DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-21 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20, based solely on the claimed limitations as amended, have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references including prior art being used in the current rejection (see below for detail) under new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
These following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 recite “transmitting, by the RFID tag and based the first orientation of the RFID tag, a first RF output signal based on the selected first data sequence” which appears to be a typo and should read “transmitting, by the RFID tag and based on the first orientation of the RFID tag, a first RF output signal based on the selected first data sequence.” Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 16-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuck (Schuck – US 9,761,078 B1) in view of Jablonski et al. (Jablonski – US 2020/0372315 A1) and Hou et al. (Hou – US 2009/0102120 A1).
As to claim 1, Schuck discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a passive radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag (Schuck: Abstract, column 6 lines 17-44, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8), a radio-frequency (RF) input signal (Schuck: Abstract, column 6 lines 17-44, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: the, RFID antenna 78 broadcasts a UHF signal to the RFID tag 76, when the tilt switch 77 tilts and the tilt switch 77 ball has provided the communication link within the RFID tag internal circuit, said UHF signal energizes the RFID tag 76 which results in the RFID antenna 78 receiving information from the RFID tag 76 affixed to the product movement facilitator 81. An RFID tag reader 79, connected to the receiving antenna 78 reads the information from the receiving antenna 78);
determining, by a controller of the RFID tag and based on receiving the RF input signal, an orientation of the RFID tag (Schuck: Abstract, column 2 lines 44-column 3 lines 21, column 6 lines 17-44, column 8 lines 31-37, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: One is attached to one side of said gap, the other wire to the other side of the gap. When the tilt switch is tilted the gap is closed so the modified RFID tag can be energized and information on the modified RFID tag can be collected by an RFID antenna which is connected to an RFID tag reader. The modified RFID tag information is read by the RFID tag reader); and
transmitting, by the RFID tag, an RF output signal based on the selected first data sequence (Schuck: Abstract, column 2 lines 44-column 3 lines 21, column 6 lines 17-44, column 8 lines 31-37, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8).
Schuck does not explicitly disclose determining, by a controller of the RFID tag and based on receiving the RF input signal, an orientation of the RFID tag; and selecting, by the controller and based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag, a first data sequence from a plurality of data sequences stored in a memory of the RFID tag, wherein each data sequence corresponds to a different orientation of the RFID tag.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communications to implement determining, by a controller of the RFID tag and based on receiving the RF input signal; an orientation of the RFID tag; selecting, by the controller and based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag, a data sequence and transmitting an RF output signal based on the selected data sequence, wherein each data sequence corresponds to a different orientation of the RFID tag, as suggested by Jablonski, which discloses
determining, by a controller of the RFID tag (Jablonski: FIG. 2 the processor 104 of the sensor tag 14) and based on receiving the RF input signal; an orientation of the RFID tag (Jablonski: Abstract, [0012], [0034]-[0035], [0067]-[0068], [0071]-0075], [0079]-[0080], and FIG. 2: the configuring step includes obtaining orientation information concerning an orientation of the sensor tag relative to the asset so that an orientation of the asset relative to earth or gravity can be determined based on the measurement of the inertial sensor); selecting, by the controller and based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag (Jablonski: Abstract, [0012], [0034]-[0035], [0067]-[0068], [0071]-0075], [0079]-[0080], and FIG. 2), a data sequence and transmitting an RF output signal based on the selected data sequence (Jablonski: Abstract, [0012], [0034]-[0035], [0067]-[0068], [0071]-0075], [0079]-[0080], and FIG. 2: the sensor tag 14 can include a radio frequency identification (RFID) circuit and antenna, which is collectively referred to herein as an RFID component 112. In such an example, information contained within the RFID component 112 can be read by an RFID reader. The RFID reader(s) 48 of the vehicle 12 can be capable of reading or obtaining information from the RFID component 112 of the sensor tag 14. In one embodiment, the RFID component 112 includes a dynamic RFID tag (or includes circuitry of a dynamic RFID tag) such that the sensor tag electronics 102 can modify data contained as a part of the RFID circuit. In one embodiment, this dynamic RFID circuit can be used to convey sensor tag sensor data (or other sensor tag state information) to the vehicle or other device having an RFID reader), wherein each data sequence corresponds to a different orientation of the RFID tag (Jablonski: [0034]-[0036], [0072], and FIG. 2: the RFID component 112 includes a dynamic RFID tag (or includes circuitry of a dynamic RFID tag) such that the sensor tag electronics 102 can modify data contained as a part of the RFID circuit. In one embodiment, this dynamic RFID circuit can be used to convey sensor tag sensor data (or other sensor tag state information) to the vehicle or other device having an RFID reader).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Schuck and Jablonski, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Schuck to include determining, by a controller of the RFID tag and based on receiving the RF input signal; an orientation of the RFID tag; selecting, by the controller and based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag, a data sequence and transmitting an RF output signal based on the selected data sequence, wherein each data sequence corresponds to a different orientation of the RFID tag, as suggested by Jablonski. The motivation for this is to determine an appropriate action based on sensing information of a tag.
