DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10, 12-14 have been amended and new claims 16-20 have been added. Therefore, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112(pre-AIA ), second paragraph have been withdrawn in light of applicant amendment claims 1-2, 4-8, 10 and 12-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van der Merwe et al. (US – 2016/0239025 A1) and further in view of Miyazoe (US – 2006/0081802 A1).
As per claim 1, Merwe discloses Modular Valve Apparatus And System comprising:
a magnetic valve unit (Fig: 35A-35C) comprising a magnetic valve (2902, The valves 2902 may be any of a variety of types of valves including binary valves, variable valves, or bi-stable valves such as any of the embodiments described herein. The valves 2902 can be mounted on a manifold module base or block 2904 as shown. The module block 2904 includes a number of fluid channels or flow paths which interface with the fluid inlets and outlets of each valve 2902, [0274], Fig: 35A-35C) and an electronics (An exemplary on-board controller board (PCB) 2908 is included in the module depicted in FIG. 35A. As shown, the example PCB 2908 of the valve module 2900 includes capacitors 2910, [0276], Fig: 35A-35C) which is set up for driving the magnetic valve and/or comprises a pressure sensor (2918, FIG. 35C depicts a partially exploded view of the example valve module 2900 depicted in FIGS. 35A-B. As shown, the PCB 2908 includes a number of pressure sensors 2918. In the example embodiment, the number of pressure sensors 2918 is equal to the number of valves 2902 included in the valve module 2900, [0281], Fig: 35A-35C).
Merwe discloses all the structural element of the claimed invention, but fails to explicitly disclose sensor as well as a closed casing, which encloses the magnetic valve and the electronics.
Miyazoe discloses Solenoid Valve comprising:
sensor as well as a closed casing (41, Fig: 3), which encloses the magnetic valve (9a, 9b, Fig: 3) and the electronics (51, printed-circuit board, [0049], Fig: 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Modular Valve Apparatus of the Merwe to make the sensor as well as a closed casing, which encloses the magnetic valve and the electronics as taught by Miyazoe in order to provide individually test and easily replace the valve.
As per claim 2, Merwe discloses wherein the magnetic valve unit (2152, 2154, Fig: 21A) and/or the casing has two fluid connectors and/or two electric connectors (2122, 2123, Fig: 21A).
As per claim 3, Merwe discloses wherein
electric supply lines of the magnetic valve lead to the electronics (2122, 2123, Fig: 21A), and/or
the magnetic valve has a magnetic coil (2126, 2128, Fig: 21A) and the electronics is set up to emit and/or generate a coil current, and/or
the electronics (2908, Fig: 35C) is electrically immediately connected to the magnetic coil of the magnetic valve, and/or
the electronics has a control logic and/or a power electronics [0125], and/or
the electronics is set up to apply the supply voltage to the magnetic coil of the magnetic valve ( first circuit board 18 having a first electromagnetic coil 34 is disposed around the first pressure post 28 such that, when energized, the first electromagnetic coil 34 supplies a magnetic charge to the first pressure post 28. Similarly, a second circuit board 18 having a second electromagnetic coil 34 is disposed around the second pressure post 30 such that, when energized, the second electromagnetic coil 34 supplies a magnetic charge to the second pressure post 30, [0125], Fig: 21A, 35A-35B), and/or
exactly two single-core electric supply lines (2122, 2123, Fig: 21A) extend between the electronics and the magnetic valve and/or the magnetic coil of the magnetic valve (Fig: 21A).
As per claim 4, Merwe discloses wherein the electronics is configured as an electronic unit (2908, Fig: 35C),
which has a circuit board on which the components of the electronics are arranged, and/or
which is fixedly connected to the magnetic valve (Fig: 35C), and/or
which is arranged on a longitudinal axis of the magnetic coil (and/or on an axial front side of the magnetic valve (An exemplary on-board controller board (PCB) 2908 is included in the module depicted in FIG. 35A. As shown, the example PCB 2908 of the valve module 2900 includes capacitors 2910, [0276], Fig: 35C).
