Status of the Claims
This office action is made in response to applicant’s arguments filed on 02/29/2024 wherein: claims 1, 3, and 8 have been amended, claim 2 has been canceled, and claims 9-14 have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-14 are pending herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12/08/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claims under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendments and the applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOPPEL in view of Laluel (US-10688757-B2).
Regarding claim 1, Toppel discloses an arrangement for a visual display of information in a motor vehicle, ([0018]) comprising:
a windscreen (2) having an inner window (20) with multiple surfaces ([0013]);
a lighting device (4) attached to a lower portion of the windscreen (2), wherein light (8) emitted by the lighting device (4) during operation is coupled into a lower end face of the windscreen (2) ([0015]; [0017]; Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B);
wherein optically functional areas (200, 210) are formed respectively in the window ([0023]; [0024]; [0031]; [0081])
wherein the optically functional areas have reflection properties such that light (8) coupled into the windscreen (2) is changed at the optically functional areas (200, 210) as compared to other areas (201, 202, 211, 212) of the window ([0017]; [0023]; Note: prism structures formed in a prism film that alter the propagation of light within the pane and cause light to exit the pane at selected regions relative to other regions of the window ([0080]–[0081]; Fig. 2A).
However, Toppel does not explicitly disclose that the windscreen comprises an inner window and an outer window with an intermediate layer extending between them.
On the other hand, Laluet discloses the windscreen comprises an inner window and an outer window with an intermediate layer extending between them (col. 2–3: “at least one-and better still both-of the first and second glazings being made of mineral glass, the other optionally being made of organic glass”, “said first and second glazings being connected together via the faces F2 and F3 by a lamination interlayer made of ( clear or extra-clear) thermoformable and preferably thermoplastic polymeric material located face F2 side and of (total) thickness E3 of at most 2.2 mm” ; Fig. 1a; Fig. 1b).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the vehicle window pane device of Toppel to use a laminated windshield structure including an inner window, an outer window, and an intermediate layer as taught by Laluet, with a reasonable expectation of success. Laminated safety glass windshields are standard in motor vehicles and provide improved structural integrity and safety while allowing display elements to be integrated within the windshield structure.
Regarding claim 3, Toppel discloses wherein light scattering contours are configured in the optically functional areas (200, 210). ([0023]–[0024]; [0031]: coupling-out elements comprise surface structures such as prism structures that change the reflection conditions of light propagating within the pane and cause the light to exit the pane at those locations ([0023]–[0024]; [0031]; [0026]; [0031]: these structures include surface contours with adjacent planar surfaces arranged at different angles, thereby redirecting and scattering light relative to surrounding areas, i.e. prism structures correspond to light scattering contours configured in the optically functional areas; [0085]-[0087]).
Furthermore, Toppel in view of Laluet discloses inner and outer optically functional areas (col. 2–3: “at least one-and better still both-of the first and second glazings being made of mineral glass, the other optionally being made of organic glass”, “said first and second glazings being connected together via the faces F2 and F3 by a lamination interlayer made of ( clear or extra-clear) thermoformable and preferably thermoplastic polymeric material located face F2 side and of (total) thickness E3 of at most 2.2 mm” ; Fig. 1a; Fig. 1b).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the vehicle window pane device of Toppel to use a laminated windshield structure including an inner window, an outer window, and an intermediate layer as taught by Laluet, with a reasonable expectation of success. Laminated safety glass windshields are standard in motor vehicles and provide improved structural integrity and safety while allowing display elements to be integrated within the windshield structure.
Regarding claim 6, Toppel discloses the lighting device (4) comprises a housing (40) and at least one LED light source (70, 71, 72, 73) accommodated in the housing (40) ([0032]-[0034]; [0037]-[0038];[0088]; See Fig. 1 and 2 for the housing being the protective layer including the LED sources 4, 5, and 6).
Regarding claim 7, Toppel discloses the housing (40) of the lighting device (4) is glued to the windscreen (2) ([0028]; [0030]; [0080]).
Regarding claim 8, Toppel discloses the housing (40) has a substantially U-shaped cross-section and comprises two retaining legs (41, 42) that laterally encompass the inner window (20) and the outer window (21) at a region adjacent to the end face of the windscreen (2) ([0030]; [0032]-[0034]; [0066]; [0067]; [0080]; See Fig. 1, and Fig. 2, the shape of the sources 4, 5, 6 along the layers appear in a U-shaped structure).
Regarding claim 9, Toppel does not explicitly state the intermediate layer is formed from a thermoplastic resin.
