DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/29/2024, 03/13/2024, 05/14/2025, 06/06/2025, 09/16/2025, 11/10/2025, and 12/31/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (US 20220201282 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (US 20220201282 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Cheng teaches: An image decoding device comprising a circuit, wherein the circuit (Paragraph 2, “This application is generally related to video encoding and decoding. For example, aspects of the present disclosure relate to systems and techniques for performing overlapped block motion compensation.”):
decodes control information and a quantized value (Paragraph 89, “For example, the quantization level may be integer accuracy (e.g., 1-pixel) or fractional-pel accuracy (e.g., ¼-pixel, ½-pixel, or other sub-pixel value). Interpolation is applied on reference pictures to derive the prediction signal when the corresponding motion vector has fractional sample accuracy. For example, samples available at integer positions can be filtered (e.g., using one or more interpolation filters) to estimate values at fractional positions. The previously decoded reference picture is indicated by a reference index (refIdx) to a reference picture list.”);
obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value (Paragraph 217, “Inverse quantization unit 86 inverse quantizes, or de-quantizes, the quantized transform coefficients provided in the bitstream and decoded by entropy decoding unit 80.”);
obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient (Paragraph 218, “After motion compensation unit 82 generates the predictive block for the current video block based on the motion vectors and other syntax elements, the decoding device 112 forms a decoded video block by summing the residual blocks from inverse transform processing unit 88 with the corresponding predictive blocks generated by motion compensation unit 82.”);
generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information (Paragraph 237 and 238, Paragraph 237 states “based on a determination to use a decoder side motion vector refinement (DMVR) mode, a subblock-based temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) mode, or an affine motion compensation prediction mode for the current subblock, determine to perform a subblock-boundary OBMC mode for the current subblock.” Wherein OBMC mode is then discussed in Paragraph 238 for “a first prediction associated with the current subblock, a second prediction associated with a first OBMC block adjacent to a top border of the current subblock, a third prediction associated with a second OBMC block adjacent to a left border of the current subblock, a fourth prediction associated with a third OBMC block adjacent to a bottom border of the current subblock,”);
accumulates the decoded sample (Paragraph 218, “After motion compensation unit 82 generates the predictive block for the current video block based on the motion vectors and other syntax elements, the decoding device 112 forms a decoded video block by summing the residual blocks from inverse transform processing unit 88 with the corresponding predictive blocks generated by motion compensation unit 82.);
generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information (Paragraph 238, “a second prediction associated with a first OBMC block adjacent to a top border of the current subblock, a third prediction associated with a second OBMC block adjacent to a left border of the current subblock,);
generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (Paragraph 237 and 238, Paragraph 237 states “based on a determination to use a decoder side motion vector refinement (DMVR) mode, a subblock-based temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) mode, or an affine motion compensation prediction mode for the current subblock, determine to perform a subblock-boundary OBMC mode for the current subblock.” Wherein OBMC mode is then discussed in Paragraph 238 for “a first prediction associated with the current subblock, a second prediction associated with a first OBMC block adjacent to a top border of the current subblock, a third prediction associated with a second OBMC block adjacent to a left border of the current subblock, a fourth prediction associated with a third OBMC block adjacent to a bottom border of the current subblock,”); and
obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample (Paragraph 239, “wherein each of the second weight, the third weight, the fourth weight, and the fifth weight comprises one or more weight values associated with one or more samples from a corresponding subblock of the current subblock, wherein a sum of weight values of corner samples of the current subblock is larger than a sum of weight values of other boundary samples of the current subblock.”).
Regarding Claim 2:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein
the circuit prepares the plurality of weighting coefficients by which a width of a division boundary of a small area is different and selects the weighting coefficients (Paragraph 142, Combination of neighboring subblocks and weights for a prediction block based on the height or width of coding blocks) .
Regarding Claim 3:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein
the circuit limits combinations of the selectable weighting coefficients according to a shape of a decoding target block (Paragraph 78, Coding unit (CU) is generated based on the size and shape. These are then later transformed into different transform and weighted coefficients).
Regarding Claim 4:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 3, and further teaches wherein
the circuit limits combinations of the selectable weighting coefficients according to at least one of a short side of the decoding target block, a long side of the decoding target block, an aspect ratio of the decoding target block, a division mode of the decoding target block (Paragraph 152, “An example sum of the weighting factors from neighboring OBMC subblocks (e.g., w2+w3+w4+w5) for a 4×4 current subblock can be as shown in table 700 shown in FIG. 7. In some cases, the weighting factors can be left-shifted to avoid division operations, which can increase compute complexity/burden and/or create inconsistencies in results”), or the number of samples of the decoding target block (Paragraph 239, Weight values associated with block are based on the number of corresponding subblocks to generate a weight).
Regarding Claim 5:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 1, wherein
the circuit limits combinations of the selectable weighting coefficients according to a motion vector (Paragraph 98, Quantized transform coefficients include information made from motion vectors for prediction).
