1. Claims 1-22 are presented for examination.
Response to Amendment/Response to Arguments
2. 2.1 The rejection under 112 has been withdrawn since applicant’s amendments and remarks are persuasive and overcome the rejection.
2.2 The rejection under 103 has been withdrawn since applicant’s amendments and remarks are persuasive and overcome the rejection.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9-14, filed 06/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5, 12, 13,20 and 21 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made White et al. (US 2011/0084665 A1) in view of Mafazy (Paving the Way) further in view of Mohajerani (US 20250112463 A1).
Applicant argues that the combination of White and Mafazy fail to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, using the on-board communication hardware, inverter settings associated with the inverter from the electric utility company. However, newly found prior art, Mohajerani (US 20250112463 A1) discloses wherein the one or more processors ([0020], the control circuitry may include a processor or processing unit implemented as hardware, software) are further configured to receive, using the on-board communication hardware (vehicle 108 has embedded communication system as shown in Fig. 1 that able to communicate with the inverter), inverter settings associated with the inverter from the electric utility company. ([0017]-[0019],[0040], Fig. 1., Fig. 5, Fig. 7, claim 19, Abstract, inverter 102 receiving AC power 204 from a source and providing power to a load 216 (e.g., an EV), identify the source of the AC power 204, and apply an inverter setting based on the identified source; analyze the power to determine one or more characteristics associated with the source, compare the determined one or more characteristics with the reference source characteristics to identify the source, and apply an inverter setting based on the identified source). Thereby the combination of the references rendering the instant limitations unpatentable. See the detail rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3.1 Claim(s) 1-6, 11-15, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White et al. (US 2011/0084665 A1) in view of Mafazy (Paving the Way) further in view of Mohajerani (US 20250112463 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, White discloses an electric vehicle ([0018], electric cars), comprising:
an energy storage ([0034], Fig. 3, battery unit 220);
a device to receive power to charge the energy storage and to send power from the energy storage to an electrical power grid ([0027], [0037], battery assembly of Fig. 3, batteries are discharged to satisfy the demand minimizing transport loss);
the device including an inverter to convert DC power from the energy storage to AC power to be sent into the electrical power grid necessary to employ an inverter to convert direct current from the batteries to alternating current that is useable by the power grid ([0037], [0042], Fig. 3, discharging a battery unit into the power grid, it will generally be necessary to employ an inverter to convert direct current from the batteries into alternative current that is useable by the power grid. In the example illustrated here, control of the inverter is by controller 260, on-board communication hardware. communication module 290); and
one or more processors to send and receive communications using the communication hardware ([0033], [0036], Fig. 3, controller 260 forwards information to control panel 270 for display to the user. The displayed information may include current pricing information for use of the energy stored in the battery units, as well as state information for the battery units), related to discharging power from the energy storage to the electrical power grid ([0042], to discharge, the battery unit, for load balancing in the utility network).
White fails to explicitly disclose using communication according to interoperability requirements of the electric utility company.
Mafazy discloses interoperability requirements of the electric utility company (Page 4, Table 1; Standardized to IEEE 1547-2018 for Electric Power Systems, Page 10, Table 2; interoperability protocols Page 16, Par. 1, Communications, interoperability).
Mafazy and White are analogous art. They relate to EV and V2G technology.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the standardized communications protocols of Mafazy with charged and discharged battery system of White in order to reduce fluctuations in supply and demand, with the possible beneficial consequences that primary production capacity is used more efficiently and overall electrical consumption is reduced.
The combination of Mafazy and White fail to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, using the on-board communication hardware, inverter settings associated with the inverter from the electric utility company.
However, Mohajerani discloses wherein the one or more processors ([0020], the control circuitry may include a processor or processing unit implemented as hardware, software) are further configured to receive, using the on-board communication hardware (vehicle 108 has embedded communication system as shown in Fig. 1 that able to communicate with the inverter), inverter settings associated with the inverter from the electric utility company. ([0017]-[0019],[0040], Fig. 1., Fig. 5, Fig. 7, claim 19, Abstract, inverter 102 receiving AC power 204 from a source and providing power to a load 216 (e.g., an EV), identify the source of the AC power 204, and apply an inverter setting based on the identified source; analyze the power to determine one or more characteristics associated with the source, compare the determined one or more characteristics with the reference source characteristics to identify the source, and apply an inverter setting based on the identified source).
