DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
Claims 1-5 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application claims priority from US provisional application 63/488,234 filed on 3/3/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 02/29/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to products of nature without significantly more. Krachler et al (Science of The Total Environment, March 2019, volume 656, pages 952-958) teaches that blackwater rivers near seas/coastal ocean have natural iron fertilization due to chelating properties of humic and fulvic acids complex with iron in the river water (Introduction and conclusions and Krachler). Suzuki et al (Water Research, November 1992, volume 26, pages 1421-1424, abstract) teaches significant amounts of Fe(II) in river water exist as fulvic-Fe complex (abstract of Suzuki). This water with the iron complexes of fulvic acid (iron fulvate) would allow coating of many structures that can be at least partially underwater including rocks, water plants, and natural reefs by washing over the structures or depositing on them with silts/sediments. Natural reefs, plants and rocks/pebbles are natural structures that were formed naturally. As iron fulvates are naturally occurring, at least partially underwater structures can be naturally occurring and the formation and presence of iron fulvate water that would contact such structures is naturally occurring, these represent natural products and processes. There are also numerous manmade structures such as boats, bridges, and docks that would contact such natural waters on a regular basis. Applicant may define the coating substance of the independent claims further (as supported by the specification) in a manner where it no longer reads on the naturally occurring waters with iron fulvates (complexes of iron with fulvic acid). Note that the limitation of “generated by causing at least iron (ii) sulfate and a fulvic acid to react” is a product-by-process limitation (MPEP 2113) in claims 1 and 3 and also claim 5 as it is not presented as an active step of the process (e.g. by use of “generating” or “reacting”). If nature provides for iron (II) fulvate, then it provides the limitation regardless of how they were made or what reaction was involved (e.g. a materially similar product can be formed by different processes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nikoosefat et al (Journal of Molecular Liquids, online Feb 11, 2023, volume 376, pages 1-13).
Claim 1 is to “A coating material” while the “wherein” clause is toward the intended use of the coating material on an outer surface of an underwater structure. Note the claim uses the preamble phrase “for underwater structures” (see MPEP 2111.02). The claim will be read for what the coating material is comprised of, and not for items related to the underwater structure.
In claim 2, the phrase “is sprayed and applied to…” is also toward the use of the material. If the material of the prior art is capable of being sprayed and applied, then it reads on the claim.
Nikoosefat teaches a strategy for synthesizing water soluble iron heterocomplexes (abstract). Nikoosefat teaches fulvate iron (II) complexes by combining 10 ml iron (II) sulfate and 200 ml fulvic acid, stirring at room temperature for 12 hours (section 2.2.1 and section 3.1). This is a liquid mixture in 2.2.1 that is in volumes, combined and stirred. As the coating material of the claims only necessitates iron (II) fulvate is in a liquid mixture form that could coat including by spraying, this formed mixture with fulvate iron (II) complexes represents a coating material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR200235846Y1 (published 10/2001, English translation provided) and Sadakata JP2006081457A (English translation provided).
Claim 1 is to “A coating material” while the “wherein” clause is toward the intended use of the coating material on an outer surface of an underwater structure. Note the claim uses the preamble phrase “for underwater structures” (see MPEP 2111.02). The claim will be read for what the coating material is comprised of, and not for items related to the underwater structure.
In claim 2, the phrase “is sprayed and applied to…” is also toward the use of the material. If the material of the prior art is capable of being sprayed and applied, then it reads on the claim.
KR ‘846 teaches using a special paint coating with iron sulfate on a concrete material to form an amorphous iron oxide coating layer that is capable of providing enough iron for the growth environment of aquatic plants and animals (abstract). KR ‘846 teaches table 1 with applying paint over the surface three times and then dried for 1 week to make a coating film. KR ‘846 teaches an artificial reef that is manufactured in the form of unevenness to accommodate more fish and shellfish (Description of ‘846). Table 1’s method provides that the thickness of the coating film was set to 50 um. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would determine the desired thickness of the coating by setting it. Thus, there is forming of an underwater structure (manufacturing) followed by coating/painting of its surface with a material that includes iron compounds to supply iron to the aquatic environment in teachings of ‘846). Prior to the examples, KR ‘846 provides that each of the components is dissolved in a solvent to form a solution.
KR ‘846 does not teach iron in the form of ferrous fulvate.
Sadakata teaches an environmental protection material that supplies ferrous (iron II) ion as iron fulvate in a stable state (abstract). Sadakata teaches a iron fulvic acid release material in a storage chamber which forms (last three paragraphs of Sadakata). Sadakata teaches iron fulvic acid can be continuously supplied to water for long periods of time (English translation).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have utilized iron (II) (ferrous) fulvate as a source of ferrous ions as it is seen as environmentally protective and its ability to be supplied to water for long periods of time for plants by teachings of Sadakata and incorporated it into iron releasing coatings of KR ‘846 for artificial reefs and concrete materials as it is seen as an acceptable iron compound for release in water for aquatic plants. Thus, there was reasonable expectation of success in using iron (II) fulvate as an iron source in the coating of Sadakata with the reasonable expectation of getting beneficial ferrous iron released in an environmentally friendly and stable manner. As KR’846 provides for setting the film to a thickness and using the coatings to release iron for plant growth, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably vary the thickness of the coating film as desired in part to achieve the desired amounts of iron ions released into the aqueous environment that the reef was placed into for plant growth.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR200235846Y1 (published 10/2001, English translation provided), Sadakata JP2006081457A (English translation provided) and Orlikowski et al (Arch Metall Mater., 2020, volume 65, pages 169-174).
KR ‘846 and Sadakata teach the claims as discussed above.
KR ‘846 and Sadakata do not teach the thickness of 3 to 10 mm for the coating.
Orlikowski teaches protective coatings for underwater protection of materials (abstract). Orlikowski teaches the importance for corrosion protection (abstract). Orlikowski teaches increasing the number of coating layers (makes thicker coatings) will provide better resistance (page 173). Orlikowski indicates that if coating thickness is insufficient then the barrier properties will be poor and corrosion will occur (page 173 and Summary).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have increased coating thickness on underwater materials based on teachings of Orlikowski as it will help protect the coated material like those motivated by KR ‘846 and Sadataka from corrosion allowing it to last longer. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining more highly protected underwater materials when increasing coating thickness on the materials by the combined teachings of the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art would add more coating layers in order to achieve the thicker coatings as taught by Orlikowski.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613