DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “third display coupled to the second lateral wall” of claims 22, 29 and 30 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
First monument 222 is shown in figure 4 with a first lateral wall 228 having a display or displays 238, however figure 5 shows a second lateral wall 228 which is narrower in width than the first lateral wall shown in fig. 4; note also the top view in figure 7. Figures 5, 9, 15 and 16 show the second lateral wall 228 but do not show a third display coupled to the second lateral wall.
Claim Objections
Claims 22, 29 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of claims 22, 29 and 30, the last paragraph recites “the first display” in the first line and a second time between “the fourth display” and “the sixth display”; this appears to be an inadvertent duplication of “first” in place of “fifth” but Applicant should confirm.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 10, 12-13, 15-16, 18-19, 22-25, 29 and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,875,650 B2 to Fullerton et al. in view of US 10,399,678 B2 to Johnson et al. and US 11,685,505 B2 to Thornton et al.
Item A: Fullerton Fig. 11, with examiner annotations indicating consideration of monuments (M) and lateral walls (LW)
Regarding claim 22: Fullerton teaches an entry way system (fig. 9A: entry way 231; fig. 10: entry way 316) for an internal cabin (fig. 9A: 230 / fig. 10: 302) of a vehicle (aircraft 200), the entry way system comprising (at entry way 231 indicated in fig. 9A):
a first monument (308) comprising an aft wall connected to a first lateral wall and a second lateral wall (as shown by examiner annotations to fig. 11 in Item A above: first monument M1 having first and second lateral walls LW), wherein the aft wall is configured to face a first passenger seating area (fig. 9A: facing expanded economy section 240);
a second monument (310) comprising a fore wall connected to a third lateral wall and a fourth lateral wall (as indicated in Item A above), wherein the fore wall is configured to face a second passenger seating area (fig. 9A: business class section 236), and
wherein the second monument is configured to be spaced from the first monument by an egress path (cross aisle 306) configured to connect to one or more entry doors (c. 7, ℓ. 55–c. 6, ℓ. 3: convertible area 300 may be at an entry way 316; c. 8, ℓ. 34-40, 61-62: the standard use of convertible area 300 is for ingress and egress; see also figs. 10-14).
Fullerton does not discuss many details of the first and second monuments and is silent to displays, electronic screens or in-flight entertainment devices. Accordingly, Fullerton does not specifically disclose a display coupled to each of the aft, fore, and first through fourth lateral walls, a first speaker, first and second lighting assemblies, or a controller in communication with and configured to control these elements.
Johnson teaches an aircraft monument (figs. 5A-5B, 6A-6B: amenity monument 505/605) comprising one longer center wall (partition 410b) connected to two sidewalls (partitions 410a, 410c);
a first display coupled to the center wall (display 540b/640b on partition 410b);
a second display coupled to the first lateral wall (display 540a/640a on partition 410a);
a third display coupled to the second lateral wall (display 540c/640c on partition 410c).
The displays may be used to provide privacy during flight while reverting to a transparent condition during taxi, take-off and landing (c. 6, ℓ. 28-48: in the amenity shown in figs. 5A-5B) or alternatively for other purposes, including providing information about the destination and displaying merchandise available for passengers to purchase (c. 8, ℓ. 5-32: in the amenity shown in figs. 6A-6B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the entry way system of Fullerton with displays coupled to the fore, aft, and first through fourth lateral walls, as taught by Johnson, such as by providing the monuments of Fullerton in the form of amenity monuments using the teachings of Johnson, for the purpose of providing information and entertainment to passengers or providing additional revenue from the sale of merchandise to passengers.
In so doing, the first monument would have first, second and third displays coupled respectively to the aft wall and first and second lateral walls and the second monument would have fourth, fifth and sixth displays coupled respectively to the fore wall and third and fourth lateral walls.
Johnson additionally teaches that amenities may include “video games and other multimedia content such as news and information concerning points of interests at the aircraft destinations” (c. 7, ℓ. 39-50), an interactive system including various accessories, for example headphones, interactive touchscreen displays (c. 9, ℓ. 5-18), or an activity compartment with emitting devices to emit light for the purpose of light therapy, for purposes of tanning or relaxation and wellness (c. 9, ℓ. 30-36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the entry way system of Fullerton with one or more second lighting assemblies coupled to one or both of the first and second monument, as taught by Johnson, such as by providing emitting devices to emit light for the purpose of making available light therapy, such as for the purposes of tanning, relaxation, health and wellness or aromatherapy (Johnson c. 9, ℓ. 30-36).
Thornton teaches an aircraft cabin entertainment system comprising a display controller in communication with a cabin management system “configured to control various cabin environmental functions such as temperature, lighting, galley services, and in-flight entertainment which includes audio, video, interfaces to personal electronic devices, access to media content storage (audio & video files), satellite TV, and moving map equipment as well as access to long-range satellite communications and internet connectivity”, the display controller and cabin management system independently in communication with an audio-video database and the avionics system to provide audio-video information and/or movies to one or more display screens (c. 5, ℓ. 15-45; regarding cabin lighting functions see also c. 3, ℓ. 30-42: “internal cabin lighting”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the teachings of Thornton to provide the entry way system of Fullerton with speakers or coupled to the wall adjacent any or all of the displays, such as in the manner of a soundbar, for the purpose of playing audio information associated with movies or other content delivered to the displays, and to provide the cabin with a first lighting assembly disposed above the monuments by providing internal cabin lighting for the purpose of illuminating the cabin.
