DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2009/113700 (henceforth WO ‘700).
WO ‘700 teaches a two-component developer comprising magnetic carrier particles and toner particles (Abstract). While WO ‘700 does not teach an apparent density of the combined two component developer, the apparent density of the magnetic carrier particles and the toner concentration in the two-component developer are taught to be the same as taught by the Applicant to result in an apparent density of the two-component developer recited in pending claim 1. Namely, WO ‘700 teaches that the carrier particles have an apparent density of 1.55 to 1.90 g/cm3 ([0052]) while the Applicant teaches that the apparent density of the carrier particles should be 1.7 to 2.0 g/cm3 (see [0148] of the instant specification). Furthermore, WO ‘700 teaches that the toner concentration should be between 2 and 15 mass% in order to optimize the image density and reduce fogging or scattering of the toner during image formation ([0090]). As the developer is taught by WO ‘700 to include a toner concentration of 4% by mass and the carrier particles are taught to have the same apparent density as taught by the Applicant, the two-component developer of WO ‘700 is understood to inherently possess an apparent density within the range recited in pending claim 1.
WO ‘700 teaches that in embodiments at an applied voltage of 600 V the carrier has a specific resistance of 2.04 GΩcm (see Table 6, [0209]). However, contrary to the range recited in pending claim 1 the specific resistance of the magnetic core of the carrier is taught to be less than 5 x 108 Ωcm at an applied voltage of 1000 V (Abstract). This value is the carrier core prior to coating and filling of voids with a resin. WO ‘700 further teaches that the magnetic carrier can be coated with a resin to obtain a desired specific resistance at which the carrier comes close to undergo breakdown ([0035]). As such, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to have optimized the specific resistance of the two-component developer of WO ‘700 utilizing the resin coating in order to improve the resistance value at an applied voltage of 1000 V.
The two-component developer is further taught to comprise a toner ([0057]) which comprises an external additive affixed to the surface thereof ([0083]). The external additives are taught to have a particle size in the range of 80 to 200 nm ([0083]) and may be alumina particles ([0083]). The content of the external additives is taught to be from 0.3 to 5.0 parts by mass of the toner particles ([0085]), but WO ‘700 does not teach a coverage ratio of the external additives on the toner surface. The toner is further taught to have a weight average particle diameter of 3 to 10 micrometers ([0012]).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2009/113700 (henceforth WO ‘700) in view of Yamashita et al. (US PGP 2021/0382406).
The complete discussion of the other reference above is included herein. WO ‘700 does not teach a coverage rate of the external additive particle on the toner surface.
Yamashita teaches a toner comprising toner mother particles and external additive particles ([0043]). Furthermore, the coverage ratio of the external additive particles on the toner mother particles is taught to be 20 area% or more to 70 area % or less ([0045]). Controlling the coverage ratio to a value within this range is taught to optimize fixing strength ([0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the instant application to have imparted the coverage ratio of Yamashita to the toner of WO ‘700 as modified above in order to optimize the fixing strength of the toner particles.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2009/113700 (henceforth WO ‘700) in view of Niwa (US PGP 2008/0241719).
The complete discussion of the other reference above is included herein. WO ‘700 does not teach an apparent viscosity of the toner particles.
Niwa teaches a toner comprising an apparent viscosity of from 50,000 to 300,000 Pa*s (abstract). Additionally, imparting the toner with an apparent viscosity within this range is taught to balance low-temperature fixing ability with hot offset resistance in the toner ([0016-19]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the instant application to have imparted the apparent viscosity of Niwa to the toner of WO ‘700 as modified above in order to optimize the fixing strength of the toner particles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 07/10/2026