DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The Applicant elected Species II, claims 13-18 without prejudice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al (US Patent Publication 2007/0262029).
Yoshida et al teach an actuated pressure control valve assembly and method which is structurally similar to the Applicants’ claimed system for delivering a fluid.
Regarding claim 13, Yoshida et al teach a pump 6, a filter 4 and 9 downstream from the pump 6, a pressure sensor 70 located downstream from the filter 4/9 and in communication with the conduit for measuring the pressure level of the fluid driven by the pump, and a water controller 50 in electrical communication with the pressure sensor, such that the water treatment controller 50 monitors the pressure level measured by the pressure sensor 70. See para 0036-0053.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, the water controller can decrease or increase the speed of the pump based on the measured pressure levels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al (US Patent Publication 2007/0262029) in view of Cheng et al (US Patent 8,700,221). Yoshida et al do not teach a proportional-integral-derivative PID controller with a variable frequency drive to regulate the speed of the pump.
Cheng et al teaches a PID controller which continuously adjusts the speed of the pump utilizing a variable frequency drive to regulate the speed of the pump. Regarding claims 16 and 17, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the controller of Yoshida et.
with a PID controller, in view of the teachings of Cheng et al in order to monitor the pressure continuously and thus react more quickly to pressure changes.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al (US Patent Publication 2007/0262029) in view Stavale (US Patent Publication 2007/0212230). Yoshida et al do not teach the water treatment controller having an alert once the speed of the pump exceeds a threshold rate. Stavale teaches a variable speed pump having an alert. Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the controller of Yoshida et al with an alert, in view of the teachings of Stavale, in order to protect the equipment from being damaged due to operating beyond the limits.
Contact Information
/RICHARD T PRICE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643