It would further have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the entry way system of Fullerton with a control unit in communication with and configured to control the various amenities including the first display, the second display, the third display, the fourth display, the fifth display, the sixth display, the first speaker, the first lighting assembly, and the one or more second lighting assemblies, using the teachings of Thornton, for the purpose of enabling a passenger using the amenities to control the available amenities or to enable the flight crew to control the amenities, for example to prepare the aircraft for landing.
Regarding claim 2: Fullerton, as modified, provides the entry way system of claim 22, wherein the first monument and the second monument are configured to extend to and between a floor and a ceiling of the internal cabin (Fullerton c. 8, ℓ. 19-21: “room partition assemblies 100 may extend to increased heights, such as from the floor 303 to the ceiling”; c. 8, ℓ. 4-9: partition assemblies 100 are secured to monuments 308, 310 by mounting frames 102, which would require the monuments to extend at least as high as the mounting frames, see also figs. 10-13), and
wherein the first monument and the second monument are configured to be disposed between portions of two aisles within the internal cabin (Fullerton fig. 9A: between aisles 248).
Regarding claim 10: Fullerton, as modified, provides the entry way system of claim 22.
Fullerton does not specifically disclose a control unit in communication with and configured to control operation of one or more electrical components.
Johnson teaches that the amenity monuments may further comprise:
one or more electrical components (c. 7, ℓ. 12-24: flat screens on the countertop); and
a control unit in communication with the one or more electrical components, wherein the control unit is configured to control operation of the one or more electrical components (c. 7, ℓ. 12-29: multiple flat screens may be coupled with a single computer or separate processors, or a larger, single, curved display may be used; c. 7, ℓ. 29-38: the multiple displays may be used in combination with the dimmable panels 540; c. 11, ℓ. 12-19: the interactive display screen on the counter is coupled to a controller adapted to control the content displayed on the screen).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the entry way system of Fullerton with one or more electrical component and control unit in communication with the one or more electrical components and configured to control operation of the one or more electrical components, such as taught by Johnson, for the purpose of providing additional amenities or entertainment to passengers.
Regarding claims 23 and 24: Fullerton, as modified, provides the entry way system of claim 22, wherein the aft wall comprises a first recess formed between and through a first front surface and a first rear surface of the aft wall, and wherein the first display is disposed within the first recess, and wherein the fore wall comprises a second recess formed between and through a second front surface and a second rear surface of the fore wall, wherein the fourth display is disposed within the second recess (as modified; Johnson, c. 6, ℓ. 40-42: the electrically dimmable glass panel displays 540a-540c are supported by partitions 410a-410c, and in figs. 5A-5B the panels 540a-540c are shown recessed from the outside surfaces of the wall; c. 6, ℓ. 28-47: the dimmable panel displays are transparent during taxi, take-off and landing and opaque during flight to provide privacy, indicating that the recess is formed through the wall1).
Regarding claim 25: Fullerton, as modified, provides the entry way system of claim 22, wherein each of the first display, the second display, the third display, the fourth display, the fifth display, and the sixth display comprises an electronic screen (as modified; Johnson c. 6, ℓ. 34-60: “electrically dimmable glass panels” which may be varied in opacity based on an applied voltage; or Johnson c. 8, ℓ. 1-32: “touch screen monitors”).
Regarding claim 29: Fullerton teaches an aircraft (200) comprising:
an internal cabin (fig. 9A: 230 / fig. 10: 302) having an egress path (cross aisle 306) connected to one or more entry doors (as shown in figs. 10-14; see also c. 7, ℓ. 55–c. 6, ℓ. 3, c. 8, ℓ. 34-40, 61-62); and
an entry way system (fig. 9A: entry way 231; fig. 10: entry way 316) within the internal cabin, wherein the entry way system comprises:
a first monument (308) comprising an aft wall connected to a first lateral wall and a second lateral wall (as shown by examiner annotations to fig. 11 in Item A above, regarding claim 22), wherein the aft wall faces a first passenger seating area (fig. 9A: facing expanded economy section 240);
a second monument (310) comprising a fore wall connected to a third lateral wall and a fourth lateral wall (indicated in Item A above regarding claim 22), wherein the fore wall faces a second passenger seating area (fig. 9A: business class section 236), and wherein the second monument is spaced from the first monument by the egress path connected to the one or more entry doors (c. 7, ℓ. 55–c. 6, ℓ. 3: convertible area 300 may be at entry way 316; c. 8, ℓ. 34-40, 61-62: the standard use of convertible area 300 is for ingress and egress; see also figs. 10-14).
Fullerton does not discuss many details of the first and second monuments and is silent to displays, electronic screens or in-flight entertainment devices. Accordingly, Fullerton does not specifically teach a display coupled to each of the aft, fore, and first through fourth lateral walls, or a first speaker, first and second lighting assemblies, or a controller in communication with and configured to control these elements.
Johnson teaches an aircraft monument (figs. 5A-5B, 6A-6B: amenity monument 505/605) comprising one longer center wall (partition 410b) connected to two sidewalls (partitions 410a, 410c);
a first display coupled to the center wall (display 540b/640b on partition 410b);
a second display coupled to the first lateral wall (display 540a/640a on partition 410a);
a third display coupled to the second lateral wall (display 540c/640c on partition 410c).
