DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 9-15 and 22-34 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 9-15 has been fully considered and the results as followings:
On pages 7-10 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argued that the combination of Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas does not teach the claimed invention because Zabakas does not disclose the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 06/10/2026, th rejection relied upon Zabakas to disclose wherein the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction (Zabakas: [0016], [0018]-[0020], [0066], [0078], [0118]-[0119], [0211]-[0214], FIG. 2, FIG. 7, and FIG. 19-20: microcontroller 224 may perform gesture recognition to determine if EMV™ chip 212 and/or a dynamic transaction card 200's magnetic stripe should be activated to activate the dynamic transaction card for usage. Microcontroller may utilize software including gesture recognition algorithms, which may include a pattern matching algorithm that will compare the card user performed gesture to the pre-recording of the predetermined gesture which may be saved on EMV™ chip 122 or backend 318 system); and wherein the second data comprises false data and the second RF output signal is configured to prevent authorization of the transaction (Zabakas: [0016], [0018]-[0020], [0066], [0078], [0118]-[0119], [0211]-[0214], FIG. 2, FIG. 7, and FIG. 19-20: if a match is not determined, a user may take a corrective action to perform another gesture to be processed as illustrated in blocks 1908-1910 to attempt to authorize the card user and dynamic transaction card).
As in Zabakas’s teachings, the valid data as user performing a gesture corresponding to an orientation of the card (Zabakas: [0016], [0018]-[0020], [0066], [0078], [0118]-[0119], [0211]-[0214], FIG. 2, FIG. 7, and FIG. 19-20: The user authentication input, which may be a gesture may also be incorporated with manifestations on the display of the card. For example, if the card lights up three times, the predetermined gesture may require a user to tap three times. EMV™ chip 212 and/or a dynamic transaction card 200's magnetic stripe may also be activated via an accelerometer, motion sensor, or gyroscope that detects the motion and changes in orientation of dynamic transaction card 200, where a user is required to perform a predetermined gesture such as rotating the card 90 degrees clockwise or rotating the card 180 degrees counterclockwise. In response to the received sensor input, microcontroller 224 may perform gesture recognition to determine if EMV™ chip 212 and/or a dynamic transaction card 200's magnetic stripe should be activated to activate the dynamic transaction card for usage) matches a predetermined gesture to authorize (e.g. [0214] and FIG. 19-20: At block 1912, if microcontroller 224, user device 140, user authentication system 160, and/or backend system 318 determines that the user performed gesture matches the predetermined gesture, the dynamic transaction card may be activated, which may include activating EMV™ chip 212 and/or a dynamic transaction card 200's magnetic stripe, thereby authenticating the card user as authorized to use the card) or prevent a transaction (e.g. [0214] and FIG. 19-20: at box 1914, if a match is not determined, a user may take a corrective action to perform another gesture to be processed as illustrated in blocks 1908-1910 to attempt to authorize the card user and dynamic transaction card. The method may end at block 1916).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp and Hou to include wherein the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction; and wherein the second data comprises false data and the second RF output signal is configured to prevent authorization of the transaction, as suggested by Zabakas. The motivation for this is to perform an authorization of a card based on orientation information of the card.
As a result, Applicant’s arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained. Therefore, due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections necessitated by amendments is made in view of following reference/combinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12, 14, 22, 24, 27-28, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkamp et al. (Osterkamp – US 11,416,844 B1) in view of Hou et al. (Hou – US 2009/0102120 A1), and Zabakas et al. (Zabakas – US 2017/0154328 A1).
As to claim 9, Osterkamp discloses a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag comprising:
an antenna configured to receive a radio-frequency (RF) input signal (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 the antenna 250: a module to collect DC power from the incident reader signal or a local battery source; and an antenna for receiving and transmitting the signal);
a power circuit configured to generate power based on the received RF input signal (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID tag 230: The RFID module 220 may include passive or active RFID tags. A passive tag may collect energy from a nearby RFID reader's interrogating radio waves. In contrast, an active tag may have a local power source (e.g., battery). When the smart card 200 is enabled with a passive tag, the smart card 200 may not include a power source and the RFID module 220 may be activated or may draw its power from an RFID receiver, for example, RFID receiver installed onto an electronic user devices or a POS terminal. Accordingly, when the smart card 200 is enabled with an active RFID tag, the smart card 200 may also include a local battery source or an integrated circuit providing the RFID module 220 with the needed power to broadcast its unique identifiers. The smart card 200 may have active and/or passive RFID tags. Therefore, the methods, systems, and embodiments described herein generically refer to passive and active RFID tags as tags and/or RFID tags or RFID module);
a controller (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID chip 240: When the smart card 200 is enabled with a passive tag, the smart card 200 may not include a power source and the RFID module 220 may be activated or may draw its power from an RFID receiver, for example, RFID receiver installed onto an electronic user devices or a POS terminal) configured to:
receive the power generated by the power circuit (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID chip 240: When the smart card 200 is enabled with a passive tag, the smart card 200 may not include a power source and the RFID module 220 may be activated or may draw its power from an RFID receiver, for example, RFID receiver installed onto an electronic user devices or a POS terminal);
cause output, via the antenna, of a first RF output signal (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID chip 240: The RFID module 220 may include an RFID chip or transmitter and antennas that broadcast RFID identifiers to announce its location to a corresponding RFID receiver. The RFID module 220 may use electromagnetic fields to automatically identify and track tags attached to objects. The RFID identifiers may contain electronically stored information that is unique to the smart card 200. For instance, an RFID identifier broadcasted by the RFID module 220 may have a number (or an alphanumerical string) that is unique to the smart card 200).
