DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “printing section” in claim 1.
A review of the specification, according to PG-Pub, shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
printing section - image former 17, paragraph 42.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno, US 2021/0004186 in view of Annamalai Thangaraj et al., US 2020/0285427.
Regarding claim 1, Kanno discloses a printing apparatus (printer device 105 as shown in fig. 3 and fig. 4B) comprising:
a printing section (printing unit 315, fig. 3) that is capable of printing a print job based on Internet Printing Protocol (terminal apparatus 104 generates a print job based on data to be printed, and transmits the print job to a printer device using Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) to the printer device 105 to perform printing, paragraph 28, wherein, printing unit 315 (printer engine) executes printing based on received data via IPP, paragraph 54);
and a controller (CPU 306, fig. 3, controls an operation of the entire printer device 105, paragraph 51 and executes programs, paragraph 67) that performs a print setting by reflecting a first attribute value being not defined by the Internet Printing Protocol when it is determined that specific Internet Printing Protocol attribute information is included in the received print job (printer device configuration generation unit 426 determines whether or not an optional apparatus holding a capability that is not defined by a standard attribute defined by the IPP has been added, if yes, then the printer device configuration generation unit 426 generates information for defining and controlling its IPP-undefined printer device configuration information, on the ROM/RAM 307 as an XML file, paragraph 73,
IPP-undefined printer device attribute refers to a printer device attribute that is not defined by the IPP (i.e., “shift sorter”, which is to be added to a printer device), thereby, printer device 105 generates, in the ROM/RAM 307 of the printer device 105, an XML-format file including a name, a setting item, and a setting value that relate to this optional apparatus. The item called “printer-more-info-manufacturer” itself is an item defined by the IPP, but the attribute value having an XML format at a destination of the value indicated by the item is not a value defined by the IPP, paragraph 89, note print setting information for a vendor-specific IPP-undefined printer device to the job for printing can be added, paragraph 65),
performs a print setting by reflecting a second attribute value being defined by the Internet Printing Protocol when it is determined that the specific Internet Printing Protocol attribute information is not included in the received print job (printer device configuration generation unit 426 performs attribute value change for IPP-defined apparatus capability referring to a change in an attribute defined in the standard attributes of the IPP by adding a duplex printing mechanism which was not included in specific/standard IPP attribute capability for the printer device, paragraph 101).
Kanno fails to explicitly disclose controlling printing section, based on set (changed/updated) print setting.
However, Annamalai Thangaraj teaches controlling printing section, based on set (changed/updated) print setting (controller 208 overwrites the at least one submitted attribute related to the job in real-time at the multi-function device 101. The controller 208 coordinates with the print engine 212 for printing. The print engine 212 prints the job in accordance with the at least one changed attribute and remaining submitted/original attributes. If the user submits the input key corresponding to changing the print setting feature, then the print job is printed in accordance with that, paragraph 58).
Kanno and Annamalai Thangaraj are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with printing apparatuses performing print settings.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Kanno with the teachings of Annamalai Thangaraj for the benefit of controlling print apparatus to efficiently print based on dynamically changed settings to as taught by Annamalai Thangaraj at paragraphs 6-7, 58.
Regarding claim 2, Kanno further discloses wherein the specific Internet Printing Protocol attribute information is attribute information indicating that the print job is a print job being output via a print support application (when a value is set in the attribute of “printer-more-info-manufacturer” being an IPP standard attribute, the activated additional software 417 acquires, from its address destination, the XML file indicating the IPP-undefined printer device configuration information, paragraph 117, wherein, fig. 10 describes an example of a format of the print job to be transmitted to the printer device 105 by the additional software 417 in Step S722 “TRANSMIT PRINT JOB” of FIG. 7, paragraph 132 and transmitted print job data is converted into data having a format such as PDF that can be interpreted by the printer device 105 indicating that print job is a print job in correct format such as PDF which is outputted using OS and additional software including display, paragraphs 64, 138), and the controller (CPU 306, fig. 3) performs the print setting by reflecting the first attribute value being assigned via the print support application when it is determined that the specific Internet Printing Protocol attribute information is included in the received print job (the additional software 417 loads the information of the acquired XML file onto the ROM/RAM, this information is transmitted to printer as explained above and thereby, printer device 105 generates, in the ROM/RAM, an XML-format file including a name, a setting item, and a setting value having an XML format when it is determined that the attribute of “printer-more-info-manufacturer” being an IPP standard attribute is included in the inquiry for the printer device attribute, paragraphs 117, 89, 97).