The displays may be used to provide privacy during flight while reverting to a transparent condition during taxi, take-off and landing (c. 6, ℓ. 28-48: in the amenity shown in figs. 5A-5B) or alternatively for other purposes, including providing information about the destination and displaying merchandise available for passengers to purchase (c. 8, ℓ. 5-32: in the amenity shown in figs. 6A-6B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the entry way system of Fullerton with displays coupled to the fore, aft, and first through fourth lateral walls, as taught by Johnson, such as by providing the monuments of Fullerton in the form of amenity monuments using the teachings of Johnson, for the purpose of providing information and entertainment to passengers or providing additional revenue from the sale of merchandise to passengers.
In so doing, the first monument would have first, second and third displays coupled respectively to the aft wall and first and second lateral walls and the second monument would have fourth, fifth and sixth displays coupled respectively to the fore wall and third and fourth lateral walls.
Johnson additionally teaches that amenities may include “video games and other multimedia content such as news and information concerning points of interests at the aircraft destinations” (c. 7, ℓ. 39-50), an interactive system including various accessories, for example headphones, interactive touchscreen displays (c. 9, ℓ. 5-18), or an activity compartment with emitting devices to emit light for the purpose of light therapy, for purposes of tanning or relaxation and wellness (c. 9, ℓ. 30-36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the entry way system of Fullerton with one or more second lighting assemblies coupled to one or both of the first and second monument, as taught by Johnson, such as by providing emitting devices to emit light for the purpose of making available light therapy, such as for the purposes of tanning, relaxation, health and wellness or aromatherapy (Johnson c. 9, ℓ. 30-36).
Thornton teaches an aircraft cabin entertainment system comprising a display controller in communication with a cabin management system “configured to control various cabin environmental functions such as temperature, lighting, galley services, and in-flight entertainment which includes audio, video, interfaces to personal electronic devices, access to media content storage (audio & video files), satellite TV, and moving map equipment as well as access to long-range satellite communications and internet connectivity”, the display controller and cabin management system independently in communication with an audio-video database and the avionics system to provide audio-video information and/or movies to one or more display screens (c. 5, ℓ. 15-45; regarding cabin lighting functions see also c. 3, ℓ. 30-42: “internal cabin lighting”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the teachings of Thornton to provide the entry way system of Fullerton with speakers or coupled to the wall adjacent any or all of the displays, such as in the manner of a soundbar, for the purpose of playing audio information associated with movies or other content delivered to the displays, and to provide the cabin with a first lighting assembly disposed above the monuments by providing internal cabin lighting for the purpose of illuminating the cabin.
It would further have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the entry way system of Fullerton with a control unit in communication with and configured to control the various amenities including the first display, the second display, the third display, the fourth display, the fifth display, the sixth display, the first speaker, the first lighting assembly, and the one or more second lighting assemblies, using the teachings of Thornton, for the purpose of enabling a passenger using the amenities to control the available amenities or to enable the flight crew to control the amenities, for example to prepare the aircraft for landing.
Regarding claims 5 and 15: Fullerton, as modified, provides the entry way system of claim 22 and the aircraft of claim 29, wherein each of the first display and the fourth display may be set to a transparent condition (as modified; Johnson c. 6, ℓ. 34-60), but neither Fullerton nor Johnson specifically discloses a transparent organic light emitting diode (OLED) monitor.
Thornton teaches a display (12) for use inside an aircraft passenger cabin which may comprise “a transparent thin film having associated OLEDs” (c. 3, ℓ. 4-8) or “a transparent OLED panel” (c. 4, ℓ. 54-67). The thin film transparent display may be varied in light transmission (c. 3, ℓ. 9-52) and may be set to a transparent “off condition” such that a person can view clearly through the display panel (c. 5, ℓ. 46-61).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have configured the entry way system of Fullerton, as modified, such that at least each of the first display and the fourth display, or each of the first through sixth displays, comprises a transparent organic light emitting diode (OLED) monitor, using the teachings of Thornton, for the purpose of providing the visual quality and functionality of the OLED displays, such as displaying movies (Thornton c. 5, ℓ. 15-45), while still permitting the display to be set to a transparent condition during taxi, take-off and landing.
Regarding claim 12: Fullerton, as modified, provides the aircraft of claim 29, wherein the first monument and the second monument extend to and between a floor and a ceiling of the internal cabin (Fullerton c. 8, ℓ. 19-21: “room partition assemblies 100 may extend to increased heights, such as from the floor 303 to the ceiling”; c. 8, ℓ. 4-9: partition assemblies 100 are secured to monuments 308, 310 by mounting frames 102, which would require the monuments to extend at least as high as the mounting frames, see also figs. 10-13).
Regarding claim 13: Fullerton, as modified, provides the aircraft of claim 29, wherein the first monument and the second monument are disposed between portions of two aisles within the internal cabin (Fullerton fig. 9A: between aisles 248).
Regarding claim 16: Fullerton, as modified, provides the aircraft of claim 29.
Fullerton does not specifically disclose the first monument comprising: one or more shelves, one or more lighting assemblies, a countertop, one or more storage drawers, a trash bin, a refreshment retainer, or a literature pocket.
