DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after February 28, 2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on January 30, 2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ramakrishnan et. al (US 20240146871 A1, hereinafter Ramakrishnan).
Regarding claim 1, Ramakrishnan discloses a device, comprising: a processor (Fig. 1, 101; Ramakrishnan); a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (Fig. 1, 102-103; Ramakrishnan); a communication port coupled with a second device (“The information handling system may include telecommunication, network communication, video communication capabilities, and audio capabilities.” Ramakrishnan [0002]); and a virtual meeting logic configured to: establish a virtual meeting with a plurality of video streams at a first bit rate (“videoconference session” Ramakrishnan [0014]. The videoconference session must have a preset bit rate.); select one or more endpoints within the virtual meeting (“The UEM (Unified Endpoint Management) platform 200 in an embodiment may operate as a cloud-based service in communication with the enterprise management system 235 via a network to identify information technology (IT) issues at a first client information handling system 250, or a second client information handling system 270.” Ramakrishnan [0035]); gather sustainability attributes associated with the one or more endpoints (“Upon identification of one or more features of the videoconferencing application that are currently set to active, as described directly above, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system in embodiments may determine a policy setting CO2 emissions value describing the amount of CO2 emitted due to active use of each of the identified features of the videoconferencing application (e.g., as managed by various policy settings for the videoconferencing application).” Ramakrishnan [0015]); determine endpoint attributes based on the sustainability attributes (“For example, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system in various embodiments may determine whether certain features of the videoconferencing application are currently set to active, such as microphone usage, camera usage, high-definition video recording, high-definition audio recording, application of virtual backgrounds or other visual effects or filters to captured images, of application of audio filters to captured audio samples.” Ramakrishnan [0013]); compare the endpoint attributes to a predetermined sustainability threshold (“stay below a CO2 emissions threshold value for that particular client information handling system.” Ramakrishnan [0013]); establish, in response to the predetermined sustainability threshold being exceeded, a second bit rate (“The videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system may use this information to determine a degree by which the user may decrease the videoconferencing CO2 emissions value by deactivating one or more of these user-adjustable features of the videoconferencing application at a participating client information handling system, particularly one that is not hosting or currently presenting.” Ramakrishnan [0015]; Fig. 5, 502; Ramakrishnan); and reduce at least one of the plurality of video streams (“…the recommendation agent 290 at block 508 may work in tandem with the power analytics module 240 to adjust policy settings for the videoconferencing application to implement the recommended and user-approved CO2 reduction instructions. In another example, in an embodiment in which the user chooses to implement a recommended CO2 reduction instruction to deactivate a visual effects filter of the videoconferencing application, such as application of a virtual background, the power analytics module 240 may adjust the user-adjustable videoconferencing policy settings for the videoconferencing application to deactivate the visual effects feature(s) of the videoconferencing application. Ramakrishnan [0111]. Removing visual effects from a video stream would consequently lower the bit rate.).
Regarding claim 2, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the first bit rate is associated with a high-definition video stream (“For example, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system in various embodiments may determine whether certain features of the videoconferencing application are currently set to active, such as microphone usage, camera usage, high-definition video recording, high-definition audio recording, application of virtual backgrounds or other visual effects or filters to captured images, of application of audio filters to captured audio samples.” Ramakrishnan [0013]).
Regarding claim 4, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the sustainability attributes include at least a location of the one or more endpoints (“This may be determined in embodiments based on power consumed by the client information handling system due to execution of the videoconferencing application and a geographic location for the client information handling system.” Ramakrishnan [0012]).
Regarding claim 5, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 1, wherein determining the endpoint attributes include at least determining one or more negative environmental impacts associated with each endpoint (“In embodiments, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system operates at a unified endpoint management (UEM) platform to track CO2 emissions due to execution of a videoconferencing application at a client information handling system participating in a videoconferencing session and managed by an enterprise management system.” Ramakrishnan [0012]).
Regarding claim 6, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 5, wherein the one or more negative environmental impacts comprise at least greenhouse gas emissions (“One major impact on such GHG (greenhouse gas) emissions is efficiency of device operation, including software application execution, hardware operation, and power consumption at end devices such as information handling systems operated by an end user.” Ramakrishnan [0011]).
