DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment filed September 18, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 12, and 14-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed September 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
5. Applicant argues that Yoshimura (US 2021/0005023 A1) and Casamona et al. (US 2012/0008825 A1), hereinafter referred to as Casamona, fail to teach “associating respective movement trajectory data with meta-information identifying a pitcher, selecting a plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data associated with the particular pitcher based on the meta-information, and displaying together, in a virtual viewpoint image, movement trajectories of different pitched balls pitched by that particular pitcher” as amended.
Examiner replies that Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Instead, Kakehashi et al. (US 20200150749 A1) and Jun (JP 2015154890 A) are used to teach “associating respective movement trajectory data with meta-information identifying a pitcher, selecting a plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data associated with the particular pitcher based on the meta-information, and displaying together, in a virtual viewpoint image, movement trajectories of different pitched balls pitched by that particular pitcher” as rejected in the rejection for claim 1 below.
6. Conclusion: The rejections set in the previous Office Action are shown to have been proper, and the claims are rejected below. New citations and parenthetical remarks can be considered new grounds of rejection and such new grounds of rejection are necessitated by the Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Therefore, the present Office Action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8, 10, 12, 14-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casamona et al. (US 20120008825 A1), hereinafter referred to as Casamona, in view of Kakehashi et al. (US 20200150749 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kakehashi, and Jun (JP 2015154890 A).
10. Regarding claim 1, Casamona teaches an image processing apparatus comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors executing the instructions to (Paragraph 13 teaches a processor can execute software or instructions stored in memory): acquire data including respective positional information about a plurality of pitched balls (Paragraph 20 teaches “The object position and tracking system 104 develops raw trajectory data relating to the three-dimensional (e.g., the X, Y and Z position of an object 110 using a Cartesian coordinate system) position of the object 110 with respect to time.”; Paragraph 22 teaches tracking the ball trajectory after a pitch is sensed; Paragraphs 46-48 and Figure 5 teach rendering the trajectories 508 of multiple balls that have been pitched and hit. Thus, the respective positional information about a plurality of pitched balls are acquired);
generate, based on the respective positional information, a respective piece of movement trajectory data for each of the plurality of pitched balls (Paragraph 20 teaches generating trajectory data from the positional information of the ball tracked; Paragraphs 46-48 and Figure 5 teach rendering object trajectories 508 for a plurality of pitched balls. The trajectories rendered teach generating a respective piece of movement trajectory data for each of the plurality of pitched balls based on the positional information); associate each piece of movement trajectory data with meta-information(Paragraph 32 teaches a “video provided over connection 148 is a real-time video feed showing the object 110 traveling within the stadium 102. The graphics system 300 receives object position points in real-time and associated data containing status information from the tracking software 200.” Videos teach frames. The video with the flight and trajectory of the ball teaches a frame corresponding to the piece of movement trajectory data);
However, Casamona fails to teach associate each piece of movement trajectory data with meta-information identifying a pitcher who pitched a corresponding one of the plurality of pitched balls and with a frame corresponding to the piece of movement trajectory data; select a plurality of pieces of the movement trajectory data associated with a particular pitcher; and generate, based on the selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data, a virtual viewpoint image displaying together a plurality of movement trajectories represented by the selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data, wherein the plurality of movement trajectories respectively correspond to different movements of different pitched balls pitched by the particular pitcher.
Kakehashi teaches associate each piece of movement trajectory data with meta-information identifying a pitcher who pitched a corresponding one of the plurality of pitched balls and with a frame corresponding to the piece of movement trajectory data (Paragraph 132 teaches "The tracking system 2 may generate also tracking data of the athlete 1, the umpire, etc. on the mound (Step 2). At the time, the tracking system 2 concurrently acquires time information of the tracking data". This teaches the trajectory data is associated with meta information identifying a pitcher. The timing information also teaches meta-information identifying a frame. Paragraph 63 teaches time information is used to specify a video section associated with the movement trajectory. Paragraph 133 also teaches displaying a flight video of the trajectory of the ball. Videos consist of frames. Thus, the flight video teaches the movement trajectory data is associated with information identifying the frames or video)
and generate, (Paragraph 86 teaches generating a virtual viewpoint image as seen in Figure 8 which displays "a virtual pitcher viewed from a viewpoint position, in a virtual space, corresponding to a position and a posture of the user, a flight video of a virtual ball, a virtual stadium, etc. are displayed." This teaches generating a virtual viewpoint image that displays the ball trajectory)
Casamona and Kakehashi are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of tracking a pitched ball. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of acquiring movement trajectory data of a pitched ball taught by Casamona with generating a virtual viewpoint image with the ball trajectory taught by Kakehashi in order to enable viewers to view a replay of a pitcher’s pitch during the broadcast (Kakehashi Paragraph 64 and 86).