Johnson teaches an aircraft amenity monument (fig. 3: 305) comprising:
a countertop and one or more shelves (c. 5, ℓ. 26-42: “various planar surfaces 325 parallel to a cabin floor 320” which support various displays 340; fig. 3: multiple tiers of planar surfaces are shown; the longer, continuous planar surface 325 is considered as a countertop and the planar surfaces and displays above it are considered as shelves);
one or more lighting assemblies (c. 9, ℓ. 30-35: tanning lights; or c. 9, ℓ. 36-43: an interactive floor with fiber optic capabilities to allow for various light effects which may be used in simulations or games).
Advantageously, items shown in the shelves or displays may be stored in storage compartments (c. 4, ℓ. 15-20) for purchase by passengers (c. 4, ℓ. 44-64; see also c. 8, ℓ. 66–c. 9, ℓ. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the first monument of the aircraft of Fullerton, as modified, with a countertop or one or more shelves, using the teachings of Johnson, for the purpose of providing additional space for display or generating additional revenue (Johnson c. 5, ℓ. 4-9), or with one or more lighting assemblies, such as taught by Johnson, for the purpose of providing additional services or amenities to passengers during flight.
Johnson does not specifically disclose and Fullerton, as modified, does not provide a trash bin, literature pocket or refreshment retainer in the first monument, however these limitations are recited in the alternative.
Regarding claims 18 and 19: Fullerton, as modified, provides the aircraft of claim 29.
Fullerton does not specifically disclose the second monument comprising one or more lighting assemblies; a lounge support; or a shelf.
Johnson teaches an aircraft amenity monument (fig. 3: 305) comprising:
one or more lighting assemblies (c. 9, ℓ. 30-35: tanning lights; or c. 9, ℓ. 36-43: an interactive floor with fiber optic capabilities to allow for various light effects which may be used in simulations or games);
a lounge support and a shelf (c. 5, ℓ. 26-42: “various planar surfaces 325 parallel to a cabin floor 320” which support various displays 340; fig. 3: multiple tiers of planar surfaces are shown; the longer, continuous planar surface 325 could support a lounge and may be considered as a lounge support, while the planar surfaces and displays above it are considered as shelves).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have applied the teachings of Johnson to the aircraft of Fullerton, as modified, by providing the second monument with one or more lighting assemblies for the purpose of providing additional services or amenities to passengers during flight, and with a lounge support and a shelf for the purpose of providing additional space for display.
Regarding claim 31: Fullerton, as modified, provides the entry way system of claim 22.
Thornton teaches that the control unit may be controlled by a user input device (Thornton c. 5, ℓ. 4-14), but does not specifically disclose that the control unit may be a user interface secured to the monument. Thornton does separately teach a passenger compartment panel which can include switches or capacitive sensors which “allow for the interface by the passenger with the contents of the display” (Thornton c. 2, ℓ. 55–c. 3, ℓ. 3) and a user input secured to the wall near the display (fig. 3: 22) to control the light transmission through and from the display (Thornton c. 3, ℓ. 4-42).
Johnson also teaches a user input controlling the displays in the form of “an input/output (I/O) device such as a touchscreen video monitor at a passenger suite or flight attendant station” (c. 6, ℓ. 52-60).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the entry way system of Fullerton, as modified, with a user interface in communication the control unit, wherein the user interface and the control unit are secured to one of the first monument or the second monument, using the teachings of Thornton and Johnson, for the purpose of enabling a passenger or flight crew to control the amenities without having to connect with a user handheld device.
Regarding claim 32: Fullerton, as modified, provides the entry way system of claim 22, further comprising a second speaker coupled to the fore wall above or below the fourth display, wherein the control unit is further configured to operation of the second speaker (as modified, each display may have a speaker, and all amenities are controlled by the control unit).
Claim(s) 8 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,875,650 B2 to Fullerton et al. in view of US 10,399,678 B2 to Johnson et al. and US 11,685,505 B2 to Thornton et al. as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of US 11,066,173 B2 to Davis et al. and US 12,304,634 B2 to Rowe et al.
Regarding claims 26-28: Fullerton, as modified, provides the entry way system of claim 22, wherein the first monument further comprises:
a countertop extending along an interior of the aft wall between the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall (as modified; see Johnson figs. 5A-6B: countertop 420).
Fullerton teaches that the convertible area at the entry way may comprise a front galley station (c. 7, ℓ. 9-29) and that the first and second monuments may be galleys (c. 7, ℓ. 55-64), but does not specifically disclose:
one or more shelves coupled to interior surfaces of the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall;
one or more storage drawers movably secured under the countertop;
a trash bin mounted underneath the countertop; and
a refreshment retainer disposed within the countertop.
Johnson teaches an amenity monument (fig. 3: 305) comprising:
one or more shelves (325) coupled to interior surfaces of the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall (c. 5, ℓ. 26-42: “various planar surfaces 325 parallel to a cabin floor 320” which support various displays 340; multiple tiers of shelves are shown in fig. 3, such that at least one shelf is present in addition to the countertop); and
one or more storage compartments (140) secured under the countertop (125).
Advantageously, items shown in the shelves or displays may be stored in the storage compartments (c. 4, ℓ. 15-20) and the monument may be configured to dispense physical items from the storage compartments when purchased by a passenger (c. 4, ℓ. 44-64; see also c. 8, ℓ. 66–c. 9, ℓ. 4).