The combination of Schuck and Jablonski does not explicitly disclose selecting, by the controller and based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag, a first data sequence from a plurality of data sequences stored in a memory of the RFID tag, wherein each data sequence corresponds to a different orientation of the RFID tag.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communication device to implement selecting, by the controller and based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag, a first data sequence from a plurality of data sequences stored in a memory of the RFID tag, wherein each data sequence corresponds to a different orientation of the RFID tag, as suggested by Hou, which discloses selecting, by the controller (Hou: FIG. 2 the control circuit 25) and based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag, a first data sequence from a plurality of data sequences stored in a memory of the RFID tag (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal from a reader of the RFID system, the RFID tag is able to send out an identification data corresponding to that antenna receiving the RF signal, enabling a processor of the RFID system to determine the position and orientation of the RFID tag based on the identification data read by the reader), wherein each data sequence corresponds to a different orientation of the RFID tag (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Schuck and Jablonski to include selecting, by the controller and based on the determined orientation of the RFID tag, a first data sequence from a plurality of data sequences stored in a memory of the RFID tag, wherein each data sequence corresponds to a different orientation of the RFID tag, as suggested by Hou. The motivation for this is to determine an appropriate response based on orientation sensing information of a tag.
As to claim 2, Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, further comprising generating the RF output signal by modulating the RF input signal based on the selected first data sequence (Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data).
As to claim 4, Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, wherein determining the orientation of the RFID tag further comprises determining the orientation of the RFID tag based on a state of a tilt switch (Schuck: Abstract, column 2 lines 44-column 3 lines 21, column 6 lines 17-44, column 8 lines 31-37, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: One is attached to one side of said gap, the other wire to the other side of the gap. When the tilt switch is tilted the gap is closed so the modified RFID tag can be energized and information on the modified RFID tag can be collected by an RFID antenna which is connected to an RFID tag reader. The modified RFID tag information is read by the RFID tag reader and Hou: Abstract, [0019], [0028]-[0036], and FIG. 1-3: the RFID system 4 comprises at least one RFID tag 49, a reader 40, and a processor 44. The RFID tag 49 has a plurality of antennas. When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal, the RFID tag 49 would wirelessly send out a specific identification data corresponding to that antenna. The RFID tag 49 can be any of the RFID tags shown in FIGS. 1, 2 and 3, and is not repeatedly described in detail herein).