Regarding claim 7, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 6, wherein the virtual meeting logic is further configured to collect sustainability data (“When it is determined that a user of a client information handling system is participating in a videoconferencing session in which she is not the host or presenter, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system in embodiments may determine a videoconferencing CO2 emissions value indicating an amount of CO2 emitted due to execution of the videoconferencing application at that non-host or non-presenting client information handling system.” Ramakrishnan [0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the second bit rate is lower than the first bit rate (“…the recommendation agent 290 at block 508 may work in tandem with the power analytics module 240 to adjust policy settings for the videoconferencing application to implement the recommended and user-approved CO2 reduction instructions. In another example, in an embodiment in which the user chooses to implement a recommended CO2 reduction instruction to deactivate a visual effects filter of the videoconferencing application, such as application of a virtual background, the power analytics module 240 may adjust the user-adjustable videoconferencing policy settings for the videoconferencing application to deactivate the visual effects feature(s) of the videoconferencing application. Ramakrishnan [0111]. Removing visual effects from a video stream would consequently lower the bit rate. Thus, the second bit rate (without the visual effects) would be lower than the first bit rate (with the visual effects).).
Regarding claim 9, Ramakrishnan discloses a device, comprising: a processor (Fig. 1, 101; Ramakrishnan); a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (Fig. 1, 102-103; Ramakrishnan); and a virtual meeting logic configured to: optimize a virtual meeting (Fig. 2, 285; Ramakrishnan), wherein the optimization comprises: establishing the virtual meeting with a plurality of video streams at a first bit rate (“videoconference session” Ramakrishnan [0014]. The videoconference session must have a preset bit rate.); gathering sustainability attributes (“Upon identification of one or more features of the videoconferencing application that are currently set to active, as described directly above, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system in embodiments may determine a policy setting CO2 emissions value describing the amount of CO2 emitted due to active use of each of the identified features of the videoconferencing application (e.g., as managed by various policy settings for the videoconferencing application).” Ramakrishnan [0015]); determining endpoint attributes based on the sustainability attributes (“For example, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system in various embodiments may determine whether certain features of the videoconferencing application are currently set to active, such as microphone usage, camera usage, high-definition video recording, high-definition audio recording, application of virtual backgrounds or other visual effects or filters to captured images, of application of audio filters to captured audio samples.” Ramakrishnan [0013]); comparing the endpoint attributes to a predetermined sustainability threshold (“stay below a CO2 emissions threshold value for that particular client information handling system.” Ramakrishnan [0013]); establishing, in response to the predetermined sustainability threshold being exceeded, a second bit rate (“The videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system may use this information to determine a degree by which the user may decrease the videoconferencing CO2 emissions value by deactivating one or more of these user-adjustable features of the videoconferencing application at a participating client information handling system, particularly one that is not hosting or currently presenting.” Ramakrishnan [0015]; Fig. 5, 502; Ramakrishnan); and reducing at least one of the plurality of video streams (“…the recommendation agent 290 at block 508 may work in tandem with the power analytics module 240 to adjust policy settings for the videoconferencing application to implement the recommended and user-approved CO2 reduction instructions. In another example, in an embodiment in which the user chooses to implement a recommended CO2 reduction instruction to deactivate a visual effects filter of the videoconferencing application, such as application of a virtual background, the power analytics module 240 may adjust the user-adjustable videoconferencing policy settings for the videoconferencing application to deactivate the visual effects feature(s) of the videoconferencing application. Ramakrishnan [0111]. Removing visual effects from a video stream would consequently lower the bit rate.); monitor for a re-evaluation event (“In other embodiments, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system 280 may determine from received active user-adjustable policy videoconference settings whether a user's client information handling system 250, 270 has an active status of a screenshare function setting in another embodiment to determine active sharing.” Ramakrishnan [0036]. Fig. 4, 404; Ramakrishnan. Re-evaluation event would be triggered when a user begins screensharing.); and re-optimize, in response to detecting the re-evaluation event, the virtual meeting (Fig. 2, 285; Ramakrishnan).
