100, below the pin 200 where 300 is inserted see figure 2) having an opening (105) for receiving a drive shaft (801) of an electric toothbrush;
a stem (100) that connects the bristle tray to the base and that has an opening (Pin hole 101, (Col 5 Line 8-17 “wherein an upper part of the brush body 100 is provide with a bristle section 103 on which bristles are provided, a lower part of the brush body 100 is provided with a receiving cavity 105, the receiving cavity 105 forms a mounting opening 109 on a bottom of the brush body 100, the inserting block 300 is inserted into the receiving cavity 105 through the mounting opening, an outer sidewall of the inserting block 300 abuts against an inner sidewall of the receiving cavity 105;”));
a coupling member (300), wherein:
the coupling member includes a relatively narrower section (31) positioned to align with the stem and a relatively wider section (32) positioned to align with the base (See Fig. 2 and 4), and
but does not explicitly disclose the relatively narrower section has a length that is shorter than that of the drive shaft so that, when the drive shaft is inserted into the coupling member, the drive shaft will extend from the relatively narrower section and into an interior cavity within the stem.
However, Tang discloses a similar electric tooth brush with a coupling member (2), wherein the relatively narrower section (2) has a length that is shorter than that of the drive shaft (301) so that, when the drive shaft is inserted into the coupling member, the drive shaft will extend from the relatively narrower section and into an interior cavity within the stem (Col 6 Line 1-6 “In an embodiment of the disclosure, the main engine 3 includes a main engine axis 301, which has an axis outlet hole 303 thereon; the main engine axis 301 enters into the tail plug 2 through the bottom hole 2081 firstly, and then penetrates the locating hole 2082 to enter into the water inlet chamber 110.”);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the coupling member of the to allow the drive shaft to penetrate through as doing so would allow for flexible installation of the main engine axis without effect the transmission of the vibration through the drive shaft as advantageously disclosed in Col 6 Line 62-67 “The tail plug chamber body 208 is used for providing a mounting hole for penetrating the main engine axis 301, which ensures the flexible installation of the main engine axis 301 and no adverse effect on the transmission of the vibration through the main engine axis 301. The tail plug chamber body 208 has a locating flat portion in its front section, corresponding to that of the main engine axis 301, which is used for locating the main engine axis 301.”).
Regarding Claim 12 Huang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 8 and in addition discloses the relatively wider section (32) includes a cylindrical first subsection (33) and a funnel-shaped second subsection (32) having a taper that narrows as it gets closer to the relatively narrower section (See Figure 2 showing 32 forming a skirt around the narrow section 31);
an exterior sidewall of the relatively wider section includes a corner (meeting between 32 and 33) positioned at a point at which the first subsection transitions to the second subsection (See Fig. 2); and
the base includes a corresponding corner (outer corner of 33) that is positioned to limit a path of travel of the coupling member into the interior cavity of the stem (See Col 5 Line 29-36 “an outer periphery of a bottom of the inserting block 300 extends outwardly to form a bottom abutment ring 33, the bottom abutment ring 33 is disposed circumferentially along the outer periphery of the inserting block 300, the bottom abutment ring 33 is located below the brush body 100 and abuts against the bottom of the brush body 100 from bottom up.”).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 11793618 B1) in view of Tang (US 11730580 B1) as modified in claim 8 and in further view of Okai (US 20170151044 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Huang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 8 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the interior sidewall of the stem comprises an irregular surface that is positioned to contact the drive shaft when inserted into the toothbrush head.
Huang does disclose wherein the interior sidewall of the coupling member comprises an irregular surface (316) that is positioned to contact the drive shaft when inserted into the toothbrush head (See Col 7 Lines 36-41 “a transverse groove 802 which is transversely arranged is formed on the vibrating machine core 801, and the inner abutment surface 316 is convexly provided with a transverse rib 602 which is transversely arranged, the transverse rib 602 is embedded in the transverse groove 802.”).