However, Casamona and Kakehashi fail to teach selecting a plurality of pieces of the movement trajectory data associated with a particular pitcher; generate, based on the selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data, a virtual viewpoint image displaying together a plurality of movement trajectories represented by the selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data, wherein the plurality of movement trajectories respectively correspond to different movements of different pitched balls pitched by the particular pitcher.
Jun teaches selecting a plurality of pieces of the movement trajectory data associated with a particular pitcher (Paragraph 38 teaches displaying multiple ball trajectory data to analyze a pitcher's pitching in various situations. Displaying multiple ball trajectory data belonging to that pitcher teaches selecting a plurality of movement trajectory data associated with a particular picture); generate, based on the selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data, a virtual viewpoint image (Kakehashi teaches the virtual viewpoint image as taught above) displaying together a plurality of movement trajectories represented by the selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data, wherein the plurality of movement trajectories respectively correspond to different movements of different pitched balls pitched by the particular pitcher (Paragraph 38 teaches displaying multiple ball trajectory data to analyze a pitcher's pitching in various situations. Thus, the trajectory data corresponds to different pitched balls pitched by the same pitcher).
Casamona, Kakehashi, and Jun are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of tracking a pitched ball. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify generating the virtual viewpoint image with the movement trajectory data of a pitched ball taught by Casamona in view of Kakehashi with the selecting and displaying a plurality of movement trajectory data for different balls pitched by a particular pitcher taught by Jun in order to allow for analysis of a pitcher’s pitching through the ball trajectory in various situations (Jun Paragraph 38).
11. Regarding claim 2, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teaches the limitations of claim 1. Casamona further teaches wherein the acquired data further includes a frame number associated with the positional information about each of the plurality of pitched balls (Paragraph 32 teaches a “video provided over connection 148 is a real-time video feed showing the object 110 traveling within the stadium 102. The graphics system 300 receives object position points in real-time and associated data containing status information from the tracking software 200.” Videos teach frames and the timestamp of a video teaches a frame number under broadest reasonable interpretation. The video with the flight and trajectory of the ball teaches a frame associated with the positional information. Paragraph 48 teaches multiple pitched ball trajectories are tracked through 508. Thus, this teaches the method is run on a plurality of pitched balls and that there is a frame associated with positional information about each of the plurality of pitched balls).
123. Regarding claim 4, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teaches the limitations of claim 2. Casamona further teaches wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to generate each piece of movement trajectory data positions of the corresponding pitched ball in a plurality of frames (Paragraph 32 teaches a “video provided over connection 148 is a real-time video feed showing the object 110 traveling within the stadium 102. The graphics system 300 receives object position points in real-time and associated data containing status information from the tracking software 200.” Videos teach a plurality of frames. The video with the object’s position points or trajectory data positions teaches generating each piece of movement trajectory data positions of the corresponding pitched ball in a plurality of frames; Paragraph 44 teaches rendering a three-dimensional video including the trajectory overlay. The trajectory overlay in a video teaches multiple pieces of movement trajectory data positions of a ball in a plurality of frames).