As per claim 5, Merwe discloses wherein
the magnetic valve is an NO or an NC valve (in each static sealing position, the shuttle 16 is held in place by a magnetic attraction from the shuttle 16 to either the first pressure post 28 or the second pressure post 30, whichever is being sealed. To switch the position of the shuttle 16 from sealing against the first pressure orifice 24 to sealing against the second pressure orifice 26, the electromagnetic coils 34 disposed around each of the second pressure post 30 and the first pressure post 28 are energized such that the first pressure post 28 exerts a repellant force on the shuttle 16, while the second pressure post 30 exerts an attractive force on the shuttle 16, [0126], Fig: 2B), or
the magnetic valve is a bistable magnetic valve(he bistable valve may be actuated by a plurality of arrays in which a first array comprises a row of alternating polarity magnets, disposed adjacent to a second array comprising a row of alternating ferrous and non-ferrous material such that in one stable position, the ferrous material allows conductance of one polarity of the magnets, and in a second stable position, the arrays have shifted so the ferrous material allows conductance of the opposite polarity of the magnets, [0158]), and/or
the magnetic valve is a switch valve, a seat valve and/or a 2/2 valve, and/or
the magnetic valve has a first switching position with a great air gap and a second switching position with a small air gap,
wherein a failsafe position is formed by the first switching position (An exemplary on-board controller board (PCB) 2908 is included in the module depicted in FIG. 35A. As shown, the example PCB 2908 of the valve module 2900 includes capacitors 2910.FIG. The capacitors 2910 may be selected to have a capacitance sufficient to power the valves 2902 to a known or desired state in the event that power to the valve module 2900 is lost. If the electrical power and/or communications bus voltage of a device sensed by the PCB 2908 of the valve module 2900 drops below a predetermined level, valve(s) 2902 may be transitioned to a preferred or pre-determined configuration (i.e. a valve state that closes a specified fluid port or opens a specified fluid port). This could, for example, represent a fail-safe configuration for the apparatus controlled by the module (e.g. a fluid flow control device such as a pump and/or valves in a medical device). In the event that power from the device is unavailable, the capacitors 2910 of the valve module 2900 may be relied upon to transition the valve(s) 2902 to the preferred default configuration, [0276], Fig: 35).
As per claim 6, Merwe discloses wherein
the electronics comprises an energy storage, which is set up to store and/or make available to the electronics a failsafe energy (capacitor 290, [0276], Fig: 35A), and/or
the electronics is set up to generate a failsafe energization on the basis of the failsafe energy and to emit it to the magnetic valve (This could, for example, represent a fail-safe configuration for the apparatus controlled by the module (e.g. a fluid flow control device such as a pump and/0r valves in a medical device), [0276], Fig: 35A-35B), and/or
the energy storage is formed by a capacitor ([0276]).
As per claim 7, Merwe discloses wherein
the electronics is set up to start or trigger a failsafe procedure in the failsafe casing,
either comprising
emitting the failsafe energization (This could, for example, represent a fail-safe configuration for the apparatus controlled by the module (e.g. a fluid flow control device such as a pump and/or valves in a medical device), [0276], Fig: 35A-35B),
or comprising
recognizing the switching position of the magnetic valve,
terminating the failsafe procedure when the recognized switching position is the failsafe position, and/or
emitting the failsafe energization when the recognized switching position differs from the failsafe position,
wherein the switching-position recognition device is set up to recognize the switching position of the magnetic valve on the basis of a most recently emitted switching current and/or on the basis of ascertaining an inductance of the magnetic coil ([0232] – [0234], and [0276], Fig: 35A-35C).
As per claim 8, Merwe discloses wherein
the electronics is set up to trigger the failsafe procedure on the basis of a failsafe signal of a superordinate control device (this could, for example, represent a fail-safe configuration for the apparatus controlled by the module (e.g. a fluid flow control device such as a pump and/or valves in a medical device), [0276], Fig: 35A-35B), and/or
the electronics has a failsafe recognition device which is set up to recognize a failsafe state and to trigger the failsafe procedure ([0232] – [0234], and [0276], Fig: 35A-35C).
As per claim 9, Merwe discloses wherein the electronics emits the failsafe energization upon switching on the supply voltage (this could, for example, represent a fail-safe configuration for the apparatus controlled by the module (e.g. a fluid flow control device such as a pump and/or valves in a medical device), [0276], Fig: 35A-35B), and/or the switching-position recognition device recognizes the switching position at regular intervals.
As per claim 10, Merwe discloses wherein the electronics comprises one or several sensors, comprising one or two pressure sensors and/or an acceleration sensor and/or a temperature sensor (e.g. 2918).
As per claim 11, Merwe discloses the sensor or the sensors is/are arranged on the circuit board (2918, [0281], Fig: 35C).
As per claim 12, Merwe discloses the magnetic valve unit has a first and/or a second pressure supply line (2112, 2114, 2152, 2154, Fig: 21A and 4112, 4114, 4118, 4119, Fig: 28B), which pneumatically or hydraulically connects a first and/or second pressure sensor respectively to a first or second fluid connector of the two fluid connectors ([0182], [0318], Fig: 21A, 28B),
wherein the first fluid connector is an axial fluid connector, and/or
wherein the second fluid connector is a radial fluid connector ([01276] – [0278], Fig: 35C).
As per claim 16, Miyazoe further discloses wherein the casing (41, Fig: 3) is a common casing wherein elements of the common casing retaining the magnetic valve (9a, 9b) and the electronics (51) are inseparably interconnected (Fig: 3).
