DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 1-9, filed December 17, 2025, with respect to claims 1-10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Non-Final Rejection dated September 26, 2025 of claims 1-10 has been withdrawn. A new Non-Final Rejection follows below. The examiner apologizes for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed (Pat Num 9,887,477) in view of DuRocher et al (Pat Num 4,038,743, herein referred to as DuRocher). Reed discloses a high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 1-11) for usage with a vehicle’s power distribution bus, wherein the cable distributes power and/or voltages signals to various electrical components (Col 2, lines 37-44), while providing a secure, low resistance coupling, without crimping or soldering the connector to the cable, but rather forming the connector from the conductors of the cable (Col 2, lines 50-60). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Reed discloses a high voltage high current electrical cable (110, Fig 2) comprising a plurality of strands (204) forming the electrical cable (110), wherein the electrical cable (110, Fig 5) includes a first end (insulated end, Fig 5) and a second opposite end (uninsulated end, Fig 5), wherein the first end (insulated end) including a first portion (located at 202) and a second portion (located at 206), wherein the second portion (located at 206) forming a distal end (206) of the first end (insulated end) of the cable (110), wherein the first portion (located at 202) of the cable (110) is encapsulated in an insulation material (202) and the second portion (located at 206) is free of the insulation material (11, Fig 2), wherein the plurality of strands (204) in the second portion (located at 206) is sized and shaped and fused together (Figs 3-4) into a lower integrated connection terminal (400) at the distal end (Fig 5), an upper face (502) and an opposed lower face (504), an upper cover plate (806) is configured to be positioned over the lower integrated connection terminal (400) in contact with the upper face (502, Fig 8), wherein the upper cover plate (806) has an upper surface (top surface of 806) adapted to receive a fastener (804) in contact therewith (Fig 8), wherein the lower integrated connection terminal (400) consist of the fused together plurality of strands (204) such that the first end (insulated end) of the electrical cable (110) is free from a separate lower connection terminal component (400) being welded to an end of the first portion (located at 202) of the cable (110, Col 5, lines 1-5). With respect to claims 5-6, Reed discloses that the plurality of strands (204) are fused together via ultrasonic welding (Col 4, lines 17-30). With respect to claim 7, Reed discloses that the lower integrated connection terminal (400) comprises a flat configuration (Fig 5) having upper and lower opposed faces (502 & 504, respectively) adapted for connection to a receiving component (106, Fig 6). With respect to claim 10, Reed discloses that the lower integrated connection terminal (400) forms a plate like structure consisting only of the fused together plurality of strands (204, Fig 5).
While Reed discloses the lower integrated connection terminal (400) forming a plate like structure consisting only of the fused together plurality of strands (204, Fig 5), Reed doesn’t necessarily disclose the lower integrated connection terminal having a slot at the distal end (claim 1), nor the slot including first and second longitudinally extending portions, each having a free end that forms the distal end (claim 2).
DuRocher teaches a high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 1-9C) having a terminal arrangement which is integral with the cable which is superior to conventional terminations because of avoiding structural weakening of the conductor, while also having improved electrical and physical properties (Col 2, lines 30-43). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, DuRocher teaches an electrical cable (1, Fig 1) comprising a plurality of wire strands (2) forming the electrical cable (1), wherein the electrical cable (1) includes a first end (insulated end, Fig 1) and a second opposite end (uninsulated end), wherein the first end (insulated end) including a first portion (located at 3) and a second portion (located at 29, Fig 10), wherein the second portion (located at 29) forming a distal end of the first end (insulated end) of the cable (1), wherein the first portion (located at 3) of the cable (1) is encapsulated in an insulation material (3) and the second portion (located at 29) is free of the insulation material (3, Fig 10), wherein the plurality of strands (2) in the second portion (located at 29) is sized and shaped and fused together (Col 3, lines 42-56) into a conventional lower integrated connection terminal (29) having a slot (Fig 10) at the distal end (Fig 10) and an upper face (top face) and an opposed lower face (bottom face), wherein the lower integrated connection terminal (29) has the first end (insulated end) of the electrical cable (1) that is free from a separate lower connection terminal component (29) being welded to an end of the first portion (located at 3) of the cable (1, Fig 10, Col 5, lines 52-63). With respect to claim 2, DuRocher teaches that the slot (Fig 10) of the lower integrated connection terminal (29) includes first and second longitudinally extending portions (top and bottom wings) each having a free end that forms the distal end (Fig 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical cable of Reed to comprise the conventional lower integrated connection terminal having a slot configuration as taught by DeRocher because DeRocher teaches that such a configuration provides a high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 1-9C) having a terminal arrangement which is integral with the cable which is superior to conventional terminations because of avoiding structural weakening of the conductor, while also having improved electrical and physical properties (Col 2, lines 30-43), wherein the slot shaped connection is known in the art of cables (Col 5, lines 56-60) and since it has been held that a change in form cannot sustain patentability where involved is only extended application of obvious attributes from a prior art. In re Span-Deck Inc. vs. Fab-Con Inc. (CA 8, 1982) 215 USPQ 835.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed (Pat Num 9,887,477) in view of DuRocher et al (Pat Num 4,038,743), as applied to claims 1 & 2 above (herein referred to as modified Reed), further in view of Kaedei (Pat Num 5,575,697). Modified Reed discloses a high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 1-11) for usage with a vehicle’s power distribution bus, wherein the cable distributes power and/or voltages signals to various electrical components (Col 2, lines 37-44), while providing a secure, low resistance coupling, without crimping or soldering the connector to the cable, but rather forming the connector from the conductors of the cable (Col 2, lines 50-60). Specifically, with respect to claim 3, modified Reed discloses that the lower integrated connection terminal (29, Fig 10 of DeRocher) having a slot including first and second longitudinally extending portions having free ends (Fig 10 of DeRocher), respectively (see above).