Osterkamp does not explicitly disclose one or more orientation sensors configured to detect at least a first orientation of the RFID tag;
a memory storing first data corresponding to the first orientation of the RFID tag and second data corresponding to a second orientation of the RFID tag; and
determine whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation;
select between the first data and the second data based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag;
cause output, via the antenna, of a first RF output signal based on the first data when the determined orientation corresponds to the first orientation of the RFID tag, wherein the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction; and
cause output, via the antenna, of a second RF output signal based on the second data when the determined orientation corresponds to any orientation of the RFID tag other than the first orientation, wherein the second data comprises false data and the second RF output signal is configured to prevent authorization of the transaction.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communication device to implement one or more orientation sensors configured to detect at least a first orientation of the RFID tag;
a memory storing first data corresponding to the first orientation of the RFID tag and second data corresponding to a second orientation of the RFID tag; and
determine whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation;
select between the first data and the second data based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag;
cause output, via the antenna, of a first RF output signal based on the first data when the determined orientation corresponds to the first orientation of the RFID tag, and
cause output, via the antenna, of a second RF output signal based on the second data when the determined orientation corresponds to any orientation of the RFID tag other than the first orientation, as suggested by Hou, which discloses
one or more orientation sensors configured to detect at least a first orientation of the RFID tag (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314);
a memory storing first data corresponding to the first orientation of the RFID tag and second data corresponding to a second orientation of the RFID tag (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal from a reader of the RFID system, the RFID tag is able to send out an identification data corresponding to that antenna receiving the RF signal, enabling a processor of the RFID system to determine the position and orientation of the RFID tag based on the identification data read by the reader); and
a controller (Hou: FIG. 2 the control circuit 25) configured to:
determine whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation (Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data);
select between the first data and the second data based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag (Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data);
cause output, via the antenna, of a first RF output signal based on the first data when the determined orientation corresponds to the first orientation of the RFID tag (Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data), and
cause output, via the antenna, of a second RF output signal based on the second data when the determined orientation corresponds to any orientation of the RFID tag other than the first orientation (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp and Hou it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp to include one or more orientation sensors configured to detect at least a first orientation of the RFID tag;
a memory storing first data corresponding to the first orientation of the RFID tag and second data corresponding to a second orientation of the RFID tag; and
determine whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation;
select between the first data and the second data based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag;
cause output, via the antenna, of a first RF output signal based on the first data when the determined orientation corresponds to the first orientation of the RFID tag, and
cause output, via the antenna, of a second RF output signal based on the second data when the determined orientation corresponds to any orientation of the RFID tag other than the first orientation, as suggested by Hou. The motivation for this is to determine an appropriate response based on orientation sensing information of a tag.
The combination of Osterkamp and Hou does not explicitly disclose wherein the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction; and wherein the second data comprises false data and the second RF output signal is configured to prevent authorization of the transaction.
However, it has been known in the art of wireless devices to implement wherein the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction; and wherein the second data comprises false data and the second RF output signal is configured to prevent authorization of the transaction, as suggested Zabakas, which discloses wherein the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction (Zabakas: [0016], [0018]-[0020], [0066], [0078], [0118]-[0119], [0211]-[0214], FIG. 2, FIG. 7, and FIG. 19-20: microcontroller 224 may perform gesture recognition to determine if EMV™ chip 212 and/or a dynamic transaction card 200's magnetic stripe should be activated to activate the dynamic transaction card for usage. Microcontroller may utilize software including gesture recognition algorithms, which may include a pattern matching algorithm that will compare the card user performed gesture to the pre-recording of the predetermined gesture which may be saved on EMV™ chip 122 or backend 318 system); and wherein the second data comprises false data and the second RF output signal is configured to prevent authorization of the transaction (Zabakas: [0016], [0018]-[0020], [0066], [0078], [0118]-[0119], [0211]-[0214], FIG. 2, FIG. 7, and FIG. 19-20: if a match is not determined, a user may take a corrective action to perform another gesture to be processed as illustrated in blocks 1908-1910 to attempt to authorize the card user and dynamic transaction card).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp and Hou to include wherein the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction; and wherein the second data comprises false data and the second RF output signal is configured to prevent authorization of the transaction, as suggested by Zabakas. The motivation for this is to perform an authorization of a card based on orientation information of the card.
As to claim 10, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 9 further comprising the RFID tag of claim 9, wherein the first RF output signal is further configured to indicate an emergency alert (Zabakas: Abstract, [0047]-[0048], [0058], [0206]-[0210], FIG. 2 and FIG. 7: a dynamic transaction card and systems and methods for using a dynamic transaction card are provided. Such embodiments may include, for example, a transaction card including various components to facilitate the notifications, alerts, and/or other output on a dynamic transaction card to an account holder associated with the dynamic transaction card. Notifications, alerts, and output may be provided in the form of LED lights and/or colors, LED lighting patterns, dot matrix displays, and/or the like, which as situated on and/or within a dynamic transaction card. Interactive elements of a dynamic transaction card may be activated, triggered, and/or made available via an input component on the dynamic transaction card).
As to claim 11, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 10 further comprising the RFID tag of claim 10, wherein the first RF output signal is further configured to cause an RFID tag reader to communicate with an emergency response system (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 5 lines 55 – column 6 lines 9, column 9 lines 25 – column 10 lines 49, column 11 lines 29-40, and FIG. 1: the POS terminal 140 may acquire payment information (e.g., unique payment number or credit card number) of a user and transmit the payment information along with an authorization request to a server, such as the analytics server 110 or the payment facilitation server 120. The payment facilitation server 120 may then retrieve user's payment information using the payment information received from the POS terminal 140 and authorize (or deny) payment to the user. The smart card 150 may be any payment card that is enabled with an RFID module (e.g., chip) or any other location-tracking device. An example of the smart card 150 is depicted in FIG. 2).