The shelves (fig. 3) and storage compartments (fig. 1) are not shown in the amenity monument having dimmable glass panel displays (figs. 5A-5B) or touchscreen displays (figs. 6A-6B) mounted in each of the walls, however Johnson does state that features or functions disclosed in connection with one embodiment may be used in other disclosed embodiments unless the feature or function is incompatible (c. 3, ℓ. 59–c. 4, ℓ. 3). At least one shelf is shown on each lateral wall in addition to a countertop which extends along the interior of the center wall between the lateral walls (see fig. 3) and the wall-mounted displays are shown to be spaced a distance above the countertop (see figs. 5A, 6A), while the storage compartments are disclosed more generally (c. 9, ℓ. 19-20) and the space beneath the counter is depicted generically in the other amenity monuments (figs. 3-6B). Accordingly, the shelves and storage compartments are not incompatible with the amenity monuments having displays coupled to each wall.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the amenity monuments of the entry way system of Fullerton, as modified, with one or more shelves coupled to interior surfaces of at least the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall, and one or more storage compartments movably secured under the countertop, using the teachings of Johnson, for the purpose of providing additional space for display and storage, or for the purpose of displaying and storing items for sale during flight.
Johnson does not specifically disclose and Fullerton, as modified, does not provide:
a trash bin mounted underneath, or a refreshment retainer disposed within, the countertop of the first monument; or
a lounge support extending along the fore wall between the third lateral wall and the fourth lateral wall, wherein the lounge support is cushioned; and a literature pocket in the shelf of the second monument.
Further, while Johnson states that “storage compartments 140 have doors that swing or slide open, but the doors may alternately slidably retract and protrude towards the aisle” (c. 4, ℓ. 45-48) such that the storage compartment doors are movably secured in the same manner as drawers, Johnson does not explicitly teach that the storage compartments with slidably retracting doors are drawers.
Davis teaches an amenity monument in an aircraft passenger cabin (c. 1, ℓ. 13-17), which may comprise:
one or more storage drawers (812) movably secured under a countertop (c. 5, ℓ. 53-59: second panel 812 may be a drawer located beneath top surface 820, see fig. 8);
a well (960) disposed within a working surface or countertop (920) and configured for retaining items including beverage containers (c. 5, ℓ. 60-67, see fig. 9); and
a lounge support (130) extending along a central wall between two lateral walls (see fig. 1), wherein the lounge support is cushioned (c. 2, ℓ. 65–c. 3, ℓ. 9: cushioned surfaces of seat bottom 134 and seat back 132).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have applied the teachings of Davis to the aircraft of Fullerton, as modified by Johnson, such that the amenity monuments each comprise:
a cushioned lounge support extending along the center wall and between the lateral walls; and
a storage well disposed in the respective working surfaces;
for the purpose of providing readily accessible storage for beverages or other items and increasing the amenities available to passengers to increase or facilitate passenger comfort and enjoyment.
In so doing, a refreshment retainer would be disposed within the countertop of the first monument and a literature pocket would be disposed in the shelf of the second monument.
Further, using the teachings of Davis, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated the storage compartments of Johnson in the form of drawers, in order to provide easier access to the contents of the storage compartments.
Regarding claim 8: Fullerton, as modified, provides the entry way system of claim 27.
Johnson teaches that the amenity cabinet may comprise one or more lighting assemblies, such as tanning lights (c. 9, ℓ. 30-35) or an interactive floor with fiber optic capabilities to allow for various light effects which may be used in simulations or games (c. 9, ℓ. 36-43).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the monuments of the entry way system of Fullerton, as modified, with one or more lighting assemblies, such as taught by Johnson, for the purpose of providing additional services or amenities to passengers during flight.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,875,650 B2 to Fullerton et al. in view of US 10,399,678 B2 to Johnson et al. and US 11,685,505 B2 to Thornton et al., as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of US 2014/0125092 A1 to Schreuder et al.
Regarding claim 17: Fullerton, as modified, provides the aircraft of claim 29.
Fullerton does not specifically disclose the first monument comprising: one or more shelves, one or more lighting assemblies, a countertop, one or more storage drawers, a trash bin, a refreshment retainer, or a literature pocket.
Johnson teaches an aircraft amenity monument (fig. 3: 305) comprising:
a countertop and one or more shelves (c. 5, ℓ. 26-42: “various planar surfaces 325 parallel to a cabin floor 320” which support various displays 340; fig. 3: multiple tiers of planar surfaces are shown in fig. 3, the longer, continuous planar surface 325 is considered as a countertop and the planar surfaces and displays above it are considered as shelves);
one or more lighting assemblies (c. 9, ℓ. 30-35: tanning lights; or c. 9, ℓ. 36-43: an interactive floor with fiber optic capabilities to allow for various light effects which may be used in simulations or games);
one or more storage compartments (140) which may have doors that “slidably retract and protrude towards the aisle” (c. 4, ℓ. 45-48).
Advantageously, items shown in the shelves or displays may be stored in the storage compartments (c. 4, ℓ. 15-20) and the monument may be configured to dispense physical items from the storage compartments when purchased by a passenger (c. 4, ℓ. 44-64; see also c. 8, ℓ. 66–c. 9, ℓ. 4).