However, Okai discloses a similar electric toothbrush wherein the interior sidewall of the stem (sleeve portion 110) has an irregular surface (engagement portion 173) that is positioned to contact the drive shaft when inserted into the toothbrush head (See Para [0059] “Furthermore, in certain embodiments in the coupled state the engagement portion 98 at the distal end of the stem 83 engages the inner surface 173 of the sleeve portion 110 of the refill head 100.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electric toothbrush of Huang as modified to comprise an irregular surface for engagement with the drive shaft on an interior sidewall of the stem of the toothbrush as Okai demonstrates that doing so would be an equivalent method of engaging the drive shaft to provide vibration to the head of the toothbrush. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding Claim 10, Huang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 8 and in addition discloses further comprising the electric toothbrush, and wherein the drive shaft (801) comprises an irregular surface (802) that is positioned to contact an interior sidewall of the coupling member (300) when the drive shaft is inserted into the toothbrush head (See Col 7 Lines 36-41 “a transverse groove 802 which is transversely arranged is formed on the vibrating machine core 801, and the inner abutment surface 316 is convexly provided with a transverse rib 602 which is transversely arranged, the transverse rib 602 is embedded in the transverse groove 802.”).
But does not disclose wherein the irregular surface is positioned to contact an interior sidewall of the stem
Okai discloses a similar arrangement wherein the interior sidewall of the stem (sleeve portion 110) has an irregular surface (engagement portion 173) that is positioned to contact the drive shaft when inserted into the toothbrush head (See Para [0059] “Furthermore, in certain embodiments in the coupled state the engagement portion 98 at the distal end of the stem 83 engages the inner surface 173 of the sleeve portion 110 of the refill head 100.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electric toothbrush of Huang as modified to comprise an irregular surface for engagement with interior sidewall of the stem instead of the coupling portion as Okai demonstrates that doing so would be an equivalent method of engaging the drive shaft to provide vibration to the head of the toothbrush. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding Claim 11, Huang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 8 and in addition discloses further comprising the electric toothbrush, and wherein:
the drive shaft (801) comprises a first gear (Recess 802) that is positioned to contact an interior sidewall (316 of 315) of the coupling member when the drive shaft is inserted into the toothbrush head (See Col 7 Lines 36-41 “a transverse groove 802 which is transversely arranged is formed on the vibrating machine core 801, and the inner abutment surface 316 is convexly provided with a transverse rib 602 which is transversely arranged, the transverse rib 602 is embedded in the transverse groove 802.”);
the interior sidewall of coupling member comprises a second gear (602) comprising teeth (protrusions 602) that extend toward the drive shaft (See Col 7 Line 42-51 “By embedding the transverse rib 602 in the transversal groove of the vibrating machine core 801, a contact connection between the vibrating machine core 801 and the inner abutment surfaces 316 of the resilient aims 315 is made more robust, and a better transmission of vibrations between the vibrating machine core 801 and the resilient arms 315 is possible, and disengagement and misalignment between the vibrating machine core 801 and the inner abutment surface 316 of the resilient arms 315 are avoided during the transmission of vibrations.”);
the teeth of the second gear are positioned to align with gaps between teeth of the first gear. (See Col 7 Lines 36-41 cited above).
But does not disclose
Wherein the second gear is formed on the interior sidewall of the stem. However, Okai discloses a similar electric toothbrush wherein the drive shaft (83) engages directly with the interior sidewall (110) of the stem (101).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the toothbrush of Huang as modified to located the second gear on the internal sidewalls of the stems instead of the coupling member as Okai discloses that a drive shaft can engage directly with the interior sidewalls of the toothbrush and that doing so would be the equivalent of having it engage with a coupling member. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 11793618 B1) in view of Tang (US 11730580 B1) as modified in claim 8 and in further view of Chen (US 20180078026 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Huang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 8 but does not explicitly disclose wherein:
an exterior sidewall of the coupling member comprises threads;
an interior sidewall of the stem or the base comprises threads; and
the threads of the coupling member are configured to mate with the threads of the stem or the base when the coupling member is threaded into the stem or the base.
