DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/591,025 filed on 02/29/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S 20230276458, Aug. 31, 2023) in view of KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 20230217459, Jul. 6, 2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses a communication method, comprising receiving configuration information from a network device, wherein the configuration information includes two timing advance groups (TAGs) corresponding to one cell, and each TAG corresponds to one timing advance (TA) (page 10, par(0108-0109), line 1-10, determining TAGs for cells, the UE identify cells being utilized by the UE for inter-cell multi-TRP and determine TAGs for each, of the cells, determining the TAGs for cells include identifying a first TAG corresponding to a first cell and a second TAG corresponding to a second cell include comparing the TAGs for the cells, the UE compare TAGs for different cells to determine a difference between TAs for the cells, the first TAG corresponding to the first cell compared with the second TAG corresponding to the second cell to determine a difference between a TA for the first cell and a TA for the second cell).
Zhang discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receiving a plurality of random access response messages from the network device, wherein each random access response message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs.
KHOSHNEVISAN is the same field of invention teaches receiving a plurality of random access response messages from the network device, wherein each random access response message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs (page 9, par (0114), line 1-10, the uplink transmission groups are defined based on one or more timing advance group (TAG) IDs, when the two uplink transmission groups have different time advance for UL transmission).
Zhang and KHOSHNEVISAN are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs the teaching of Zhang to include the each random access response message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the two uplink transmission groups have different time advance for UL transmission teaching of KHOSHNEVISAN because it is providing an uplink cancelation indication (ULCI) to the UE, indicating the preempted resources, which may help improve decoding performance at the BS.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang discloses each random access response message includes a TA corresponding to one TAG and an index of the one TAG(page 10, par(0109), line 1-10, the UE compare TAGs for different cells to determine a difference between TAs for the cells, the first TAG corresponding to the first cell may be compared with the second TAG corresponding to the second cell to determine a difference between a TA for the first cell and a TA for the second cell).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang discloses a first bit in each random access response message is usable to indicate a local index of one TAG in the two TAGs (page 10, par (0101), line 1-10, gNB configure different TAG index associated with the TCI State with neighbor cell RS, by RRC signaling or MAC CE).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang discloses the receiving the configuration information further includes receiving at least one transmission configuration indicator, TCI, states, each TCI state is associated with one TAG, and the one TAG is one of the two TAGs (page 10, par (0101), line 1-10, the serving cell determines the UE indicated multi-TRP operation, the serving cell configure different TAG indexes associated with the TCI states with neighbor cell RSs by RRC signaling or MAC CE).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang discloses during uplink transmission, using a TA corresponding to a TAG associated with a TCI state corresponding to the uplink transmission (page 10, par (0101), line 1-10, gNB configure different TAG index associated with the TCI State with neighbor cell).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang discloses the receiving the configuration information further includes receiving two TA offsets corresponding to the one cell, and the two TA offsets are in a one-to-one correspondence with the two TAGs (page 17, par (0207), line 1-5, determine the offset includes to determine the offset by a timing advance (TA) for the scheduling cell and a TA for the scheduled cell).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang discloses a communication method, comprising: sending configuration information to a terminal device, wherein the configuration information includes two timing advance groups (TAGs), corresponding to one cell, and each TAG corresponds to one timing advance (TA) (page 10, par(0108-0109), line 1-10, determining TAGs for cells, the UE identify cells being utilized by the UE for inter-cell multi-TRP and determine TAGs for each, of the cells, determining the TAGs for cells include identifying a first TAG corresponding to a first cell and a second TAG corresponding to a second cell include comparing the TAGs for the cells, the UE compare TAGs for different cells to determine a difference between TAs for the cells, the first TAG corresponding to the first cell compared with the second TAG corresponding to the second cell to determine a difference between a TA for the first cell and a TA for the second cell).
Zhang discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except sending a plurality of random access response messages to the terminal device, wherein each random access response message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs.
KHOSHNEVISAN is the same field of invention teaches sending a plurality of random access response messages to the terminal device, wherein each random access response message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs (page 9, par (0114), line 1-10, the uplink transmission groups are defined based on one or more timing advance group (TAG) IDs, when the two uplink transmission groups have different time advance for UL transmission).
Zhang and KHOSHNEVISAN are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs the teaching of Zhang to include the each random access response message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the two uplink transmission groups have different time advance for UL transmission teaching of KHOSHNEVISAN because it is providing an uplink cancelation indication (ULCI) to the UE, indicating the preempted resources, which may help improve decoding performance at the BS.