Regarding claim 3, Kanno further discloses wherein the controller (CPU 306, fig. 3) performs the print setting by reflecting the first attribute value described in a printer job language (print settings such as a name, a setting item, and a setting value of the attribute value described in an XML format (XML is eXtensible Markup Language for print job), paragraph 89).
Regarding claim 4, is a method claim version of claim 1 reciting similar features and thus is rejected on the same rationale as presented for claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno, US 2021/0004186 in view of Sugawara, US 2018/0364956.
Regarding claim 5, Kanno further discloses an information processing apparatus (terminal apparatus 104 as shown in fig. 2 and fig. 4A) comprising:
a storage (ROM/RAM 207, fig. 2) that stores a control program (control programs, which are loaded onto a ROM/RAM 207, to control an operation of the entire terminal apparatus 104, paragraph 37) and a print support program (OS 412 refers to an operating system stored on the ROM/RAM 207, wherein, OS 412 is instructed to print data created by the application software 415, the print data is output to the printer device 105 through use of a printer driver 416 stored on ROM/RAM, paragraphs 61-65);
and a controller (CPU 206, fig. 2, is configured to execute an operating system (OS), an application, and other such control programs, which are loaded onto a ROM/RAM 207, to control an operation of the entire terminal apparatus 104, paragraph 37) that is capable of generating a print job based on Internet Printing Protocol by executing the control program (terminal apparatus 104 can generate a print job based on data to be printed, and can transmit the print job to a printer device 105 on the network by using Internet Printing Protocol (IPP protocol) to control the printer device 105 to perform printing, paragraph 28),
wherein the controller functions as a print support application by executing the print support program (CPU 206, fig. 2, is configured to execute an operating system (OS 412) and other such control programs, wherein, OS 412 is instructed to print data created by the application software 415, the print data is output to the printer device 105 through use of a printer driver 416, paragraphs 37, 63-65), and the print support application assigns specific Internet Printing Protocol attribute information (note print setting information for a vendor-specific IPP-undefined printer device to the job for printing can be added, paragraph 65) and that the print job is a print job to be output via the print support application (OS 412 instructs the printer driver 416 to convert the data output by the application software 415 into data having a format that can be interpreted by the printer device 105 and print job is transmitted to the printer device 105 indicating that print job is a print job in correct format such as PDF is outputted using OS and additional software including display, paragraphs 64, 132, 138).
Kanno fails to explicitly disclose print support application assigns specific Internet Printing Protocol attribute information for print job to be outputted.
However, Sugawara teaches print support application (application layer includes a Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP) module and an Internet printing protocol (IPP) module, paragraph 20) assigns specific Internet Printing Protocol attribute information (specific port is assigned to IPP protocol to start a session) for print job to be outputted (HTTPS task detects an access to the port assigned to the IPP protocol and starts an IPP session. First, the HTTPS task performs SSL handshake processing between a host and establishes the SSL communication. After completion of the processing, the host transmits print data. After completion of the processing, the host transmits the print data in a row until transmission of the print data of a print job is completed, paragraph 30).
Kanno and Sugawara are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with printing apparatuses and Internet printing protocols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Kanno with the teachings of Sugawara such that when processing related to the SSL/IPP communication and print processing are executed in parallel, delay in the print processing can be reduced as taught by Sugawara at paragraph 50.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yasuda et al., US 2023/0333794.
Kaneda, US 2023/008252 teaches attribute is information indicating whether each setting item is a setting item defined by the IPP or a vendor-specific setting item, paragraph 138 and the preset or the template can include not only setting items defined by the IPP standard but also vendor-specific settings, paragraph 35.
Kaneda, US 2021/0342107.
/PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683