As to claim 6, Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a second RF input signal (Jablonski: [0034]-[0036], [0072], and FIG. 2: the RFID component 112 includes a dynamic RFID tag (or includes circuitry of a dynamic RFID tag) such that the sensor tag electronics 102 can modify data contained as a part of the RFID circuit. In one embodiment, this dynamic RFID circuit can be used to convey sensor tag sensor data (or other sensor tag state information) to the vehicle or other device having an RFID reader and Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal from a reader of the RFID system, the RFID tag is able to send out an identification data corresponding to that antenna receiving the RF signal, enabling a processor of the RFID system to determine the position and orientation of the RFID tag based on the identification data read by the reader);
determining, based on receiving the second RF input signal, a second orientation of the RFID tag (Jablonski: [0034]-[0036], [0072], and FIG. 2 and Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal from a reader of the RFID system, the RFID tag is able to send out an identification data corresponding to that antenna receiving the RF signal, enabling a processor of the RFID system to determine the position and orientation of the RFID tag based on the identification data read by the reader);
selecting, based on the determined second orientation of the RFID tag, a second data sequence (Jablonski: [0034]-[0036], [0072], and FIG. 2 and Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal from a reader of the RFID system, the RFID tag is able to send out an identification data corresponding to that antenna receiving the RF signal, enabling a processor of the RFID system to determine the position and orientation of the RFID tag based on the identification data read by the reader); and
transmitting a second RF output signal based on the selected second data sequence (Jablonski: [0034]-[0036], [0072], and FIG. 2 and Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314).
As to claim 16, Schuck discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag (Schuck: Abstract, column 6 lines 17-44, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8) comprising an orientation sensor (Schuck: Abstract, column 2 lines 44-column 3 lines 21, column 6 lines 17-44, column 8 lines 31-37, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: One is attached to one side of said gap, the other wire to the other side of the gap. When the tilt switch is tilted the gap is closed so the modified RFID tag can be energized and information on the modified RFID tag can be collected by an RFID antenna which is connected to an RFID tag reader. The modified RFID tag information is read by the RFID tag reader), a first radio-frequency (RF) input signal (Schuck: Abstract, column 6 lines 17-44, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: the, RFID antenna 78 broadcasts a UHF signal to the RFID tag 76, when the tilt switch 77 tilts and the tilt switch 77 ball has provided the communication link within the RFID tag internal circuit, said UHF signal energizes the RFID tag 76 which results in the RFID antenna 78 receiving information from the RFID tag 76 affixed to the product movement facilitator 81. An RFID tag reader 79, connected to the receiving antenna 78 reads the information from the receiving antenna 78);
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based the first orientation of the RFID tag (Schuck: Abstract, column 2 lines 44-column 3 lines 21, column 6 lines 17-44, column 8 lines 31-37, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: One is attached to one side of said gap, the other wire to the other side of the gap. When the tilt switch is tilted the gap is closed so the modified RFID tag can be energized and information on the modified RFID tag can be collected by an RFID antenna which is connected to an RFID tag reader. The modified RFID tag information is read by the RFID tag reader), a first RF output signal (Schuck: Abstract, column 2 lines 44-column 3 lines 21, column 6 lines 17-44, column 8 lines 31-37, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8).