As to claim 12, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 9 further comprising the RFID tag of claim 9, wherein the RFID tag comprises a passive RFID tag (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID tag 230: The RFID module 220 may include passive or active RFID tags. A passive tag may collect energy from a nearby RFID reader's interrogating radio waves. In contrast, an active tag may have a local power source (e.g., battery). When the smart card 200 is enabled with a passive tag, the smart card 200 may not include a power source and the RFID module 220 may be activated or may draw its power from an RFID receiver, for example, RFID receiver installed onto an electronic user devices or a POS terminal. Accordingly, when the smart card 200 is enabled with an active RFID tag, the smart card 200 may also include a local battery source or an integrated circuit providing the RFID module 220 with the needed power to broadcast its unique identifiers. The smart card 200 may have active and/or passive RFID tags. Therefore, the methods, systems, and embodiments described herein generically refer to passive and active RFID tags as tags and/or RFID tags or RFID module, Hou: Abstract, [0019], [0028]-[0036], and FIG. 1-3: the RFID system 4 comprises at least one RFID tag 49, a reader 40, and a processor 44. The RFID tag 49 has a plurality of antennas. When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal, the RFID tag 49 would wirelessly send out a specific identification data corresponding to that antenna. The RFID tag 49 can be any of the RFID tags shown in FIGS. 1, 2 and 3, and is not repeatedly described in detail herein, and Zabakas: [0012]-[0013], [0058], [0073], [0078]-[0079], [0091], FIG. 1, and FIG. 7).
As to claim 14, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 9 further comprising the RFID tag of claim 9, wherein the first RF output signal indicates a unique identification (ID) code (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID chip 240: The RFID module 220 may include an RFID chip or transmitter and antennas that broadcast RFID identifiers to announce its location to a corresponding RFID receiver. The RFID module 220 may use electromagnetic fields to automatically identify and track tags attached to objects. The RFID identifiers may contain electronically stored information that is unique to the smart card 200. For instance, an RFID identifier broadcasted by the RFID module 220 may have a number (or an alphanumerical string) that is unique to the smart card 200).
As to claim 22, Osterkamp discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 1 lines 55 – column 2 lines 32, and FIG. 2: transmit an instruction to the electronic device to cause an RFID reader of the electronic device to capture RFID identification information of RFID tags in proximity to the RFID reader and transmit, using the electronic device, the captured RFID tags to the server), a radio-frequency (RF) input signal (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 the antenna 250: a module to collect DC power from the incident reader signal or a local battery source; and an antenna for receiving and transmitting the signal);
generating, by a power circuit of the RFID tag, power based on the received RF input signal (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID tag 230: The RFID module 220 may include passive or active RFID tags. A passive tag may collect energy from a nearby RFID reader's interrogating radio waves. In contrast, an active tag may have a local power source (e.g., battery). When the smart card 200 is enabled with a passive tag, the smart card 200 may not include a power source and the RFID module 220 may be activated or may draw its power from an RFID receiver, for example, RFID receiver installed onto an electronic user devices or a POS terminal. Accordingly, when the smart card 200 is enabled with an active RFID tag, the smart card 200 may also include a local battery source or an integrated circuit providing the RFID module 220 with the needed power to broadcast its unique identifiers. The smart card 200 may have active and/or passive RFID tags. Therefore, the methods, systems, and embodiments described herein generically refer to passive and active RFID tags as tags and/or RFID tags or RFID module); and
transmitting, by the RFID tag, a first RF output signal (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID chip 240: The RFID module 220 may include an RFID chip or transmitter and antennas that broadcast RFID identifiers to announce its location to a corresponding RFID receiver. The RFID module 220 may use electromagnetic fields to automatically identify and track tags attached to objects. The RFID identifiers may contain electronically stored information that is unique to the smart card 200. For instance, an RFID identifier broadcasted by the RFID module 220 may have a number (or an alphanumerical string) that is unique to the smart card 200).
Osterkamp does not explicitly disclose a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag comprising one or more orientation sensors;
determining, based on a state of the one or more orientation sensors, whether the RFID tag is oriented in a first orientation or a second orientation;
selecting, based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag, between first data corresponding to the first orientation and second data corresponding to the second orientation;
transmitting, by the RFID tag and when the determined orientation corresponds to the first orientation, a first RF output signal based on the first data, wherein the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction; and
transmitting, by the RFID tag and when the determined orientation corresponds to any orientation of the RFID tag other than the first orientation, a second RF output signal based on the second data, wherein the second data comprises false data and the second RF output signal is configured to prevent authorization of the transaction.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communication device to implement a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag comprising one or more orientation sensors;
determining, based on a state of the one or more orientation sensors, whether the RFID tag is oriented in a first orientation or a second orientation;
selecting, based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag, between first data corresponding to the first orientation and second data corresponding to the second orientation;
transmitting, by the RFID tag and when the determined orientation corresponds to the first orientation, a first RF output signal based on the first data, and
transmitting, by the RFID tag and when the determined orientation corresponds to any orientation of the RFID tag other than the first orientation, a second RF output signal based on the second data, as suggested by Hou, which discloses
a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag comprising one or more orientation sensors (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314);
determining, based on a state of the one or more orientation sensors, whether the RFID tag is oriented in a first orientation or a second orientation (Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data);
selecting, based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag, between first data corresponding to the first orientation and second data corresponding to the second orientation (Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data);
transmitting, by the RFID tag and when the determined orientation corresponds to the first orientation, a first RF output signal based on the first data (Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data); and
transmitting, by the RFID tag and when the determined orientation corresponds to any orientation of the RFID tag other than the first orientation, a second RF output signal based on the second data (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp and Hou it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp to include a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag comprising one or more orientation sensors;
determining, based on a state of the one or more orientation sensors, whether the RFID tag is oriented in a first orientation or a second orientation;
selecting, based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag, between first data corresponding to the first orientation and second data corresponding to the second orientation;
transmitting, by the RFID tag and when the determined orientation corresponds to the first orientation, a first RF output signal based on the first data, and
transmitting, by the RFID tag and when the determined orientation corresponds to any orientation of the RFID tag other than the first orientation, a second RF output signal based on the second data, as suggested by Hou. The motivation for this is to determine an appropriate response based on orientation sensing information of a tag.
