Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suga et al. (US 5160370 A) in view of Harada et al. (US 20200062976 A1) and Yoshimasa (JP 2009024071 A).
Regarding claim 1, Suga teaches an ink jet ink composition (Column 2, lines 13-26 describes Suga teaching a "recording liquid" for an ink-jet recording method) comprising:
a pigment (Column 2, lines 13-14 describes the "recording liquid" taught by Suga to include a pigment.)
a dispersant (Column 3, lines 65-66 describes the "water-soluble resins" included in the "recording liquid" that are used to disperse the pigments and can be used as dispersants.)
the dispersant includes a lignin compound (Column 4, lines 13-16 describes how "lignin sultanate" is an example natural polymer that can be used for the "water soluble resin".)
the ink jet ink composition being an aqueous ink (Column 2, lines 13-15 describes the "recording liquid" to include water and is therefore aqueous), wherein the pigment is dispersed by the dispersant in water (Column 3, lines 65-66 describes the "water-soluble resins" can be used as dispersants and used in dispersion of pigments. Suga further discloses the "water-soluble resin" and pigment dispersed in water by describing, in column 3, lines 58-59, the examples of pigments that can be used within the "recording liquid" are not limited "so long as they are dispersible in aqueous mediums".)
Suga fails to teach the ink jet ink composition comprising a biomass resin.
However, Harada teaches a biomass resin, (Paragraph [0008] describes the ink composition taught by Harada to include a "biomass polyurethane resin".)
Suga and Harada are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving the composition of inkjet inks. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inkjet ink taught by Suga to also apply a biomass resin to the inkjet ink taught by Harada for the purpose improving the ink composition to reduce global warming and environmental load as it is not an industrial resource which is not an exhaustible resource (Harada, Paragraph [0002]).
Suga fails to teach the pigment including charcoal derived from vegetable oil.
However, Yoshimasa discloses a pigment including charcoal derived from vegetable oil (The second paragraph of Page 1 describes the invention of a carbon black, which is also known as charcoal, that can be used as a colorant for ink and is produced by “using a raw material oil containing animal or vegetable oil”. Paragraph [0019] in the specification of the claimed invention acknowledges that “carbon black” is also “vegetable oil charcoal” and therefore the “carbon black” of Yoshimasa discloses the “charcoal derived from vegetable oil”).
Suga and Yoshimasa are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving the composition of inkjet inks. The claimed language recites a “pigment including a vegetable oil charcoal” but does not further disclose or define the charcoal. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inkjet ink taught by Suga to also apply a pigment including charcoal derived from vegetable oil taught by Yoshimasa. This would have been for the purpose of having a carbon black capable of producing a high specific surface area in a high yield. (Yoshimasa, fifth paragraph on page 1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Suga, Harada, and Yoshimasa teaches the ink jet ink composition according to claim 1, Suga further discloses wherein the lignin compound includes a lignin sultanate (Column 4, lines 13-16 describes how "lignin sultanate" is an example natural polymer that can be used for the "water-soluble resin".).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Suga, Harada, and Yoshimasa teaches the ink jet ink composition according to claim 1 .
Modified Suga fails to teach the biomass resin has any one or more kinds of an alicyclic structure and an aromatic ring structure.
However, Harada teaches the biomass resin has any one or more kinds of an alicyclic structure and an aromatic ring structure (Paragraph [0017] describes the ink including a biomass polyurethane resin that will act as the binder resin, where polyurethanes are well known to include both alicyclic and aromatic compounds. Paragraphs [0021 ]-[0025] describes four different methods to obtain a polyurethane resin that all include the use of a polyisocyanate. Paragraph [0026] further discloses how the polyisocyanate used in the four methods are not limited and then gives an example of obtaining the polyisocyanate by mixing an aromatic diisocyanate compound, an alicyclic diisocyanate compound, an aliphatic diisocyanate compound, and an aliphatic-aromatic diisocyanate compound.).
Modified Suga and Harada are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving print ink composition. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink taught by modified Suga to also apply the biomass resin to have any one or more kinds of an alicyclic structure and an aromatic ring structure taught by Harada for the purpose of improving the ink composition to reduce global warming and environmental load while also improving the ink's blocking characteristic and lamination ability (Harada, Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Suga, Harada, and Yoshimasa teaches the ink jet ink composition according to claim 1.
Suga fails to teach wherein a mass ratio (B/A) of a content B of the biomass resin to a content A of the pigment is 0.5 to 6.0.
However, Harada teaches wherein a mass ratio (B/A) of a content B of the biomass resin to a content A of the pigment is 0.5 to 6.0. (Paragraph [0015] describes the percentage of the pigment within the ink composition to be from 0.5-50%. While paragraphs [0037] and [0047] disclose the polyurethane resin within the ink composition to be from 5-20% and the biomass polyurethan resin contained within the polyurethane resin to be preferably 40-100%. This would calculate the biomass polyurethane resin within the ink composition to be from 2-20%. Someone of ordinary skill would then be able to calculate the minimum ratio between the biomass resin and the pigment by comparing the smallest percentage of the biomass resin to the largest percentage of pigment to receive the ratio of 2%:50% or 0.04. Similarly, the maximum ratio would then be calculated by comparing the largest percentage of the biomass resin to the smallest percentage of pigment to receive the ration of 20%:0.5% or 40. This ratio range of 0.04 to 40 encompasses the given range of the claimed invention.)