Mohajerani, Mafazy and White are analogous art. They relate to EV and V2G technology. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify inverter settings that adjust how power is received, taught by Mohajerani, incorporated with the teaching of Mohajerani, White and Mafazy, as state above, in order to adjust how the inverter receives and provides power to/from loads and the source coupled to the inverter. In some embodiments, the inverter is a bidirectional inverter.
Regarding claim 2, Mafazy discloses a distributed energy resources (DER) (page 4, Table 1) interface comprising a communication stack (protocol stack inherent to IEEE 1547-2018, Table 1) to handle communication with the electric utility company ("utility-to-DER communications" IEEE 1547-2018, page 16, right Col., Table 2).
Regarding claim 3, Mafazy discloses communication related to the interoperability requirements complies with an inverter- based generation DER Standard (V2G Split Inverter, page 4, right Col.; to IEEE 1547.1, page 5, right Col.; "The standards are intended to enable the safe integration of DERs onto the grid page 9, left Col).
Regarding claim 4, Mafazy discloses an Inverter-based Generation DER Standard of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 1547-2018 ("inverter", page 4, Par. 2; "IEEE 1547", page 4, Table 1).
Regarding claim 5, Mohajerani discloses the inverter settings are site- specific settings (abstract, analyze the power to determine one or more characteristics associated with the source, compare the determined one or more characteristics with the reference source characteristics to identify the source) based on a portion of the electrical power grid (the utility grid 103) to which the EV (an electric vehicle (EV) 108) is connected (Fig. 1,[0017], Abstract, apply an inverter setting based on the identified source; and claim 19, selecting the inverter setting from among a plurality of inverter settings, each respective inverter setting corresponding to a respective power source of the plurality of power sources and applying the inverter setting); and
Regarding claim 6, White discloses communications occur between the communication hardware and the electric utility company without going through the charging port ([0042], wireless communication between module 290 and the utility company. Communication in 290 and Communication Out 310 do not pass through Charge/Discharge port 240, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, White discloses the device (battery system, Fig. 3), comprises a charging port (240, Fig. 3) [or wireless charging device] and the communication occurs without using the electrical connection and going through the device ([0020], communication in 290, communication out 310, Fig. 3; communication may take place wirelessly).
Regarding claim 12,White discloses a method for controlling an electric vehicle (EV) ([0004], [0018], electric car) having one or more batteries (Battery Units 210 and 220, Fig. 3), a device electrically coupled to the one or more batteries to transfer power to and from the one or more batteries (Fig. 3, switch 230 with controller 260,), and an inverter ([0037], inverter) suitable for injecting into an electrical power grid ([0037], discharging into the power grid), the method comprising:
determining that the device on the EV for transferring power to and from the one or more batteries is in position to transfer power with an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE)([0047], Fig. 4, location discharge into the power grid is detects presence Step 400, Fig. 4); and
sending and receiving communications, to and from, respectively, the electric utility ([0042], [0042] Communication input module 290 is configured to receive information from the utility company. As noted, any of various well-known wired or wireless communication technologies may be used to provide connectivity between module 290 and the utility company. Module 290 may receive information useful to the use; controller receives at Step 410, controller sends at Step 420, Fig. 4) using the on-board communication hardware of the EV([0042], [0045], Fig. 3, communication input module 290, communication output module 310) and related to discharging DC power from the one or more batteries to the electrical power grid, without using the electrical connection and going through the device ([0037]; inverter to convert direct current from the batteries into alternative current that is useable by the power grid. In the example illustrated here, control of the inverter (not shown) is by controller 26 discharging into the power grid, communication in 290, and communication out 310, communication may take place wirelessly do not pass through Charge/Discharge port 240);
White fails to discloses using on-board communications between the EV and electric utility are according to interoperability requirements of the electric utility company.
However, Mafazy disclose that communications between the EV and electric utility are according to interoperability requirements of the electric utility company (page. 16, Par. 1, page. 4, Table 1, Page 10, Table 2, Communications, interoperability; Standardized to IFEE 1547-2018 for Electric Power Systems; interoperability protocols).
Mafazy and White are analogous art. They relate to EV and V2G technology. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the standardized communications protocols of Mafazy with charged and discharged battery system of White in order to reduce fluctuations in supply and demand, with the possible beneficial consequences that primary production capacity is used more efficiently and overall electrical consumption is reduced.
The combination of Mafazy and White fail to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, using the on-board communication hardware, inverter settings associated with the inverter from the electric utility company.