The shelves (fig. 3) and storage compartments (fig. 1) are not shown in the amenity monument having dimmable glass panel displays (figs. 5A-5B) or touchscreen displays (figs. 6A-6B) mounted in each of the walls, however Johnson does state that features or functions disclosed in connection with one embodiment may be used in other disclosed embodiments unless the feature or function is incompatible (c. 3, ℓ. 59–c. 4, ℓ. 3). At least one shelf is shown on each lateral wall in addition to a countertop which extends along the interior of the center wall between the lateral walls (see fig. 3) and the wall-mounted displays are shown to be spaced a distance above the countertop (see figs. 5A, 6A), while the storage compartments are disclosed more generally (c. 9, ℓ. 19-20) and the space beneath the counter is depicted generically in the other amenity monuments (figs. 3-6B). Accordingly, the shelves and storage compartments are not incompatible with the amenity monuments having displays coupled to each wall.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the first monument of the aircraft of Fullerton, as modified, with a countertop, one or more shelves, and one or more storage compartments movably secured under the countertop, using the teachings of Johnson, for the purpose of providing additional space for display and storage or generating additional revenue (Johnson c. 5, ℓ. 4-9), and to have provided the first monument of the aircraft of Fullerton, as modified, with one or more lighting assemblies, such as taught by Johnson, for the purpose of providing additional services or amenities to passengers during flight.
Johnson does not specifically disclose and Fullerton, as modified, does not provide a trash bin, literature pocket or refreshment retainer in the first monument. Further, Johnson does not explicitly teach that the storage compartments with slidably retracting doors are drawers.
Schreuder teaches an aircraft amenity monument (¶ 0004, abstract) comprising:
a trash bin (¶ 0017, fig. 8: waste compartment 68);
a refreshment retainer (¶ 0024: component 82 may be a beverage chiller); and
a literature pocket (¶ 0035, fig. 8: magazine rack 76).
Additionally, Schreuder discloses that “[t]he compartments may be positioned on a drawer-like system with a rail and roller design, such that they can slide out together or individually for access” (¶ 0033), such that Schreuder may be relied upon for the teaching of drawers or drawer mountings.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have applied the teachings of Schreuder to the aircraft of Fullerton, as modified, by providing the first monument with a trash bin for the purpose of enabling passengers using the amenity monument to dispose of trash, and with a refreshment retainer and literature pocket for the purpose of purpose of providing storage for beverages and magazines.
Further, using the teachings of Schreuder, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated the storage compartments of Johnson in the form of drawers, in order to provide easier access to the contents of the storage compartments.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,875,650 B2 to Fullerton et al. in view of US 10,399,678 B2 to Johnson et al., US 11,685,505 B2 to Thornton et al., US 11,066,173 B2 to Davis et al. and US 12,304,634 B2 to Rowe et al.
Item A (copied): Fullerton Fig. 11, with examiner annotations indicating consideration of monuments (M) and lateral walls (LW)
Regarding claim 30: Fullerton teaches an aircraft (200) comprising:
an internal cabin (fig. 9A: 230 / fig. 10: 302) having an egress path (cross aisle 306) connected to one or more entry doors (c. 7, ℓ. 55–c. 6, ℓ. 3: convertible area 300 may be at an entry way 316; c. 8, ℓ. 34-40, 61-62: the standard use of convertible area 300 is for ingress and egress; see also figs. 10-14); and
an entry way system (fig. 9A: entry way 231; fig. 10: entry way 316) within the internal cabin, wherein the entry way system comprises:
a first monument (308) comprising:
an aft wall connected to a first lateral wall and a second lateral wall (as shown by examiner annotations to fig. 11 in Item A, a copy of which is provided again below), wherein the aft wall faces a first passenger seating area (fig. 9A: seating area 240);
a second monument (310) comprising:
a fore wall connected to a third lateral wall and a fourth lateral wall (as indicated in Item A), wherein the fore wall faces a second passenger seating area (fig. 9A: seating area 236),
wherein the second monument is spaced from the first monument by the egress path connected to the one or more entry doors (see figs. 10-14).
Fullerton does not discuss many details of the first and second monuments and is silent to displays, monitors electronic screens or in-flight entertainment devices. Accordingly, Fullerton does not specifically teach a display coupled to each of the aft, fore, and first through fourth lateral walls, the first and fourth displays disposed within recesses of the aft and fore walls, or a first speaker, first and second lighting assemblies, or a controller in communication with and configured to control these elements.
Johnson teaches an aircraft monument (figs. 5A-5B, 6A-6B: amenity monument 505/605) comprising one longer center wall (partition 410b) connected to two sidewalls (partitions 410a, 410c);
a first display (540b/640b) disposed within a recess formed between and through a front surface and a rear surface of the center wall (c. 6, ℓ. 40-42: the electrically dimmable glass panel displays 540a-540c are supported by partitions 410a-410c, and in figs. 5A-5B the panels 540a-540c are shown recessed from the outside surfaces of the wall; c. 6, ℓ. 28-47: the dimmable panel displays are transparent during taxi, take-off and landing and opaque during flight to provide privacy, indicating that the recess is formed through the wall2);
a second display coupled to the first lateral wall (display 540a/640a on partition 410a);
a third display coupled to the second lateral wall (display 540c/640c on partition 410c);
a countertop or shelf extending along an interior of the center wall between the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall, which is secured to the center wall and one or both of the lateral walls (c. 6, ℓ. 5-16: planar surfaces 420; figs. 5A-6B: planar surface 420 is shown to extend along partition 410b from partition 410a to partition 410c).