Schuck does not explicitly disclose selecting, based on a first orientation of the RFID tag, a first data sequence of a plurality of stored data sequences, each stored data sequence corresponding to a different orientation of the RFID tag;
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based the first orientation of the RFID tag, a first RF output signal based on the selected first data sequence;
receiving, by the RFID tag, a second radio-frequency RF input signal;
selecting, based on a second orientation of the RFID tag, a second data sequence of the plurality of stored data sequences; and
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based on the second orientation of the RFID tag, a second RF output signal based on the selected second data sequence, wherein the second RF output signal is different from the first RF output signal.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communications to implement receiving, by the RFID tag, a second radio-frequency RF input signal; and
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based on a second orientation of the RFID tag, a second RF output signal, wherein the second RF output signal is different from the first RF output signal, as suggested by Jablonski, which discloses
receiving, by the RFID tag, a second radio-frequency RF input signal (Jablonski: Abstract, [0012], [0034]-[0035], [0067]-[0068], [0071]-0075], [0079]-[0080], and FIG. 2: the configuring step includes obtaining orientation information concerning an orientation of the sensor tag relative to the asset so that an orientation of the asset relative to earth or gravity can be determined based on the measurement of the inertial sensor); and
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based on a second orientation of the RFID tag (Jablonski: Abstract, [0012], [0034]-[0035], [0067]-[0068], [0071]-0075], [0079]-[0080], and FIG. 2), a second RF output signal (Jablonski: Abstract, [0012], [0034]-[0035], [0067]-[0068], [0071]-0075], [0079]-[0080], and FIG. 2: the sensor tag 14 can include a radio frequency identification (RFID) circuit and antenna, which is collectively referred to herein as an RFID component 112. In such an example, information contained within the RFID component 112 can be read by an RFID reader. The RFID reader(s) 48 of the vehicle 12 can be capable of reading or obtaining information from the RFID component 112 of the sensor tag 14. In one embodiment, the RFID component 112 includes a dynamic RFID tag (or includes circuitry of a dynamic RFID tag) such that the sensor tag electronics 102 can modify data contained as a part of the RFID circuit. In one embodiment, this dynamic RFID circuit can be used to convey sensor tag sensor data (or other sensor tag state information) to the vehicle or other device having an RFID reader), wherein the second RF output signal is different from the first RF output signal (Jablonski: Abstract, [0012], [0034]-[0035], [0067]-[0068], [0071]-0075], [0079]-[0080], and FIG. 2: the sensor tag 14 can include a radio frequency identification (RFID) circuit and antenna, which is collectively referred to herein as an RFID component 112. In such an example, information contained within the RFID component 112 can be read by an RFID reader. The RFID reader(s) 48 of the vehicle 12 can be capable of reading or obtaining information from the RFID component 112 of the sensor tag 14. In one embodiment, the RFID component 112 includes a dynamic RFID tag (or includes circuitry of a dynamic RFID tag) such that the sensor tag electronics 102 can modify data contained as a part of the RFID circuit. In one embodiment, this dynamic RFID circuit can be used to convey sensor tag sensor data (or other sensor tag state information) to the vehicle or other device having an RFID reader).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Schuck and Jablonski, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Schuck to include receiving, by the RFID tag, a second radio-frequency RF input signal; and
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based on a second orientation of the RFID tag, a second RF output signal, wherein the second RF output signal is different from the first RF output signal, as suggested by Jablonski. The motivation for this is to determine an appropriate action based on sensing information of a tag.
The combination of Schuck and Jablonski does not explicitly disclose selecting, based on a first orientation of the RFID tag, a first data sequence of a plurality of stored data sequences, each stored data sequence corresponding to a different orientation of the RFID tag;
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based the first orientation of the RFID tag, a first RF output signal based on the selected first data sequence;
receiving, by the RFID tag, a second radio-frequency RF input signal;
selecting, based on a second orientation of the RFID tag, a second data sequence of the plurality of stored data sequences; and
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based on the second orientation of the RFID tag, a second RF output signal based on the selected second data sequence, wherein the second RF output signal is different from the first RF output signal.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communication device to implement selecting, based on a first orientation of the RFID tag, a first data sequence of a plurality of stored data sequences, each stored data sequence corresponding to a different orientation of the RFID tag;
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based the first orientation of the RFID tag, a first RF output signal based on the selected first data sequence;
receiving, by the RFID tag, a second radio-frequency RF input signal;
selecting, based on a second orientation of the RFID tag, a second data sequence of the plurality of stored data sequences; and