Regarding claim 10, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of video streams is associated with a participant within the virtual meeting (“videoconferencing CO2 emissions values across the participant client information handling systems in a videoconferencing session” Ramakrishnan [0014]).
Regarding claim 13, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 9, wherein monitoring for the re-evaluation event comprises at least monitoring telemetry data associated with the virtual meeting (“The UEM platform 200 may receive such operational telemetry measurements upon which such predictions may be made from a plurality of client information handling systems (e.g., 250 and 270), which may be managed by the same enterprise management system (e.g., 235), or may be managed by separate enterprise management systems in various embodiments.” Ramakrishnan [0036]).
Regarding claim 14, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 13, wherein the re-evaluation event comprises a change in monitored telemetry data (“Further, in one embodiment, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system 280 may determine from received active user-adjustable policy videoconference settings whether a user's client information handling system 250, 270 is designated or has been designated in an active status as a host of a videoconference session to determine a host status in one embodiment.” Ramakrishnan [0036]).
Regarding claim 15, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 13, wherein the virtual meeting allows for a video bit rate to comprise a screen share of a computer (“In other embodiments, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system 280 may determine from received active user-adjustable policy videoconference settings whether a user's client information handling system 250, 270 has an active status of a screenshare function setting in another embodiment to determine active sharing.” Ramakrishnan [0036]. A screenshare is a separate video stream and would thereby have a bit rate.).
Regarding claim 16, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 15, wherein the re-evaluation event comprises initialization of the screen share within the virtual meeting (“In other embodiments, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system 280 may determine from received active user-adjustable policy videoconference settings whether a user's client information handling system 250, 270 has an active status of a screenshare function setting in another embodiment to determine active sharing.” Ramakrishnan [0036]. Fig. 4, 404; Ramakrishnan. Based on whether the participant is presenting or screensharing, the program will determine the hardware resources being consumed by the videoconferencing application, thereby teaching the claim.).
Regarding claim 18, Ramakrishnan discloses a method of conducting a virtual meeting, comprising: establishing the virtual meeting with a plurality of video streams at a first bit rate (“videoconference session” Ramakrishnan [0014]. The videoconference session must have a preset bit rate.); gathering sustainability attributes (“Upon identification of one or more features of the videoconferencing application that are currently set to active, as described directly above, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system in embodiments may determine a policy setting CO2 emissions value describing the amount of CO2 emitted due to active use of each of the identified features of the videoconferencing application (e.g., as managed by various policy settings for the videoconferencing application).” Ramakrishnan [0015]); determining endpoint attributes based on the sustainability attributes (“For example, the videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system in various embodiments may determine whether certain features of the videoconferencing application are currently set to active, such as microphone usage, camera usage, high-definition video recording, high-definition audio recording, application of virtual backgrounds or other visual effects or filters to captured images, of application of audio filters to captured audio samples.” Ramakrishnan [0013]); comparing the endpoint attributes to a predetermined sustainability threshold (“stay below a CO2 emissions threshold value for that particular client information handling system.” Ramakrishnan [0013]); establishing, in response to the predetermined sustainability threshold being exceeded, a second bit rate (“The videoconferencing application CO2 emissions minimization system may use this information to determine a degree by which the user may decrease the videoconferencing CO2 emissions value by deactivating one or more of these user-adjustable features of the videoconferencing application at a participating client information handling system, particularly one that is not hosting or currently presenting.” Ramakrishnan [0015]); and reducing at least one of the plurality of video streams (“…the recommendation agent 290 at block 508 may work in tandem with the power analytics module 240 to adjust policy settings for the videoconferencing application to implement the recommended and user-approved CO2 reduction instructions. In another example, in an embodiment in which the user chooses to implement a recommended CO2 reduction instruction to deactivate a visual effects filter of the videoconferencing application, such as application of a virtual background, the power analytics module 240 may adjust the user-adjustable videoconferencing policy settings for the videoconferencing application to deactivate the visual effects feature(s) of the videoconferencing application. Ramakrishnan [0111]. Removing visual effects from a video stream would consequently lower the bit rate.).