However, Mohajerani discloses the one or more processors ([0020], the control circuitry may include a processor or processing unit implemented as hardware, software) are further configured to receive, using the on-board communication hardware (vehicle 108 has embedded communication system as shown in Fig. 1 that able to communicate with the inverter), inverter settings associated with the inverter from the electric utility company. ([0017]-[0019],[0040], Fig. 1., Fig. 5, Fig. 7, claim 19, Abstract, inverter 102 receiving AC power 204 from a source and providing power to a load 216 (e.g., an EV), identify the source of the AC power 204, and apply an inverter setting based on the identified source; analyze the power to determine one or more characteristics associated with the source, compare the determined one or more characteristics with the reference source characteristics to identify the source, and apply an inverter setting based on the identified source).
Mohajerani, Mafazy and White are analogous art. They relate to EV and V2G technology.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify inverter settings that adjust how power is received, taught by Mohajerani, incorporated with the teaching of Mohajerani, White and Mafazy, as state above, in order to adjust how the inverter receives and provides power to/from loads and the source coupled to the inverter. In some embodiments, the inverter is a bidirectional inverter.
Regarding claim 13, Mohajerani discloses the inverter settings are site- specific settings (abstract, analyze the power to determine one or more characteristics associated with the source, compare the determined one or more characteristics with the reference source characteristics to identify the source) based on a portion of the electrical power grid (the utility grid 103) to which the EV (an electric vehicle (EV) 108) is connected (Fig. 1,[0017], Abstract, apply an inverter setting based on the identified source; and claim 19, selecting the inverter setting from among a plurality of inverter settings, each respective inverter setting corresponding to a respective power source of the plurality of power sources and applying the inverter setting).
Regarding claim 14, Mafazy discloses that communication related to the interoperability requirements complies with an inverter- based generation DER Standard (Pag. 4, right col., Page 5, right Col., page. 9, left Co., V2G Split Inverter to IEEE 1547.1, The standards are intended to enable the safe integration of DERs onto the grid).
Regarding claim 15, Mafazy discloses an Inverter-based Generation DER Standard of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 1547-2018 ("inverter", page. 4, Par. 2; "IEEE 1547", p. 4, Table 1).
Regarding claim 19, White discloses sending and receiving communications, to and from, respectively, the electric utility, using the on-board communication hardware of the EV is without going through a control pilot electrical connection via a charge port on the EV ([0042], Fig. 3, Communication input module 290 is configured to receive information from the utility company; wireless communication between module 290 and the utility company, Communication IN 290 and Communication Out 310 do not pass through Charge/Discharge port 240).
Regarding claim 20, White discloses an article of manufacture having one or more non-transitory computer readable media (memory 280, Fig. 3) storing instructions ([0037], software) when executed by an electronic device (controller 260, Fig. 3), cause the electronic device to perform a method comprising:
determining that the device on the EV for transferring power to and from one or more batteries is in position to transfer power with an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) ([0047], remote entity detects that an electric vehicle is at a location where battery discharge into the power grid); and
exchanging, using the on-board communication hardware of the EV communications with the electric utility company ([0042], [0047], Fig. 3, Communication input module 290 is configured to receive information from the utility company) related to discharging power (charge discharge 240) from the one or more batteries (primary and secondary batteries 220) request battery discharge to the electrical power grid of the electric utility (Fig. 3,[0037], [0034] As seen the figure, a primary battery unit 210 and a secondary battery unit 220 are provided. The battery units are connected through switch 230 to charge/discharge port 240, which may, for example, be connected to a utility company's power distribution network through a plug-and-receptacle; discharging a battery unit into the power grid,
without using the electrical connection and going through the device ([0020], Fig. 3, communication in 290, communication out 310, Fig. 3; communication may take place wirelessly).
White fails to explicitly disclose communications between the EV and the electric utility are according to interoperability requirements of the electric utility company.
Mafazy discloses interoperability requirements of the electric utility company (page. 4, Table 1; page. 10, Table 2; page 10, Table 2, communications interoperability; Standardized to IEEE 1547-2018 for Electric Power Systems; interoperability protocols).
Mafazy and White are analogous art. They relate to EV and V2G technology. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the standardized communications protocols of Mafazy with charged and discharged battery system of White in order to reduce fluctuations in supply and demand, with the possible beneficial consequences that primary production capacity is used more efficiently and overall electrical consumption is reduced.
The combination of Mafazy and White fail to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, using the on-board communication hardware, inverter settings associated with the inverter from the electric utility company.
