Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because line 4 is unclear. In particular, "has a scoop and a retention mechanism operably interfacing the scoop" is unclear. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, lines 5-6, "interior of the scope" should read "interior of the scoop”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wong (U.S. Patent No. 20160192811).
Regarding claim 1, Wong teaches a scooping system (Abstract), comprising:
a scoop (3) (Paragraph 0028, lines 4-6; Fig. 1, element 3); and
a retention system (23) comprising a retention rod (6), the retention system (23) being configured to operably interface with the scoop (3) to extend a distal end (5) of the retention rod (6) from a retracted position to an extended position that is within an interior of the scoop (3) (Paragraph 0028, lines 6-9; Fig. 1, elements 3, 5, 6, 23).
Regarding claim 2, Wong teaches the extension of the distal end (5) of the retention rod (6) from the retracted position to the extended position is along a longitudinal axis (A) of the retention rod (6) (Fig. 1, elements 5, 6, A).
Regarding claim 3, Wong teaches a stem (2), wherein the scoop (3) is positioned at a distal end of the stem (2), and wherein the retracted position lies along the stem (2) (Paragraph 0028, lines 4-6; Fig. 1, elements 2, 3).
Regarding claim 4, Wong teaches the stem (2) includes an exposed channel (14) that the retention rod (6) longitudinally reciprocates within (Paragraph 0037, lines 1-7; Fig. 2, elements 2, 14).
Regarding claim 5, Wong teaches the scoop (3) is open at one side with respect to a longitudinal axis (A) of the stem (2) (Paragraph 0030, lines 1-5; Fig. 1, elements 3, 18).
Regarding claim 8, Wong teaches the scoop (3) has a coplanar rim (Fig. 1, element 3; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 9, Wong teaches when the distal end (5) of the retention rod (6) is at the extended position, the distal end (5) of the retention rod (6) extends more than a quarter of a total length, corresponding to a longitudinal axis of the retention rod (6), of the scoop (3) into the interior of the scoop (18) (Fig. 1, elements 3, 5, 6, 18; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Regarding claim 10, Wong teaches the scoop (3) comprises a cylindrical midsection and a curved proximal section (annotated figure), and
wherein, when the distal end (5) of the retention rod (6) is at the extended position, the retention rod (6) extends across the cylindrical midsection along a longitudinal axis (A) of the retention rod (6) (Fig 1, elements 5, 6, A; Fig. 5, elements 5, 6). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of Sacchi et al (IT MI20081360).
Regarding claim 6, Wong fails to teach a pneumatic cylinder. Sacchi et al teaches a gripping device wherein the retention system further comprises a pneumatic cylinder (61), adjacent to the stem, configured to reciprocate the retention rod (Page 10, paragraphs 7, 11; Fig. 8, element 61; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sacchi et al in Wong to facilitate the creation of a pneumatic cylinder that can actuate the retention rod as taught by Sacchi et al (Page 10, paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 7, Wong fails to teach a pneumatic cylinder. Sacchi et al teaches a gripping device wherein the pneumatic cylinder (61) has a base port for extending the distal end of the retention rod to the extension position and a rod port for retracting the distal end of the retention rod to the retracted position (annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sacchi et al in Wong to facilitate the creation of a pneumatic cylinder that can move the retention rod along the axis of the gripper as taught by Sacchi et al (Page 10, paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 15, Wong fails to teach a pneumatic cylinder. Sacchi et al teaches a gripping device with a pneumatic cylinder (61), wherein the rack is configured to be reciprocated by the pneumatic cylinder (Page 10, paragraphs 7, 11; Fig. 8, element 61; annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sacchi et al in Wong to facilitate the creation of a pneumatic cylinder that can actuate the rack as taught by Sacchi et al (Page 10, paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 16, Wong fails to teach a pneumatic cylinder. Sacchi et al teaches a gripping device wherein the pneumatic cylinder (61) has a base port configured to extend the rack and a rod port configured to retract the rack (annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Sacchi et al in Wong to facilitate the creation of a pneumatic cylinder that can move the rack along the axis of the gripper as taught by Sacchi et al (Page 10, paragraph 11).
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of Meyers (US 2780183).