Huang discloses a pin (200) connection to couple the exterior sidewall of the coupling member to the interior sidewall of the stem or base (See Col 5 Line 44-54 “the upper part of the inserting block 300 is fixedly connected with the brush body 100 via the pin 200, the bottom of the inserting block 300 abuts against the bottom of the brush body 100 from bottom up by means of the bottom abutment ring 33, thereby resulting in a mounting connection between the inserting block 300 and the brush body 100, which is structurally simple, and the connection between the inserting block 300 and the brush body 100 is achieved by means of the pin 200, which is more robust, thereby avoiding disengagement between the inserting block 300 and the brush body 100 during long vibration work.”).
However, Chen discloses a similar toothbrush with a similar a removable head, and teaches a coupling (12) between the head (10) and the body (20) via a pin connection, but also discloses an alternative method of connection via threaded engagement (See Para [0017] “Referring to FIG. 2, in the instant embodiment, the first coupling member 13 and the second coupling member 21 are respectively a pin and an insertion hole, but not limited thereto. The first coupling member 13 may be provided with a thread (not shown) thereon for screwing engagement with the second coupling member 21.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the pin connection between the stem and the coupling member to be that of a threaded connection such that an exterior sidewall of the coupling member comprises threads;
an interior sidewall of the stem or the base comprises threads; and
the threads of the coupling member are configured to mate with the threads of the stem or the base when the coupling member is threaded into the stem or the base.
As a threaded connection is a known alternative in the art to a pin connection, and it would be an obvious matter of simple substitution from one method of coupling to another. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding Claim 15 Huang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 14 further comprising a seam on the stem, on the base, or between the stem and the base, wherein the seam is positioned to align with the threads of the stem or the base (See Chen Fig. 2 seam where 12 meets body 20).
Claim(s) 16-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 11793618 B1) in view of Tang (US 11730580 B1) and Okai (US 20170151044 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Huang disclose
A toothbrush, comprising:
a handle (800) with a drive shaft (801) extending therefrom; and
a toothbrush head (100, see Fig. 2) comprising:
a bristle tray (103) comprising plurality of bristles (Col, 5 Line 8-10 “wherein an upper part of the brush body 100 is provide with a bristle section 103 on which bristles are provided,”),
a base having (bottom of 100, below the pin 200 See Fig. 6) an opening (105) for receiving the drive shaft (801, Col 5 14-19 “the inserting block 300 is inserted into the receiving cavity 105 through the mounting opening, an outer sidewall of the inserting block 300 abuts against an inner sidewall of the receiving cavity 105; the inserting block 300 is provide internally with a machine core channel 34 into which a flat vibrating machine core 801 is inserted”),
a stem (100) that connects the bristle tray to the base and that has an opening (Pin hole 101),
a coupling member (300), wherein:
the coupling member includes a relatively narrower section (31) positioned to align with the stem (100) and a relatively wider section (32) positioned to align with the base (See Fig. 2); and
But does not disclose:
the relatively narrower section has a length that is shorter than that of the drive shaft so that, when the drive shaft is inserted into the coupling member, the drive shaft will extend from the relatively narrower section and into an interior cavity within the stem,
wherein:
an interior sidewall of the stem comprises an irregular surface that is positioned to contact the drive shaft when inserted into the toothbrush head, and
the drive shaft comprises an irregular surface that is positioned to contact the interior sidewall of the stem when the drive shaft is inserted into the toothbrush head.
Huang does disclose wherein the interior sidewall of the coupling member comprises an irregular surface that is positioned to contact the drive shaft when inserted into the toothbrush head (See Col 7 Lines 36-41 “a transverse groove 802 which is transversely arranged is formed on the vibrating machine core 801, and the inner abutment surface 316 is convexly provided with a transverse rib 602 which is transversely arranged, the transverse rib 602 is embedded in the transverse groove 802.”).
the drive shaft comprises an irregular surface (802) that is positioned to contact the interior sidewall of the coupling (316) when the drive shaft is inserted into the toothbrush head (See Col 7 Line 36-41 cited above).