However, Mohajerani discloses wherein the one or more processors ([0020], the control circuitry may include a processor or processing unit implemented as hardware, software) are further configured to receive, using the on-board communication hardware (vehicle 108 has embedded communication system as shown in Fig. 1 that able to communicate with the inverter), inverter settings associated with the inverter from the electric utility company. ([0017]-[0019],[0040], Fig. 1., Fig. 5, Fig. 7, claim 19, Abstract, inverter 102 receiving AC power 204 from a source and providing power to a load 216 (e.g., an EV), identify the source of the AC power 204, and apply an inverter setting based on the identified source; analyze the power to determine one or more characteristics associated with the source, compare the determined one or more characteristics with the reference source characteristics to identify the source, and apply an inverter setting based on the identified source).
Mohajerani, Mafazy and White are analogous art. They relate to EV and V2G technology. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify inverter settings that adjust how power is received, taught by Mohajerani, incorporated with the teaching of White an Mafazy, as state above, in order to adjust how the inverter receives and provides power to/from loads and the source coupled to the inverter. In some embodiments, the inverter is a bidirectional inverter.
Regarding claim 21, Mohajerani discloses the inverter settings are site- specific settings (abstract, analyze the power to determine one or more characteristics associated with the source, compare the determined one or more characteristics with the reference source characteristics to identify the source) based on a portion of the electrical power grid (the utility grid 103) to which the EV (an electric vehicle (EV) 108) is connected (Fig. 1,[0017], Abstract, apply an inverter setting based on the identified source; and claim 19, selecting the inverter setting from among a plurality of inverter settings, each respective inverter setting corresponding to a respective power source of the plurality of power sources and applying the inverter setting).
3.2 Claim(s) 7-10, 16-18 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White et al. (US 2011/0084665 A1) in view of Mafazy (Paving the Way) further in view of Mohajerani (US 20250112463 A1) and further in view of POWELL et al. (Recommended Network Topologies for EV Charging Stations).
Regarding claims 7-8 and 16-17, the combination of White, Mafazy and Mohajerani disclose the limitations of claim 1, 12 and 20, as state above, but fail to disclose the limitations of claim 7-8 and 16-17. However, Powell discloses as follow:
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Powell discloses communications related to the interoperability requirements occur between the communication hardware and the electric utility company using cloud-based communication (Page 6, last Par, once connection is made to the internet, the charger will register itself on the cloud server so that it can be claimed by the management software).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Powell discloses the communication hardware comprises an Ethernet communication system with an Ethernet interface and communications related to the interoperability requirements occur via the Ethernet interface (Page 4, Wired Ethernet bus topology).
Powell, Mohajerani, Mafazy and White are analogous art. They relate to EV and V2G technology. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the communication hardware comprising an Ethernet communication system, taught by Powell, incorporated with the teaching of Mafazy, White and Mohajerani, as state above, for the purpose of faster, more reliable, and more secure connections compared to Wi-Fi.
Regarding claims 9, 18 and 22, the combination of Mohajerani, White and Mafazy discloses the limitations of claim 1, 12 and 20, as state above. In addition, White discloses communications related to the interoperability requirements of the electric utility company and communications related to other non-power related communications of the EV (Fig. 3, [0036], [0037], [0042], [0046], user's currently selected policy, authentication) of the EV and communications related to the electric utility occur via the communication hardware communication input module 290 is configured to receive information from the utility company and forward it to controller 260; and control of the inverter is by controller 260), but the combination of Mohajerani, White and Mafazy fail to disclose Ethernet communication system comprises an Ethernet Ring.
However, Powell discloses the Ethernet communication system comprises an Ethernet Ring that transfers communications related to the interoperability requirements of the electric utility company and communications related to other non-power related communications of the EV (Page 4, Par. 2, a V2G communication configuration with Ethernet ring to create a ring network… if a break occurs the network self-heals).
Mohajerani, Powell, Mafazy and White are analogous art. They relate to V2G technology.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the communication hardware comprising an Ethernet communication system, taught by Powell, incorporated with the teaching of Mohajerani, Mafazy and White, as state above, in order to purpose of achieving self-healing if a break occurs.
Regarding claim 10, white discloses the non-power related communications comprise communications related to one or more of telematics, over-the-air updating, and a driver-assistance system ([00042], [0046], user's currently selected policy and authentication).
Citation Pertinent prior art
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Garrity (US20200052613A1) discloses the power inverter has a power train (101) which is configured to be electrically connected between the energy source and a utility grid (120). A controller (102) having an address (103) is configured to provide gate drive signals to the power inverter for the power inverter to operate.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for allthat it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed wereinstead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1 009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIDEST WORKU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119