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based on the second orientation of the RFID tag, a second RF output signal based on the selected second data sequence, wherein the second RF output signal is different from the first RF output signal, as suggested by Hou, which discloses selecting, based on a first orientation of the RFID tag, a first data sequence of a plurality of stored data sequences, each stored data sequence corresponding to a different orientation of the RFID tag (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal from a reader of the RFID system, the RFID tag is able to send out an identification data corresponding to that antenna receiving the RF signal, enabling a processor of the RFID system to determine the position and orientation of the RFID tag based on the identification data read by the reader);
transmitting, by the RFID tag (Hou: FIG. 2 the control circuit 25) and based the first orientation of the RFID tag, a first RF output signal based on the selected first data sequence (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal from a reader of the RFID system, the RFID tag is able to send out an identification data corresponding to that antenna receiving the RF signal, enabling a processor of the RFID system to determine the position and orientation of the RFID tag based on the identification data read by the reader);
receiving, by the RFID tag, a second radio-frequency RF input signal (Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data);
selecting, based on a second orientation of the RFID tag, a second data sequence of the plurality of stored data sequences (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal from a reader of the RFID system, the RFID tag is able to send out an identification data corresponding to that antenna receiving the RF signal, enabling a processor of the RFID system to determine the position and orientation of the RFID tag based on the identification data read by the reader); and
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based on the second orientation of the RFID tag, a second RF output signal based on the selected second data sequence , wherein the second RF output signal is different from the first RF output signal (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Schuck and Jablonski to include selecting, based on a first orientation of the RFID tag, a first data sequence of a plurality of stored data sequences, each stored data sequence corresponding to a different orientation of the RFID tag;
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based the first orientation of the RFID tag, a first RF output signal based on the selected first data sequence;
receiving, by the RFID tag, a second radio-frequency RF input signal;
selecting, based on a second orientation of the RFID tag, a second data sequence of the plurality of stored data sequences; and
transmitting, by the RFID tag and based on the second orientation of the RFID tag, a second RF output signal based on the selected second data sequence, wherein the second RF output signal is different from the first RF output signal, as suggested by Hou. The motivation for this is to determine an appropriate response based on orientation sensing information of a tag.
As to claim 17, Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou disclose the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the method of claim 16, further comprising:
determining, based on a first state of one or more orientation sensors, the first orientation of the RFID tag (Schuck: Abstract, column 2 lines 44-column 3 lines 21, column 6 lines 17-44, column 8 lines 31-37, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: One is attached to one side of said gap, the other wire to the other side of the gap. When the tilt switch is tilted the gap is closed so the modified RFID tag can be energized and information on the modified RFID tag can be collected by an RFID antenna which is connected to an RFID tag reader. The modified RFID tag information is read by the RFID tag reader and Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data); and
determining, based on a second state of the one or more orientation sensors, the second orientation of the RFID tag (Jablonski: Abstract, [0012], [0034]-[0035], [0067]-[0068], [0071]-0075], [0079]-[0080], and FIG. 2: the sensor tag 14 can include a radio frequency identification (RFID) circuit and antenna, which is collectively referred to herein as an RFID component 112. In such an example, information contained within the RFID component 112 can be read by an RFID reader. The RFID reader(s) 48 of the vehicle 12 can be capable of reading or obtaining information from the RFID component 112 of the sensor tag 14. In one embodiment, the RFID component 112 includes a dynamic RFID tag (or includes circuitry of a dynamic RFID tag) such that the sensor tag electronics 102 can modify data contained as a part of the RFID circuit. In one embodiment, this dynamic RFID circuit can be used to convey sensor tag sensor data (or other sensor tag state information) to the vehicle or other device having an RFID reader and Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data).
As to claim 19, Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou disclose the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the method of claim 16, wherein:
transmitting the first RF output signal further comprises modulating the first RF input signal based on the first data sequence corresponding to the first orientation (Jablonski: [0034]-[0036], [0072], and FIG. 2: the RFID component 112 includes a dynamic RFID tag (or includes circuitry of a dynamic RFID tag) such that the sensor tag electronics 102 can modify data contained as a part of the RFID circuit. In one embodiment, this dynamic RFID circuit can be used to convey sensor tag sensor data (or other sensor tag state information) to the vehicle or other device having an RFID reader and Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data); and
transmitting the second RF output signal further comprises modulating the second RF input signal based on the second data sequence corresponding to the second orientation (Jablonski: [0034]-[0036], [0072], and FIG. 2: the RFID component 112 includes a dynamic RFID tag (or includes circuitry of a dynamic RFID tag) such that the sensor tag electronics 102 can modify data contained as a part of the RFID circuit. In one embodiment, this dynamic RFID circuit can be used to convey sensor tag sensor data (or other sensor tag state information) to the vehicle or other device having an RFID reader and Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data).