The combination of Osterkamp and Hou does not explicitly disclose wherein the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction; and wherein the second data comprises false data and the second RF output signal is configured to prevent authorization of the transaction.
However, it has been known in the art of wireless devices to implement wherein the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction; and wherein the second data comprises false data and the second RF output signal is configured to prevent authorization of the transaction, as suggested Zabakas, which discloses wherein the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction (Zabakas: [0016], [0018]-[0020], [0066], [0078], [0118]-[0119], [0211]-[0214], FIG. 2, FIG. 7, and FIG. 19-20: microcontroller 224 may perform gesture recognition to determine if EMV™ chip 212 and/or a dynamic transaction card 200's magnetic stripe should be activated to activate the dynamic transaction card for usage. Microcontroller may utilize software including gesture recognition algorithms, which may include a pattern matching algorithm that will compare the card user performed gesture to the pre-recording of the predetermined gesture which may be saved on EMV™ chip 122 or backend 318 system); and wherein the second data comprises false data and the second RF output signal is configured to prevent authorization of the transaction (Zabakas: [0016], [0018]-[0020], [0066], [0078], [0118]-[0119], [0211]-[0214], FIG. 2, FIG. 7, and FIG. 19-20: if a match is not determined, a user may take a corrective action to perform another gesture to be processed as illustrated in blocks 1908-1910 to attempt to authorize the card user and dynamic transaction card).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp and Hou to include wherein the first data comprises valid data and the first RF output signal is configured to authorize a transaction; and wherein the second data comprises false data and the second RF output signal is configured to prevent authorization of the transaction, as suggested by Zabakas. The motivation for this is to perform an authorization of a card based on orientation information of the card.
As to claim 24, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 22 further comprising the method of claim 22, wherein transmitting the first RF output signal comprises modulating the received RF input signal based on the first data (Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data).
As to claim 27, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 22 further comprising the method of claim 22, wherein the RFID tag comprises a passive RFID tag (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column 8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID tag 230: The RFID module 220 may include passive or active RFID tags. A passive tag may collect energy from a nearby RFID reader's interrogating radio waves. In contrast, an active tag may have a local power source (e.g., battery). When the smart card 200 is enabled with a passive tag, the smart card 200 may not include a power source and the RFID module 220 may be activated or may draw its power from an RFID receiver, for example, RFID receiver installed onto an electronic user devices or a POS terminal. Accordingly, when the smart card 200 is enabled with an active RFID tag, the smart card 200 may also include a local battery source or an integrated circuit providing the RFID module 220 with the needed power to broadcast its unique identifiers. The smart card 200 may have active and/or passive RFID tags. Therefore, the methods, systems, and embodiments described herein generically refer to passive and active RFID tags as tags and/or RFID tags or RFID module).
As to claim 28, Osterkamp discloses a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag comprising:
an antenna (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 1 lines 55 – column 2 lines 32, and FIG. 2: transmit an instruction to the electronic device to cause an RFID reader of the electronic device to capture RFID identification information of RFID tags in proximity to the RFID reader and transmit, using the electronic device, the captured RFID tags to the server) configured to receive a radio-frequency (RF) input signal (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 the antenna 250: a module to collect DC power from the incident reader signal or a local battery source; and an antenna for receiving and transmitting the signal);
a power circuit configured to generate power based on the received RF input signal (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID tag 230: The RFID module 220 may include passive or active RFID tags. A passive tag may collect energy from a nearby RFID reader's interrogating radio waves. In contrast, an active tag may have a local power source (e.g., battery). When the smart card 200 is enabled with a passive tag, the smart card 200 may not include a power source and the RFID module 220 may be activated or may draw its power from an RFID receiver, for example, RFID receiver installed onto an electronic user devices or a POS terminal. Accordingly, when the smart card 200 is enabled with an active RFID tag, the smart card 200 may also include a local battery source or an integrated circuit providing the RFID module 220 with the needed power to broadcast its unique identifiers. The smart card 200 may have active and/or passive RFID tags. Therefore, the methods, systems, and embodiments described herein generically refer to passive and active RFID tags as tags and/or RFID tags or RFID module);
a controller (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID chip 240: When the smart card 200 is enabled with a passive tag, the smart card 200 may not include a power source and the RFID module 220 may be activated or may draw its power from an RFID receiver, for example, RFID receiver installed onto an electronic user devices or a POS terminal) configured to:
receive the power generated by the power circuit (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID chip 240: When the smart card 200 is enabled with a passive tag, the smart card 200 may not include a power source and the RFID module 220 may be activated or may draw its power from an RFID receiver, for example, RFID receiver installed onto an electronic user devices or a POS terminal); and
cause output, via the antenna, of a first RF output signal (Osterkamp: Abstract, column 6 lines 41 – column8 lines 17, and FIG. 2 RFID chip 240: The RFID module 220 may include an RFID chip or transmitter and antennas that broadcast RFID identifiers to announce its location to a corresponding RFID receiver. The RFID module 220 may use electromagnetic fields to automatically identify and track tags attached to objects. The RFID identifiers may contain electronically stored information that is unique to the smart card 200. For instance, an RFID identifier broadcasted by the RFID module 220 may have a number (or an alphanumerical string) that is unique to the smart card 200).
