DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Ma (US 2024/0151348) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Meyer, teaching a magnet moving with the actuator as evidenced in the rejection below.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Vanman does not teach amended claim 1 i.e. magnet moving with actuator. However, as recited in paragraph 42 as the actuator moves, the magnet rotates) due to their coupling.
Applicant argues that Vanman does not teach claim 2 limitation of “wherein the magnet is configured resist the bias element to hold the actuator in the unlocked position when an accessory (102) is positioned on the retention assembly. However, Vanman teaches the magnets holding the retention device in either a locked or unlocked position thus by holding resists the biasing element from changing the position (Para. 33 & 44, magnet resists the bias element to place in the unlocked position for positioning of an accessory). Further delineation is needed to adequately define the claimed invention from the prior art of record.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/16/2025.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vanman (US 2020/0390225 A1).
Re: Claim 1, Vanman discloses the claimed invention including a retention assembly, comprising:
an actuator (110) mounted to a retention housing (104) (Fig. 1 & 6A, Para. 42, actuator within housing);
a locking component (606) coupled to the actuator, the actuator movable to move the locking component between a locked position and an unlocked position (Para. 42, moved between locked and unlocked positions); and
a magnet (204) coupled to the actuator (Fig. 6A, Para. 42, magnet with actuator) such that the magnet moves with the actuator (Fig. 6A, Para. 42, as the actuator moves, the magnet rotates).
Re: Claim 2, Vanman discloses the claimed invention including a bias element (610) operable to bias the actuator toward the locked position (Para. 44, spring biased to the locking position), wherein the magnet is configured resist the bias element to hold the actuator in the unlocked position when an accessory (102) is positioned on the retention assembly (Para. 33 & 44, magnet resists the bias element to place in the unlocked position for positioning of an accessory).
Re: Claim 3, Vanman discloses the claimed invention include a rotatable link (606) pivotably coupled to the locking component; and a transfer link (106) coupled between the rotatable link and the actuator (Figs. 6A-B).
Re: Claim 5, Vanman discloses the claimed invention including the rotatable link comprises an extension (602) extending into an opening of the transfer link (Depicted in Fig. 6B).
Re: Claim 6, Vanman discloses the claimed invention including the locking component interfaces with a first side of the rotatable link (Fig. 6A); the retention assembly further comprises a second locking component interfacing with a second side of the rotatable link (Fig. 6A, 4 different locking components), the second side opposing the first side (Fig. 6A, opposing sides of the housing); and the rotatable link comprises an extension (602) extending into an opening of the locking component (Fig. 6B).
Re: Claim 7, Vanman discloses the claimed invention including the actuator comprises: a handle (110) (Fig. 1); a receptacle having an opening (Depicted in Fig.1), wherein the magnet is disposed in the opening (Fig. 6A, the magnets are within the opening); and a flange abutting against the transfer link (Depicted in 6A, the surface of the handle forming a flange in integral abutment with the transfer link).
Re: Claim 8, Vanman discloses the claimed invention including the retention assembly comprises: an extension comprising an outer surface and an opening formed in the outer surface (Depicted in Fig. 1); a second actuator (112) mounted to the retention housing (Fig. 1); and a second locking component disposed in the opening and coupled to the second actuator (Depicted in Fig. 6A, separate locking components for the second actuator).
Re: Claim 9, Vanman discloses the claimed invention including the second actuator is movable to move the second locking component between a first position in the opening and a second position (Para. 43, moved between locked and unlocked positions), wherein in the second position the second locking component is at least partially outside of the opening (Depicted in Fig. 6A) and abutting against a vehicle panel (Para. 4, device inherently capable of abutting a vehicle with its accessible attachment structure).
Claim(s) 1-4, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyer (US 2025/0052091 A1).
