DETAILED ACTION
0Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 12-15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Artes et al (US PG. Pub. 2018/0292827). Relative to claims 1-3, 10-15, Artes discloses:
claim 1) A method for operating a robot (1)(Fig. 1), comprising:
capturing, with at least one sensor (130)(Fig. 9) disposed on the robot (1), data of an environment and data indicative of movement of the robot (1)(Para. 0028);
generating or updating, with a processor (102)(Fig. 9) of the robot (1), a map of the environment based on at least a portion of the captured data (Para. 0028; 0085);
inferring, with the processor of the robot (1), a current location of the robot (1)(Para. 0085, robot uses SLAM technology; see also Para. 0030, see “location of the robot in its area”); and
actuating, with the processor (102) of the robot (1), the robot (1) to execute a first task (Para. 0085);
an application of a communication device is used by a user to schedule the first task (Para. 0029, see mobile device having a suitable app providing a graphical user interface);
claim 2) the task comprises a transportation task of at least one item from a first location to a second location (Para. 0028, tasks can include transport of objects within a building); and
the application is used to schedule delivery of the at least one item to the second location (Para. 0030); and
claim 3) the robot (1) further comprises a user interface for choosing functions, adjusting settings, and scheduling tasks (Para. 0029; 0030; 0035; 0076-0077);
claim 10) the application displays an image or a video captured by an image sensor (130) disposed on the robot (1)(Para. 0073, 0068, 0061, robot recognizes objects using image processing or cameras and shows images with mobile device graphical interface);
claim 12) the application is further used by the user to: instruct the robot (1) to perform a particular task in an area of the environment at a day and time and provide robot settings (Para. 0030; 0061; 0072; 0077); and
the application displays information relating to the robot (Para. 0029, information is displayed through graphical interface of mobile device 2);
claim 13) actuating, with the processor (102) of the robot (1), the robot (1) to execute a particular action upon detecting the user entering the environment (Para. 0012; 0072); and the processor (102) of the robot (1) detects the user entering the environment based on a location of the communication device (Para. 0067);
claim 14) the robot (1) generates a noise or illuminates lights to provide a notification to the user (Para. 0058, button blinks or lights up); and
claim 15) the processor (102) of the robot (1) is configured to actuate the robot (1) to respond to environmental characteristics comprising at least: terrain, obstacle locations and obstacle density, elevation, and terrain and elevation transitions (Para. 0085, for instance, obstacle avoidance).
Relative to claims 18 and 20, the disclosure of Artes includes:
claim 18) A robot (1) for transporting items (Para. 0028), comprising:
a chassis (inherently included, see base of robot on top of wheels)(Para. 0084);
a set of wheels coupled to the chassis (see wheels on robot, Fig. 1);
a control system to actuate movement of the set of wheels (see drive module 101)(Para. 0084)(Fig. 9);
a power supply (Para. 0084)(Fig. 9);
at least one sensor (130)(Fig. 9);
a processor (102)(Fig. 9); and
a tangible, non-transitory, machine readable medium storing instructions (inherently included with processing module 102) that when executed by the processor (102) of the robot (1) effectuate operations (Para. 0083) comprising:
capturing, with the at least one sensor (130) disposed on the robot (1), data of an environment and data indicative of movement of the robot (1)(Para. 0028; 0086);
generating or updating, with the processor (102) of the robot (1), a map of the environment based on at least a portion of the captured data (Para. 0028);
inferring, with the processor (102) of the robot (1), a current location of the robot (1)(Para. 0085); and
actuating, with the processor (102) of the robot (1), the robot (1) to execute a first task (Para. 0085);
an application of a communication device is used by a user to schedule the first task (Para. 0029); and
claim 20) the operations further comprise:
actuating, with the processor (102) of the robot (1), the robot (1) to execute a particular action upon detecting the user entering the environment (Para. 0012); and
the processor (102) of the robot (1) detects the user entering the environment based on a location of the communication device (2)(Para. 0067, geo-coordinates of mobile device 2 may be determined by GPS and other methods).
