Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/29/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 11-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 11-12, 14-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US 20130049626 A1) in view of NEWTON et al. (EP 0582813 A2).
4. As to claim 11, ZHANG teaches a circuit device comprising:
a buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b discloses booster converter in Paragraph [0071]) that includes:
first and second inputs (Fig. 1-6 Item 421 & 422 discloses booster converter in Paragraph [0071]) configured to couple to a power supply (Fig. 1-6 Item 421 & 422 discloses two terminals coupled to the AC power supply in Paragraph [0071]);
first and second outputs; and
first and second switches (Fig. 1-6 Item 423 & 425);
a set of boost energy transfer blocks (Fig. 1-6 Item 220 & 230 discloses boost and buck converter in Paragraph [0026 & 0030]) that each includes:
third and fourth inputs, wherein:
the third input is coupled to the first output of the buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 220 & 230 discloses boost and buck converter in Paragraph [0026 & 0030]).; and
the fourth input is coupled to the second output of the buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 220 & 230 discloses boost and buck converter in Paragraph [0026 & 0030]).; and
third (Fig. 1-6 Item 433) and fourth switches (Fig. 1-6 Item 435; and
a controller (Fig. 1-6 Item 240 or 340 or 440 discloses controller respectively in Paragraph [0064]) coupled to the first energy transfer block and the set of boost energy transfer blocks (Fig. 1-6 Item 220 & 230 discloses boost and buck converter in Paragraph [0026 & 0030]).and configured such that switching (Fig. 1-6 Item 433) of the third and fourth switches (Fig. 1-6 Item 435of each of the set of boost energy transfer blocks (Fig. 1-6 Item 220 & 230 discloses boost and buck converter in Paragraph [0026 & 0030]).is aligned to a clock (Fig. 1-6 Item 240 discloses controller 240 provides pulses having a relatively high frequency, such as in the order of 100 KHz, in Paragraph [0027]).
However ZHANG does not explicitly teach a set of energy transfer blocks coupled to the first energy transfer block that each include:
However, NEWTON teaches a set of energy transfer blocks (Figs. 1 Item 5 discloses a set of energy transfer blocks) coupled to the first energy transfer block (Figs. 1 Item 4 discloses an energy transfer block):
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify a device for transferred electric energy in ZHANG to provide a set of energy transfer blocks by NEWTON in order to provide to a boost (step-up) voltage.
5. As to claim 12, ZHANG teaches the circuit device of claim 11, wherein the buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b discloses booster converter in Paragraph [0071]) includes:
a first inductor (Fig. 1-6 Item 421) that includes a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the second terminal is coupled to the first output of the buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b), wherein:
the first switch (Fig. 1-6 Item 423) is coupled between the first input of the buck energy transfer block and the first terminal of the first inductor; and
the second switch (Fig. 1-6 Item 425) is coupled between the second input of the buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b) and the first terminal of the first inductor;
a capacitor (Fig. 1-6 Item 424) coupled between the second terminal of the first inductor and the second input of the buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b); and
a first diode (Fig. 1-6 Item 426 or 427 or 232 discloses diode) coupled between the second input of the buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b) and the first terminal of the first inductor (Fig. 1-6 Item 421).
6. As to claim 14, ZHANG teaches the circuit device of claim 11, wherein the controller includes:
a first control logic block (Fig. 1-6 Item 240 or 340 or 440 discloses controller respectively in Paragraph [0064]) coupled to the first energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b discloses booster converter in Paragraph [0071]) to control switching of the first switch (Fig. 1-6 Item 423) and the second switch (Fig. 1-6 Item 425); and
a set of control logic blocks (Fig. 1-6 Item 440 discloses controller which can be one respectively for each block in Paragraph [0064]) that includes a respective block coupled to each of the set of energy transfer blocks (Fig. 1-6 Item 420B and 430 are energy transfer blocks) to control switching of the third and fourth switches of the respective energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 440 discloses controller changes the transistors 423, 425, 433 and 436 switches 1-4 in order to detect voltage levels in Paragraph [0064]).
7. As to claim 15, ZHANG teaches the circuit device of claim 14 further comprising
a capacitor (Fig. 1-6 Item 424) that is coupled between the third and fourth outputs of each of the set of boost energy transfer blocks (Fig. 1-6 Item 420B).
8. As to claim 20, ZHANG teaches the circuit device of claim 11,
wherein the controller (Fig. 1-6 Item 240 or 340 or 440 discloses controller respectively in Paragraph [0064]) is configured to cause a plurality of the third switches of the set of energy transfer blocks to be active concurrently (Fig. 1-6 Item 240 or 340 or 440 discloses controller 440 respectively provides first pulses to the first switch 433, and second pulses to the second switch 436, and respectively adjusts duty cycle of the first pulses and duty cycle of the second pulses to generate the output voltage VOUT1 in Paragraph [0064]).
9. Claims 17-19, 21-22, 24-26, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US 20130049626 A1) in view of NEWTON et al. (EP 0582813 A2) in further view of Zipperer et al. (US 2013/0154594 A1).