However, modified Reed doesn’t necessarily disclose the free ends of the first and second longitudinally extending portions are bent upward at the distal end thereby forming a retaining feature for the upper cover plate (claim 3),
Kaedei teaches known conventional terminal units (Figs 11a-11c) that can be easily and quickly connected to a cable (Col 1, lines 4-10). Specifically, with respect to claim 3, Kaedei teaches a known connection terminal (15, Fig 11c) comprising a slot including first and second longitudinally extending portions having free ends, wherein the free ends of the extending portions are bent upward forming a retaining feature (Fig 11c).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical cable of modified Reed to comprise the conventional lower integrated connection terminal having a slot including first and second longitudinally extending portions having bent free ends configuration as taught by Kaedei because Kaedei teaches that such a configuration is known and a conventional connection terminal in the art of cables and since it has been held that a change in form cannot sustain patentability where involved is only extended application of obvious attributes from a prior art. In re Span-Deck Inc. vs. Fab-Con Inc. (CA 8, 1982) 215 USPQ 835.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed (Pat Num 9,887,477) in view of DuRocher et al (Pat Num 4,038,743) and Kaedei (Pat Num 5,575,697), as applied to claims 1-3 above (herein referred to as modified Reed2), further in view of Haramaki et al (Pat Num 6.452,101, herein referred to as Haramaki). Modified Reed2 discloses a high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 1-11) for usage with a vehicle’s power distribution bus, wherein the cable distributes power and/or voltages signals to various electrical components (Col 2, lines 37-44), while providing a secure, low resistance coupling, without crimping or soldering the connector to the cable, but rather forming the connector from the conductors of the cable (Col 2, lines 50-60), as disclosed above with respect to claims 1-3. Specifically, with respect to claim 4, modified Reed2 discloses that an upper cover plate (806) is configured to be positioned over the lower integrated connection terminal (400) in contact with the upper face (502, see Fig 8 of Reed).
However, modified Reed2 doesn’t disclose the upper cover plate including a U shape with downwardly extending side portions configured to extend over opposed lateral side faces of the lower integrated connection terminal (claim 4).
Haramaki teaches a high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 1-15) for usage with a vehicle’s electric equipment (Col 5, lines 37-38), wherein the cable provides a secure and high strength terminal (Col 2, lines 44-47), by forming the terminal from the conductors of the cable (Fig 1-5), thereby improving reliability (Col 5, lines 34-36). Specifically, with respect to claim 4, Haramaki teaches a high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 10-11B) comprising a plurality of strands (1) forming the electrical cable (Figs 10-11B), wherein the electrical cable (Fig 10) includes a first end and a second opposite end (Fig 10), wherein the first end including a first portion (located at 1) and a second portion (located at 5), wherein the second portion (located at 5) forming a distal end of the first end (Fig 10) of the cable (Fig 10), wherein the plurality of strands (1) in the second portion (located at 5) is sized and shaped and fused together (Fig 10) into a lower integrated connection terminal (5) at the distal end (Fig 10), an upper face (top surface) and an opposed lower face (lower surface), an upper cover plate (12, Fig 11A) is configured to be positioned over the lower integrated connection terminal (5) in contact with the upper face (top surface), wherein the upper cover plate (12) has an upper surface (top surface of 12) adapted to receive a fastener (11) in contact therewith (Fig 10), wherein the lower integrated connection terminal (5) consist of the fused together plurality of strands (1) such that the first end (Fig 10) of the electrical cable (Fig 10) is free from a separate lower connection terminal component (5) being welded to an end of the first portion (located at 1) of the cable (Fig 10), and wherein the upper cover plate (12) including a U shape with downwardly extending side portions configured to extend over opposed lateral side faces of the lower integrated connection terminal (5, Fig 11A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical cable of modified Reed2 to comprise the upper cover plate including a U shape with downwardly extending side portions configured to extend over opposed lateral side faces of the lower integrated connection terminal configuration as taught by Haramaki because Haramaki teaches that such a configuration a high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 1-15) for usage with a vehicle’s electric equipment (Col 5, lines 37-38), wherein the cable provides a secure and high strength terminal (Col 2, lines 44-47), by forming the terminal from the conductors of the cable (Fig 1-5), thereby improving reliability (Col 5, lines 34-36) and since it has been held that a change in form cannot sustain patentability where involved is only extended application of obvious attributes from a prior art. In re Span-Deck Inc. vs. Fab-Con Inc. (CA 8, 1982) 215 USPQ 835.