Osterkamp does not explicitly disclose one or more orientation sensors configured to detect at least a first orientation of the RFID tag;
a memory storing first data corresponding to the first orientation of the RFID tag and second data corresponding to a second orientation of the RFID tag; and
a controller configured to: determine, based on the one or more orientation sensors, an orientation of the RFID tag;
cause output, via the antenna, of a first RF output signal based on the first data when the determined orientation corresponds to the first orientation of the RFID tag, wherein the first data comprises valid information indicating authorization of a transaction; and
cause output, via the antenna, of a second RF output signal based on the second data when the determined orientation corresponds to the second orientation of the RFID tag, wherein the second data comprises one of invalid information indicating that the transaction is not authorized, or null data.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communication device to implement one or more orientation sensors configured to detect at least a first orientation of the RFID tag;
a memory storing first data corresponding to the first orientation of the RFID tag and second data corresponding to a second orientation of the RFID tag; and
a controller configured to: determine, based on the one or more orientation sensors, an orientation of the RFID tag;
cause output, via the antenna, of a first RF output signal based on the first data when the determined orientation corresponds to the first orientation of the RFID tag, and
cause output, via the antenna, of a second RF output signal based on the second data when the determined orientation corresponds to the second orientation of the RFID tag, as suggested by Hou, which discloses
one or more orientation sensors configured to detect at least a first orientation of the RFID tag (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314);
a memory storing first data corresponding to the first orientation of the RFID tag and second data corresponding to a second orientation of the RFID tag (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal from a reader of the RFID system, the RFID tag is able to send out an identification data corresponding to that antenna receiving the RF signal, enabling a processor of the RFID system to determine the position and orientation of the RFID tag based on the identification data read by the reader); and
a controller (Hou: FIG. 2 the control circuit 25) configured to: determine, based on the one or more orientation sensors, an orientation of the RFID tag (Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data);
cause output, via the antenna, of a first RF output signal based on the first data when the determined orientation corresponds to the first orientation of the RFID tag (Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data), and
cause output, via the antenna, of a second RF output signal based on the second data when the determined orientation corresponds to the second orientation of the RFID tag (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp and Hou it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp to include one or more orientation sensors configured to detect at least a first orientation of the RFID tag;
a memory storing first data corresponding to the first orientation of the RFID tag and second data corresponding to a second orientation of the RFID tag; and
a controller configured to: determine, based on the one or more orientation sensors, an orientation of the RFID tag;
cause output, via the antenna, of a first RF output signal based on the first data when the determined orientation corresponds to the first orientation of the RFID tag, and
cause output, via the antenna, of a second RF output signal based on the second data when the determined orientation corresponds to the second orientation of the RFID tag, as suggested by Hou. The motivation for this is to determine an appropriate response based on orientation sensing information of a tag.
The combination of Osterkamp and Hou does not explicitly disclose wherein the first data comprises valid information indicating authorization of a transaction; and wherein the second data comprises one of invalid information indicating that the transaction is not authorized, or null data.
However, it has been known in the art of wireless devices to implement wherein the first data comprises valid information indicating authorization of a transaction; and wherein the second data comprises one of invalid information indicating that the transaction is not authorized, or null data, as suggested Zabakas, which discloses wherein the first data comprises valid information indicating authorization of a transaction (Zabakas: [0016], [0018]-[0020], [0066], [0078], [0118]-[0119], [0211]-[0214], FIG. 2, FIG. 7, and FIG. 19-20: microcontroller 224 may perform gesture recognition to determine if EMV™ chip 212 and/or a dynamic transaction card 200's magnetic stripe should be activated to activate the dynamic transaction card for usage. Microcontroller may utilize software including gesture recognition algorithms, which may include a pattern matching algorithm that will compare the card user performed gesture to the pre-recording of the predetermined gesture which may be saved on EMV™ chip 122 or backend 318 system); and wherein the second data comprises one of invalid information indicating that the transaction is not authorized, or null data (Zabakas: [0016], [0018]-[0020], [0066], [0078], [0118]-[0119], [0211]-[0214], FIG. 2, FIG. 7, and FIG. 19-20: if a match is not determined, a user may take a corrective action to perform another gesture to be processed as illustrated in blocks 1908-1910 to attempt to authorize the card user and dynamic transaction card).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp and Hou to include wherein the first data comprises valid information indicating authorization of a transaction; and wherein the second data comprises one of invalid information indicating that the transaction is not authorized, or null data, as suggested by Zabakas. The motivation for this is to perform an authorization of a card based on orientation information of the card.