Regarding claim 19, Ramakrishnan discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the method further comprises providing an option to engage a sustainability override during the virtual meeting (Fig. 5, 504; Ramakrishnan. User has the ability to override the sustainability suggestion.).
Regarding claim 20, Ramakrishnan discloses the method of claim 19, wherein, in response to engaging the sustainability override, at least one of the plurality of video streams reduced to the second bit rate are reset to the first bit rate (Fig. 5, 506; Ramakrishnan. If user rejects the recommendation, then system will remain at the first bit rate.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishnan et. al (US 20240146871 A1, hereinafter Ramakrishnan) in view of Chen (CN 106254678 A).
Regarding claim 3, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 1.
Ramakrishnan does not expressively teach “wherein the second bit rate is associated with a standard-definition video stream.”
However, Chen does teach wherein the second bit rate is associated with a standard-definition video stream (“when the residual electric quantity of the terminal is lower than the first threshold, switching to the standard-definition video call save electric quantity” Chen, Pg. 3 of English translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ramakrishnan with Chen to lower the energy consumption of the hardware resources. Switching a bit rate to a lower, standard-definition would lower the processer load in the endpoint device, thereby lowering the energy consumption.
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishnan et. al (US 20240146871 A1, hereinafter Ramakrishnan) in view of Enstad et. al (US 20090015658 A1, hereinafter Enstad).
Regarding claim 11, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 10.
Ramakrishnan does not expressively teach “wherein the re-evaluation event is a change in the participants of the virtual meeting.”
However, Enstad does teach wherein the re-evaluation event is a change in the participants of the virtual meeting (“However, situations may arise during a video conference that creates a need to reconfigure the orientation, e.g. one of the participants may leave, a new participant may arrive, one of the participants may change his/her seat, etc. Upon such situations, one of the users may of course initiate the repositioning (step 60) by pushing a button on the remote control.” Enstad [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ramakrishnan with Enstad to lower the energy consumption of the hardware resources. A change in participants would naturally have a notable impact on the energy consumption of the hardware resources. As a result, initiating a re-evaluation after the system detects a change in participants would allow for an accurate modification in bit rate that would bring the energy consumption below the preset threshold.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishnan et. al (US 20240146871 A1, hereinafter Ramakrishnan) in view of Gandhi et. al (US 20230025638 A1, hereinafter Gandhi).
Regarding claim 12, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 9.
Ramakrishnan does not expressively teach “wherein the re-evaluation event is an elapsing of a period of time.”
However, Gandhi does teach wherein the re-evaluation event is an elapsing of a period of time (“Further, user data may be continually or periodically refreshed and re-determined in order to identify new VC participants and/or remove participants that may have left.” Gandhi [0053]; “refreshing, based on an elapsed time since a last refresh” Claim 17 of Gandhi.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ramakrishnan with Gandhi to lower the energy consumption of the hardware resources. If no other change in behavior occurs, having the re-evaluation trigger after a set period of time would be an additional measure to ensure the energy consumption is below the threshold.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishnan et. al (US 20240146871 A1, hereinafter Ramakrishnan) in view of Hu et. al (US 20190305712 A1, hereinafter Hu).
Regarding claim 17, Ramakrishnan discloses the device of claim 15.
Ramakrishnan does not teach “wherein the re-evaluation event comprises ending the screen share within the virtual meeting.”
However, Hu does teach wherein the re-evaluation event comprises ending the screen share within the virtual meeting (“In response to receiving, or detecting in point 3-27 information indicating to end the screen sharing sessions, the server 22 releases in point 3-27 the screen sharing sessions and the connection and resources reserved for them.” Hu [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ramakrishnan with Hu to vary the energy threshold trigger function, as taught by Ramakrishnan, to include instances when a participant ends a screen share event within a meeting, as taught by Hu. The rationale to do so is to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of optimizing energy consumption of hardware components in a videoconference environment.
Conclusion
/SAAD AHMED SYED/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691