Regarding Claim 6:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 1, wherein
the circuit limits combinations of the selectable weighting coefficients according to a length of a motion vector of a small area or resolution of the motion vector (Paragraph 92, a vertical, horizontal, and resolution component of the motion vector is considered in generation of coefficient).
Regarding Claim 7:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 5, wherein
the circuit limits combinations of the selectable weighting coefficients according to an angle relationship between the motion vector and a division boundary (Paragraph 88, Angle relationship is identified for prediction models by the encoder/decoder that generates coefficients).
Regarding Claim 8:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 1, wherein the
circuit limits the selectable weighting coefficients according to an exposure time or a frame rate (Paragraph 132, Describes generation of motion vectors in relation to presentation time and Paragraph 106 describes accounting for various factors such as frame rate when coded/decoded in/by a codec).
Regarding Claim 9:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 1, wherein
the circuit limits the selectable weighting coefficients according to a method of predicting a small area (Fig. 2A, 3A, and 5 all show prediction of a coefficient in a small area).
Regarding Claim 10:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 1, wherein
the circuit limits the selectable weighting coefficients according to a quantized parameter (Paragraph 213, Entropy decoding unit for quantized coefficients wherein a parameter is set by using VPS, SPS, and PPS).
Regarding Claim 11:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 1, wherein
the circuit limits combinations of a selectable weighting coefficients of a decoding target block according to control information of a block near the decoding target block (Fig. 6, Information from surrounding blocks to control prediction block of the target block, Bc).
Regarding Claim 12:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 11, wherein the
circuit limits combinations of the selectable weighting coefficients of the decoding target block according to weighting coefficients of an adjacent decoded block (Fig. 6, Information from adjacent surrounding blocks (BL and BR) to control prediction block of the target block, Bc).
Regarding Claim 13:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 12, wherein
the circuit adopts a width of a division boundary of a block having a continuous division boundary, as a combination of the decoding target block (Fig. 6, Continuous division made by a width for block).
Regarding Claim 14:
Cheng teaches: The image decoding device according to claim 1, wherein
the circuit performs decoding by allocating a different code length according to a selection probability of the weighting coefficients (Paragraph 98, Variable coding length is used in creation of transform coefficients).
Regarding Claim 15:
Cheng teaches: An image decoding method comprising (Paragraph 2, “This application is generally related to video encoding and decoding. For example, aspects of the present disclosure relate to systems and techniques for performing overlapped block motion compensation.”):
decoding control information and a quantized value (Paragraph 89, “For example, the quantization level may be integer accuracy (e.g., 1-pixel) or fractional-pel accuracy (e.g., ¼-pixel, ½-pixel, or other sub-pixel value). Interpolation is applied on reference pictures to derive the prediction signal when the corresponding motion vector has fractional sample accuracy. For example, samples available at integer positions can be filtered (e.g., using one or more interpolation filters) to estimate values at fractional positions. The previously decoded reference picture is indicated by a reference index (refIdx) to a reference picture list.”);
obtaining a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value (Paragraph 217, “Inverse quantization unit 86 inverse quantizes, or de-quantizes, the quantized transform coefficients provided in the bitstream and decoded by entropy decoding unit 80.”);
obtaining a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient (Paragraph 218, “After motion compensation unit 82 generates the predictive block for the current video block based on the motion vectors and other syntax elements, the decoding device 112 forms a decoded video block by summing the residual blocks from inverse transform processing unit 88 with the corresponding predictive blocks generated by motion compensation unit 82.”);
generating a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information (Paragraph 237 and 238, Paragraph 237 states “based on a determination to use a decoder side motion vector refinement (DMVR) mode, a subblock-based temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) mode, or an affine motion compensation prediction mode for the current subblock, determine to perform a subblock-boundary OBMC mode for the current subblock.” Wherein OBMC mode is then discussed in Paragraph 238 for “a first prediction associated with the current subblock, a second prediction associated with a first OBMC block adjacent to a top border of the current subblock, a third prediction associated with a second OBMC block adjacent to a left border of the current subblock, a fourth prediction associated with a third OBMC block adjacent to a bottom border of the current subblock,”);
accumulating the decoded sample (Paragraph 218, “After motion compensation unit 82 generates the predictive block for the current video block based on the motion vectors and other syntax elements, the decoding device 112 forms a decoded video block by summing the residual blocks from inverse transform processing unit 88 with the corresponding predictive blocks generated by motion compensation unit 82.);
generating a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information (Paragraph 238, “a second prediction associated with a first OBMC block adjacent to a top border of the current subblock, a third prediction associated with a second OBMC block adjacent to a left border of the current subblock,);
generating a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (Paragraph 237 and 238, Paragraph 237 states “based on a determination to use a decoder side motion vector refinement (DMVR) mode, a subblock-based temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) mode, or an affine motion compensation prediction mode for the current subblock, determine to perform a subblock-boundary OBMC mode for the current subblock.” Wherein OBMC mode is then discussed in Paragraph 238 for “a first prediction associated with the current subblock, a second prediction associated with a first OBMC block adjacent to a top border of the current subblock, a third prediction associated with a second OBMC block adjacent to a left border of the current subblock, a fourth prediction associated with a third OBMC block adjacent to a bottom border of the current subblock,”); and
obtaining the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample (Paragraph 239, “wherein each of the second weight, the third weight, the fourth weight, and the fifth weight comprises one or more weight values associated with one or more samples from a corresponding subblock of the current subblock, wherein a sum of weight values of corner samples of the current subblock is larger than a sum of weight values of other boundary samples of the current subblock.”).
