DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran (4987542) in view of Lee et al. (2015/0166130).
For claim 1, Tran discloses a vehicle control system, comprising:
an aerodynamic device (Col 2, lines 37-42) installed on a vehicle and configured to be influenced;
a natural wind detecting device (1 to 6) installed on the vehicle to detect a direction of the natural wind relative to the vehicle; and
a control device (computer) arranged on the vehicle and controlling movement of the aerodynamic device in response to the direction of the natural wind (the computer influences the device in order to compensate for the effect of the cross wind or to make it more manageable for the driver).
Lee et al. lack the specific diffuser device recited installed on a rear bumper of a vehicle and configured to be movable between a storing position stored in the rear bumper and an extending position protruding from the rear bumper toward the rear of the vehicle.
This feature is known from at least Lee et al. which provides a diffuser device arranged at the rear end (the rear bumper) of the vehicle to improve aerodynamic performance based on vehicle speed. The diffuser is movable to change position where the movable part moves in a front-rear direction of the vehicle between a storing position (FIG.3) and an extending position (FIG.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided as the aerodynamic device of Tran a bumper diffuser device as taught by Lee et al. and to have adapted the device of Lee et al. to be influenced based on the direction of the natural wind detected or determined by Tran as an obvious expedient in order to aid in compensating for the effect of the cross wind and to make driving the vehicle more manageable.
For claim 2, Tram, as modified, discloses (Col 2, lines 20-23) the natural wind detecting device detects an angle of the direction of the natural wind relative to a straight direction of the vehicle.
For claim 3, the natural wind detecting device detects a pressure value (ram pressure via probes 1 to 6) of the natural wind, and the angle of the direction of the natural wind relative to the straight direction of the vehicle is calculated (Col 2, lines 20-25) by calculating the pressure value.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran (4987542), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ishiba (2016/0244107).
For claim 4, Tran, as modified, now discloses the control device controlling the diffuser device to move between the extending position and storing position.
Tran, as modified, lacks the movement being based on the angle of direction of the natural wind relative to the straight direction of the vehicle relative a predetermined angle.
Specifically, Tran, as modified, when the angle of the direction of the natural wind relative to the straight direction of the vehicle is less than a predetermined angle, the control device controls the diffuser device to move to the extending position, and when the angle of the direction of the natural wind relative to the straight direction of the vehicle is greater than the predetermined angle, the control device controls the diffuser device to move to the storing position.
Ishiba teaches a device with this functionality and the desirability of vehicle stabilization. As seen in [0012], Ishiba teaches control devices (14,24) and a shielding member (16, 26) which is capable of moving (in response to a CPU; [0040]) between an extending position and a storing position. Ishiba provides the vehicle with a wind direction sensor ([0041]) to determine the wind direction.
When the angle of the direction of the natural wind relative to the straight direction of the vehicle is less than a predetermined angle (that is, when the vehicle body does not receive a substantial side wind (absence of a side wind), the control device controls the diffuser device to move to the extending (expanding) position (making the air flow pass along the outer surface of the body and preventing air flow to the under floor of the body, [0012]), and when the angle of the direction of the natural wind relative to the straight direction of the vehicle is greater than the predetermined angle (that is, when the vehicle body receives a substantial side wind), the control device controls the diffuser device to move to the storing (contracted) position ([0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to control the diffuser device of Tran, as modified, to extend when the angle of the direction of the natural wind relative to the straight direction of the vehicle is less than a predetermined angle and retract when greater than a predetermined angle as taught by Ishiba in order to improve the aerodynamic characteristics of the vehicle body and reduce unwanted effects of cross wind to make it more manageable for the driver.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612B