As to claim 20, Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou disclose the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the method of claim 16, wherein the RFID tag is a passive RFID tag (Schuck: Abstract, column 6 lines 17-44, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: the, RFID antenna 78 broadcasts a UHF signal to the RFID tag 76, when the tilt switch 77 tilts and the tilt switch 77 ball has provided the communication link within the RFID tag internal circuit, said UHF signal energizes the RFID tag 76 which results in the RFID antenna 78 receiving information from the RFID tag 76 affixed to the product movement facilitator 81. An RFID tag reader 79, connected to the receiving antenna 78 reads the information from the receiving antenna 78 and Hou: Abstract, [0019], [0028]-[0036], and FIG. 1-3: the RFID system 4 comprises at least one RFID tag 49, a reader 40, and a processor 44. The RFID tag 49 has a plurality of antennas. When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal, the RFID tag 49 would wirelessly send out a specific identification data corresponding to that antenna. The RFID tag 49 can be any of the RFID tags shown in FIGS. 1, 2 and 3, and is not repeatedly described in detail herein).
As to claim 21, Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, wherein each data sequence of the plurality of data sequences stored in the memory of the RFID tag corresponds to a different command (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: When a particular one of the antennas receives an RF signal from a reader of the RFID system, the RFID tag is able to send out an identification data corresponding to that antenna receiving the RF signal, enabling a processor of the RFID system to determine the position and orientation of the RFID tag based on the identification data read by the reader).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuck (Schuck – US 9,761,078 B1) in view of Jablonski et al. (Jablonski – US 2020/0372315 A1) and Hou et al. (Hou – US 2009/0102120 A1) and further in view of Charney et al. (Charney – US 6,418,525 B1).
As to claim 3, Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of data sequences stored in the memory (Hou: Abstract, [0007], [0019]-[0021], [0025]-[0026], [0029]-[0032], and FIG. 1-3 the identification data 331-334: The memory 33 has a plurality of identification data 331.about.334 stored thereon, and the identification data 331.about.334 are in a one-to-one correspondence to the antennas 311.about.314) except for the claimed limitations of data sequences stored in the memory comprises a null data sequence.
However, it has been known in the art of selection of data to implement data sequences stored in the memory comprises a null data sequence, as suggested by Charney, which discloses data sequences stored in the memory comprises a null data sequence (Charney: Abstract, column 2 lines 56-column 3 lines 26, and FIG. 1: the method comprises the steps of accessing contents of sets of a single array congruence class using the congruence class index, the single array congruence class being specified by the congruence class index, accessing contents of sets of a single directory congruence class using the congruence class index, the single directory congruence class being specified by the congruence class index, generating set selection information, utilizing the set selection information to select the sets of the array congruence class, outputting the data from the cache line in the selected set; comparing the tag portion to the address tags of the selected sets of the directory congruence class, comparing the selected set to the set selection information if one of the address tags in the selected congruence class is equal to the tag portion of the address, outputting a first control signal to indicate that the access was unsuccessful, and that the data output from the cache line is invalid if none of the address tags in the selected congruence class is equal to the tag portion of the address, and outputting a second control signal to indicate that the data from the cache line is invalid if the selected set is not equal to the set selection information).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Schuck, Jablonski, Hou, and Charney, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication of Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou to include data sequences stored in the memory comprises a null data sequence, as suggested by Charney. The motivation for this is to provide invalid information indicating an invalid result of a comparison.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuck (Schuck – US 9,761,078 B1) in view of Jablonski et al. (Jablonski – US 2020/0372315 A1) and Hou et al. (Hou – US 2009/0102120 A1) and further in view of Buthe et al. (Buthe - RFID-Die Battery-free Orientation Sensing Using an Array of Passive Tilt Switches).
