DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 04/13/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 18, the claim states that the channel body is below a top surface of an obstacle. According to the specification, this is in reference to culverts under an overpass (eg. fig. 1 of application). However, parent claim 1 requires a completely open top of the channel body. It is unclear how the channel body can be below a top surface of an obstacle yet have a completely open top. The metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (2014/0035283).
With regard to claim 1, Park discloses a water channel comprising a channel body having an entrance and an exit (eg. fig. 1; water flowing through channel), the channel body defining a flow direction from the entrance to the exit (figs. 3a, 3b), wherein a top of the entrance, the exit, and an entire length of the channel body between the entrance and the exit is open (figs. 1, 3a, 3b); a turbine (200) positioned within the channel body such that water flowing through the channel body drives the turbine (fig.s 1, 3a, 3b); intake deflectors positioned at the entrance, the intake deflectors being angled away from the flow direction relative to the channel body and positioned to direct a flow of water into the entrance of the channel body (figs. 3a, 3b; curved inlet); and outlet deflectors positioned at the exit of the channel body and extending away from the exit of the channel body and angled away from the flow direction relative to the channel body (figs. 3a, 3b; curved outlet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 11-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peckham (7,375,437) in view of Ogata (JP 2018194002 A).
With regard to claim 1, Peckham discloses a water channel (eg. fig. 4) comprising: a channel body (10) having an entrance, an exit, the channel body defining a flow direction from the entrance to the exit (fig. 4); a turbine (14; figs. 3-4; col. 4, lines 45-53) positioned within the channel body such that water flowing through the channel body drives the turbine (figs. 3-4); intake deflectors (angled walls of intake fig. 4) positioned at the entrance, the intake deflectors being angled away from the flow direction relative to the channel body and positioned to direct a flow of water into the entrance of the channel body (fig. 4); and outlet deflectors (angled walls of outlet) positioned at the exit of the channel body and extending away from the exit of the channel body and angled away from the flow direction relative to the channel body (fig. 4).
Peckham is silent regarding a top of the entrance, the exit, and an entire length of the channel body between the entrance and the exit is open.
Ogata discloses a water channel (10) with a turbine (20) wherein a top of the entrance, the exit, and an entire length of the channel body between the entrance and the exit is open (figs. 1a, 2a, 3a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peckham and have the top be open as taught in Ogata, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide easier access to the interior of the water channel.
With regard to claim 3, Peckham, as modified, further discloses the intake deflectors, the outlet deflectors, or both the intake deflectors and the outlet deflectors comprise a base deflector at a bottom of the channel body and lateral deflectors on opposed sides of the channel body (Peckham, figs. 3, 5).
With regard to claim 4, Peckham, as modified, further discloses the channel body has a base, a first channel wall, and a second channel wall that extends upward from the base along a first length of the base (Peckham, figs. 1-2), the second channel wall being spaced from the second channel wall along a width of the base to define the entrance and the exit (Peckham, figs. 3-4); the intake deflectors are positioned on the first channel wall and the second channel wall adjacent to the entrance(Peckham, figs. 3-4); and the outlet deflectors are positioned on the first channel wall and the second channel walls adjacent to the exit (Peckham, figs. 3-4).
With regard to claim 5, Peckham, as modified, further discloses the first channel wall and the second channel wall comprise pontoons on opposed sides of the channel body (Peckham, col. 3, lines 44-53).
With regard to claim 11, Peckham, as modified, further discloses ballast carried by the channel body, the ballast being adjustable to control a buoyancy of the channel body (Peckham, col. 3, lines 44-53).
With regard to claim 12, Peckham, as modified, further discloses the ballast is adjustable to control a slope of the channel or a depth of the channel body in a body of water (Peckham, col. 3, lines 44-53).
With regard to claim 13, Peckham, as modified, further discloses a plurality of anchors that are adapted to fix the channel body in a desired position (Peckham, col. 8, lines 49-61).
With regard to method claim 14, the claimed method of driving a turbine would inherently be performed by the modification of Peckham to include the open top as taught by Ogata as discussed above. Peckham further discloses adjusting the water channel to control the flow of water through the channel body (Peckham, col. 3, lines 44-53).
With regard to claim 15, Peckham, as modified, further discloses adjusting the water channel comprises setting a depth, an orientation of the water channel relative to a surface of the body of water, or both a depth and an orientation of the water channel in the body of water (Peckham, col. 3, lines 44-53).
With regard to claim 16, Peckham, as modified, further discloses adjusting the water channel comprises controlling a ballast carried by the water channel (Peckham, col. 3, lines 44-53).
With regard to claim 18, Peckham, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however fails to explicitly state installing the channel body below a top surface of an obstacle such that the channel body traverses the obstacle. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the device to Peckham could readily be placed in any location in a body of water, to include water flowing under a bridge.
With regard to claim 19, Peckham, as modified, further discloses anchoring the channel body at a desired position in a body of water (Peckham, col. 8, lines 49-61).
Claim(s) 6-9, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peckham (7,375,437) in view of Ogata (JP 2018194002 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Srybnik et al. (7,605,490).
With regard to claims 6-7 and 17, Peckham, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the intake deflectors and the outlet deflectors are adjustable and comprise rams that control the angle of the deflectors.
Srybnik discloses a water channel with a turbine wherein the intake deflectors (eg. 12a, 12b, 12e, 12f)and the outlet deflectors (eg. 12c, 12d, 12g, 12h) are adjustable and comprise rams that control the angle of the deflectors (col. 3, lines 31-54; “mechanical means”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Peckham and have the inlet and outlet be adustble as taught in Srybnik, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order optimize pressure within the system.
With regard to claim 8, Peckham, as modified, further discloses the intake deflectors are at an angle of between 35 and 55 degrees, and define a flow area of between 40% and 70% larger than a flow area of the channel body at a point between the inlet deflectors and the outlet deflectors (Srybnik, col. 3, lines 31-62).
With regard to claim 9, Peckham, as modified, further discloses the outlet deflectors are at an angle of between 35 and 55 degrees and define a flow area of at least 40% larger than a flow area of the channel body at a point between the inlet deflectors and the outlet deflectors (Srybnik, col. 3, lines 31-62).
With regard to claim 20, Peckham, as modified, further discloses a step of adjusting the intake deflectors, the outlet deflectors, or both the intake deflectors and the outlet deflectors to increase a flow velocity of the flow of water through the channel body (Srybnik, col. 3, lines 31-62).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/13/2026 have been considered. Applicant’s arguments are based on new limitations which have been addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
06/16/2026