10. As to claim 17, ZHANG teaches the circuit device of claim 11.
However ZHANG does not explicitly teach wherein the controller and each of the set of control logic blocks is configured such that the third and fourth switches of each of the set of energy transfer blocks has a constant width ON-time.
However, Zipperer teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1-2 Item 10 discloses a control logic CNTL 5) and each of the set of control logic blocks (Fig. 1-2 Item 6 & 5) is configured such that the third and fourth switches (Fig. 1-2 Item Ls) of each of the set of energy transfer blocks has a constant width ON (Fig. 1-2 Item 10 discloses a generated with the constant clock signal CLK received from the oscillator OSC 4 to provide a constant width ON in Paragraph [0018]) -
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify a device for transferred electric energy in ZHANG to provide an energy transfer block and measuring device by Zipperer in order to provide an electronic device and a method for measuring a power consumption in a switched mode power converter in Paragraph [0006]).
11. As to claim 18, ZHANG teaches the circuit device of claim 11.
However ZHANG does not explicitly teach a reference impedance that includes:
a resistor coupled to the third output of each of the set of energy transfer blocks; and
a fifth switch coupled between the resistor and the fourth output of each of the set of energy transfer blocks.
However, Zipperer teaches a reference impedance (Fig. 1-2 Item R & L discloses a reference impedance in form of a reference resistor R can be coupled through switch LS to the output in Paragraph [0019]) that includes:
a resistor (Fig. 1-2 Item R & Ls discloses a R can be coupled through switch LS to the output in Paragraph [0019]) coupled to the third output of each of the set of energy transfer blocks (Fig. 1-2 Item 10 discloses a measuring power converter MPC 10 Paragraph [0017]); and
a fifth switch coupled between the resistor and the fourth output of each of the set of energy transfer blocks (Fig. 1-2 Item Ls discloses a switch LS to the output of measuring power converter MPC 10 in Paragraph [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify a device for transferred electric energy in ZHANG to provide an energy transfer block and measuring device by Zipperer in order to provide an electronic device and a method for measuring a power consumption in a switched mode power converter in Paragraph [0006]).
12. As to claim 19, ZHANG teaches the circuit device of claim 18.
However ZHANG does not explicitly teach wherein the controller includes a calibration block coupled to the reference impedance.
However, Zipperer teaches wherein the controller includes (Fig. 1-2 Item 5, LS, and R) a calibration block (Fig. 1-2 Item Ls discloses a switch LS to the output. During a reference measurement for calibrating/normalizing the power measurement in Paragraph [0019]) coupled to the reference impedance (Fig. 1-2 Item R).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify a device for transferred electric energy in ZHANG to provide an energy transfer block and measuring device by Zipperer in order to provide an electronic device and a method for measuring a power consumption in a switched mode power converter in Paragraph [0006]).
13. As to claim 21, ZHANG teaches a system comprising:
a buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b discloses booster converter in Paragraph [0071]) that includes:
first and second inputs (Fig. 1-6 Item 421 & 422 discloses booster converter in Paragraph [0071]) configured to couple to a power supply (Fig. 1-6 Item 421 & 422 discloses booster converter in Paragraph [0071])
first and second outputs; and
a first switch (Fig. 1-6 Item 423);
third and fourth inputs, wherein:
the third input is coupled to the first output of the buck energy transfer block; and
the fourth input is coupled to the second output of the buck energy transfer block; and
a third switch (Fig. 1-6 Item 433), wherein switching of the third switch (Fig. 1-6 Item 433) of each of the set of boost energy transfer blocks is aligned to a clock (Fig. 1-6 Item 240 discloses controller 240 provides pulses having a relatively high frequency, such as in the order of 100 KHz, in Paragraph [0027]).; and
However ZHANG does not explicitly teach a set of energy transfer blocks coupled to the first energy transfer block that each include:
However, NEWTON teaches a set of energy transfer blocks (Figs. 1 Item 5 discloses a set of energy transfer blocks) coupled to the first energy transfer block (Figs. 1 Item 4 discloses an energy transfer block):
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify a device for transferred electric energy in ZHANG to provide a set of energy transfer blocks by NEWTON in order to provide to a boost (step-up) voltage.
However ZHANG does not explicitly teach a reference impedance that includes:
a resistor coupled to the third output of each of the set of energy transfer blocks; and
a fifth switch coupled between the resistor and the fourth output of each of the set of energy transfer blocks.
However, Zipperer teaches a reference impedance (Fig. 1-2 Item R & L discloses a reference impedance in form of a reference resistor R can be coupled through switch LS to the output in Paragraph [0019]) that includes:
a resistor (Fig. 1-2 Item R & Ls discloses a R can be coupled through switch LS to the output in Paragraph [0019]) coupled to the third output of each of the set of energy transfer blocks (Fig. 1-2 Item 10 discloses a measuring power converter MPC 10 Paragraph [0017]); and
a fifth switch coupled between the resistor and the fourth output of each of the set of energy transfer blocks (Fig. 1-2 Item Ls discloses a switch LS to the output of measuring power converter MPC 10 in Paragraph [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify a device for transferred electric energy in ZHANG to provide an energy transfer block and measuring device by Zipperer in order to provide an electronic device and a method for measuring a power consumption in a switched mode power converter in Paragraph [0006]).