The displays may be used to provide privacy during flight while reverting to a transparent condition during taxi, take-off and landing (c. 6, ℓ. 28-48: in the amenity shown in figs. 5A-5B) or alternatively for other purposes, including providing information about the destination and displaying merchandise available for passengers to purchase (c. 8, ℓ. 5-32: in the amenity shown in figs. 6A-6B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the aircraft of Fullerton with displays coupled to the fore, aft, and first through fourth lateral walls, the first and fourth displays disposed within recesses of the aft and fore walls, and a countertop or shelf extending along an interior of the fore and aft walls between the lateral walls, as taught by Johnson, such as by providing the monuments of Fullerton in the form of amenity monuments using the teachings of Johnson, for the purpose of providing information and entertainment to passengers or providing additional revenue from the sale of merchandise to passengers.
In so doing, the first monument would have a first display disposed within a first recess of the aft wall, second and third displays coupled respectively to first and second lateral walls, and a countertop planar surface extending along an interior of the aft wall between the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall; and the second monument would have a fourth display disposed within a second recess of the fore wall, fifth and sixth displays coupled respectively to third and fourth lateral walls, and a shelf planar surface secured to the fore wall and one or both of the third lateral wall or the fourth lateral wall.
Johnson additionally teaches that amenities may include “video games and other multimedia content such as news and information concerning points of interests at the aircraft destinations” (c. 7, ℓ. 39-50), an interactive system including various accessories, for example headphones, interactive touchscreen displays (c. 9, ℓ. 5-18), or an activity compartment with emitting devices to emit light for the purpose of light therapy, for purposes of tanning or relaxation and wellness (c. 9, ℓ. 30-36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the entry way system of Fullerton with one or more second lighting assemblies coupled to one or both of the first and second monument, as taught by Johnson, such as by providing emitting devices to emit light for the purpose of making available light therapy, such as for the purposes of tanning, relaxation, health and wellness or aromatherapy (Johnson c. 9, ℓ. 30-36).
Johnson discloses that the displays may be set to a transparent condition (Johnson c. 6, ℓ. 34-60), but neither Fullerton nor Johnson specifically discloses a transparent organic light emitting diode (OLED) monitor.
Thornton teaches a display (12) for use inside an aircraft passenger cabin which may comprise “a transparent thin film having associated OLEDs” (c. 3, ℓ. 4-8) or “a transparent OLED panel” (c. 4, ℓ. 54-67). The thin film transparent display may be varied in light transmission (c. 3, ℓ. 9-52) and may be set to a transparent “off condition” such that a person can view clearly through the display panel (c. 5, ℓ. 46-61).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have configured the entry way system of Fullerton, as modified, such that at least each of the first display and the fourth display comprises a transparent organic light emitting diode (OLED) monitor, using the teachings of Thornton, for the purpose of providing the visual quality and functionality of the OLED displays, such as displaying movies (Thornton c. 5, ℓ. 15-45), while still permitting the display to be set to a transparent condition during taxi, take-off and landing.
Thornton additionally teaches an aircraft cabin entertainment system comprising a display controller in communication with a cabin management system “configured to control various cabin environmental functions such as temperature, lighting, galley services, and in-flight entertainment which includes audio, video, interfaces to personal electronic devices, access to media content storage (audio & video files), satellite TV, and moving map equipment as well as access to long-range satellite communications and internet connectivity”, the display controller and cabin management system independently in communication with an audio-video database and the avionics system to provide audio-video information and/or movies to one or more display screens (c. 5, ℓ. 15-45; regarding cabin lighting functions see also c. 3, ℓ. 30-42: “internal cabin lighting”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the teachings of Thornton to provide the entry way system of Fullerton with speakers or coupled to the wall adjacent any or all of the displays, such as in the manner of a soundbar, for the purpose of playing audio information associated with movies or other content delivered to the displays, and to provide the cabin with a first lighting assembly disposed above the monuments by providing internal cabin lighting for the purpose of illuminating the cabin.
It would further have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the entry way system of Fullerton with a control unit in communication with and configured to control the various amenities including the first display, the second display, the third display, the fourth display, the fifth display, the sixth display, the first speaker, the first lighting assembly, and the one or more second lighting assemblies, using the teachings of Thornton, for the purpose of enabling a passenger using the amenities to control the available amenities or to enable the flight crew to control the amenities, for example to prepare the aircraft for landing.
Fullerton teaches that the convertible area at the entry way may comprise a front galley station (c. 7, ℓ. 9-29) and that the first and second monuments may be galleys (c. 7, ℓ. 55-64), but does not specifically disclose:
the first monument comprising: one or more shelves coupled to interior surfaces of the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall;
one or more storage drawers movably secured under the countertop;
a trash bin mounted underneath the countertop; and a refreshment retainer disposed within the countertop;
the second monument comprising: a lounge support extending along the fore wall between the third lateral wall and the fourth lateral wall, wherein the lounge support is cushioned; and
a literature pocket in the shelf.
Johnson teaches an aircraft amenity monument (fig. 3: 305) comprising:
one or more shelves (325) coupled to interior surfaces of the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall (c. 5, ℓ. 26-42: “various planar surfaces 325 parallel to a cabin floor 320” which support various displays 340; multiple tiers of shelves are shown in fig. 3, such that at least one shelf is present in addition to the countertop); and
one or more storage compartments (140) secured under the countertop (125).