As to claim 5, Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claim limitations of the method of claim 1, wherein determining the orientation of the RFID tag further comprises determining the orientation of the RFID tag based on a plurality of tilt switches.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communication device to implement wherein determining the orientation of the RFID tag further comprises determining the orientation of the RFID tag based on a plurality of tilt switches, as suggested by Buthe, which discloses wherein determining the orientation of the RFID tag further comprises determining the orientation of the RFID tag based on a plurality of tilt switches (Buthe - RFID-Die Battery-free Orientation Sensing Using an Array of Passive Tilt Switches: we propose to combine passive sensors (we propose to combine passive sensors (tilt switches) with passive communication technology (RFID), thus enabling fully battery-free orientation-sensitive devices. The orientation of such a device can be read out with an NFC-enabled smartphone. We demonstrate the approach by integrating a 6-state version of the setup in a die for detecting the possible outcomes of tossing. We evaluate the resulting system in terms of read-out distance with different NFC readers, and the robustness in state detection).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Schuck, Jablonski, Hou, and Buthe, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou to include wherein determining the orientation of the RFID tag further comprises determining the orientation of the RFID tag based on a plurality of tilt switches, as suggested by Buthe. The motivation for this is to determine corresponding information based on an orientation sensing detection.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuck (Schuck – US 9,761,078 B1) in view of Jablonski et al. (Jablonski – US 2020/0372315 A1) and Hou et al. (Hou – US 2009/0102120 A1) and further in view of Hansen et al. (Hansen – US 2023/0289539 A1).
As to claim 7, Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou disclose the limitations of claim 6 except for the claimed limitations of the method of claim 6, wherein the RF output signal indicates that a first financial transaction is to be authorized and the second RF output signal indicates that a second financial transaction is unauthorized.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communication device to implement wherein the RF output signal indicates that a first financial transaction is to be authorized and the second RF output signal indicates that a second financial transaction is unauthorized, as suggested by Hansen, which discloses wherein the RF output signal indicates that a first financial transaction is to be authorized and the second RF output signal indicates that a second financial transaction is unauthorized (Hansen: Abstract, [0062], and FIG. 1: Financial Transactions: Use in authorizing financial transactions, which may include consumer purchases at stores. For example, the user may present a card to a card reader that includes an RFID reader. Only if data encoded on the RFID tag is correct will a financial transaction be authorized, optionally in conjunction with other steps such as interrogating the card).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Schuck, Jablonski, Hou, and Hansen it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou to include wherein the RF output signal indicates that a first financial transaction is to be authorized and the second RF output signal indicates that a second financial transaction is unauthorized, as suggested by Hansen. The motivation for this is to determine corresponding information based on an orientation sensing detection in authenticating a user.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuck (Schuck – US 9,761,078 B1) in view of Jablonski et al. (Jablonski – US 2020/0372315 A1) and Hou et al. (Hou – US 2009/0102120 A1) and further in view of Greiner et al. (Greiner – US 2022/0205781 A1).
