DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 5-12, filed December 17, 2025, with respect to claims 1, 3-9, and 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Non-Final Rejection filed on September 26, 2025, of claims 1-18 has been withdrawn. Below please find the new Non Final Rejection. The examiner apologizes for any inconvenience this may have cause.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “third portion” and “fourth portion”, must be shown and labeled with a reference number or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the electrical cable including a third portion being encapsulated in the insulation material and forming a distal end (Figs 3A-3F), does not reasonably provide enablement for the third portion being encapsulated in the insulation material and forming a terminal end. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make/use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. Specifically, it is unclear how a terminal end can be formed with the presence of an insulation layer, when it is known in the art that the terminal end should be free of insulation in order for the electrical connection between the terminal and the conductor should be made. The specification specifies that the terminal end of the invention is denoted by reference number 260 (Paragraph 34), which discloses Figures 4A-4E and illustrates the terminal end being free of insulation, not the third portion of which is illustrated in Figures 3A-3E. The applicant should refer to the end of the third portion encapsulated in the insulation as the distal end to be consistent with the specification and drawings.
Claims 1, 3-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a second opposite end" in line 4, which is confusing and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what second opposite end the applicant is referring to since there has been no mention of a first end in previous lines of the claims. Is the applicant referring to the previous mentioned “first end area” and introducing a new --second opposite end area--. If the applicant is referring to the previous mentioned term, then he/she should recite the terms with consistency. If the applicant is referring to a new –second opposite end area, then he/she should the claims as such.
Treatment of the Claims
The examiner assumes that the applicant intends to refer that “the third portion encapsulated in the insulation material forms a distal end” rather than a terminal end.
The examiner assumes that the applicant intends to refer to the cable having “a first end” and “a second end” to provide the claims with clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mathews et al (Pub Num 2021/0044071, herein referred to as Matthews). Mathews discloses high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 1-7B) for usage with a motor vehicle, wherein the stranded conductor is mechanically compacted to form a terminal (abstract), wherein forming the terminal from the stranded conductor reduces assembling steps, reduces installation space and overall weight, thereby reducing production cost (Paragraph 13). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Mathews discloses a high voltage high current electrical cable (2, Figs 1a-1c) comprising a plurality of strands (4) forming the electrical cable (2, Paragraph 52), wherein the electrical cable (2) includes a first end (left end) and a second opposite end (right end), wherein the first end (left end) includes a first portion (located at left insulation 6), a second portion (located at 10), and third portion (located at right 6), wherein the third portion (located at right 6) is encapsulated in the insulation material (right 6) and forming a distal end (Fig 1b), wherein the second portion (located at 10) is between the first portion (located at left 6) and the third portion (located at right 6), wherein the first portion (located at left 6) of the cable (2) is encapsulated in an insulation material (left 6) and the second portion (located at 10) is free of the insulation material (Paragraph 55-56), wherein the plurality of strands (4) in the second portion (located at 10) are sized and shaped and fused together into an integrated connection terminal (10, Paragraphs 57-58), wherein the integrated connection terminal (10) consisting of the fused together plurality of strands (4) such that the first end (left end) of the electrical cable (2) is free from a separate terminal component (10) being coupled thereto (Fig 2), a first transition portion (tapered area left of 10, Fig 1c) between the first portion (located at left 6) and the second portion (located at 10), and a second transition portion (tapered area right of 10, Fig 1c) between the second portion (located at 10) and the third portion (located at right 6), wherein an average width of the first and second transition portions (left and right tapered areas adjacent 10) are greater than a width of the first portion (located at left 6, Fig 2) and third portions (located at right 6, Fig 2) and less than a width of the second portion (located at 10, Fig 2), wherein the strands (4) of the first and second transition portions (left and right tapered areas adjacent 10) are free of being fused together (i.e. transition portions are unbonded, Fig 2) and the second portion (10) includes a rectangular shape in cross section (Fig 2) having at least flat and parallel upper and lower opposed faces and parallel side faces (Fig 2), and the first and third portions (located at left and right 6, respectively) are circular shaped in cross section (Fig 2, Paragraph 57). With respect to claims 5-6, Mathews discloses that the plurality of strands (4) are fused together via ultrasonic welding (Paragraph 58). With respect to claim 7, Mathews discloses that integrated connection terminal (10, Fig 7a) comprises a flat configuration for connection to a receiving component (12b, Fig 7a). With respect to claim 8, Mathews discloses that the plurality of strands (4) in the second portion (located at 10) are sized and shaped and fused together into an integrated connection terminal (10) forming an aperture (22) therein (Fig 7b). With respect to claim 9, Mathews discloses that the cable (2) further comprises a fourth portion (area located between adjacent left 6 and first transition portion (left tapered areas adjacent 10)) after the first portion (located at left 6) and before the second portion (located at 10), wherein the fourth portion (area located between adjacent left 6 and first transition portion (left tapered areas adjacent 10)) being free of the insulation material (6) and including the plurality of strands (4) in an unfused state (Fig 1c), wherein the fourth portion (area located between adjacent left 6 and first transition portion (left tapered areas adjacent 10)) includes a circular shape in cross-section (Fig 2). With respect to claim 13, Mathews discloses that the integrated connection terminal (10) forms a plate-like structure consisting only of the fused together plurality of strands (2, Fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathews (Pub Num 2021/0044071). Mathews discloses high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 1-7B) for usage with a motor vehicle, wherein the stranded conductor is mechanically compacted to form a terminal (abstract), wherein forming the terminal from the stranded conductor reduces assembling steps, reduces installation space and overall weight, thereby reducing production cost (Paragraph 13), as disclosed with respect to claim 1.
While Mathews discloses the plurality of strands (4) being covered with an insulation material (6) in the third portion (located at right 6), Matthews doesn’t necessarily disclose the plurality of strands in the third portion being recessed inside the insulation material (claim 3), nor the recessed plurality of strands are secured to each other and the insulation with an adhesive (claim 4).
With respect to claim 3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the plurality of strands in the third portion of Mathews to be recessed in the insulation, since it has been held that a change in form cannot sustain patentability where involved is only extended application of obvious attributes from a prior art. In re Span-Deck Inc. vs. Fab-Con Inc. (CA 8, 1982) 215 USPQ 835.
With respect to claim 4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the plurality of stranded conductors in the recessed portion of modified Mathews to be held by an adhesive, since it is well known in the art of cables that adhesive, such as EVA, EEA, etc., are commonly utilized in the art to contain stranded conductors side by side for the purpose of simplifying terminations and connections to terminals by controlling the spacing and arrangement of the plurality of stranded conductors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose cables being formed by fusing the stranded conductors to form terminals.
This action is a Non-Final Rejection.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
December 30, 2025