Advantageously, items shown in the shelves or displays may be stored in the storage compartments (c. 4, ℓ. 15-20) and the monument may be configured to dispense physical items from the storage compartments when purchased by a passenger (c. 4, ℓ. 44-64; see also c. 8, ℓ. 66–c. 9, ℓ. 4).
The shelves (fig. 3) and storage compartments (fig. 1) are not shown in the amenity monument having dimmable glass panel displays (figs. 5A-5B) or touchscreen displays (figs. 6A-6B) mounted in each of the walls, however Johnson does state that features or functions disclosed in connection with one embodiment may be used in other disclosed embodiments unless the feature or function is incompatible (c. 3, ℓ. 59–c. 4, ℓ. 3). At least one shelf is shown on each lateral wall in addition to a countertop which extends along the interior of the center wall between the lateral walls (see fig. 3) and the wall-mounted displays are shown to be spaced a distance above the countertop (see figs. 5A, 6A), while the storage compartments are disclosed more generally (c. 9, ℓ. 19-20) and the space beneath the counter is depicted generically in the other amenity monuments (figs. 3-6B). Accordingly, the shelves and storage compartments are not incompatible with the amenity monuments having displays coupled to each wall.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the amenity monuments of the aircraft of Fullerton, as modified, with one or more shelves coupled to interior surfaces of at least the first lateral wall and the second lateral wall, and one or more storage compartments movably secured under the countertop, using the teachings of Johnson, for the purpose of providing additional space for display and storage or generating additional revenue (Johnson c. 5, ℓ. 4-9).
Johnson does not specifically disclose and Fullerton, as modified, does not provide:
a trash bin mounted underneath, or a refreshment retainer disposed within, the countertop of the first monument; or
a lounge support extending along the fore wall between the third lateral wall and the fourth lateral wall, wherein the lounge support is cushioned; and a literature pocket in the shelf of the second monument.
Further, while Johnson states that “storage compartments 140 have doors that swing or slide open, but the doors may alternately slidably retract and protrude towards the aisle” (c. 4, ℓ. 45-48) such that the storage compartment doors are movably secured in the same manner as drawers, Johnson does not explicitly teach that the storage compartments with slidably retracting doors are drawers.
Davis teaches an amenity monument in an aircraft passenger cabin (c. 1, ℓ. 13-17), which may comprise:
one or more storage drawers (812) movably secured under a countertop (c. 5, ℓ. 53-59: second panel 812 may be a drawer located beneath top surface 820, see fig. 8);
a well (960) disposed within a working surface or countertop (920) and configured for retaining items including beverage containers (c. 5, ℓ. 60-67, see fig. 9);
a lounge support (130) extending along a central wall between two lateral walls (see fig. 1), wherein the lounge support is cushioned (c. 2, ℓ. 65–c. 3, ℓ. 9: cushioned surfaces of seat bottom 134 and seat back 132).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have applied the teachings of Davis to the aircraft of Fullerton, as modified by Johnson, such that the amenity monuments each comprise:
a cushioned lounge support extending along the center wall and between the lateral walls; and
a storage well disposed in the respective working surfaces;
for the purpose of providing readily accessible storage for beverages or other items and increasing the amenities available to passengers to increase or facilitate passenger comfort and enjoyment.
In so doing, a refreshment retainer would be disposed within the countertop of the first monument and a literature pocket would be disposed in the shelf of the second monument.
Further, using the teachings of Davis, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated the storage compartments of Johnson in the form of drawers, in order to provide easier access to the contents of the storage compartments.
Davis does not specifically disclose and Fullerton, as modified, does not provide a trash bin mounted underneath the countertop.
Rowe teaches that it is known to provide an amenity monument in an aircraft passenger cabin (c. 2, ℓ. 50-59, c. 6, ℓ. 11-32) with a trash bin (121) mounted underneath a countertop (c. 3, ℓ. 27-39, fig. 1: trash bin 121 is underneath lower supporting surface 175).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have provided the aircraft of Fullerton, as modified, with a trash bin mounted underneath the countertop, using the teachings of Rowe, for the purpose of enabling passengers using the amenity monument to dispose of trash.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 7, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts (Remarks, page 11) that a third display on the second lateral wall is shown in figure 4. However, th only one lateral wall 228 is visible in fig. 4. Figure 9 shows the other side of the monuments, with monument 222 having a much shorted lateral wall 228; this wall is labeled in figure 5 but not is not shown to have a display.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2, 5, 8, 10, 12-13, 15-16, 18-20, 22-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Richard Green/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647
1 Johnson states that “[s]eating dead space in the middle of the cabin must generally be avoided” and that monument positions within the cabin are limited as “safety guidelines require flight attendants to have line of sight across the cabin during take-off and landing” (c. 1, ℓ. 32-47), while the disclosed amenity monument may be installed in the middle of a cabin space, increasing available seating layouts, and “may be equipped with dimmable panels that are set to a transparent condition during taxi, take-off and landing” and later set to an opaque condition to provide privacy (c. 1, ℓ. 54-66), which feature is also disclosed in conjunction with the amenity monument of figs. 5A-5B (c. 6, ℓ. 28-47). Accordingly, the dimmable glass panels must be positioned within an aperture in the wall, or else the transparent condition would not permit flight attendants to have line of sight across the cabin, and the opaque condition would not be necessary for privacy.
2 see footnote 2 above, regarding claims 23 and 24.