As to claim 8, Schuck, Jablonski, and Hou disclose the limitations of claim 6 further comprising the method of claim 6, further comprising:
receiving a third RF input signal (Schuck: Abstract, column 6 lines 17-44, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: the, RFID antenna 78 broadcasts a UHF signal to the RFID tag 76, when the tilt switch 77 tilts and the tilt switch 77 ball has provided the communication link within the RFID tag internal circuit, said UHF signal energizes the RFID tag 76 which results in the RFID antenna 78 receiving information from the RFID tag 76 affixed to the product movement facilitator 81. An RFID tag reader 79, connected to the receiving antenna 78 reads the information from the receiving antenna 78);
determining, based on receiving the third RF input signal, that the RFID tag is positioned in the second orientation (Schuck: Abstract, column 2 lines 44-column 3 lines 21, column 6 lines 17-44, column 8 lines 31-37, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: One is attached to one side of said gap, the other wire to the other side of the gap. When the tilt switch is tilted the gap is closed so the modified RFID tag can be energized and information on the modified RFID tag can be collected by an RFID antenna which is connected to an RFID tag reader. The modified RFID tag information is read by the RFID tag reader and Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data);
selecting, based on determining that the RFID tag is positioned in the second orientation, a third data sequence (Schuck: Abstract, column 2 lines 44-column 3 lines 21, column 6 lines 17-44, column 8 lines 31-37, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: One is attached to one side of said gap, the other wire to the other side of the gap. When the tilt switch is tilted the gap is closed so the modified RFID tag can be energized and information on the modified RFID tag can be collected by an RFID antenna which is connected to an RFID tag reader. The modified RFID tag information is read by the RFID tag reader and Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data); and
transmitting a third RF output signal based on the selected third data sequence (Schuck: Abstract, column 2 lines 44-column 3 lines 21, column 6 lines 17-44, column 8 lines 31-37, FIG. 3-4, and FIG. 7-8: One is attached to one side of said gap, the other wire to the other side of the gap. When the tilt switch is tilted the gap is closed so the modified RFID tag can be energized and information on the modified RFID tag can be collected by an RFID antenna which is connected to an RFID tag reader. The modified RFID tag information is read by the RFID tag reader and Hou: [0006], [0023]-[0024], [0027]-[0029], [0031], and FIG. 1-3: The read identification data is then output to the modulation circuit 36. For instance, when the antenna 311 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 reads the identification data 331; or, when the antenna 312 receives an RF signal, the control circuit 35 will read the identification data 332. Thereafter, the modulation circuit 36 modulates the identification data to generate a modulation signal, which is wirelessly sent out via the antennas 311.about.314. Preferably, the modulation signal is sent out via the antenna that is corresponding to the identification data).
The combination of Schuck, Jablonski, and Huo does not explicitly disclose detecting, based on receiving the third RF input signal, a temperature associated with the RFID tag; and
selecting, based on the detected temperature associated with the RFID tag and based on determining that the RFID tag is positioned in the second orientation, a third data sequence.
However, it has been known in the art of radio communication device to implement detecting, based on receiving the third RF input signal, a temperature associated with the RFID tag; and
selecting, based on the detected temperature associated with the RFID tag and based on determining that the RFID tag is positioned in the second orientation, a third data sequence, as suggested by Greiner, which discloses detecting, based on receiving the third RF input signal, a temperature associated with the RFID tag (Greiner: Abstract, [0041]-[0045], [0047]-[0048], and FIG. 2: The tilt sensor 200 can include a plurality of sensing elements. The sensing elements can include a sensor for detecting tilt (e.g. an accelerometer 202a), a thermometer 202b for measuring temperature, and a wind sensor 202c configured to detect wind speed and/or direction (e.g. an anemometer) ); and
selecting, based on the detected temperature associated with the RFID tag and based on determining that the RFID tag is positioned in the second orientation, a third data sequence (Greiner: Abstract, [0041]-[0045], [0047]-[0048], and FIG. 2: The tilt sensor 200 can transmit a sensor signal 104 to the controller 102. The sensor signal 104 can contain information regarding one or more of the angle of tilt 302, 304 of the vertical structure 300, a percentage change in tilt of the vertical structure 300 (within an accuracy of 0.1%), a change in angle of tilt of the vertical structure 300, the air temperature, the wind speed and direction, tilt sensor identifier, or the geographic location of the tilt sensor 200 as measured by the GPS receiver 208).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Schuck, Jablonski, Huo, and Greiner, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the RFID communication system of Schuck, Jablonski, and Huo to include detecting, based on receiving the third RF input signal, a temperature associated with the RFID tag; and
selecting, based on the detected temperature associated with the RFID tag and based on determining that the RFID