DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,622,511 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 11 (which comprises limitations of claim 1, “a forearm support according to claim 1”) of ‘511 recites claimed limitations of claims 1-2 of the instant application.
Claim 12 of ‘511 recites claimed limitations of claim 3 of the instant application.
Claim 13 of ‘511 recites claimed limitations of claim 4 of the instant application.
Claim 14 of ‘511 recites claimed limitations of claim 5 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (CN 114451664 B).
Regarding claim 1, Peng (‘664) discloses a workbench (fig1), comprising:
a work table 3 (fig1), arranged to receive workpieces (abstract),
a frame (fig2), supporting the work table 3 (fig2), defining at least one work face or one work station on the work table 3 for an operator (figs1-2),
characterized in that the workbench comprises at least one mounting rail 158 (figs10-11, “sliding rail”) arranged below the work table 3 (figs10-11) and facing the work face or the work station (figs10-11), and arranged to receive at least one work module 15 (fig2, “an arm supporting mechanism”) to be coupled to the workbench in a position that is adjustable along said at least one mounting rail 158 (figs2, 10-11, abstract).
However, Peng does not explicitly disclose that the workbench is a watchmaker’s bench and the work table is to receive timepieces. However, “timepieces” are recited as an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the workbench of Peng discloses each and every positively recited structural limitations, therefore, the workbench of Peng is capable of being used as a watchmaker’s bench. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the workbench of Peng as a watchmaker’s bench to provide more versatility of the workbench.
Regarding claim 3, Peng teaches the watchmaker’s bench according to claim 1, comprising the at least one work module 15 to be coupled to said at least one mounting rail 158, forming: a table nosepiece (fig1), forming an overhang of the work table 3 toward the operator (fig1).
Regarding claim 4¸ Peng teaches the watchmaker’s bench according to claim 1, wherein said at least one working module 15 to be coupled to said at least one mounting rail 158 comprises a coupling portion 151,152,154,155 (fig11) on said at least one mounting rail 158 comprising a runner or a carriage (fig11), arranged to be engaged on said at least one mounting 158 rail in a rotation movement (via elements 154,155, “a first rotating plate 154”, “a second rotating plate 155”) around an axial direction (along a length of the at least one mounting rail 158, fig11) of said at least one mounting rail 158.
Regarding claim 5¸ Peng teaches the watchmaker’s bench according to claim 1, wherein said at least one mounting rail 158 is recessed with respect to a peripheral edge of the work table 3 (figs10-11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723