Modified Suga and Harada are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving print ink composition. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink taught by modified Suga to also apply wherein a mass ratio (B/A) of a content B of the biomass resin to a content A of the pigment is 0.5 to 6.0 taught by Masahiro for the purpose of reducing the environmental load (Harada, paragraph [0047]), maintaining pigment dispersibility (Harada, paragraph [0037]), and preventing the coloring and printability of the ink from being insufficient (Harada, paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Suga, Harada, and Yoshimasa teaches the ink jet ink composition according to claim 1, Suga further discloses wherein a mass ratio (C/A) of a content C of the lignin compound to a content A of the pigment is 0.5 to 2.0. (Column 4, lines 33-35 describes the preferred ratio of the pigment to the "water-soluble resin" is from 3:2 to 10:1 which, when flipped and compared to the given range of the claimed invention, partially overlaps the given range of the claimed invention.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Suga, Harada, and Yoshimasa teaches the ink jet
ink composition according to claim 1 .
Modified Suga fails to teach a biomass degree of an ink solid content is 60% to 100%.
However, Harada teaches a biomass degree of an ink solid content is 60% to 100%. (Paragraph [0047] describes the biomass polyurethane resin be contained in the polyurethane resin by 5 mass% or more in a solid content conversion, more preferably 40 mass % or more, and may be 100 mass %, which encompasses the given range of the claimed invention.)
Modified Suga and Harada are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving print ink composition. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink taught by modified Suga to also apply a biomass degree of an ink solid content is 60% to 100% taught by Masahiro for the purpose of reducing the environmental load (Harada, paragraphs [0009] and [0047])
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Suga, Harada, and Yoshimasa teaches the ink jet ink composition according to claim 1, Suga further discloses a polyol as the organic solvent (Column 2, lines 13-15 and 20-22 describe the "recording liquid" also including a "water-soluble organic solvent" and gave polyol examples that could be used including at least on polyhydric alcohol).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Suga, Harada, and Yoshimasa teaches the ink jet ink composition according to claim 1, Suga further discloses a recording method (Paragraph [0003] describes the inclusion of an ink jet recording method in the disclosure taught by Komatsu) (Column 2, lines 23-26 describes Suga teaching an ink-jet recording method), comprising: an ink adhering step of discharging, from an ink jet head, the ink jet ink composition according to claim 1 and adhering same to a recording medium (Figure 1 A displays the "recording droplets 24" of the "ink 21" that are ejected onto the "recording medium 25" by the "recording head 65" displayed in Figure 3. The characters mentioned in Figure 1 are described in Column 6, lines 63-68 and column 7, lines 1-2, while the "recording head 65" in Figure 3 is described in column 7, lines 31-34).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Suga, Harada, and Yoshimasa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ikeda et al. (EP 2998373 B1)
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Suga, Harada, and Yoshimasa teaches the ink jet ink composition according to claim 1 .
Modified Suga fails to teach the dispersant includes the lignin compound in an amount that ranges between 3 to 10% by mass relative to a total mass of the ink jet composition.
However, Ikeda teaches the dispersant includes the lignin compound in an amount that ranges between 3 to 10% by mass relative to a total mass of the ink jet composition. (Paragraphs 8-9 on page 5 describes how the dispersant may include a lignin compound, “lignin sulfonic acid”. Ikeda further discloses how the dispersant has the most preferred mass percentage “with respect to a total amount of the ink composition” preferably at 0.5 – 10.0 % as described in the second to last paragraph on page 3. This range encompasses the given claimed range of the claimed limitation.)
Modified Suga and Ikeda are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving the composition of inkjet inks. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inkjet ink taught by modified Suga to also apply a dispersant that includes the lignin compound in an amount that ranges between 3 to 10% by mass taught by Ikeda for the purpose of improving the storage properties of the ink composition (Ikeda, paragraph 9 on page 5)
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Suga, Harada, and Yoshimasa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Komatsu et al. (US 20120040155 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Suga, Harada, and Yoshimasa teaches the ink jet ink composition according to claim 1 .
Modified Suga fails to teach a volume average particle diameter D50 is 300 nm or less.
However, Komatsu teaches a volume average particle diameter D50 is 300 nm or less. (Paragraph [0057] describes the "particle diameter (outer diameter) (d50)" of the white ink to be most preferably between 200 nm to 600nm which overlaps with the given range of the claimed invention.)
Modified Suga and Komatsu are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving an ink jet recording method and ink composition. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ink taught by modified Suga to also apply a volume average particle diameter D50 is 300 nm or less taught by Komatsu for the purpose of maintaining good dispersion of the ink and color of the ink when adhered to the recording medium (Komatsu, paragraph [0057]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kumeta et al. (US 20220340770 A1) discloses a plant-derived carbonized color material within an ink jet ink composition.
/N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853