As to claim 30, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas discloses the limitations of claim 28 further comprising the RFID tag of claim 28, wherein the RFID tag is attached to one of a credit card, a debit card, or an identification card (Zarakas: [0127]-[0128], [0169]-[0170], FIG. 2, and FIG. 4: For example, where dynamic transaction card 200 includes a debit account, a first credit account, and a second credit account, display components 216 may reflect the card number, security code, expiration date, and/or other necessary data indicative of the account (e.g., second credit account) that is being used to execute a transaction).
As to claim 31, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas discloses the limitations of claim 28 further comprising the RFID tag of claim 28, wherein the one or more orientation sensors (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314) are configured to detect a third orientation of the RFID tag (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314), wherein the memory stores third data corresponding to the third orientation, wherein the third data indicates an emergency alert (Zabakas: Abstract, [0047]-[0048], [0058], [0206]-[0210], FIG. 2 and FIG. 7: a dynamic transaction card and systems and methods for using a dynamic transaction card are provided. Such embodiments may include, for example, a transaction card including various components to facilitate the notifications, alerts, and/or other output on a dynamic transaction card to an account holder associated with the dynamic transaction card. Notifications, alerts, and output may be provided in the form of LED lights and/or colors, LED lighting patterns, dot matrix displays, and/or the like, which as situated on and/or within a dynamic transaction card. Interactive elements of a dynamic transaction card may be activated, triggered, and/or made available via an input component on the dynamic transaction card), and
wherein the controller is configured to cause output, via the antenna, of a third RF output signal based on the third data when the determined orientation corresponds to the third orientation (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314 and Zabakas: Abstract, [0047]-[0048], [0058], [0206]-[0210], FIG. 2 and FIG. 7: a dynamic transaction card and systems and methods for using a dynamic transaction card are provided. Such embodiments may include, for example, a transaction card including various components to facilitate the notifications, alerts, and/or other output on a dynamic transaction card to an account holder associated with the dynamic transaction card. Notifications, alerts, and output may be provided in the form of LED lights and/or colors, LED lighting patterns, dot matrix displays, and/or the like, which as situated on and/or within a dynamic transaction card. Interactive elements of a dynamic transaction card may be activated, triggered, and/or made available via an input component on the dynamic transaction card).
Claims 13 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkamp et al. (Osterkamp – US 11,416,844 B1) in view of Hou et al. (Hou – US 2009/0102120 A1), and Zabakas et al. (Zabakas – US 2017/0154328 A1) and further in view of Schuck (Schuck – US 9,761,078 B1).
As to claim 13, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 9 except for the claimed limitations of the RFID tag of claim 9, wherein the one or more orientation sensors comprise a tilt switch.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communication device to implement wherein the one or more orientation sensors comprise a tilt switch, as suggested by Schuck, which discloses wherein the one or more orientation sensors comprise a tilt switch (Schuck: Abstract, column 2 lines 44-column 3 lines 21, column 6 lines 17-44, column 8 lines 31-37, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: One is attached to one side of said gap, the other wire to the other side of the gap. When the tilt switch is tilted the gap is closed so the modified RFID tag can be energized and information on the modified RFID tag can be collected by an RFID antenna which is connected to an RFID tag reader. The modified RFID tag information is read by the RFID tag reader).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp, Hou, Zabakas, and Schuck, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas to include wherein the one or more orientation sensors comprise a tilt switch, as suggested by Schuck. The motivation for this is to obtain sensing information of a tag.
As to claim 23, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 22 except for the claimed limitations of the method of claim 22, wherein the one or more orientation sensors comprise a tilt switch, and wherein determining whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation comprises determining a state of the tilt switch.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communication device to implement wherein the one or more orientation sensors comprise a tilt switch, and wherein determining whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation comprises determining a state of the tilt switch, as suggested by Schuck, which discloses wherein the one or more orientation sensors comprise a tilt switch, and wherein determining whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation comprises determining a state of the tilt switch (Schuck: Abstract, column 2 lines 44-column 3 lines 21, column 6 lines 17-44, column 8 lines 31-37, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: One is attached to one side of said gap, the other wire to the other side of the gap. When the tilt switch is tilted the gap is closed so the modified RFID tag can be energized and information on the modified RFID tag can be collected by an RFID antenna which is connected to an RFID tag reader. The modified RFID tag information is read by the RFID tag reader).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp, Hou, Zabakas, and Schuck, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas to include wherein the one or more orientation sensors comprise a tilt switch, and wherein determining whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation comprises determining a state of the tilt switch, as suggested by Schuck. The motivation for this is to obtain sensing information of a tag.
Claims 15 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkamp et al. (Osterkamp – US 11,416,844 B1) in view of Hou et al. (Hou – US 2009/0102120 A1), and Zabakas et al. (Zabakas – US 2017/0154328 A1) and further in view of Jablonski et al. (Jablonski – US 2020/0372315 A1).
As to claim 15, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 9 further comprising the RFID tag of claim 9, wherein the one or more orientation sensors are configured to detect an orientation (Zabakas: [0018], [0047], [0118], [0122], [0162], [0168], FIG. 2, and FIG. 7: if the card lights up three times, the predetermined gesture may require a user to tap three times. EMV™ chip 212 and/or a dynamic transaction card 200's magnetic stripe may also be activated via an accelerometer, motion sensor, or gyroscope that detects the motion and changes in orientation of dynamic transaction card 200, where a user is required to perform a predetermined gesture such as rotating the card 90 degrees clockwise or rotating the card 180 degrees counterclockwise) except for the claimed limitations of the one or more orientation sensors are configured to detect an orientation comprising rotations about three axes.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communication device to implement the one or more orientation sensors are configured to detect an orientation comprising rotations about three axes, as suggested by Jablonski, which discloses the one or more orientation sensors are configured to detect an orientation comprising rotations about three axes (Jablonski: Abstract, [0052], [0071]-0075], [0079]-[0080], [0088], and FIG. 2: In some embodiments, any one or more of the inertial sensor(s) can be a multi-axis accelerometer that can measure acceleration or inertial force along a plurality of axes. Other embodiments may employ single-axis accelerometers or a combination of single- and multi-axis accelerometers. Other types of sensors can be used, including other accelerometers, gyroscope sensors, and/or other inertial sensors that are known or that may become known in the art).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp, Hou, Zabakas, and Jablonski, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas to include the one or more orientation sensors are configured to detect an orientation comprising rotations about three axes, as suggested by Jablonski. The motivation for this is to implement a known alterative sensor for detecting orientation information of a device.