However, Tang discloses a similar electric tooth brush with a coupling member (2), wherein the relatively narrower section (2) has a length that is shorter than that of the drive shaft (301) so that, when the drive shaft is inserted into the coupling member, the drive shaft will extend from the relatively narrower section and into an interior cavity within the stem (Col 6 Line 1-6 “In an embodiment of the disclosure, the main engine 3 includes a main engine axis 301, which has an axis outlet hole 303 thereon; the main engine axis 301 enters into the tail plug 2 through the bottom hole 2081 firstly, and then penetrates the locating hole 2082 to enter into the water inlet chamber 110.”);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the coupling member of the to allow the drive shaft to penetrate through as doing so would allow for flexible installation of the main engine axis without effect the transmission of the vibration through the drive shaft as advantageously disclosed in Col 6 Line 62-67 “The tail plug chamber body 208 is used for providing a mounting hole for penetrating the main engine axis 301, which ensures the flexible installation of the main engine axis 301 and no adverse effect on the transmission of the vibration through the main engine axis 301. The tail plug chamber body 208 has a locating flat portion in its front section, corresponding to that of the main engine axis 301, which is used for locating the main engine axis 301.”).
And Okai discloses a similar electric toothbrush wherein the interior sidewall of the stem (sleeve portion 110) has an irregular surface (engagement portion 173) that is positioned to contact the drive shaft when inserted into the toothbrush head (See Para [0059] “Furthermore, in certain embodiments in the coupled state the engagement portion 98 at the distal end of the stem 83 engages the inner surface 173 of the sleeve portion 110 of the refill head 100.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electric toothbrush of Huang as modified to comprise an irregular surface for engagement with the drive shaft on an interior sidewall of the stem such that wherein:
an interior sidewall of the stem comprises an irregular surface that is positioned to contact the drive shaft when inserted into the toothbrush head, and
the drive shaft comprises an irregular surface that is positioned to contact the interior sidewall of the stem when the drive shaft is inserted into the toothbrush head as Okai demonstrates that doing so would be an equivalent method of engaging the drive shaft to provide vibration to the head of the toothbrush. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding Claim 17, wherein:
the irregular surface (802) of the drive shaft (801) comprises a first gear that is positioned to contact the interior sidewall (as modified by Okai, the gear contacts the sidewall of the shaft instead of the coupling member) of the stem when the drive shaft is inserted into the toothbrush head (See Col 7 Lines 36-41 “a transverse groove 802 which is transversely arranged is formed on the vibrating machine core 801, and the inner abutment surface 316 is convexly provided with a transverse rib 602 which is transversely arranged, the transverse rib 602 is embedded in the transverse groove 802.”);
the irregular surface of the stem comprises a second gear comprising teeth that extend toward the drive shaft (As modified by Okai in Claim 16, the second gear originally located on Huang 316, is on the interior shaft sidewall, Further see Huang See Col 7 Line 42-51 “By embedding the transverse rib 602 in the transversal groove of the vibrating machine core 801, a contact connection between the vibrating machine core 801 and the inner abutment surfaces 316 of the resilient aims 315 is made more robust, and a better transmission of vibrations between the vibrating machine core 801 and the resilient arms 315 is possible, and disengagement and misalignment between the vibrating machine core 801 and the inner abutment surface 316 of the resilient arms 315 are avoided during the transmission of vibrations.”); and
the teeth of the second gear are positioned to align with gaps between teeth of the first gear (See Huang Col 7 Lines 36-41 cited above).
Regarding Claim 18, Huang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 16 and in addition discloses wherein:
the relatively wider section (Huang 32) includes a cylindrical first subsection (33) and a funnel-shaped second subsection (32) having a taper that narrows as it gets closer to the relatively narrower section (See Fig. 2 of Huang 32 is a skirt that surrounds the narrow section);
an exterior sidewall of the relatively wider section comprises a corner (point where 32 and 33) positioned at a point at which the cylindrical first section transitions to the tapered second subsection (See top portion of 32); and
the base includes a corresponding corner that is positioned to limit a path of travel of the coupling member into the interior cavity of the stem (Exterior corner 33 of Huang, See Col 5 Line 29-36 “an outer periphery of a bottom of the inserting block 300 extends outwardly to form a bottom abutment ring 33, the bottom abutment ring 33 is disposed circumferentially along the outer periphery of the inserting block 300, the bottom abutment ring 33 is located below the brush body 100 and abuts against the bottom of the brush body 100 from bottom up.”).