13. Regarding claim 5, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teaches the limitations of claim 2. Casamona further teaches wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to generate the respective pieces of movement trajectory data based on a plurality of captured images corresponding to a plurality of frames (Paragraph 32 teaches a “video provided over connection 148 is a real-time video feed showing the object 110 traveling within the stadium 102. The graphics system 300 receives object position points in real-time and associated data containing status information from the tracking software 200.” Videos teach a plurality of captured images corresponding to a plurality of frames. The video with the object’s position points or trajectory data positions teaches generating each piece of movement trajectory data positions of the corresponding pitched ball based on a plurality of frames and captured images; Paragraph 44 teaches rendering a three-dimensional video including the trajectory overlay. The trajectory overlay in a video teaches generating respective pieces of movement trajectory data positions of a ball in a plurality of frames or captured images).
14. Regarding claim 8, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teaches the limitations of claim 1. Casamona further teaches wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to designate a shape and a color of the plurality of movement trajectories and generate the virtual viewpoint image using the designated shape and color (Paragraph 33 teaches “a colored trail can be generated … following the object to show the object’s trajectory” and “the colored trail can be changed to different colors”. This teaches designating a color of the movement trajectories and the display of the trail teaches a shape. The virtual graphics of the colored trail generated on the video teaches generating a virtual viewpoint image; Paragraph 43 teaches “the color, width of the line, style of the line, or other indica used to show the trajectory can be changed” teaches being able to designate the color and shape of the movement trajectories. The style and width of the line teaches a shape of the movement trajectory).
15. Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is the control method claim of image processing apparatus claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
16. Regarding claim 12, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teaches the limitations of claim 1. Casamona further teaches wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to automatically assign a different color to each of the plurality of movement trajectories represented by the selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data, and wherein the plurality of movement trajectories are displayed in different colors (Paragraph 33 teaches “a colored trail can be generated … following the object to show the object’s trajectory” and “the colored trail can be changed to different colors”. The 3D rendering engine applying the colors to the trail teaches automatically assigning a color; Paragraphs 48-49 and Figures 5 and 6 teach a plurality of movement trajectories represented by selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data. Paragraph 49 teaches each trajectory line can be illustrated with different line patterns or “other indicia, such as line color, line thickness, or other indicia.” This discloses that the plurality of movement trajectories can be displayed in different colors, automatically assigned by the 3D rendering engine taught in Paragraph 33).
17. Regarding claim 14, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Casamona fails to teach wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to generate data including information identifying the particular pitcher and a batter for generating the virtual viewpoint image.
Kakehashi teaches wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to generate data including information identifying the particular pitcher and a batter for generating the virtual viewpoint image (Paragraph 10 teaches using tracking data to display the flight video of the object from a viewpoint position in a virtual space; Paragraph 166 teaches “the tracking data to be acquired shall contain data that identifies a pitcher and a batter in a game” and Paragraph 168 teaches using the tracking data to display a flight video of a virtual ball. Thus, the tracking data includes information identifying the particular pitcher and batter for generating a virtual viewpoint image).
Casamona, Kakehashi, and Jun are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of tracking an object in a sporting event. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the image processing apparatus for generating virtual viewpoints with the trajectory data taught by Casamona in view of Jun with the pitcher and batter data taught by Kakehashi in order to predict the type of ball that may be pitched (Kakehashi Paragraph 167).
18. Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is the non-transitory computer readable storage medium claim (Casamona Paragraph 13 teaches a processor can execute software or instructions stored in memory) of image processing apparatus claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
19. Regarding claim 16, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Casamona fails to teach wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to select, based on the meta-information identifying the pitcher, the plurality of pieces of the movement trajectory data associated with the particular pitcher.
Jun teaches wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to select, based on the meta-information identifying the pitcher, the plurality of pieces of the movement trajectory data associated with the particular pitcher (Paragraph 38 teaches displaying multiple ball trajectory data to analyze a pitcher's pitching in various situations. Displaying multiple ball trajectory data belonging to that pitcher teaches selecting a plurality of movement trajectory data associated with a particular picture).
Casamona, Kakehashi, and Jun are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of tracking a pitched ball. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify generating the virtual viewpoint image with the movement trajectory data of a pitched ball taught by Casamona in view of Kakehashi with the selecting and displaying a plurality of movement trajectory data for different balls pitched by a particular pitcher taught by Jun in order to allow for analysis of a pitcher’s pitching through the ball trajectory in various situations (Jun Paragraph 38).
