Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 3/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/28/2024, 7/2/2024, and 2/13/2026 have been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A claim is indefinite when it contains words or phrases whose meaning is unclear. In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 1314, 110 USPQ 2d 1785, 1789 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Claim 5 recites “a content of carbon”. It is unclear what this phrase is referencing to. Is it the carbon of the carbide? Or Is it an additional component?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Endo et al (JP2013171627).
Regarding claim 1, Endo discloses a negative electrode active material (composite) comprising: silicon-based particles; and silicon carbide distributed in the silicon-based particles (para 0015), wherein a content of the silicon carbide is about 0.1 parts by weight to 1 part by weight relative to a total of 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material (para 0020).
Regarding claim 2, Endo discloses the content of the silicon carbide is about 0.2 parts by weight to 0.8 parts by weight relative to the total of 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material (para 0020).
Regarding claim 6, Endo discloses a negative electrode comprising the negative electrode active material according to claim 1 (para 0045).
Regarding claim 9, Endo discloses a secondary battery comprising the negative electrode according to claim 6 (para 0045).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ngo et al. (ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 2017, 9, 32790−32800).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Ngo discloses a negative electrode active material (composite) comprising: silicon-based particles; and silicon carbide distributed in the silicon-based particles (Abstract and See Scheme 1). Ngo does not disclose a content of the silicon carbide is about 0.1 parts by weight to 1 part by weight relative to a total of 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material. However, Ngo discloses SiC can be spontaneously produced with the formation of Si by extremely high exothermic reaction between SiO2 and Mg, along with the presence of carbon. The synthesized Si@SiC was composed of well-mixed SiC and Si nanocrystallites. The SiC content of the Si@SiC was adjusted by tuning the carbon content of the precursor and by adjusting the carbon content of the precursor material, Si@SiC products with various SiC contents could be successfully prepared as desired. See the abstract and the experimental section. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the to adjust the carbon content of the precursor material to prepare Si@SiC products with desired SiC contents, including those with a SiC content of about 0.1 parts to 1 part by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material as claimed, and the results would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 3, since SiC contents can be adjusted to about 0.1 parts to 1 part by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material, the silicon-based particles, a content of Si (SiOx (x=0)) would fall within about 90 parts by weight or more relative to 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation of “10 parts by weight or less” includes zero as a lower limit, and therefore the content of SiOx (0<x<2) can be zero or the negative electrode active material does not contain SiOx (0<x<2).
Regarding claim 6, Ngo discloses a negative electrode comprising the negative electrode active material according to claim 1 (Experimental section, Electrochemical Characterization).
Regarding claim 7, since SiC contents can be adjusted to about 0.1 parts to 1 part by weight relative to 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material, the silicon-based particles, a content of Si (SiOx (x=0)) would fall within about 90 parts by weight or more relative to 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material.
Regarding claim 8, Ngo discloses the negative electrode further comprising a negative electrode conductive material (Timcal (Super P) carbon,); and a negative electrode binder (lithium polyacrylate). See Experimental section, Electrochemical Characterization.
Regarding claim 9, Ngo discloses a secondary battery comprising the negative electrode according to claim 6 (See Experimental section, Electrochemical Characterization).
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
4/22/2026