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang discloses each random access response message includes a TA corresponding to one TAG and an index of the one TAG(page 10, par(0109), line 1-10, the UE compare TAGs for different cells to determine a difference between TAs for the cells, the first TAG corresponding to the first cell may be compared with the second TAG corresponding to the second cell to determine a difference between a TA for the first cell and a TA for the second cell).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang discloses a first bit in each random access response message is usable to indicate a local index of one TAG in the two TAGs (page 10, par(0101), line 1-10, gNB configure different TAG index associated with the TCI State with neighbor cell RS, by RRC signaling or MAC CE).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang discloses the sending the configuration information further includes sending at least one transmission configuration indicator, TCI, states, each TCI state is associated with one TAG, and the one TAG is one of the two TAGs (page 10, par (0101), line 1-10, the serving cell determines the UE indicated multi-TRP operation, the serving cell configure different TAG indexes associated with the TCI states with neighbor cell RSs by RRC signaling or MAC CE).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang discloses the sending the configuration information further includes sending two TA offsets corresponding to the one cell, and the two TA offsets are in a one-to-one correspondence with the two TAGs (page 17, par (0207), line 1-5, determine the offset includes to determine the offset by a timing advance (TA) for the scheduling cell and a TA for the scheduled cell).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang discloses a communications apparatus, comprising one or more memories storing programming instructions; at least one processor communicably coupled to the one or more memories, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the programming instructions to: receive configuration information from a network device, wherein the configuration information includes two timing advance groups (TAGs) corresponding to one cell, and each TAG corresponds to one timing advance (TA) (page 10, par(0108-0109), line 1-10, determining TAGs for cells, the UE identify cells being utilized by the UE for inter-cell multi-TRP and determine TAGs for each, of the cells, determining the TAGs for cells include identifying a first TAG corresponding to a first cell and a second TAG corresponding to a second cell include comparing the TAGs for the cells, the UE compare TAGs for different cells to determine a difference between TAs for the cells, the first TAG corresponding to the first cell compared with the second TAG corresponding to the second cell to determine a difference between a TA for the first cell and a TA for the second cell).
Zhang discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except receive a plurality of random access response messages from the network device, wherein each random access response message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs.
KHOSHNEVISAN is the same field of invention teaches receive a plurality of random access response messages from the network device, wherein each random access response message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs (page 9, par (0114), line 1-10, the uplink transmission groups are defined based on one or more timing advance group (TAG) IDs, when the two uplink transmission groups have different time advance for UL transmission).
Zhang and KHOSHNEVISAN are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs the teaching of Zhang to include the each random access response message is usable to indicate a TA corresponding to one of the two TAGs obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the based on the two uplink transmission groups have different time advance for UL transmission teaching of KHOSHNEVISAN because it is providing an uplink cancelation indication (ULCI) to the UE, indicating the preempted resources, which may help improve decoding performance at the BS.
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang discloses each random access response message includes a TA corresponding to one TAG and an index of the one TAG(page 10, par(0109), line 1-10, the UE compare TAGs for different cells to determine a difference between TAs for the cells, the first TAG corresponding to the first cell may be compared with the second TAG corresponding to the second cell to determine a difference between a TA for the first cell and a TA for the second cell).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang discloses a first bit in each random access response message is usable to indicate a local index of one TAG in the two TAGs (page 10, par (0101), line 1-10, gNB configure different TAG index associated with the TCI State with neighbor cell RS, by RRC signaling or MAC CE).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang discloses the configuration information further includes at least one transmission configuration indicator, TCI, states, each TCI state is associated with one TAG, and the one TAG is one of the two TAGs (page 10, par(0101), line 1-10, the serving cell determines the UE indicated multi-TRP operation, the serving cell configure different TAG indexes associated with the TCI states with neighbor cell RSs by RRC signaling or MAC CE).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang discloses during uplink transmission, the at least one processor is configured to use a TA corresponding to a TAG associated with a TCI state corresponding to the uplink transmission (page 10, par (0101), line 1-10, gNB configure different TAG index associated with the TCI State with neighbor cell).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang discloses the configuration information further includes two TA offsets corresponding to the one cell, and the two TA offsets are in a one-to-one correspondence with the two TAGs(page 17, par(0207), line 1-5, determine the offset includes to determine the offset by a timing advance (TA) for the scheduling cell and a TA for the scheduled cell).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
WU et al. (US 20230039610) teaches METHOD AND DEVICE IN NODES USED FOR WIRELESS COMMUNICATION.
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464