Claim(s) 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 11793618 B1) in view of Tang (US 11730580 B1) and Okai (US 20170151044 A1) as modified in claim 16 and in further view of Chen (US 20180078026 A1).
Regarding Claim 20 Huang as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 16 but does not explicitly disclose wherein:
an exterior sidewall of the coupling member comprises threads;
an interior sidewall of the stem or the base comprises threads; and
the threads of the coupling member are configured to mate with the threads of the stem or the base when the coupling member is threaded into the stem or the base.
Huang discloses a pin (200) connection to couple the exterior sidewall of the coupling member to the interior sidewall of the stem or base (See Col 5 Line 44-54 “the upper part of the inserting block 300 is fixedly connected with the brush body 100 via the pin 200, the bottom of the inserting block 300 abuts against the bottom of the brush body 100 from bottom up by means of the bottom abutment ring 33, thereby resulting in a mounting connection between the inserting block 300 and the brush body 100, which is structurally simple, and the connection between the inserting block 300 and the brush body 100 is achieved by means of the pin 200, which is more robust, thereby avoiding disengagement between the inserting block 300 and the brush body 100 during long vibration work.”).
However, Chen discloses a similar toothbrush with a similar a removable head, and teaches a coupling (12) between the head (10) and the body (20) via a pin connection, but also discloses an alternative method of connection via threaded engagement (See Para [0017] “Referring to FIG. 2, in the instant embodiment, the first coupling member 13 and the second coupling member 21 are respectively a pin and an insertion hole, but not limited thereto. The first coupling member 13 may be provided with a thread (not shown) thereon for screwing engagement with the second coupling member 21.”) further comprising a seam on the stem, on the base, or between the stem and the base, wherein the seam is positioned to align with the threads of the stem or the base (See Chen Fig. 2 seam where 12 meets body 20).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the pin connection between the stem and the coupling member to be that of a threaded connection such that an exterior sidewall of the coupling member comprises threads;
an interior sidewall of the stem or the base comprises threads; and
the threads of the coupling member are configured to mate with the threads of the stem or the base when the coupling member is threaded into the stem or the base.
further comprising a seam on the stem, on the base, or between the stem and the base, wherein the seam is positioned to align with the threads of the stem or the base.
As a threaded connection is a known alternative in the art to a pin connection, and it would be an obvious matter of simple substitution from one method of coupling to another. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Claim(s) 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 11793618 B1) in view of Tang (US 11730580 B1) and in further view of Fattori (US 20140150190 A1), and Claim(s) 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 11793618 B1) in view of Tang (US 11730580 B1) and Okai (US 20170151044 A1) as modified in claim 16 and in further view of Fattori (US 20140150190 A1).
Regarding Claims 13 and 19, Huang as modified discloses all the limitations of 8 and 16 respectively but does not explicitly disclose wherein the coupling member is integrally formed with the base.
However, Fattori discloses an electric toothbrush wherein the head and stem are integrally connected, and additionally teaches that they may be formed as separate components joined together during a later stage of manufacturing via various means (Para [00321] “In the exemplified embodiment, the tubular sleeve 120 and the head portion 110 of the refill head 100 are integrally formed as a single unitary structure using a molding, milling, machining or other suitable process. However, in other embodiments the head portion 110 and the tubular sleeve 120 of the refill head 100 may be formed as separate components which are operably connected at a later stage of the manufacturing process by any suitable technique known in the art, including without limitation thermal or ultrasonic welding, a tight-fit assembly, a coupling sleeve, threaded engagement, adhesion, or fasteners.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the coupling member to be formed integrally with the base as doing so would be a matter of design choice obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in order to more easily manufacture the device. Further it has been held that “the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure discloses in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.” See MPEP 2144.04 V B.
Conclusion
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723