14. As to claim 22, ZHANG teaches the system of claim 21, wherein the buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b discloses booster converter in Paragraph [0071]) includes:
a first inductor (Fig. 1-6 Item 421) that includes a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the second terminal is coupled to the first output of the buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b), wherein:
the second terminal is coupled to the first output of the buck energy transfer block; and
the first switch (Fig. 1-6 Item 423) is coupled between the first input of the buck energy transfer block and the first terminal of the first inductor (Fig. 1-6 Item 421); and
a capacitor (Fig. 1-6 Item 424) coupled between the second terminal of the first inductor and the second input of the buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b); and
a first diode (Fig. 1-6 Item 426 or 427 or 232 discloses diode) coupled between the second input of the buck energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b) and the first terminal of the first inductor (Fig. 1-6 Item 421).
15. As to claim 24, ZHANG teaches the system of claim 21, further comprising
a controller (Fig. 1-6 Item 240 or 340 or 440 discloses controller respectively in Paragraph [0064]) coupled to the first energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b discloses booster converter in Paragraph [0071]) and the set of boost energy transfer blocks and configured to control switching (Fig. 1-6 Item 423 & 425) of the third switch of each of the set of boost energy transfer blocks (Fig. 1-6 Item 420B and 430 are energy transfer blocks).
16. As to claim 25, ZHANG teaches the system of claim 24, wherein the controller includes:
a first control logic block (Fig. 1-6 Item 240 or 340 or 440 discloses controller respectively in Paragraph [0064]) coupled to the first energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 420b discloses booster converter in Paragraph [0071]) to control switching of the first switch (Fig. 1-6 Item 423) and the second switch (Fig. 1-6 Item 425); and
a set of control logic blocks (Fig. 1-6 Item 440 discloses controller which can be one respectively for each block in Paragraph [0064]) that includes a respective block coupled to each of the set of energy transfer blocks (Fig. 1-6 Item 420B and 430 are energy transfer blocks) to control switching of the third and fourth switches of the respective energy transfer block (Fig. 1-6 Item 440 discloses controller changes the transistors 423, 425, 433 and 436 switches 1-4 in order to detect voltage levels in Paragraph [0064]).
17. As to claim 26, ZHANG teaches the system of claim 25 further comprising
a capacitor (Fig. 1-6 Item 424) that is coupled between the third and fourth outputs of each of the set of boost energy transfer blocks (Fig. 1-6 Item 420B).
18. As to claim 28, ZHANG teaches the system of claim 24.
However ZHANG does not explicitly teach wherein the controller and each of the set of control logic blocks is configured such that the third and fourth switches of each of the set of energy transfer blocks has a constant width ON-time.
However, Zipperer teaches wherein the controller (Fig. 1-2 Item 10 discloses a control logic CNTL 5) and each of the set of control logic blocks (Fig. 1-2 Item 6 & 5) is configured such that the third and fourth switches (Fig. 1-2 Item Ls) of each of the set of energy transfer blocks has a constant width ON (Fig. 1-2 Item 10 discloses a generated with the constant clock signal CLK received from the oscillator OSC 4 to provide a constant width ON in Paragraph [0018]) -
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify a device for transferred electric energy in ZHANG to provide an energy transfer block and measuring device by Zipperer in order to provide an electronic device and a method for measuring a power consumption in a switched mode power converter in Paragraph [0006]).
19. As to claim 29, ZHANG teaches the system of claim 24.
However ZHANG does not explicitly teach wherein the controller includes a calibration block coupled to the reference impedance.
However, Zipperer teaches wherein the controller includes (Fig. 1-2 Item 5, LS, and R) a calibration block (Fig. 1-2 Item Ls discloses a switch LS to the output. During a reference measurement for calibrating/normalizing the power measurement in Paragraph [0019]) coupled to the reference impedance (Fig. 1-2 Item R).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify a device for transferred electric energy in ZHANG to provide an energy transfer block and measuring device by Zipperer in order to provide an electronic device and a method for measuring a power consumption in a switched mode power converter in Paragraph [0006]).
20. As to claim 30, ZHANG teaches the system of claim 24,
wherein the controller (Fig. 1-6 Item 240 or 340 or 440 discloses controller respectively in Paragraph [0064]) is configured to cause a plurality of the third switches of the set of energy transfer blocks to be active concurrently (Fig. 1-6 Item 240 or 340 or 440 discloses controller 440 respectively provides first pulses to the first switch 433, and second pulses to the second switch 436, and respectively adjusts duty cycle of the first pulses and duty cycle of the second pulses to generate the output voltage VOUT1 in Paragraph [0064]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the double patenting rejection set forth above.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the double patenting rejection set forth above.
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the double patenting rejection set forth above.
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the double patenting rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
/BRENT J ANDREWS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858