Re: Claim 1, Meyer discloses the claimed invention including a retention assembly, comprising:
an actuator (398) mounted to a retention housing (306) (Fig. 1 & 6A, Para. 54, actuator within housing);
a locking component (333) coupled to the actuator, the actuator movable to move the locking component between a locked position (34) and an unlocked position (32) ((Depicted in Fig.1, 7-8, Para. 60, the opening in accessory, Para. 60, moved between locked and unlocked positions); and
a magnet (314) coupled to the actuator ((Figs. 7-8, Para. 59, magnet with actuator), such that the magnet moves with the actuator (Figs. 7-8, Para. 59, as the actuator moves so does the magnet, to release the accessory).
Re: Claim 2, Meyer discloses the claimed invention including a bias element (312) operable to bias the actuator toward the locked position, wherein the magnet is configured resist the bias element to hold the actuator in the unlocked position when an accessory is positioned on the retention assembly (Para. 60, bias element bias toward locking until magnet holds resist said force in the unlocked position).
Re: Claim 3, Meyer discloses the claimed invention including a rotatable link (386) pivotably coupled to the locking component; and a transfer link (300) coupled between the rotatable link and the actuator (Depicted in Fig. 8).
Re: Claim 4, Meyer discloses the claimed invention including the rotatable link is rotatable relative to the retention housing (Depicted in Fig. 7-8, para. 57, rotates), and the transfer link is pivotable relative to the rotatable link and the actuator (Fig. 7-8, para. 58, transfer link may pivot relative to the other components).
Re: Claim 21, Meyer discloses the claimed invention including a retention assembly, comprising an actuator (398) mounted to a retention housing (306) (Fig. 7 & 8, Para. 54, actuator within housing); a locking component (333) coupled to the actuator, the actuator movable to move the locking component between: a locked position (34) where the locking component extends into an opening of an accessory (12) ((Depicted in Fig.1, 7-8, Para. 60, the opening in accessory, Para. 60, locked and unlocked position), and an unlocked position (32) wherein the locking component is retracted out of the opening (Fig. Para. 60, locked and unlocked position where); and a magnet (314) coupled to the actuator such that the magnet moves with the movement of the actuator (Figs. 7-8, pivots with actuator), wherein: in the unlocked position the magnet is at least partially aligned with a second magnet of the accessory, and in the locked position the magnet is offset from the second magnet of the accessory (Para. 60, magnet key is inserted to unlock and removed/offset to lock).
Re: Claim 22, Meyer discloses the claimed invention including a bias element (312) operable to bias the actuator toward the locked position, wherein the magnet is configured resist the bias element to hold the actuator in the unlocked position when an accessory is positioned on the retention assembly (Para. 60, bias element bias toward locking until magnet holds resist said force in the unlocked position).
Re: Claim 23, Meyer discloses the claimed invention including a rotatable link (386) pivotably coupled to the locking component; and a transfer link (300) coupled between the rotatable link and the actuator (Depicted in Fig. 8).
Re: Claim 24, Meyer discloses the claimed invention including a retention assembly, comprising: an actuator (398) mounted to a retention housing (306) (Fig. 7 & 8, Para. 54, actuator within housing); a locking component (333) coupled to the actuator, the actuator movable to move the locking component between a locked position (34) and an unlocked position (32), wherein the locking component is pivotably coupled to a rotatable link (386), and the rotatable link is rotatable relative to the retention housing (Depicted in Fig. 8, mounted for relative movement), wherein a transfer link (300) is coupled between the rotatable link and the actuator, and wherein the transfer link is pivotable relative to the rotatable link and the actuator (Fig. 7-8, para. 58, transfer link may pivot relative to the other components); a magnet (314) coupled to the actuator (Fig. 8); and a bias element (312) operable to bias the actuator toward the locked position, the magnet configured resist the bias element to hold the actuator in the unlocked position when an accessory is positioned on the retention assembly (Para. 60, bias element bias toward locking until magnet holds resist said force in the unlocked position).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References cited on the PTO-892 are provided showing additional examples of retention assemblies with magnets.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754