DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment and argument received on 07/16/2026 has been considered. It is noted that claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 10,603,592. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both describe a method and system comprising: displaying, on a first area of a game screen, a plurality of actions out of a total plurality of actions selectable by a user, and a field area of the game screen in which a game item is arranged; extracting, based on a selected action previously selected by the user, a specific action among the plurality of actions; displaying, on a second area of the game screen different from the first area, the specific action; and changing a parameter of the game item based on an action selected by the user from the plurality of actions displayed on the first area or the specific action displayed on the second area, wherein the method further comprises, prior to the displaying the part of the plurality of actions, storing the plurality of actions as part of information specific to the game medium in a memory (see claim 1 of US Patent 10,603,592, showing displaying an area comprises a view where a first portion is included in the view and a second portion excluded from the view, which the examiner construes and interprets to teach a display and non-displayed area).
5. Claims 1-25 of the US Patent 10,603,592 discloses event element and limitation of the claims 1-20 of the present application. The present application’s claims appear to be broader in scope and is therefore an obvious variant thereof of US Patent 10,603,592.
This is therefore an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konno et al (US 2012/0113228) in view of Bennett et al (US 2007/0165144).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15: Konno et al discloses a method comprising: displaying, by circuitry of a game control apparatus, on a first area of a game screen, a part, but not an entirety, of a plurality of actions selectable by a user, each action of the plurality of actions executable by a game medium to change a corresponding parameter of a game, and a field area of the game screen in which a game item is arranged (see figures 52, 53, 62,63,70,83, showing images that are controllable with inputs to make selections and control the virtual object in the image on the displays, where the plurality of actions selectable include upward, rightward, forward directions, etc); extracting, by the circuitry of the game control apparatus and based on a selected action previously selected by the user from the plurality of actions, a specific action among the plurality of actions; displaying, by the circuitry of the game control apparatus, on a second area of the game screen different from the first area, the specific action (see paragraph [0411], showing a user selects the imaging section to be used through a touch operation using the touch panel B13. When the information processing section B31 (the CPU B311) detects that the imaging section is selected, the information processing section B31 instructs one of the outer imaging section B32 or the inner imaging section B24 to shoot an image); and changing, by the circuitry of the game control apparatus, a parameter of the game corresponding to an action selected by the user from among the part of the plurality of actions displayed on the first area or the specific action displayed on the second area (see paragraph [0609], showing or example, when the virtual character C is caused to walk around the origin of the marker coordinate system, a display as if the virtual character C is walking around the marker image MKi is shown. The control of the movement of the virtual character C is realized by changing the position coordinates of the virtual character C at the origin or the vicinity of the origin of the marker coordinate system, and in a direction which is defined with reference to the plane including the marker image Mki (for example, at a position in a predetermined range in the Y-axis direction which is defined with reference to a direction on the X-Z plane in the marker coordinate system).
In an analogous invention, Bennett et al teaches wherein the method further comprises, prior to the displaying the part of the plurality of actions, storing the plurality of actions as part of information specific to the game medium in a memory (see paragraph [0038], showing store the interactive media element in set top box storage 231 prior to sending the interactive video element to the television).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Konno’s system as taught by Bennett’s media interaction for the purpose of providing a system where the selection of actions are stored before the selected actions are displayed and presented to the users. This yields the expected result of increasing the user’s satisfaction and enjoyment of the game system.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16: Konno et al discloses wherein in the extracting, when a predetermined condition is not met, a predetermined action is extracted as the specific action, and when the predetermined condition is met, based on the selected action, the specific action is extracted among the plurality of actions (see paragraph [0619], showing the image processing is ended, for example, when a condition for automatically ending the image processing is satisfied, when a condition for the game currently performing image processing to be over has been satisfied, when the user has performed an operation for ending the image processing, or the like. If not ending the image processing, the CPU C311 causes the processing back to step C52, and repeats the processes).
Regarding claims 3, 10: Konno et al discloses wherein the predetermined condition is a condition related to the selected action (see paragraph [0619], showing the image processing is ended, for example, when a condition for automatically ending the image processing is satisfied, when a condition for the game currently performing image processing to be over has been satisfied, when the user has performed an operation for ending the image processing, or the like. If not ending the image processing, the CPU C311 causes the processing back to step C52, and repeats the processes).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 17: Konno et al discloses wherein in the extracting, when none of the total plurality of actions is selected by the user, a predetermined action is extracted as the specific action, and when at least one of the total plurality of actions is selected by the user, based on the selected action, the specific action is extracted among the plurality of actions (see paragraph [0619], showing the image processing is ended, for example, when a condition for automatically ending the image processing is satisfied, when a condition for the game currently performing image processing to be over has been satisfied, when the user has performed an operation for ending the image processing, or the like. If not ending the image processing, the CPU C311 causes the processing back to step C52, and repeats the processes).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18: Konno et al discloses further comprising displaying, on the game screen, the parameter of the game item (see figures 52, 53, 62,63,70,83, showing images that are controllable with inputs to make selections and control the virtual object in the image on the displays, where the plurality of actions selectable include upward, rightward, forward directions, etc).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19: Konno et al discloses wherein the game item includes a first representative game item belonging to a first group, and a second representative game item belonging to a second group, when a parameter of the first representative game item becomes a predetermined value, the second group wins a game, and when a parameter of the second representative game item becomes the predetermined value, the first group wins the game (see paragraph [1007], showing the setting means may set, when the sound inputted into the sound input device is recognized as a first sound, at least one selected from the group consisting of the display position, the orientation, and the display form of the virtual object, based on a first action to be performed with reference to the direction corresponding to the imaging target in the virtual world, and may set, when the sound inputted into the sound input device is recognized as a second sound, at least one selected from the group consisting of the display position, the orientation, and the display form of the virtual object, based on a second action to be performed with reference to the direction to the virtual camera in the virtual world. The image generation means may generate as the combined image an image obtained by superimposing the virtual world image on the shot image).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20: Konno et al discloses wherein in the field area, an area in which the game item is movable and an area in which the game item is not movable are displayed in different modes (see figures 52, 53, 62,63,70,83, showing images that are controllable with inputs to make selections and control the virtual object in the image on the displays, where the plurality of actions selectable include upward, rightward, forward directions, etc).
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Toyohara et al discloses video game device, play control method for video game, and readable recording medium recording the method; Takahashi et al discloses competitive video game apparatus, method of playing video game, and computer-readable recording medium.
/ADETOKUNBO O TORIMIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715