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed (Pat Num 9,887,477) in view of DuRocher et al (Pat Num 4,038,743), as applied to claim 1 above (herein referred to as modified Reed), further in view of Matsumura (Pat Num 7,413,488). Modified Reed discloses a high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 1-11) for usage with a vehicle’s power distribution bus, wherein the cable distributes power and/or voltages signals to various electrical components (Col 2, lines 37-44), while providing a secure, low resistance coupling, without crimping or soldering the connector to the cable, but rather forming the connector from the conductors of the cable (Col 2, lines 50-60).
However, modified Reed doesn’t necessarily disclose the electrical cable, further comprising a third portion after the first portion and before the second portion, the third portion being free of the insulation material and including the plurality of strands in an unfused state; wherein the third portion includes a circular shape in cross-section, and the second portion includes a square or rectangular shape in cross-section having at least flat and parallel upper and lower opposed faces (claim 8), nor the electrical cable, further comprising a transition portion of the plurality of strands between the third portion and the second portion; wherein an average height of the transition portion is lower than a height of the first and third portions and greater than a height of the flat and parallel upper and lower opposed faces of the second portion (claim 9).
Matsumura teaches a high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 1-5) comprising a reliable electrical connection, while reducing cost (Col 1, lines 40-44). Specifically, with respect to claim 8, Matsumura discloses a high voltage high current electrical cable (W, Figs 1-5) comprising a plurality of strands (2) forming the electrical cable (W), wherein the electrical cable (W) includes a first end (left end) and a second opposite end (right end), wherein the first end (left end) includes a first portion (located at 1) and a second portion (located at 5), wherein the second portion (located at 5) forming a distal end of the first end (left end) of the cable (W, Fig 4), wherein the first portion (located at 1) of the cable (W) is encapsulated in an insulation material (1) and the second portion (located at 5) is free of the insulation material (Fig 4), wherein the plurality of strands (2) in the second portion (located at 5) are sized and shaped and fused together into an integrated connection terminal (5), wherein the integrated connection terminal (not shown, but goes in 5a) consists of the fused together plurality of strands (2) such that the first end (left end) of the electrical cable (W) is free from a separate terminal component (5) being coupled thereto (Fig 5), wherein the electrical cable (W) may further comprising a third portion (located at 2) after the first portion (located at 1) and before the second portion (located at 5), wherein the third portion (located at 2) being free of the insulation material (Fig 4) and including the plurality of strands (2) in an unfused state (Fig 4), wherein the third portion (located at 2) includes a circular shape in cross-section (Fig 4), and the second portion (located at 5) includes a square or rectangular shape in cross-section having at least flat and parallel upper and lower opposed faces (Fig 4). With respect to claim 9, Matsumura teaches that the electrical cable (W), further comprising a transition portion of the plurality of strands (2) between the third portion (located at 2) and the second portion (located at 5), wherein an average height of the transition portion is lower than a height of the first and third portions (located at 1 & 2, respectively, i.e. the transition portion is tapered) and greater than a height of the flat and parallel upper and lower opposed faces of the second portion (Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the cable of modified Reed to comprise the third portion configuration as taught by Matsumura because Matsumura teaches that such a configuration provides a high voltage high current electrical cable (Figs 1-5) comprising a reliable electrical connection, while reducing cost (Col 1, lines 40-44).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various cables comprising a plurality of strands fused together to form terminals for connection to other electrical devices.
This action is a Non-Final Rejection.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
December 29, 2025