DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1 – 6 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukunaka et al. (US 2015/0362365 A1; pub. Dec. 17, 2015) in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0027916 A1; pub. Jan. 23, 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Fukunaka et al. disclose: An infrared sensor module comprising: a quantum infrared sensor configured to detect light in an infrared region (para. [0070]-[0071]); a signal processor (fig.1B item 44) electrically connected to the quantum infrared sensor (fig.1B IC 44 is connected to IR sensor 43 through wire 45); and a seal configured to seal the quantum infrared sensor, the signal processor (fig.1B mold 35 covers the whole detector except in window 33 through which light passes), wherein a light-receiving surface of the quantum infrared sensor is exposed from the seal (fig.1B mold 35 covers the whole detector except in window 33 through which light passes).
Fukunaka et al. are silent about: a thermal conductor in contact with the signal processor and disposed at a different position than the quantum infrared sensor in plan view; and the thermal conductor is configured by a material with higher thermal conductivity than resin; a seal configured to seal the thermal conductor integrally, a portion of the thermal conductor is exposed from the seal.
In a similar field of endeavor Wang et al. disclose: a thermal conductor in contact with the signal processor and disposed at a different position than the quantum infrared sensor in plan view and the thermal conductor is configured by a material with higher thermal conductivity than resin (para. [0074]), a seal (fig.1 item 7) configured to seal the thermal conductor integrally motivated by the benefits for increased signal strength.
In light of the benefits for increased signal strength, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor Fukunaka et al. with the teachings of Wang et al. to have a portion of the thermal conductor exposed from the seal.
Regarding claim 5, Fukunaka et al. and Wang et al. disclose: the quantum infrared sensor and the thermal conductor are disposed above a main surface of the signal processor (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Fukunaka et al. and Wang et al. disclose: the light-receiving surface of the quantum infrared sensor and the portion of the thermal conductor are exposed from an identical surface of the seal (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, especially see window 33 fig.1B of Fukunaka et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: an optical member disposed in contact with the portion of the thermal conductor exposed from the seal.
Claim 3 would be allowable on the same basis as claim 2 for dependency reasons.
Regarding claim 4, the prior arts alone or in combination fail to teach, disclose, suggest or render obvious: the signal processor and the thermal conductor have a thermal expansion coefficient of 2 × 10-6/K to 10 × 10-6/K.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884