20. Regarding claim 19, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teaches the limitations of claim 1. Casamona further teaches wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: acquire, for each of the different movements, a count start time and a count end time of a pitch clock; determine, based on the count start time and the count end time, a start frame and an end frame for generating a corresponding one of the pieces of movement trajectory data; and generate the corresponding piece of movement trajectory data based on positional information about the pitched ball in frames from the start frame to the end frame (Paragraph 32 teaches a “video provided over connection 148 is a real-time video feed showing the object 110 traveling within the stadium 102. The graphics system 300 receives object position points in real-time and associated data containing status information from the tracking software 200.” Videos teach a plurality of frames that has a start frame and end frame. Videos also have timestamps which thus teaches a count start time and count end time. The timing of the video teaches a pitch clock. The video with the object’s position points or trajectory data positions teaches generating each piece of movement trajectory data positions of the corresponding pitched ball based on positional information of the ball in frames from the start frame to end frame; Paragraph 44 teaches rendering a three-dimensional video including the trajectory overlay. The trajectory overlay in a video teaches generating respective pieces of movement trajectory data positions of a ball from the start to end frame).
21. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casamona et al. (US 20120008825 A1), hereinafter referred to as Casamona, in view of Kakehashi et al. (US 20200150749 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kakehashi, and Jun (JP 2015154890 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bernhardt et al. (US 20150205843 A1), hereinafter referred to as Bernhardt.
Regarding claim 7, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Casamona, Kakehashi, and Jun fail to teach: the image processing apparatus wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to superimpose information described in a web article regarding an event at which the virtual viewpoint image is to be generated, on the virtual viewpoint image.
Bernhardt teaches the image processing apparatus wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to superimpose information described in a web article regarding an event at which the virtual viewpoint image is to be generated, on the virtual viewpoint image (Paragraph 5 teaches events can be extracted from an article to populate a spatial visualization; Abstract and Paragraph 28 teaches the visual representation can be a physical location or 3D visual representation of a location. Thus, the visual representation can be a virtual viewpoint under broadest reasonable interpretation; Paragraph 52-53 teaches icons which represents the occurrence of events superimposed on the spatial visualization. The events are extracted from an article. Thus, information regarding an event described in an article is superimposed onto a virtual viewpoint image).
Casamona, Kakehashi, and Jun are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of analyzing baseball trajectories. Bernhardt is considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of visualizing events. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the image processing apparatus for generating ball trajectories in virtual viewpoint images taught by Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun with the superimposition of web article information taught by Bernhardt in order to share information in a easy to understand and digestible form (Bernhardt Paragraph 2).
22. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casamona et al. (US 20120008825 A1), hereinafter referred to as Casamona, in view of Kakehashi et al. (US 20200150749 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kakehashi, and Jun (JP 2015154890 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshimura (US 20210005023 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Casamona, Kakehashi, and Jun fail to teach wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to generate each piece of movement trajectory data using a shape model of a corresponding one of the plurality of pitched balls.
Yoshimura teaches wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to generate each piece of movement trajectory data using a shape model of a corresponding one of the plurality of pitched balls (Paragraph 43 teaches “An object plot is the shape data of an object associated with each of the representative points in the above-described trajectory, segments”. Thus, this teaches the movement trajectory data generated uses the shape data of the specific object and positional information through the representative points; Paragraph 45 teaches generating the trajectory data through object plots which uses the shape data of the object being tracked. Paragraph 32 teaches the shape data is three-dimensional model data representing an object; Paragraph 25 teaches “Objects that are expected as the above-described objects to be captured include, for example, moving objects in image capturing areas like balls and players and, for example, stationary objects in image capturing areas like structures, such as goals that are used in ball sports.” Yoshimura’s method can be used in any ball sport which includes baseball. Thus, the shape model can be of a pitched ball. Furthermore, Casamona teaches a pitched ball as seen in the rejection in claim 1. Thus, Yoshimura’s method of using a shape model of a ball can be applied to the pitched ball taught by Casamona).