As to claim 25, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 22 further comprising the method of claim 22, wherein determining whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation comprises detecting, by the one or more orientation sensors (Zabakas: [0018], [0047], [0118], [0122], [0162], [0168], FIG. 2, and FIG. 7: if the card lights up three times, the predetermined gesture may require a user to tap three times. EMV™ chip 212 and/or a dynamic transaction card 200's magnetic stripe may also be activated via an accelerometer, motion sensor, or gyroscope that detects the motion and changes in orientation of dynamic transaction card 200, where a user is required to perform a predetermined gesture such as rotating the card 90 degrees clockwise or rotating the card 180 degrees counterclockwise) except for the claimed limitations of an orientation of the RFID tag comprising rotations about three axes.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communication device to implement an orientation of the RFID tag comprising rotations about three axes, as suggested by Jablonski, which discloses an orientation of the RFID tag comprising rotations about three axes (Jablonski: Abstract, [0052], [0071]-0075], [0079]-[0080], [0088], and FIG. 2: In some embodiments, any one or more of the inertial sensor(s) can be a multi-axis accelerometer that can measure acceleration or inertial force along a plurality of axes. Other embodiments may employ single-axis accelerometers or a combination of single- and multi-axis accelerometers. Other types of sensors can be used, including other accelerometers, gyroscope sensors, and/or other inertial sensors that are known or that may become known in the art).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp, Hou, Zabakas, and Jablonski, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas to include an orientation of the RFID tag comprising rotations about three axes, as suggested by Jablonski. The motivation for this is to implement a known alterative sensor for detecting orientation information of a device.
Claims 26 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkamp et al. (Osterkamp – US 11,416,844 B1) in view of Hou et al. (Hou – US 2009/0102120 A1), and Zabakas et al. (Zabakas – US 2017/0154328 A1) and further in view of Akhtar et al. (Akhtar – US 2019/0066093 A1).
As to claim 26, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 22 except for the claimed limitations of the method of claim 22, wherein determining whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation comprises identifying whether the RFID tag is oriented within a first range of orientations corresponding to the first orientation or a second range of orientations corresponding to the second orientation.
However, it has been known in the art of authentication to implement wherein determining whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation comprises identifying whether the RFID tag is oriented within a first range of orientations corresponding to the first orientation or a second range of orientations corresponding to the second orientation, as suggested by Akhtar, which discloses wherein determining whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation comprises identifying whether the RFID tag is oriented within a first range of orientations corresponding to the first orientation or a second range of orientations corresponding to the second orientation (Akhtar: Abstract, [0026], [0044]-[0051], [0060]-[0065], FIG. 1, and FIG. 3-4: the determined orientation corresponds to the reference orientation on a condition that the determined orientation falls within a predetermined variability threshold associated with the reference orientation. For example, the predetermined variability threshold may be a deviation of less than 4 degrees (angle). In other words, the determined orientation corresponds to the reference orientation if the angular difference between the determined orientation and the reference orientation is less than 4 degrees (angle). It can be appreciated that alternate variability threshold may be used, for example, a deviation of less than 5 degrees, 10 degrees or any other angles. The variability threshold can also be dependent on the number of points of a circle used for the reference orientation. For example, a smaller angle can be used for the variability threshold if thirty-two points of a circle is used for the reference orientation. Alternatively, a larger angular criteria can be used for the variability threshold if the reference orientation may be limited to any one of eight, sixteen or twenty-four points of a circle).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp, Hou, Zabakas, and Akhtar, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas to include wherein determining whether the RFID tag is oriented in the first orientation or the second orientation comprises identifying whether the RFID tag is oriented within a first range of orientations corresponding to the first orientation or a second range of orientations corresponding to the second orientation, as suggested by Akhtar. The motivation for this is to determine an orientation of a device by implementing a known alterative method for detecting orientation information ranges of the device.
As to claim 33, Osterkamp, Hou, Zabakas, and Akhtar disclose the limitations of claim 28 further comprising the RFID tag of claim 28, wherein the first orientation of the RFID tag comprises any orientation of the RFID tag within a first range of orientations (Akhtar: Abstract, [0026], [0044]-[0051], [0060]-[0065], FIG. 1, and FIG. 3-4: the determined orientation corresponds to the reference orientation on a condition that the determined orientation falls within a predetermined variability threshold associated with the reference orientation. For example, the predetermined variability threshold may be a deviation of less than 4 degrees (angle). In other words, the determined orientation corresponds to the reference orientation if the angular difference between the determined orientation and the reference orientation is less than 4 degrees (angle). It can be appreciated that alternate variability threshold may be used, for example, a deviation of less than 5 degrees, 10 degrees or any other angles. The variability threshold can also be dependent on the number of points of a circle used for the reference orientation. For example, a smaller angle can be used for the variability threshold if thirty-two points of a circle is used for the reference orientation. Alternatively, a larger angular criteria can be used for the variability threshold if the reference orientation may be limited to any one of eight, sixteen or twenty-four points of a circle).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkamp et al. (Osterkamp – US 11,416,844 B1) in view of Hou et al. (Hou – US 2009/0102120 A1), and Zabakas et al. (Zabakas – US 2017/0154328 A1) and further in view of Charney et al. (Charney – US 6,418,525 B1).