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abhyanker (US PG. Pub. 2014/0136414). Relative to claims 1, 4, and 9, Abhyanker discloses:
claim 1) A method for operating a robot (100)(Fig. 1A), comprising:
capturing, with at least one sensor (102, 240)(Fig. 1A, 2) disposed on the robot (100), data of an environment and data indicative of movement of the robot (100)(Para. 0125);
generating or updating, with a processor (202)(Fig. 2) of the robot (100), a map of the environment based on at least a portion of the captured data (Para. 0132);
inferring, with the processor of the robot (202), a current location of the robot (100)(Para. 0118); and
actuating, with the processor (202) of the robot (100), the robot (100) to execute a first task (Para. 0132; 0183, vehicle performs deliveries);
an application of a communication device (user interface) is used by a user to schedule the first task (Para. 0213; 0497-0498, user schedules pick-ups and deliveries);
claim 4) the at least one item comprises items from a grocery store, items from a retail store, or a pizza (Para. 0476); and
claim 9) actuating, with the processor of the robot (100), the robot (100) to navigate to a particular location within the environment based on a voice command from the user, the voice command comprising an instruction for the robot to navigate to the particular location (Para. 0129; 0132).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Artes in view of Angle et al (US Patent No. 10,391,638). Relative to claims 5-8, Artes discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
claim 5) determining, with the processor of the robot, a type of a second task to execute and a time and a day to execute the second task based on a history of types of tasks performed and times and days the types of tasks were performed by the robot; and actuating, with the processor of the robot, the robot to execute the second task at the time and the day determined;
claim 6) the processor of the robot actuates the robot to execute the second task at the time and the day determined only after receiving confirmation by the user; and the user provides the confirmation using the application; and
claim 7) the processor of the robot learns the type of the second task to execute and the time and the day to execute the second task using reinforcement learning; or
claim 8) actuating, with the processor of the robot, the robot to execute a particular action when the communication device is within a particular range from the robot.
Angle teaches:
claim 5) determining, with the processor (221)(Fig. 3) of the robot (mobile robot 200), a type of a second task to execute and a time and a day to execute the second task based on a history of types of tasks performed and times and days the types of tasks were performed by the robot (200)(the robot 200 may move from cleaning a first room, i.e, a first task, to clean another room, i.e., second task; robot 200 is also capable of changing an end effector 242 to change cleaning tasks from a first task, such as sweeping, to a second task, such as vacuuming, mopping, etc. Col. 29, lines 65-67; Col. 30, lines 1-8; tasks may be executed based on history of types, Col. 38, lines 30-39, See “In embodiments, or in an invention disclosed herein, the mobile robot 200 monitors and learns the occupancy schedule over a period or periods of time and sets the target completion time based on the learned occupancy schedule”); and
actuating, with the processor (221)(Fig. 3) of the robot (200), the robot to execute the second task at the time and the day determined (Col. 38, lines 28-32);
claim 6) the processor (221) of the robot (1) actuates the robot (1) to execute the second task at the time and the day determined only after receiving confirmation by the user (user is presented the option to execute a second recommended task for a specific time/day based on collected data, the user can cancel the task if desired to avoid execution, it is inherent that the user may also confirm (as opposed to cancel) the task for the robot 200 to perform the cleaning task, Col. 44, lines 15-25); and
the user provides the confirmation using the application (Col. 44, lines 15-25); and
claim 7) the processor (221) of the robot (1) learns the type of the second task to execute and the time and the day to execute the second task using reinforcement learning (Col. 12, lines 1-9; Col. 43, lines 35-40; Col. 43, lines 63-67 to Col. 44, lines 1-2, system uses collected data such as identifying traffic patterns, household is unoccupied, etc. to create or determine schedules); and
claim 8) the robot (22) to execute a particular action when the communication device is within a particular range from the robot (200)(Col. 26, lines 45-65, when occupant is within a certain zone, the robot may alter its action and/or move to a different zone).
Angle teaches the: determining a type of a second task to execute and a time and a day to execute the second task based on a history of types of tasks; the processor actuating the robot to execute the second task at the time and the day determined only after receiving confirmation by the user; the processor learns the type of the second task to execute and the time and the day to execute; and actuating the robot to execute a particular action when the communication device is within a particular range described above, for the purpose of providing a system and method for a mobile robot that can perform tasks in a variable environment that can engage in predictive and planning activities and can escape challenging situations in a household (Col. 2, lines 4-17; Col. 1, lines 29-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the method of Artes with the: determining a type of a second task to execute and a time and a day to execute; actuating the robot to execute the second task at the time and the day only after receiving confirmation by the user; learning the type of the second task to execute and the time and the day to execute; and actuating the robot to execute a particular action when the communication device is within a particular range described above, as taught in Angle, for the purpose of providing a system and method for a mobile robot that can perform tasks in a variable environment that can engage in predictive and planning activities and can escape challenging situations in a household.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Artes in view of Angle et al (US Patent No. 10,391,638). Relative to claims 19, Artes discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
determining, with the processor of the robot, a type of a second task to execute and a time and a day to execute the second task based on a history of types of tasks performed and times and days the types of tasks were performed by the robot; and actuating, with the processor of the robot, the robot to execute the second task at the time and the day determined.