As per claim 17, Merwe discloses wherein the two electric connectors are a supply voltage connector and a control connector (The bistable valve 2100 may include contact terminals 2122, 2123 as well as coils 2126, 2128, end bodies 2130, 2132, and end plates 2134, 2136 attached to the end bodies 2130, 2132, [0182], Fig: 21A).
As per claim 18, Miyazoe further discloses wherein the electronics comprise integrated electronic construction elements (51, Fig: 3), and wherein arrangement on the longitudinal axis of the magnetic coil (47, Fig: 3) comprises arrangement on a longitudinal axis of an actuator of the magnetic coil (Fig: 3).
As per claim 19, Merwe discloses wherein the bistable magnetic valve has a permanent magnet in a magnetic circuit of the magnetic valve (the bistable valve may be actuated by a plurality of arrays in which a first array comprises a row of alternating polarity magnets, disposed adjacent to a second array comprising a row of alternating ferrous and non-ferrous material such that in one stable position, the ferrous material allows conductance of one polarity of the magnets, [0158]).
As per claim 20, Merwe discloses capacitors (PCB 2908 of the valve module 2900 includes capacitors 2910, [0276], Fig: 35C) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the capacitor has a capacity between 1000 and 5000 µF.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the capacitor which the capacitor has a capacity between 1000 and 5000 µF, since it has been held that were the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP – 2144.05, III. A.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van der Merwe et al. (US – 2016/0239025 A1) as modified by Miyazoe (US – 2006/0081802 A1 as applied to claims 1 and 0 above, and further in view of Hein et al. (US – 2020/0056718 A1).
As per claim 13, Merwe as modified by Miyazoe discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the magnetic valve unit has a first outer sealing ring, which is arranged between the axial and the radial fluid connector, and/or
the magnetic valve unit has a second outer sealing ring, which is arranged on the side of the radial fluid connector disposed opposite the first sealing ring.
Hein discloses Method For Actuation A Solenoid Valve comprising:
wherein the magnetic valve unit has a first outer sealing ring, which is arranged between the axial and the radial fluid connector, and/or
the magnetic valve unit (20, Fig: 3) has a second outer sealing ring, (Attached figure and Fig: 3) which is arranged on the side of the radial fluid connector disposed opposite the first sealing ring (Attached figure and Fig: 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Modular Valve Apparatus of the Merwe as modified by Miyazoe to make the magnetic valve unit has a second outer sealing ring, which is arranged on the side of the radial fluid connector disposed opposite the first sealing ring as taught by Hein in order to actuation audibly reduces the sound produced during the discharge of pressure medium and at the same time protects the components used in the solenoid valve against unnecessary loading and increases the stability over the service life of said pressure-loaded solenoid.
As per claim 14, Merwe as modified by Miyazoe discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose a first and a second pneumatic chamber, which are pneumatically connected in a manner lockable via the magnetic valve unit.
Hein discloses Method For Actuation A Solenoid Valve comprising:
a first and a second pneumatic chamber, which are pneumatically connected in a manner lockable via the magnetic valve unit (Four air springs 4, which are each associated with a vehicle wheel of the motor vehicle as pneumatic control units, are schematically illustrated as pressure medium chambers. Air springs 4 are connected to the pressure side of the air compressor 2 via respective valves and a pneumatic main line 8. The intake side of the air compressor 2 is connected to the atmosphere A or to the area surrounding the vehicle via a line, so that the air compressor 2 can draw in air from the surrounding area in this way. This drawn-in air is dried by an air dryer 5 which is provided in the main line 8, that is to say the moisture in the air is adsorbed. The dried air is transferred to the air springs 4 by virtue of the compressor running, for the purpose of level control of the vehicle, [0053], Fig: 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Modular Valve Apparatus of the Merwe as modified by Miyazoe to make the first and a second pneumatic chamber, which are pneumatically connected in a manner lockable via the magnetic valve unit as taught by Hein in order to actuation audibly reduces the sound produced during the discharge of pressure medium and at the same time protects the components used in the solenoid valve against unnecessary loading and increases the stability over the service life of said pressure-loaded solenoid.
As per claim 15, Merwe as modified by Miyazoe discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose one or several magnetic valve units.
Hein discloses Method For Actuation A Solenoid Valve comprising:
one or several magnetic valve units (4, [0046], fig: 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Modular Valve Apparatus of the Merwe as modified by Miyazoe to use the one or several magnetic valve units as taught by Hein in order to actuation audibly reduces the sound produced during the discharge of pressure medium and at the same time protects the components used in the solenoid valve against unnecessary loading and increases the stability over the service life of said pressure-loaded solenoid.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARK, filed 07/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under 35 U.S.C 102(a) and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Merwe et al. (US – 2016/0239025 A1) and further in view of Miyazoe (US – 2006/0081802 A1)[Claims 1-12 and 15-20] and Hein et al. (US – 2020/0056718 A1)[claims 13-15].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616