As to claim 29, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 28 except for the claimed limitations of the RFID tag of claim 28, wherein the second data comprises null data.
However, it has been known in the art of selection of data to implement wherein the second data comprises null data, as suggested by Charney, which discloses wherein the second data comprises null data (Charney: Abstract, column 2 lines 56-column 3 lines 26, and FIG. 1: the method comprises the steps of accessing contents of sets of a single array congruence class using the congruence class index, the single array congruence class being specified by the congruence class index, accessing contents of sets of a single directory congruence class using the congruence class index, the single directory congruence class being specified by the congruence class index, generating set selection information, utilizing the set selection information to select the sets of the array congruence class, outputting the data from the cache line in the selected set; comparing the tag portion to the address tags of the selected sets of the directory congruence class, comparing the selected set to the set selection information if one of the address tags in the selected congruence class is equal to the tag portion of the address, outputting a first control signal to indicate that the access was unsuccessful, and that the data output from the cache line is invalid if none of the address tags in the selected congruence class is equal to the tag portion of the address, and outputting a second control signal to indicate that the data from the cache line is invalid if the selected set is not equal to the set selection information).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp, Hou, Zabakas, and Charney, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication of Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas to include wherein the second data comprises null data, as suggested by Charney. The motivation for this is to provide invalid information indicating an invalid result of a comparison.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkamp et al. (Osterkamp – US 11,416,844 B1) in view of Hou et al. (Hou – US 2009/0102120 A1), and Zabakas et al. (Zabakas – US 2017/0154328 A1) and further in view of Tuttle (Tuttle – US 2011/0279232 A1).
As to claim 32, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas disclose the limitations of claim 28 except for the claimed limitations of the RFID tag of claim 28, wherein the first RF output signal comprises a modulated backscattered signal based on the received RF input signal.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communications to implement wherein the first RF output signal comprises a modulated backscattered signal based on the received RF input signal, as suggested by Tuttle, which discloses wherein the first RF output signal comprises a modulated backscattered signal based on the received RF input signal (Tuttle: Abstract, [0026], [0028]-[0035], [0038]-[0039], [0042]-[0045], FIG. 1-2, and FIG. 4: FIG. 4 illustrates an example to selectively use a set of antennas according to one embodiment. In one embodiment, a RFID tag has a plurality of antennas (162, 164, . . . , 166), which are coupled to the receiver (148) through the DC blocking capacitors (161, 163, . . . , 165) and the diodes (156, 158, . . . , 160) respectively. The RFID tag includes at least a memory (not shown in FIG. 4) coupled to a receiver. The memory stores identification data of the RFID device. After receiving a request or command using the receiver, the identification data is transmitted via signals backscattered by one or more of the antennas (162, 164, . . . , 166)).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp, Hou, Zabakas, and Tuttle, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas to include wherein the first RF output signal comprises a modulated backscattered signal based on the received RF input signal, as suggested by Tuttle. The motivation for this is to modulate a response to a reader using backscattering signals.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterkamp et al. (Osterkamp – US 11,416,844 B1) in view of Hou et al. (Hou – US 2009/0102120 A1), and Zabakas et al. (Zabakas – US 2017/0154328 A1) and further in view of Denard (Denard – US 9,804,595 B1).
As to claim 34, Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas discloses the limitations of claim 28 except for the claimed limitations of the RFID tag of claim 28, wherein the RFID tag is embedded within a hand of a person, and wherein the first orientation comprises a roll orientation, a pitch orientation, and a yaw orientation of the hand.
However, it has been known in the art of applying radio communication devices to implement wherein the RFID tag is embedded within a hand of a person, and wherein the first orientation comprises a roll orientation, a pitch orientation, and a yaw orientation of the hand, as suggested by Denard, which discloses wherein the RFID tag is embedded within a hand of a person (Denard: Abstract and FIG. 1 the second mounting system 18: The control system 2 can include a second mounting system 18, which in embodiments, can be secured to the operator 12 and spaced apart from the hand supported mounting system 10), and wherein the first orientation comprises a roll orientation, a pitch orientation, and a yaw orientation of the hand (Denard: Abstract, column 2 lines 36-39, column 3 lines 31-44, column 4 lines 12-37, column 5 lines 28-41, and FIG. 1: The control system 2 can be configured to provide simultaneously, resistance free, which is zero force, three channel control of a vehicle, which includes orientation of pitch, roll, and yaw solely using the wrist of the operator. A fourth channel of control for thrust is provided using the fingers of the operator).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Osterkamp, Hou, Zabakas, and Denard, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Osterkamp, Hou, and Zabakas to include wherein the RFID tag is embedded within a hand of a person, and wherein the first orientation comprises a roll orientation, a pitch orientation, and a yaw orientation of the hand, as suggested by Denard. The motivation for this is to provide a control signal based on orientations of a user hand.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Feldman, US 2024/0064039 A1, discloses facilitating smart device control using positioning tags.
Renault et al., US 2022/0062701 A1, discloses electronic tag for golf shot detection.
McInnis et al., US 2020/0166600 A1, discloses apparatus and method of detecting movement of detection platforms.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685