Casamona, Kakehashi, Jun, and Yoshimura are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of displaying the trajectory of a ball. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of generating a virtual viewpoint image with the movement trajectory data taught by Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun with the shape model of a ball taught by Yoshimura in order to allow users to view virtual viewpoint images of a specific object at different points in time from a desired viewpoint (Yoshimura Paragraph 5).
23. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casamona et al. (US 20120008825 A1), hereinafter referred to as Casamona, in view of Kakehashi et al. (US 20200150749 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kakehashi, and Jun (JP 2015154890 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Greiner et al. (US 20150260512 A1), hereinafter referred to as Greiner.
Regarding claim 17, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teach the limitations of claim 1. However, Casamona fails to teach wherein the meta-information further includes information identifying an inning in which each of the corresponding pitched balls was pitched, and wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to select, from the pieces of the movement trajectory data associated with the particular pitcher, a plurality of pieces of the movement trajectory data associated with a designated inning.
Jun teaches with the particular pitcher, a plurality of pieces of the movement trajectory data (Paragraph 38 teaches displaying multiple ball trajectory data to analyze a pitcher's pitching in various situations. Displaying multiple ball trajectory data belonging to that pitcher teaches selecting a plurality of movement trajectory data associated with a particular picture)
Casamona, Kakehashi, and Jun are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of tracking a pitched ball. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify generating the virtual viewpoint image with the movement trajectory data of a pitched ball taught by Casamona in view of Kakehashi with the selecting and displaying a plurality of movement trajectory data for different balls pitched by a particular pitcher taught by Jun in order to allow for analysis of a pitcher’s pitching through the ball trajectory in various situations (Jun Paragraph 38).
However, Casamona, Kakehashi, and Jun fail to teach wherein the meta-information further includes information identifying an inning in which each of the corresponding pitched balls was pitched, and wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to select, from the pieces of the movement trajectory data associated with the particular pitcher, a plurality of pieces of the movement trajectory data associated with a designated inning.
Greiner teaches wherein the meta-information further includes information identifying an inning in which each of the corresponding pitched balls was pitched, and wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to select, from the pieces of the movement trajectory data associated with the particular pitcher, a plurality of pieces of the movement trajectory data associated with a designated inning (Paragraph 98 teaches a table that records which inning the ball was pitched in and Figure 7A-C teach generating a plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data associated with the pitcher for those designated innings in the table).
Casamona, Kakehashi, Jun, and Greiner are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of tracking the ball trajectory. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the generating a virtual viewpoint image with the movement trajectory of the ball taught by Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun with the information identifying an inning that the balls were pitched in in order to analyze the pitching of a pitcher throughout a game (Greiner Paragraph 98).
24. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casamona et al. (US 20120008825 A1), hereinafter referred to as Casamona, in view of Kakehashi et al. (US 20200150749 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kakehashi, and Jun (JP 2015154890 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wilk (US 6520864 B1).
Regarding claim 18, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teaches the limitations of claim 1. Casamona further teaches wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: automatically assign a (Paragraph 33 teaches “a colored trail can be generated … following the object to show the object’s trajectory” and “the colored trail can be changed to different colors”. The 3D rendering engine applying the colors to the trail teaches automatically assigning a color; Paragraphs 48-49 and Figures 5 and 6 teach generating a virtual viewpoint image in which the plurality of movement trajectories are represented by selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data. Paragraph 49 teaches each trajectory line can be illustrated with different line patterns or “other indicia, such as line color, line thickness, or other indicia.” This discloses that the plurality of movement trajectories can be displayed in different colors, automatically assigned by the 3D rendering engine taught in Paragraph 33).
However, Casamona fails to teach automatically assign a mutually
Wilk teaches automatically assign a mutually different color to each of the plurality of movement trajectories represented by the selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data (Column 2, lines 64-66 teach "For example, the additional generic processing circuits may indicate the paths of different balls in different colors on the display". This teaches mutually different colors for each respective movement trajectory data).