Regarding claim 11, Wong discloses the claimed invention except for a wiper. Meyers teaches a scoop with a wiper driveshaft (24) and a wiper blade (9) configured to, under rotational control of the wiper driveshaft (24), wipe an interior surface of the scoop (8) (Column 1, lines 43-48; Column 2, lines 1-4; Fig. 1, elements 8, 9, 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Meyers in Wong to facilitate the creation of a wiper that can dislodge the ice cream from the scoop as taught by Meyers (Column 1, lines 43-48).
Regarding claim 12, Wong discloses the claimed invention except for a wiper blade. Meyers teaches a scoop wherein a longitudinal axis of the retention rod is located further from a rim of the scoop (8) than a rotational axis of the wiper blade (9) (annotated figure). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Meyers in Wong to facilitate the creation of a rotational axis that allows the wiper to move along the inner surface of the scoop as taught by Meyers (Column 1, lines 43-48).
Regarding claim 14, Wong fails to teach a wiper driveshaft. Meyers teaches a scoop wherein the wiper driveshaft (24) is configured to turn by a toothed rack (36) that runs orthogonal to the wiper driveshaft (24) and interfaces a pinion (30) of the wiper driveshaft (24) (Column 2, lines 12-20; Fig. 1, elements 24, 30, 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Meyers in Wong to facilitate the creation of a wiper driveshaft that controls the movement of the wiper as taught by Meyers (Column 2, lines 12-15).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of Meyers in further view of Panzeri (EP 3333815).
Regarding claim 13, Wong in view of Meyers discloses the claimed invention except for a controller. Panzeri teaches a scoop with a controller configured to control the wiper driveshaft to not turn when the retention rod is at the extended position (Paragraph 0059, lines 5-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Panzeri in combination with Wong and Meyers to facilitate the creation of a controller that can drive the movement of the wiper as taught by Panzeri (Paragraph 0059, lines 5-10).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of Panzeri (EP 3333815).
Regarding claim 17, Wong discloses the claimed invention except for a controller. Panzeri teaches a scoop with a robotic arm (101) configured to manipulate the scoop (4) and the retention support based on control of a controller (Paragraph 0051, lines 1-5; Paragraph 0059, lines 5-10; Fig. 8, elements 4, 101); and
the controller configured to:
control the robotic arm (101) to maneuver the scoop (4) to collect material into the interior of the scope (4) (Paragraph 0051, lines 1-5; Paragraph 0054, lines Paragraph 0059, lines 5-10);
control the retention system to extend the distal end of the retention rod into the collected material to the extended position (Paragraph 0051, lines 5-15; Paragraph 0052, lines 1-15; Fig. 6, elements 101, 101b, 101c);
control the robotic arm (101) to maneuver the scoop (4), with the distal end of the retention rod extended into the collected material, to be positioned above a serving receptacle (30) (Paragraph 0054, lines 1-7; Fig. 9, elements 101, 4, 30); and
control the retention system to retract the distal end of the retention rod from the collected material to the retracted position (Paragraph 0051, lines 5-15; Paragraph 0052, lines 1-15; Fig. 6, elements 101, 101b, 101c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Panzeri in Wong to facilitate the creation of a controller that can drive and manage the movements of the scoop system as taught by Panzeri (Paragraph 0059, lines 5-10).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of Panzeri and in further view of Meyers (US 2780183).
Regarding claim 18, Wong in view of Panzeri discloses the claimed invention except for a wiper. Meyers teaches a scoop with a wiper driveshaft (24) and a wiper blade (9) (Column 1, lines 43-48; Column 2, lines 1-4; Fig. 1, elements 8, 9, 24),
wherein a longitudinal axis of the retention rod is located further from a rim of the scoop (8) than a rotational axis of the wiper blade (9) (annotated figure),
wherein the wiper driveshaft (24) may rotate to cause the wiper blade (9) to wipe an interior surface of the scoop (8) to remove the collected material from the interior of the scoop (8) (Column 2, lines 12-20; Fig. 1, elements 24, 30, 36). Additional details are provided in the figure below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the teachings of Meyers in combination with Wong and Panzeri to facilitate the creation of a wiper that can move along the inner surface of the scoop to dislodge the ice cream from the scoop as taught by Meyers (Column 1, lines 43-48).
Conclusion
/SYDNEY JEANINE SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651