On the other hand, Laluet teaches the intermediate layer is formed from a thermoplastic resin (Col. 2, and 3: laminated vehicle windshields include a lamination interlayer formed from thermoplastic polymeric material connecting the inner and outer glazings).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the vehicle window pane device of Toppel to use a laminated windshield structure including an inner window, an outer window, and an intermediate layer as taught by Laluet, with a reasonable expectation of success. Laminated safety glass windshields are standard in motor vehicles and provide improved structural integrity and safety while allowing display elements to be integrated within the windshield structure.
Regarding claim 10, TOPPEL does not explicitly state the thermoplastic resin is polyvinyl butyral.
On the other hand, Laluet teaches the thermoplastic resin is polyvinyl butyral (Col. 2, and 3: laminated vehicle windshields include a lamination interlayer formed from thermoplastic polymeric material connecting the inner and outer glazings; Polyvinyl butyral (PVB) is a well-known thermoplastic resin commonly used as the interlayer material in laminated safety glass windshields).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the vehicle window pane device of Toppel to use a laminated windshield structure including an inner window, an outer window, and an intermediate layer as taught by Laluet, with a reasonable expectation of success. Laminated safety glass windshields are standard in motor vehicles and provide improved structural integrity and safety while allowing display elements to be integrated within the windshield structure.
Regarding claim 11, Toppel does not explicitly state the intermediate layer is configured to impart safety properties to the windscreen in the event of a breakage.
On the other hand Laluet teaches the intermediate layer is configured to impart safety properties to the windscreen in the event of a breakage (Col. 2-3, laminated windshields comprising two glazings bonded by an interlayer, such laminated glass structures are well known to retain glass fragments and provide safety properties in the event of breakage).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the vehicle window pane device of Toppel to use a laminated windshield structure including an inner window, an outer window, and an intermediate layer as taught by Laluet, with a reasonable expectation of success. Laminated safety glass windshields are standard in motor vehicles and provide improved structural integrity and safety while allowing display elements to be integrated within the windshield structure.
Regarding claim 12, Toppel discloses the functional area is configured to emit the light that is coupled into the windscreen into the motor vehicle and away ([0083]: prism structures may be configured so that light is emitted toward the exterior of the vehicle).
However, Toppel does not explicitly state the inner functional area and the intermediate layer.
On the other hand, Laluet teaches the inner functional area and the intermediate layer (Col. 2, 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the vehicle window pane device of Toppel to use a laminated windshield structure including an inner window, an outer window, and an intermediate layer as taught by Laluet, with a reasonable expectation of success. Configuring the optical structures so that the emitted light is directed toward the interior of the vehicle, depending on the desired lighting function provides improved structural integrity and safety while allowing display elements to be integrated within the windshield structure.
Regarding claim 13, Toppel discloses a connection component mounted at the pane edge supporting the lighting assembly ([0090]).
However, Toppel does not explicitly state the two retaining legs comprise an inner retaining leg and an outer retaining leg, wherein an inner adhesive is arranged between and configured to join the lower portion of the inner window and the inner retaining leg, and wherein an outer adhesive is arranged between and configured to join the lower portion of the outer window and the outer retaining leg.
It would have been obvious to join the retaining legs to the panes using adhesive layers, since adhesive bonding is commonly used to secure components to glass surfaces in laminated glass assemblies.
Accordingly, claim 13 would have been obvious over Toppel in view of Laluet.
Regarding claim 14, Toppel does not explicitly state the lighting device comprises an inner light source and an outer light source, the inner and outer light sources each including two LED light sources, and wherein the inner light source is configured to emit light into the inner window and the outer light source is configured to emit light into the outer window.
However, Toppel discloses multiple LEDs arranged along the edge of the pane for coupling light into the window ([0036]–[0037]).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to provide separate sets of LEDs configured to emit light into different portions of the laminated windshield, such as the inner and outer windows, as a predictable variation to achieve different illumination patterns, thereby improving light distribution efficiency and enabling independent illumination patterns in the respective panes.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toppel and Laluet in further view of Satoh (US2012140147A1).
Regarding claim 4, Toppel does not explicitly state the light scattering contours are configured and disposed to scatter the light (8) such that three-dimensional bodies and/or shapes can be displayed.
On the other hand, Satoh teaches the light scattering contours are configured and disposed to scatter the light (8) such that three-dimensional bodies and/or shapes can be displayed ([0127]; FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the Toppel reference and include features from the Satoh reference with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so provides a safer operation for the vehicle in dark areas around the vehicle, for example, wherein the areas are illuminated and therefore more visible to a user, as disclosed by Toppel ([0010]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toppel and Laluet in further view of Hermens (US-20090046237-A1)
Regarding claim 5, Toppel does not explicitly state the light scattering contours are laser lithographed contours.
On the other hand, Hermens teaches the light scattering contours are laser lithographed contours ([0025]).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the Toppel reference and include features from the Hermens reference with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so provides high resolution, greater design flexibility, and improved performance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666