Angle teaches: determining, with the processor (221)(Fig. 3) of the robot (mobile robot 200), a type of a second task to execute and a time and a day to execute the second task based on a history of types of tasks performed and times and days the types of tasks were performed by the robot -
(the robot 200 may move from cleaning a first room, i.e, a first task, to clean another room, i.e., second task; robot 200 is also capable of changing an end effector 242 to change cleaning tasks from a first task, such as sweeping, to a second task, such as vacuuming, mopping, etc. Col. 29, lines 65-67; Col. 30, lines 1-8; tasks may be executed based on history of types, Col. 38, lines 30-39, See “In embodiments, or in an invention disclosed herein, the mobile robot 200 monitors and learns the occupancy schedule over a period or periods of time and sets the target completion time based on the learned occupancy schedule”); and
actuating, with the processor (221)(Fig. 3) of the robot (200), the robot to execute the second task at the time and the day determined (Col. 38, lines 28-32), for the purpose of providing a system and method for a mobile robot that can perform tasks in a variable environment that can engage in predictive and planning activities and can escape challenging situations in a household (Col. 2, lines 4-17; Col. 1, lines 29-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the method of Artes with the: determining a type of a second task to execute and a time and a day to execute described above, as taught in Angle, for the purpose of providing a system and method for a mobile robot that can perform tasks in a variable environment that can engage in predictive and planning activities and can escape challenging situations in a household.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Artes in view of Choi et al (US PG. Pub. 2018/0210445). Relative to claims 16 and 17, Artes discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
claim 16) inferring, with the processor of the robot, an item type of an item using image recognition;
actuating, with the processor of the robot, the robot to perform an action based on the item type of the item; and
claim 17) inferring, with the processor of the robot, characteristics of at least one item, the characteristics comprising one of: size, shape, fragility, bulkiness, weight, and stability.
Choi teaches:
claim 16) inferring, with the processor (included in control unit, 440)(Para. 0068) of the robot (100), an item type of an item using image recognition (Para. 0150); and
actuating, with the processor (included in Ref. 440) of the robot (100), the robot to perform an action based on the item type of the item (Para. 0152);
claim 17) inferring, with the processor of the robot (100), characteristics of at least one item, the characteristics comprising one of: size, shape, fragility, bulkiness, weight, and stability (Para. 0152, obstacle’s height is determined).
Choi teaches: at least one characteristic of an object captured in the image is provided by the user using the application; inferring, an item type of an item using image recognition; and inferring characteristics of at least one item, as mentioned above, for the purpose of providing a moving robot and control method that can provide an escape algorithm for the moving robot to avoid certain obstacles (Para. 0002; 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Artes with: inferring an item type of an item using image recognition; and inferring characteristics of at least one item mentioned above, as taught in Choi for the purpose of providing a moving robot and control method that can provide an escape algorithm for the moving robot to avoid certain obstacle.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Artes in view of Kwak et al (US PG. Pub. 2018/0133895). Relative to claim 11, Artes discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: at least one characteristic of an object captured in the image is provided by the user using the application.
Kwak teaches: at least one characteristic of an object captured in the image is provided by the user using the application (Para. 0110; 181-0182), for the purpose of providing a mobile robot system and technique of receiving information about a moving space, and performing deep learning based on the information about the moving space, that can actively receive or reflect actual information required for traveling to improve travelling efficiency (Para. 0002; 0010-0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Artes with the characteristic of an object captured in the image is provided by the user, as taught in Kwak for the purpose of providing a mobile robot system and technique of receiving information about a moving space, and performing deep learning based on the information about the moving space, that can actively receive or reflect actual information required for traveling to improve travelling efficiency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651