Regarding Claim 16:
Cheng teaches: A program stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Paragraph 6, “According to at least one example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium is provided for OBMC. An example non-transitory computer-readable medium can include instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine that an overlapped block motion compensation (OBMC)”) for causing a computer to function as an image decoding device including a circuit, wherein the circuit (Paragraph 2, “This application is generally related to video encoding and decoding. For example, aspects of the present disclosure relate to systems and techniques for performing overlapped block motion compensation.”):
decodes control information and a quantized value (Paragraph 89, “For example, the quantization level may be integer accuracy (e.g., 1-pixel) or fractional-pel accuracy (e.g., ¼-pixel, ½-pixel, or other sub-pixel value). Interpolation is applied on reference pictures to derive the prediction signal when the corresponding motion vector has fractional sample accuracy. For example, samples available at integer positions can be filtered (e.g., using one or more interpolation filters) to estimate values at fractional positions. The previously decoded reference picture is indicated by a reference index (refIdx) to a reference picture list.”);
obtains a decoded transform coefficient by performing inverse quantization on the decoded quantized value (Paragraph 217, “Inverse quantization unit 86 inverse quantizes, or de-quantizes, the quantized transform coefficients provided in the bitstream and decoded by entropy decoding unit 80.”);
obtains a decoded prediction residual by performing inverse transform on the decoded transform coefficient (Paragraph 218, “After motion compensation unit 82 generates the predictive block for the current video block based on the motion vectors and other syntax elements, the decoding device 112 forms a decoded video block by summing the residual blocks from inverse transform processing unit 88 with the corresponding predictive blocks generated by motion compensation unit 82.”);
generates a first predicted sample based on a decoded sample and the decoded control information (Paragraph 237 and 238, Paragraph 237 states “based on a determination to use a decoder side motion vector refinement (DMVR) mode, a subblock-based temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) mode, or an affine motion compensation prediction mode for the current subblock, determine to perform a subblock-boundary OBMC mode for the current subblock.” Wherein OBMC mode is then discussed in Paragraph 238 for “a first prediction associated with the current subblock, a second prediction associated with a first OBMC block adjacent to a top border of the current subblock, a third prediction associated with a second OBMC block adjacent to a left border of the current subblock, a fourth prediction associated with a third OBMC block adjacent to a bottom border of the current subblock,”);
accumulates the decoded sample (Paragraph 218, “After motion compensation unit 82 generates the predictive block for the current video block based on the motion vectors and other syntax elements, the decoding device 112 forms a decoded video block by summing the residual blocks from inverse transform processing unit 88 with the corresponding predictive blocks generated by motion compensation unit 82.);
generates a second predicted sample based on the accumulated decoded sample and the decoded control information (Paragraph 238, “a second prediction associated with a first OBMC block adjacent to a top border of the current subblock, a third prediction associated with a second OBMC block adjacent to a left border of the current subblock,);
generates a third predicted sample by weighted averaging using one of weighting coefficients limited based on the decoded control information for at least one of the first predicted sample or the second predicted sample (Paragraph 237 and 238, Paragraph 237 states “based on a determination to use a decoder side motion vector refinement (DMVR) mode, a subblock-based temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) mode, or an affine motion compensation prediction mode for the current subblock, determine to perform a subblock-boundary OBMC mode for the current subblock.” Wherein OBMC mode is then discussed in Paragraph 238 for “a first prediction associated with the current subblock, a second prediction associated with a first OBMC block adjacent to a top border of the current subblock, a third prediction associated with a second OBMC block adjacent to a left border of the current subblock, a fourth prediction associated with a third OBMC block adjacent to a bottom border of the current subblock,”); and
obtains the decoded sample by adding the decoded prediction residual and the third predicted sample (Paragraph 239, “wherein each of the second weight, the third weight, the fourth weight, and the fifth weight comprises one or more weight values associated with one or more samples from a corresponding subblock of the current subblock, wherein a sum of weight values of corner samples of the current subblock is larger than a sum of weight values of other boundary samples of the current subblock.”).
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
Li (US 12081751 B2)
Chen (US 11936877 B2)
Toma (US 12513294 B2)
Conclusion
/D.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665