Casamona, Kakehashi, Jun, and Wilk are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of tracking the trajectory of a ball. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify generating a virtual viewpoint image with colored trajectories taught by Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun with the mutually different colors assigned to each trajectory taught by Wilk in order to provide visually differentiable path indicators (Wilk Column 2, Lines 61-64).
25. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casamona et al. (US 20120008825 A1), hereinafter referred to as Casamona, in view of Kakehashi et al. (US 20200150749 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kakehashi, and Jun (JP 2015154890 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Spivak et al. (US 20250032883 A1) and Ungstrup et al. (US 20230040575 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ungstrup.
Regarding claim 20, Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun teach the limitations of claim 1. However, Casamona, Kakehashi, and Jun fail to teach wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: set, in a virtual space, a plane located near a strike zone, a line segment connecting a center of home plate and a center of a pitcher plate being perpendicular to the plane; calculate, based on the selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data, respective positions at which the different pitched balls pass through the plane; and generate the virtual viewpoint image displaying a position of the strike zone and the calculated respective positions.
Spivak teaches wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to: set, in a virtual space, a plane located near a strike zone (Paragraph 74 and Figure 2 teach overlaying a 3D strike zone graphic 210 that can be seen from different perspectives. The strike zone graphic teaches a plane located near a strike zone),
calculate, based on the selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data, respective positions at which the different pitched balls pass through the plane (Paragraph 79 and Figure 414 step 414 teaches calculating whether the ball intersects the strike zone. Casamona teaches a plurality of pitched balls as rejected in claim 1. Combined with Casamona, this can be implemented for a plurality of pitched balls; Paragraph 131 and Figure 18 teaches determining the position of a baseball and teaches the process can be “repeated for other sets of images.” This teaches the method can be run for a plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data and different pitched balls when combined with Casamona);
and generate the virtual viewpoint image displaying a position of the strike zone and the calculated respective positions (Paragraph 75 teaches graphics can be added to the video to also show “an indication (e.g., a solid circle) indicative of the location of a pitched ball relative to the strike zone” and “the enhancement system can indicate whether a pitched baseball traveled through the strike zone.” The generated video with these graphical effects teach generating a virtual viewpoint image.
Casamona, Kakehashi, Jun, and Spivak are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of analyzing ball trajectories. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify generating a virtual viewpoint with the pitched ball trajectory taught by Casamona in view of Kakehashi and Jun with the strike zone taught by Spivak in order to automate or assist umpiring of a baseball game by autonomously determining whether a strike has occurred (Spivak Paragraph 6).
However, Casamona, Kakehashi, Jun, and Spivak fail to teach a line segment connecting a center of home plate and a center of a pitcher plate being perpendicular to the plane.
Ungstrup teaches a line segment connecting a center of home plate and a center of a pitcher plate being perpendicular to the plane (Paragraph 17 teaches “positional limits of the first strike zone are determined in the second coordinate system based on a plane corresponding to a width of a home plate in a vertical plane perpendicular to a line from a center of a pitching rubber to a center of the home plate.”); and calculating, based on the selected plurality of pieces of movement trajectory data, respective positions at which the different pitched balls pass through the plane (Paragraph 7 teaches “tracking a flight of a pitched ball; and determining whether the flight of the ball includes a three-dimensional position where a portion the pitched ball is within the positional limits of the first strike zone”; Paragraph 66 teaches determining whether the trajectory of the ball passes through the strike zone. Determining the trajectory and whether is passes through the strike zone teaches calculating a position of the pitched ball through the plane if it passes the strike zone. Combined with Casamona, Spivak’s method can be implemented for the different pitched balls).
Casamona, Kakehashi, Jun, Spivak, and Ungstrup are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of analyzing ball trajectories. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify generating a virtual viewpoint with the pitched ball trajectory taught by Casamona in view of Kakehashi, Jun, and Spivak with the perpendicular line between the home and batter plates in order to determine the positional limits of the strike zone (Ungstrup Paragraph 17).
Conclusion
26. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Takahashi et al. (US 20220314092 A1) teaches acquiring trajectories of pitched balls and overlaying a strike zone.
27. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE YERA AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615