DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “controller” and “terminal” in independent claims 1, 10, and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuo et al. (US 2022/0116108 A1, hereinafter “Matsuo”).
Regarding claim 1:
Matsuo discloses a wireless control system comprising:
terminals (e.g., Fig. 1, wireless communication terminals 31-1,…, 31-N, Fig. 5, 31) each including a control target (e.g., [0022], a part of a respective wireless communication terminal operated wirelessly by control system); and
a controller (e.g., Fig. 1, control system 2) configured to receive a state signal (e.g., Fig. 7, signals S203, S204, S211, S216, S217, and Fig. 8, signals S309, S314, S315) transmitted from each of the terminals, generate a control signal (e.g., Fig. 7, signals S208, S209, S212, S213, and Fig. 8, signal S318) for each of the terminals according to the state signal, and transmit the control signal,
wherein each of the terminals can operate as a relayed terminal or a downlink relay terminal (e.g., [0044]-[0046], [0068]-[0071], target terminals and relay terminals);
the downlink relay terminal (e.g., Fig. 10, terminal 31-2) is configured to transmit a first state signal representing a state of its own control target ([0062], a response signal contains an ACK or NACK about an operation, e.g., Fig. 10, a response signal (same as signal S203) to operation signal S501, or signal S510 indicating SL communicating is possible based on an image captured by terminal 31-2, [0201]-[0203]) and a first control signal for controlling a control target of the relayed terminal (e.g., [0150]-[0151], signal S514 (same as signal S215) for operating at least a part of the terminal 31-1); and
the relayed terminal (e.g., Fig. 10, 31-1) is configured to obtain a second state signal representing a state of its own control target after receiving the first control signal, transmit the second state signal (e.g., [0150]-[0151], response signal S515 (same as signal S216) responding to signal S514), and control its own control target based on the first control signal (e.g., [0041], [0042], [0151], signal S514 (same as signal S215) operating at least a part of the terminal 31-1).
Regarding claim 2:
Matsuo further discloses the wireless control system of claim 1, wherein the downlink relay terminal is configured to obtain the first state signal after receiving a second control signal (e.g., Fig. 10, signal S501, or signal S506), transmit the first state signal and the first control signal (Fig. 10, S510 and S514), and control its own control target according to the second control signal (Fig. 10, signal S501 operates a part of the terminal 31-2, and step S509 determines SL communicating is possible based on a captured image).
Regarding claim 3:
Matsuo further discloses the wireless control system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to transmit a control signal for each of the terminals in a fixed cycle (e.g., [0215]-[0218], Fig. 12, signals S702, S707, S720, control cycle), obtain a prediction value of the first state signal at a timing of the fixed cycle based on the first state signal transmitted from the downlink relay terminal, and obtain a control signal for the downlink relay terminal based on the prediction value (e.g., Fig. 12, S706, [0137], the control system determines a direct communication deteriorates and to switch to a relay communication based on reception of the response signal).
Regarding claim 4:
Matsuo further discloses the wireless control system of claim 1, wherein each of the terminals can also operate as an uplink relay terminal (e.g., Fig. 10, 31-2); and the uplink relay terminal is configured to receive a third control signal (e.g., Fig. 10, operation signal S501, or signal S506) and the second state signal (e.g., Fig. 10, response signal S515), control its own control target according to the third control signal (operation signal S501 for operating at least a part of the terminal), obtain a third state signal representing a state of its own control target, and transmit the second state signal (Fig. 10, signal S515 ) and the third state signa. (a response signal (same as signal S203) to signal S501).
Regarding claim 5:
Matsuo further discloses the wireless control system of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to measure a response time of each of the terminals and operate a terminal with a short response time as the downlink relay terminal or the uplink relay terminal (e.g., [0180], the control system selects the terminal that is the sender of the SLReq signal received earlier as the relay terminal).
Regarding claim 6:
Matsuo further discloses the wireless control system of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to measure a communication quality of each of the terminals and operate a terminal with high communication quality as the uplink relay terminal (e.g., [0180], the control system selects the terminal that has better communication state as the relay terminal).
Regarding claim 8:
Matsuo further disclose the wireless control system of claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to transmit a wireless frame including a header, a destination, an attribute, and a control signal; the attribute includes information representing the relayed terminal, the downlink relay terminal, the uplink relay terminal, or a general terminal; the general terminal does not participate in relaying; and each of the terminals operates as the relayed terminal, the downlink relay terminal, the uplink relay terminal, or the general terminal according to the attribute (e.g., operation signals, [0041], SLReq instruction signals (unicast/multicast/broadcast), [0145], [0177], [0188]).
Regarding claim 10:
Matsuo discloses a controller (e.g., Fig. 3, 2) connectable to terminals each includes a control target, the controller is configured to: receive a state signal transmitted from each of the terminals; generate a control signal for each of the terminals according to the state signal; transmit the control signal; transmit a first instruction to operate each of the terminals as a downlink relay terminal or a second instruction to operate each of the terminals as a relayed terminal, wherein the first instruction is configured to cause a terminal to transmit a first state signal representing a state of its own control target and a first control signal for controlling a control target of the relayed terminal; and the second instruction is configured to cause a terminal to obtain a second state signal representing the state of its own control target after receiving the first control signal, transmit the second state signal, and control its own control target based on the first control signal (see similar claim limitations discussed with respect to claims 1, 2, 4 and 8 regarding Matsuo’s control system 2).
Regarding claim 11:
Matsuo discloses a terminal (e.g., Fig. 5, 31) including a control target, transmitting a state signal representing a state of the control target to a controller, receiving a control signal transmitted from the controller, and controlling the control target according to the control signal, the terminal configured to: operate as a relayed terminal or a downlink relay terminal according to an attribute transmitted from the controller; in a case of operating as the downlink relay terminal, transmit a first state signal representing a state of its own control target and a first control signal for controlling a control target of the relayed terminal; and in a case of operating as the relayed terminal, obtain a second state signal representing a state of its own control target after receiving the first control signal, transmit the second state signal, and control its own control target based on the first control signal (see similar claim limitations discussed with respect to claims 1, 2, 4 and 8 regarding Matsuo’s terminal 31).
Regarding claim 12:
Matsuo discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program (e.g., [0231]) controlling a terminal including a control target, the program causing the terminal to: transmit a state signal to a controller, the state signal representing a state of the control target; receive a control signal transmitted from the controller; control the control target according to the control signal; operate the terminal as a relayed terminal or a downlink relay terminal according to an attribute transmitted from the controller; in a case of operating the terminal as the downlink relay terminal, cause the terminal to transmit a first state signal representing a state of its own control target and a first control signal for controlling a control target of the relayed terminal; and in a case of operating the terminal as the relayed terminal, causes the terminal to obtain a second state signal representing a state of its own control target after receiving the first control signal, transmit the second state signal, and control its own control target based on the first control signal (see similar claim limitations discussed with respect to claims 1, 2, 4 and 8 regarding Matsuo’s terminal 31).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BO HUI A ZHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465